223371 User submitted reviews online!!
Jesse M. Honeyman Memorial State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (541) 997-3641
CGID6417

Jesse M. Honeyman Memorial State Park

Camp Information
Sites
357
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   6   9   8   8   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
One of my favorite Oregon State Parks. I stayed in a level shaded spot with water and electricity. There are several nice easy paths to walk, one of which ended at the lake where you can swim or kayak. Friendly, polite check-in. Stayed here in a Class B with my pet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Great state park with close access to water. However, we were told it's a 2 mile walk in sand to the dunes by the ocean. We stayed for 2 nights in a 25 ft RV in spot 268. It,s right next to the playground and shower/washrooms. Spot was quiet and surrounded by trees. There was dune buggy rentals close by down south by a 5 minute drive. Not cheap though....$150/hour to rent your own or $30 a person for an escorted tour on a big buggy that last about 30 mins. Firewood is sold on site for $5 a bundle. Would be back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
We absolutely LOVED this campground! And we're not the only ones considering it is full most of the summer, so if you're thinking of staying here be sure to make reservations. It is just south of the cute coastal town of Florence which has shopping, grocery stores (Safeway and Fred Meyers), and restaurants if you're tired of camp cooking. The campground is set in a nicely wooded area just east of the famous Oregon Sand Dunes. You can access the dunes by foot or by ATV if you own your own. Also there are local rental places for doing dune buggy rides. There are also two fresh water lakes to play in if the ocean beaches are too windy or chilly to hang out on. We will definitely come back again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
I am rating this campground as a 6 because it is barely passes as appropriate for our 40 foot RV with 4 slides. The sites are quite narrow, so that the slides hit branches when extended. The site was somewhat difficult to back into. However, if one had a shorter RV, especially with only slides on one side, this park would rate much higher. The RV sites are in the forest and the park area is quite striking, indeed making the difficulty in getting into the site worthwhile. The nearby Oregon coast area is beautiful and interesting to visit. There is no sewer hookup, the electric is 30 amps, and water hookup was satisfactory. Since this is in the forest, there is no satellite service. Restroom and showers were clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This park is situated in a redwood forest along the Oregon Coast, against the Oregon Sand Dunes which provide a buffer zone between the campground and the Pacific Ocean. It is often windy and a bit cold here during the summer, though when we stayed the skies stayed sunny during the day, which helps. RV sites have either water & electric, or full hookups (with sewer). Sites for the latter are confined to the H-loop, which is a slightly less attractive area due to a lower density of trees. Also regarding full hookup sites, sewer drains are located near the front, while the electric box is at the rear of the site, making connections potentially difficult. The park has a playground and nature center (F-loop) with educational programs for kids. Shower stalls are roomy and are operated with a push-button (no hot/cold control), but we found the water pressure and temperature to both be comfortable. Fire rings are provided, and campground hosts sell firewood. Within the park there is also a beach on a small lake, with boat & PFD rentals for a nominal charge. The state of Oregon takes good care of this park. Despite a few shortcomings, this is a fine, economical place for families to camp along the Oregon coast, and with all the activities one can do in nearby Florence and the surrounding area, I recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
We really like it here. There are 8 loops. We stayed in loop H and were close to the showers and toilets. Showers were not all that great. Push a button and the water starts. Push it a couple more times and it will run long enough for the water to get warm (but not hot.) The people were friendly; the park was clean; firewood was available; and the after hours check-in process was simple. If you want to camp near the ocean, don't come here. If you want to see the Oregon Dunes, this is the place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
We are in F270 which backs up to the dunes, but you would never know it since this loop is thick with tall trees and the dunes are over a steep hill to our rear. The dunes are just a short walk away from two separate trails in F-loop. The Verizon cell and data works well; however, the TV via antenna is marginal. The park is very popular for sand dune activities and has several lakes within it's borders. The sites are generous and the park is well maintained. It is very child friendly with a large playground at the exit from F-loop. Florence is just a few miles north and is a very nice town with many small shops and restaurants. Overall an excellent place to experience Oregon Dunes and the Oregon Coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
Great park with lots to do! Had fun playing on the dunes with friends and swimming at the lake. The park can be really busy during the summer, but worth the stay! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
A very large cramped state park - tight roads if you meet anyone going and coming on main road. Campers will stop in the road and walk in the road so it is challenging to maneuver. We had a nice wide spot in the H loop but could hear the ATVs roaring since that area has direct access to the dunes. There were 3-5 tents at some sites with multiple vehicles and tons of people since it was a holiday weekend. Since off roading is not our thing would not return especially on a holiday or weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
