223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Meaher State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (251) 626-5529
CGID6424

Meaher State Park

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   5   10   9   10   10   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Paved interior roads and sites, which are fairly level. High water pressure, quality good. No problems with power or WiFi, a few over the air TV channels. Some road noise but not excessive. Beautiful vista, right on the river. The biggest problem is the sewer hookups. They are installed too high, making it very difficult to drain tanks. Before leaving, it was necessary to reposition my rig as close to the drain as possible to empty. I saw several others doing the same thing. There is no dump station on site. Because of this drawback, I am not sure I would use this park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
Great park. Huge lots with 50 feet of grassed space between and behind each lot. Safe, secure, quiet, including a 300' fishing pier, yet minutes from bay front restaurants, USS Alabama and downtown historical district of Mobile. This park is classified as lakefront. However, it has waterfront lots on Ducker Bay, which is part of Mobile Bay with direct ocean access. This body of water is the same one that has the battleship USS Alabama moored on. One word of advise. Alabama State Parks' reservation system is unreliable, if not completely broken. I telephoned on the Thursday morning before Memorial weekend for a 4 day reservation and was told they were fully booked for Fri, Sat, Sun. Only Thursday night was available. I was only a couple of hours away, so I decided to turn up and hope for a cancellation. When I arrived and asked if there were any cancellations I was told "No problem, we have availability for 4 nights." It turned out that there were 15-17 empty spaces every day. And I was told by regulars that this happens every weekend. My rate was $29 Thursday and Sunday, $34 Friday and Saturday. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
We stayed here 3 nights as we were heading out west. The location is great with easy access. The sites are very good size and are paved with picnic table and grill. Our site was on the bay and very pretty. The water was calm this morning and saw several alligators. The bath house was nice and the grounds were well kept with flowers and a nice fishing pier. The showers could have been cleaner and hard to get pressure which you cannot control. The shower curtains need to be bleached, as they had black mold spots. The rest of the bath house was clean. WIFI was good but regular antenna stations were intermittent. There is interstate noise as I-10 crosses over the bay directly in front of the campground. There is supposed to be a maximum 14 day stay but appears to be more permanent type camping towards the back of the park. Tents were also in the playground area but did not look like campsites. This is a good park for an overnight stay. We would stay here again if passing through the Mobile area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
This is a wonderful camping spot in the Mobile, Alabama area. The sites are paved and level. Almost all the sites have a beautiful view of the Mobile Bay. It was so quiet and relaxing. The restrooms and laundry facilities were very nice and clean. The camp host was super friendly and helpful. It is only 5 minutes from the U.S.S Alabama Battleship Museum and downtown Mobile. We had a wonderful stay. We would have spent the entire week here if not for having other reservations. We will be staying here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful state park right on Mobile Bay. Some of the sites back right up to the waters edge. Utilities and WIFI worked well and the restroom/shower facilities were clean though an extra towel to stand on after showering is needed to keep your feet dry. No cable but we got several TV stations on the antenna. Saw a couple alligators from the boardwalk and some crab fishermen were catching a few from the pier. Also, beautiful sunsets are a plus. There are geocaches in the park if you partake in that activity. There are some great seafood places a short distance to the west on the causeway. We took a day to drive out to Dauphin Island and it was well worth it. We read about the ants and found out you can repel them with borax so we circled our site with it and didn't have any problems. Almost a perfect score if the showers had floor mats or something to keep the floor dry in the changing area. I would surely recommend this place if you are in the area but you better make reservations We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
From the first welcoming words and friendliness at the entrance gate, we knew we were in a good place. The sites were roomy and comfortable, and our site was right on the water. The sunset with the lights of Mobile across the water was awesome. The new restrooms and showers were wonderful, and the laundry was clean and well stocked with machines. We would most certainly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$29
Very nice place to hang out. Park has gated fence that is locked at night with a code to get in. Park workers polite and friendly. Spaces are very large and staggered, which makes for more space between campers. They all have a lot of grass on each side. The spaces are paved with a picnic table and BBQ grill. We had tons of room to open sides and awning. Park is very clean and has some long term renters, all of which are tidy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$34
Meaher State Park is one of the best state parks we have stayed at. It had full hookups with sewer too! It was clean, had lots of room, and was located in a quiet, great place. Although I cannot recommend visiting Mobile, Alabama, I would recommend staying at Meaher State Park. It is a relaxing place to spend a few days and enjoy some southern nature. Would I recommend this park? Absolutely. Would we come back? Yes, we will stay a few more days if we return to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$34
