214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Wakonda State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (573) 655-2280
CGID6411

Wakonda State Park

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   7   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
This is one of the best in the Missouri system. Excellent bathroom/showers, both men and women. Friendly staff, nice parking spots, scenic views of lake and plenty of wildlife. Quiet and peaceful visit; will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
We stayed here over July 4th. They had storms the week before, so there were lots of downed trees, and parts of the park were closed, including the beach. Very clean shower/baths. Most of the sites were nice. Too bad they had the storm damage. Not much in nearby La Grange, but Quincy, IL, is not far away. We stayed on site #11. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Asthetically pleasing campground positioned in an area with six small lakes. Good paved access to shade tree, graveled sites. Amenities include playgrounds, swim beach, boat ramp, and small laundry. Bath house was well maintained, but the toilets and showers are separated in the building. Handicap sites aren't near them. There are four full hookup sites which are in a separate loop. Everything else is electric only. Community water faucets located through-out for filling holding tanks. Most sites have some degree of front to back sloping, but it's not excessive. This campground is just far enough off the main highway to be convenient to get to, but not have road noise. With numerous pull-throughs, it's good for an overnighter as well as extended stay. Price reflects electric only. FHU is $3 more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
Well-kept state park. We arrived shortly after a major thunderstorm and the ranger was driving around picking up fallen branches. Camp hosts are very competent and friendly. We picked a site with lots of trees and shade and not close to neighbors (65) and were glad we weren't in the main loop--very close quarters there. Showerhouse is at one end of the CG--check the map if proximity is important to you. We were a bit of a walk away, but that's OK. Because of the rains, park was pretty buggy. Forewarned is forearmed. Fee of $19 reflects electric site, in high season, but you have to also add on the irksome $8.50 "reservation fee." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$9
Facilities were clean and well maintained. Some of the non-pull-through sites on the back half of the campground (sites 31 to 52) are fairly small and can really only be used for tent camping. The wood lot is only open from 7PM to 7:30PM, so if you are looking to build a fire, plan accordingly. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$14
We came for 3 days and stayed a week. We stayed at one of the non reserve able sites on Boulder Lake, a small 20 acre lake. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Park fills up on the weekends but quiet during the week. The geese are plentiful have to dodge goose droppings, but fun to watch. Good hiking trails with 5 lakes and boats to rent for fishing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$15
When we camped there, given it was over a year or so ago, this campground could use a little work. Not a lot, but with many of the Missouri State Park Campgrounds, they don't replace the gravel often on sites. It was a nice and quiet campground, which had been flooded by the Mississippi in the 1993 & 1995 floods. They have a mark on a tree up by the bathrooms to show the flood level at the time. This is NOT a flood prone area. Those conditions in 1993 & 1995 were extreme. The sand prairies weren't what I expected. I kept looking for huge dunes of sand, but mostly I saw grass growing in sort of sand. Of course, I didn't really understand the concept of what it meant in Missouri. They have a really cool beach in the lake, but was a little put off by the fact you had to pay a fee to use the beach. I almost feel gouged in a way. I pay the taxes that pay for these parks at home, because I live in Missouri, in sales tax and the $8.50 extra I have to pay to reserve a site. I just kind of felt like swimming should be included. At the other parks I stay that offer swimming, I've never had to pay extra to swim, so this must be something new the Missouri State Park System has started in the last few years. Otherwise it's a very nice park and I was surprised that being far from home, I knew the campground host because he was from the town I live in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com