We've stayed here each Spring Break for going on 7 years now. Campground is very well maintained, clean, and has good camp hosts. During the off season, (Oct-Apr) the H Loop is designed for those with Sand Toys (ATVs). Sites can easily accommodate large toy haulers and motorhomes, but some can be a backing challenge. Dump stations for those sites without sewer is large and easy to navigate through. Campground is heavily treed and green. The only dislike I have is they place the garbage dumpsters clear at the front of the park, it's a pretty nice long walk but not fun in the rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$22
We stayed for 4 nights from Friday to Tuesday morning in a full hookup site. Almost all full hookup sites are in the H loop and that is where all the ATV people are! Be prepared for some noise, especially on Friday & Saturday evenings. It was much better on Sunday & Monday but I will not return for a weekend as we are not ATV'ers. Even the quiet hours weren't observed which pulled a bit on my nerves on Friday evening. The washrooms were what you can expect from a State Park and they were about as clean as you can expect when a big crowd is present. As the H loop was pretty full, the 30 amps at our site were cutting in and out. Virgin mobile did just work in that park but was slow. As almost all full hookup sites were reserved, we didn't had much of a choice upon arriving but found a site long enough for our 35' 5th-wheel. The sites are paved and wide enough for slideouts and awning. All sites are level, pretty shaded and in winter I would appreciate less trees and way more sun. The access to the dunes and the different lakes is nice, but a bicycle will definitely help to get around. There are enough trails to walk around but looking for the sun you only can get into the dunes, everything else is in the forest. We will return, but not on a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$22
Most of the campground was closed when we were there and we ended up in the ATVer campground loop which is not our thing or our crowd. This would be a great campground for an ATVer and perhaps a family in the summer when the rest of the campground is open, but it really wasn't a great Class A crowd type campground if that makes sense. The campground and sites are paved. It is well treed in the areas that were closed and our site was more open and fairly public. The sites in the ATV loop have direct access to the sand dunes and are extra wide so that the ATVs can fit on the payment beside the trailers. It wasn't as noisy as we were expecting, but one does here the ATV's revving. They are loud. Most of the ATVers were respectful and drove the speed limit in the campground and didn't rev their engines for no reason except for the guys across from us. It is worth mentioning that direct access to the dunes is only available in the winter season. The showers were okay, but get cold quickly with multiple users. There is a fee drop off available in the ATV loop so that you don't have to drive all the way back to the entrance. The entrance is the only place with recycling. There are a number of lakes that are family friendly and accessible from the campground (I'd take a car as the walk can be quite long from some of the loops) and one lake is across the highway. The Cleawok Lake is quite nice and probably a good swimming spot in the summer. We took our kayaks out on the lake and it was nice and different because of the dunes, but the serenity was a little lost with the ATVers noise that can be heard from the lake. Note, that the lake has arms and is not as small as it initially appears. We did see a number of ducks and a bald eagle. There are swimming docks on the lake and boat rentals. There is also a dune walk from the campground. (ATVers are not allowed on this section) Recycling and garbage disposal is at the front of the campground. It is a busy campground and may fill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
I love this park, even out of season when many of the loops are closed it is great. Some of the spaces are very tight for a large rig. Hiking on the dunes is spectacular, only wish there were less ATVs. The State of Cal could learn a lot from Oregon and their fabulous state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This park is a gem! It is so beautiful and family friendly. There are great lakes and ponds for fishing, play grounds for the kids, and we even had a sand box right down from our site. My only complaint would be that there are not enough full hook up sites. Honeyman is also so conveniently located to Florence which has nice antique shops. We will definitely be back next year, but make sure to book early because they fill up fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We love Oregon state parks. We were able to stay at three during our June trip up the coast with no reservations. This was our first one, and we had the dunes just a couple of hundred yards behind our site. The park rangers are very friendly and helpful, and the sites are beautiful. If you can live without Wi-Fi (or bring your own 3G card) and laundry facilities for a little while, these parks are the way to go, and you can't beat the price. The only other downside is the showers which, like most state parks, use the "push button" system where one temperature fits all. But they worked fine, were reasonably hot, and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$18
This was one of the best places we've camped. The natural beauty is amazing. The roads are very well maintained. The beach access is LONG, but well worth the trip with views and more views. We picked berries (not sure if we were allowed to or not) and made our own jam. What a treat. Like many state parks, you may stay only a short time, but it's not expensive and we had a great time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