Nice quiet park, level sites, paved roads, clearance for big rigs. Caution if using Garmin, it may direct you past park entrance but turn-around is possible, even with 36' class A and toad. We were East-bound on 90/98 and Garmin said entrance further East and on left (is actually on South side). Pull-throughs are interior side, back-ins have better view of bay (and I-10). Distant road noise but was cool and windows closed so no problem sleeping. Good utilities but sewer connection higher than desired. Ranger advised us upon entry that if we had ant spray we might want to use it. Had no problems. We were passing through so just an over-nighter, believe would be convenient base location for local site-seeing. We would stay here again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$23
Wonderful quiet setting. We were parked right up on Mobile bay. Lots of space between sites, and lots of tall pines for shade. There wasn't much area to ride bikes though, just a loop around the park a few times. The road in front is very busy, and not bike friendly. Would, however be happy to go there again while visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$34
Very friendly lady at the gate, smiling and helpful. Nice large back in site with great views of the gulf. Cheapest laundry of all the parks we've stayed at $1:00! Make sure you have ant spray. Go to the Five Rivers Delta Safaris Resource Center across the road and even better if you have your own boat/kayak. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
Rate reflects 7 day senior rate. State park, between I-10 and Highway 98, enter off of 98 with very little traffic except rush hour. Kinda easy to miss the entrance hidden by the tall vegetation. Easy access with a big rig. Helpful gate people. Beautifully set on the bay with a view of I-10 crossing for every site. Several on the water. Fishing dock on front end of park complete with a resident alligator and a boat ramp on the back end. Good level paved sites, several pull through, many large sites, all with full hook up. Clean bath and laundry facilities centrally located. Satellite would not work for the tall trees, could get local NBC station. Decent Wi-Fi. Very quit though you do hear the traffic on I-10. Ants. Ants are a major problem. If you do not know how to deal with them, better avoid this park. This place ranks at the top of our list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is a nice park. Sites are level and very wide and some sites are on the bay. There is a boat launch and very quiet. Water pressure was good and the park is well maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
Very clean and park. All of the Alabama state parks have WiFi and it was pretty fast. 15 minutes from down town Mobile. We intended to overnight here and ended up staying 3 days. Right on the water. Easy in easy out. Paved sites. No TV, but not a problem for us. Bath house and laundry clean and modern. Rate reflects the senior discount. Great restaurants (Felix Fish Camp) minutes away. Lunch at these places is the same food at half the price. We would definitely return. Down town Mobile has a free shuttle to see all of the historic spots. You can get on and get off all for free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$34
Nice park right on the water. They apparently have an ant problem and warn you on the way in but it rained so hard while we were here that we did not have an issue. The park is conveniently located to the USS Alabama battleship exhibit which was our main reason for staying in the area. The park is fairly quiet but you can hear freeway noise from I-10. The sites were wide and paved and easy to get in and out of. We had Wi-Fi and decent Verizon coverage. The bathrooms were large and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
This is a lovely State Park and we were delighted that we decided to stop. It is right on Mobile Bay and there is a very nice fishing dock as well as a boat ramp. There are pull through and back in sites and, while all can see the water not all are next to it. The grounds are impeccable and there are plenty of big shade trees. The staff was delightful and very helpful. The park is gated at night, so quite secure. Only two things were problematic for me. One was the sign by the dock discouraging feeding the alligators (duh!) but the other was the park host transferring a Water Moccasin to the water. Please know I am extremely fearful of snakes so this may not bother others. This is a lovely park and, reptiles aside, I would be happy to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$29
We were here two years ago. A nice park, but only not much to do here. There are lots of birds, though, and the views of the Bay at sunset are overwhelming. We got a discount due to our being Seniors. Staff person not very friendly. Note: if you wash your rig, it costs ten dollars. Person reminded me of this after I had done so. No signs or mention in the Camp Rules. Got through a Tornado Warning, our first, and then came the sun. We hope to be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$33
This is a beautiful smaller yet cozy state park. Actually one of the better state campgrounds we have stayed in. This was our second visit here in three years and we are never disappointed. The sites are level, large, clean with views of Mobile across the water in the distance. You are close to everything there is to do in the Mobile area, yet far enough away to feel secluded. As usual we will definitely return here when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$34
This was our first stay at Meaher but it won't be.the last. Helpful, friendly hosts. Spectacular sunsets. Close to both Mobile and Daphne. It was pretty cold when were here, so we didn't have any ants. This would be a great place to winter over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$29
This is an update on my last review of this park. This park is a winner yet. Now park has upgraded and added free Wi-Fi that works at your site. We understand all AL parks will have Wi-Fi soon. Sewer on each site is a big plus here as well. Check of bathhouse found it spotless or the same as our last time here. Parks people work hard all the time to keep everything clean and looked nice. On the review that said park had ants. This is true and you have sugar ants all over the southern parts of the USA. Ants have been here for ever. This information in printed on the map you receive at check in, notes are posted at bathhouse over ants and most people know that ants like to eat your food so do not let them. We had no problems due to ants on our stay, could be the cool weather. Lots of great places close by to shop and eat seafood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Very nice park. Very clean. Blacktop roads, sites and patios. We stayed on site 35, waterfront. Did not see any ants around our site; although, park handout said campers should spray for ants. Site was perfectly level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Stayed here for 3 weekend days and got a perfect shady slot on the water. Wonderful sunsets overlooking the bay and downtown Mobile. Current problem with sugar ants. Spray anywhere that contacts the ground and you won't have an issue. Bathhouse with showers is new and clean but sugar ants are in most places (they don't bite they just crawl around). Great boat launch and fishing pier and a 1 mile or so hiking trail that goes up over the water then into a wooded island for birding. Delta Resource Center is across street with 2 more hiking trails and 3 buildings housing exhibits both live and stuffed animals from the region including bears, gators, and snakes. This is a must do. This is a great spot to kayak boat or jet ski but be sure you stay in the channels as the bay is shallow in spots. We will go again. Shopping and food stores 3 minutes away in Spanish Fort. Be sure to eat at Felix's Seafood over by the USS Alabama. Also a must do. Downtown Mobile 5 minutes away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
This place is alive with ANTS. 3 days later, after multiple sprayings and washing, still finding them all over the outside, inside, in food, in bed, on us.. Very disgusting. We stayed here before and was looking forward to staying again. Saw a small sign at the entrance, unattended, about ants, but no one mentioned anything. Not the hosts or the neighbor who we spoke to. Next morning, realized the circle I thought was chalk, that the children had drawn around the trailer next door, was actually chemicals to keep the ants away. Sunset, sunrise spectacular, but ants were horrendous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Park web site offers a 15% discount for elderly and disabled. When I enquired, I was told no, its not offered. Bug city: bring ant/mosquito repellent with you. Lots of units look like they are having a yard sale. The place is so so. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
Great Park right on the Delta easy access, sites are paved park is well kept and clean. Laundry is available, restrooms and showers are spotless. Restaurants are close as are two towns which have everything you might need. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Very nice park on ocean bay. Lots of tall trees. Rate is for seniors. Sign posted warning about ants. We were parked on concrete and didn't think we had to worry. Trailer was full of ants the next morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
This posting is more about the hosts rather than the park itself. The campground is nice enough, about what you would expect for an Alabama State Park. We arrived at dusk and had to find the host's site. Nothing posted at gate giving site numbers of hosts. Only found them by driving around the Campground and looking for the most clutter. The (host) lady came out of their trailer and had me fill out the registration standing in the rain with about a 30 mph wind blowing. She gave me a site number and we drove down to it and commenced setting up. Had already disconnected the trailer from the tow vehicle, when she walks up and tells me I have to move as her husband had taken a reservation for that site earlier in the day and had not put it in the book. As there was an empty pullthrough site just like the one I was on, next door, I asked why they couldn't give them that one. She was adamant about me moving so I had to reconnect the trailer and move to the adjoining site. Needless to say, when we got up the next morning, there was no one on the site we were removed from. Overall, these unprofessional hosts ruined what should have been a pleasant evening off the road. Another thing: you can spend the night in a great private park with Wi-Fi, TV, and helpful hosts for what Alabama is now charging for a site in their state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$26
This park is located on a small island on the water of Mobile Bay. The I-10 causeway is nearby and you can hear the vehicles when outside the RV, but no problem when inside. The sites are spacious and spic-&-span clean. The restrooms and showers were immaculate. The rate shown, $25.50, reflects a senior discount available to all over 62, non-residents included; otherwise the rate is $30 a night. Mobile is only 3 or 4 miles away. About 6 sites are pull-through; the rest are back in. A few sites are available for longer stays at $500 a month. Some sites are right on the bay. We only stayed here overnight, but would return in the future for a longer stay. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