This is a beautiful campground amongst towering trees and lots of lush plants. It is very clean and well maintained with clean toilets and showers. It is pet friendly and the park rangers are very friendly and helpful. The sites have electricity and water but no septic. However, there is a dump station in the campground just before you exit. The sand dunes are great fun to walk on and the dune buggies are confined to their own area so as not to be a problem. My only complaint might be that since we were there in early October and it is in towering pines our camp site was very cold and damp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Very nice park with clean facilities near Oregon Dunes. Close to Florence, which has a nice riverfront with great restaurants. Also close to Heceta Head Lighthouse and Sea Lion Caves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is a beautiful park. However, since our last stay here (some 20+ years ago), the local dunes have started allowing ATV's on them. This has changed the nature of the park and not for the better. We couldn't enjoy the dunes themselves because of all the ATV's roaming them. Furthermore, we had neighbors who played their radio loudly until well after 11pm. The park was generally just loud and had a crowded feeling. A real switch from the peace and quiet we rememembered from Honeyman of the past. The rangers were helpful and polite. The site was fairly clean. There was no firewood available which probably explains the $10/load it was for sale for outside the park. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This campground is a real treasure. Set among amazing sand dunes (people were snowboarding down the dunes)! The sites are huge, well shaded and private. The showers were hot, clean and well maintained. The campground hosts and Park Rangers were very friendly and attentive to our needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Overall this park was very nice, too bad it rained the entire time. The spots got a little muddy from all the rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We've stayed here before and like all Oregon State Parks, we are very satisfied. Always clean and well managed. We have a 34 foot fifth wheel and some sites can be a test getting into. I would highly recommend the Oregon State Parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
I think this park might be a 10 for camping. We are fulltime motorhomers and it was not as well suited to us. There are sites that will accommodate big rigs with most of them in loop H. But we were without Direct TV (no sky view) and Wi-Fi. It is a pleasant state park and close enough to the great scenic areas north of Florence to enable visits to Heceta Lighthouse and Cape Perpetua. We stayed during the non-ATV season and so it was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Clean park, sites nicely paved. The kids loved how they could just walk from our site to the dunes and lake. Great programs for the kids and evening programs for the family. Boat rentals available, but a few more would be nice (they are hard to get one). The store has a few items you might need in a pinch, but town is close for groceries. Would be nice to have wi-fi, even if there was an extra charge. We like the openness of the sites so sun can get in, but yet trees between sites give a bit of privacy too. This is our family's favorite campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
We stayed in loop H, that is the loop used by the ATV group. People were nice, but this section is a little open. Would stay here again, but in a different loop. Great sand dunes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
A great park. If you don't want to be with the ATV folks, don't stay in loop H. We did though and enjoyed it very well. The park hosts are a bit lazy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
We last stayed at Honeyman in the late 1980s. For this visit we were in the new part of the park (H loop). The new sites are more in the open, spaced well apart, and are very long. We arrived during a fine example of Oregon mist, and the open campsite was not as gloomy as the older ones in the trees. If you have a big rig, try to get a spot in the H loop. If your visit is between October and April, it helps if you like ATVs, as this is the only part of the park where they are allowed on the park roads. The restrooms and showers were modern and clean. We enjoyed our 2 day stay, and our opinion remains that Oregon state parks are some of the best. NOTE: The header for this park gives the city location as Rouge River. This is in error, as Rogue River is a little town between Medford and Grants Pass on I-5. Honeyman is located 3 miles south of Florence. Make sure to head into town for a meal at Mo's, home of the best seafood on the Oregon coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
This is a huge park, but in June they had about half of it closed. Lots of sand dunes in the park. A lot of people using ATV's so it can be noising in parts of the campground. We enjoyed the park but if you don't want to be around tons of kids this isn't the place. Make sure you get to take a ride out on the dunes, that was a blast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Park service was great, Rangers kept it under control. Lots to do for the kids. The bathrooms were sandy, and were dirty due to the sand. The showers had a lot of sand in them, so we used the trailer to shower. Have to hunt down full hook-ups. Otherwise it was easy to get a electric and water only. If I had to do over, I would stay in the State Park across the 101 from this, where it was not crowded with ATV's. Even though they are not allowed in the park, you could hear them all around the park, which got old real quick, especially if you wanted to read outside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
You can not do better than this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$17
You really get a lot of bang for your buck at Oregon state parks and this one is no exception. According to the park brochure there are 47 full hook-ups, 119 electrical sites, 191 tent sites, 10 yurts, a group site and a hiker/biker camp. The main draw here is the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area. If you are not fond of ATVs you may not like staying here as you will not be able to get entirely away from the noise, but the park does a good job of enforcing the rules and has a separate loop where ATVs are not allowed. For those who want more quiet activities there are 3 small fresh water lakes and lots of trails to explore. Oregon state parks have "shoulder season" rates and they are a real deal. Our fee of $17 was for a full-hook-up site. We also really appreciate that the park supplies a large garbage disposal area that also has bins for recycling just about anything - aluminum, tin cans, glass, plastic containers and paper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com