We arrived after the front office was closed but was earlier advised by phone our assigned site number. The site numbers are not painted on the electrical pedestals, but instead on the center of the pavement entrance in faded white numbers. The campground host came by a couple hours after our arrival and collected our fee. Turn around for pull through sites to exit the park is the large paved boat ramp area. Lots of pine needles. This is a nice park and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Very pleasant overnight experience. There is a boat ramp in park for bay fishermen. Fishing and biking opportunities. We would stay here again when in the area. Rate doesn't include senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
All roads and sites are blacktop, sites were level. Sites 1 through 56 have 20/30/50 amps, water, sewer, table and a BBQ grill and no problem to get in and out of site. Sites have around 100 feet of space on each side. Sat. systems will work on most sites but some sites may be blocked due to tall pines trees (water front sites are no problem). We could pick up a lot of channels over the air on TV as Mobile, AL is very close by. Verizon cell and MiFi 3G air card worked well here. If you like to fish or rest this is a great place to do it on Ducker Bay. Gates are locked at night and you have a code to get back in. Staff was very friendly and helpful at check in. No open fires are permitted except in grills provided. Sun sets were great. You can see the lights in Mobile at dark. The two bathhouse are new and are set up for ADA use. You have two ADA sites next to one bathhouse. You will pick up road noise from Hwy 90 and I-10 but inside it will be hard to hear. Park has a boat ramp and fishing pier inside park. Found small play ground set for the kids. Lots of great seafood places to eat close by. Wal-Mart super center and Publix supermarket are around five miles for shopping. Rate was due to seniors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Campground is very wooded with narrow, winding, sometimes steep road to campsites. The road out of the campground takes a steep downward, curving path and then a steep upward path to exit. We had problems getting through the campground with a 30 foot rig. Past reviews about level sites are correct. Would not use this for an overnight stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
We spent 5 days here for our grandaughters state softball tournament. Easy access from Interstate 81. Electric was good, a few sites had water, with extra long hose. The biggest draw back is finding a level site. I loved the setting and staff was very helpful. I would rate this park higher, but needs work to level the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This is a great state park. The layout, utilities, location, security and view are excellent. Level asphalt pads, new utility connections, stable power and roomy sites make hookups easy. Spotty TV over the air, no cable or internet. Convenient to both the east bay attractions and to Mobile. Bass Pro and a million restaurants within a couple of miles. Eastern Shore Bike Path that runs from Battleship Park to Magnolia Springs (20+ miles) runs along front of campground. No playground or pool. Senior discount for state residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
I stay in Meaher State Park every year for a few days while I visit family in Mobile. I believe the park improves yearly. The park is spotless, the staff helpful and friendly. The site was paved, level and quite roomy. Lots of walking room for the dogs (and me). A boat launching area, Alligators from time to time and more restaurants than humanly possible to visit. The list goes on and on. If I have one very small issue (and I mean small) it is that this year my DirecTV was blocked by trees. If I were to have requested a water front site this would not have been an issue. I will stay at Meaher State Park next year too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
What a beautiful park! The sunsets are magnificent. We got a senior discount which saved us $5 a night. Great location from which to visit Mobile. The bath and shower rooms are clean and nearly new. There's a boardwalk from which one could see birds, however we saw none. I'd stay there again in a minute! The ONLY downside is that there is no WiFi. Verizon phones worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
This campground offers paved sites, including some pull-throughs, and some back-ins on the water. All are full hookups. The only negative aspect was the showers, which were clean but lacked hot water. The park uses the push-button style shower, which does not allow for changing temperature, and ours was too cool. In addition, the lights in the bathroom were on a motion sensor which was near the door; once you were in a toilet stall, the light went out, which was a bit bothersome at night. Due to the shower problems, we would camp here again only if we needed a decent site for the night and the distance of travel worked out well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$26
Excellent SP. Sites available on water front. The sign at our site, #21, warned not to "harass or feed their alligators". They need not worry. Close and convenient access to Mobile and some very good Cajun food places. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Large back-ins on the bay. Hard pads, good utilities, including sewer, at a state park. Very easy access off I-10 and several good places for seafood within a couple of miles. Good stop for overnight or an extended stay. Also has a fishing pier, trail, birds and alligators. Mobile is about 7 miles away. Good satellite reception, strong 3G signal, strong local TV but a limited number of stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Great spot. Clean and well kept. Staff were great; very hospitable. Sites were designed so that nearly every one had a clear and beautiful view of the bay; gorgeous sunsets. Bathrooms were very clean with nice showers and very clean laundry facilities. Excellent accessibility to shopping, attractions and restaurants. Close enough to town, but not to close. Our first 2 days included some torrential rains with no flooding anywhere. 4 large, pull through, paved and level sites with most other sites back ins, not paved, but clear, large and fairly level. If staying more than a day or two, choose a back in site on the water. Should have stayed longer. Rate reflects senior discount. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We enjoyed our stay and would come again. The sites were large, level, easy to hook up. Electricity was excellent: we used both air conditioners often. Good Sprint cell service, slow Verizon broadband. TV antenna reception was terrible and we couldn't get satellite TV through the trees. Restrooms were fairly clean. Staff was very friendly. There were lots of long-term residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Located on Mobile Bay, this park has gorgeous views. We parked about 20 feet from the water, and the sunset was spectacular. My children also really enjoyed playing near the water. The paved roads were large and well maintained, so driving was easy. Our parking pad was paved, level, and long (probably 65 feet). We have a long rig, and we didn’t have to unhitch to park overnight. Backing in was a tad snug but not difficult. The RV slot also had nice utilities, solid and well-designed. The park was full of many long-term residents, so you probably want to reserve a space in advance. On a weekday in March, they were nearly sold out. Although the park was very full, the spaces were roomy, and the place didn’t feel crowded. We did our laundry here, and the laundry room was very nice, inexpensive ($1/washer, $1/dryer), and not very busy. Our Verizon Aircard worked fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
Nice clean park, well maintained. Did seem like a place where most were staying for work in the area or some living there. That was evident by the personal items always left in the showers. Clean laundry area. Very quiet except for noise from I-10, but learned to drown it out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Beautiful park on Mobile Bay - we stayed 1 week after a total disaster in another state park 5 miles away. Weekly rate is $15 a night - a real steal for level paved sites, beautiful view, and a very clean and well maintained campground. One of the staff members, Christie, was a wealth of information for us, and made our stay in the area very pleasant. Pull throughs are plenty long for a 40 footer with toad, and the backins are just as big. Satellite is tough in the pull throughs, but the rest of the park looks good. Showers and laundry are excellent and very clean. We definitely will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This park looks like it was just built. In fact, they had some construction materials stored in a picnic shelter near our site, so I guess they're still working on it. Some of the sites are paved and some are on grass, which are less expensive. We had one of the paved sites and it was nice and level as you would expect. They have a nice fishing pier. Everything was shiny, clean, and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
We stayed for Mother's Day weekend and found the park to be very clean, the staff is very friendly, and the other campers, are family friendly. The pier is nice and great for fishing, they have a separate bathroom right next to the pier. The bathhouse and laundry are very clean. There's no pool and no swimming but there is plenty to do, such as fish and alligator watch. Also 5 rivers complex is across the street and they rent kayaks and canoes, they also have an am cafe. There's also several great seafood places in the area, that are family friendly and most offer live music on the weekends. - 10 minutes from downtown Mobile. The weekly rate is 15 a night, the daily/weekend rate is 35 a night and they do take reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
They have completely redone this park All sites are now paved with 30 or 50 amp, sewer, and water. Many are directly on Mobile Bay. There are brand new bath houses too. They also raised their rates to $30 a night which is a bit steep for this park. You can stay at Gulf State Park for the same price. But, that said, these are very nice upgrades and we will stop in again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
Great park, quiet, staff very friendly,great to take walks in this park. Cool in the woods. Close to food and shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
We like Meaher Camp for its convenience for fishing on the Mobile Bay. But it is not necessarily a friendly place for children because you cannot swim in the bay due to alligators. Also, we didn't see any signs that were posted about the danger of alligators and we saw three of them while we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$12
State park feel, very rustic, wooded, secluded. Front of park had ball fields, playground, picnic area. Camping in the rear on a wooded hill. Narrow roads with low-hanging trees. There were sites to accommodate our 33' rig (back in) but not sure I'd venture in there in a much larger rig. We camped at the far loop and it was difficult to back in due to trees and roots. Nice place to go for an overnight (quiet) or to get away from it all. Not a destination campground unless you're roughing it or escaping. No resort amenities. Liked it and would camp there again. I just pulled off the interstate to overnight it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$13
This small campground is in a 1300 acre day-use park used primarily by picnickers and bird watchers. It has few amenities -- plastic pit toilets without showers and picnic tables, but not much else. But it is a pretty park on the bay -- and it's very quiet (except for the background noise of I-10 not far away). It sits across the bay from Mobile, and downtown is less than 10 minutes away, so it is very handy for visiting Mobile attractions. Note that the park is open only from 7 a.m. until 4 p.m. and then they lock the gate so you must arrive before 4 (if you're camping they give you the combination). We thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet for several nights while making day trips to Mobile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com