218607 User submitted reviews online!!
Sundial Springs Campground & Hot Springs was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (575) 539-2712
CGID6450

Sundial Springs Campground & Hot Springs

Camp Information
Sites
8
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   9   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
If you want remote, this is it. A fabulous place surrounded by national forest. Yes, the dirt road is an issue, but we had no problems in an old GMC towing a Jeep Wrangler. (We did drive them out separately). Real big rigs might find it a little tight, but certainly manageable. No cellphone, no Wi-Fi, just surrounded by nature. Owner very friendly and helpful and added a personal touch that you don't often see. No playgrounds, but great attractions in the area that make this a great family stopover. We visited ghost town of Mogollon and took the famous 'Catwalk" scenic trail. Both great things to do in the area. Several nice developed and very private hot springs pools available for an extra price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$19
First, definitely follow the directions to get here. From Glenwood go past mile marker 55, look for a sign: there is a pair of Binoculars and the #42 above it. It will say "Sundial Day Use Only." Continue down a dirt road, keep going straight. Do not turn down the right hand dirt road: it's rutted and there's no place to comfortably turn around. Ask me how I know!!!! Continue till you come to a gate, reservations are required, have some one jump out and hold and reclose the gate once you are through it. The RV sites are quite generous, and have great rock grills. The host and owner is a chatty gal who really knows the area and is great with suggestions on where to go. There is a bath, (the water is lonely) and a laundry, no extra charge, we had no problem using either. For an additional charge she’ll fill the two hot springs for a fabulous hot spring experience. We would definitely return, but probably in spring or fall, not summer. Was $18.50 for 50 amp service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
A quirky little park in a remote location; one mile off the highway on a graded Forest Service road. Not for everyone, but definitely the nicest RV park in the Glenwood area. Very spacious sites and clean restrooms and showers. Most sites had a built in BBQ grill. A soak in the hot springs (extra fee) was great after a hike! There is marginal cell phone service in this whole area, so you need to be sure and call ahead for reservations when you can. You have to have a reservation so they know you are coming! Wi-Fi at the office only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$19
The dirt road coming into the campground is rough on a big rig, shrubs scratch. Once in our site we had a wonderful relaxing visit. The setting couldn't be more perfect and our dish even connected us to the internet with no problem. Don't pass this by if you have the opportunity and want to relax. Take a dip in the hot spring for a special treat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
What a wonderful place. Now, this park is not for everyone. If you like bright security lights right outside your RV, if you like the sound of highways, or if you like the noise of close neighbors, this park is not for you. If you like profound quiet, peace, and darkness then try this park. You must make reservations: no drive bys, but it is well worth the extra effort. It is like being at a very exclusive resort or visiting a great relative that actually likes you. We could look out our front window and see Bighorn sheep. We could see great birds all around. It is only a short drive to the Cat Walk (great). This park is not easy to find: it is closer to mile marker 56. There is a very small sign after you turn, that says Sundial road. You will drive a total of about a mile to the park. You will pass a road on the right that says 519a. You will pass two signs that say road closed ahead. You will come to a gate with notices that you should not pass if you do not have reservations. You will be thinking how do I turn around if this does not work. Finally you will come to a great site with only eight RV sites. When we were here, we had no other campers: wonderful! The hot springs: you have to let your host know that you want a bath. It is extra of course, but well worth the cost. We stayed here three nights and did the hot springs every night. We had a totally private pool under the stars: wonderful. So, if you want an interesting experience with quiet, dark, and wonderful views, do give this place a try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
Same as previous reviews. Great place to get away from it all! Signage is hard to find off Route 180 between the 55 & 56 mile markers. From Silver City, it is on the left side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
Small park, secluded, with large sites. No lights, no cable, no phone, no frills...we loved it! The owner, Shelly, is friendly and a lot of fun to talk to. There are hot tubs available, for a fee, filled with geothermally heated water. Great spot for viewing the stars and enjoying the peace and quiet. We'll definitely visit again if we go back to the area. Free wireless at the Glenwood Community Center a few miles north. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$17
This is the most beautiful campground we have ever stayed in. It is in the middle of the Gila National Wilderness, 4 miles from the famous "Catwalk" National Recreation Trail. 3 fabulous natural hot springs pools (fee). 360 degree views of magnificent mountains, river valley. Huge sites that can accommodate whichever view you wish to face (east or west) with full hook-ups on both sides. Picnic tables and lovely stone fire/BBQ structures at each site. Several beautiful tent sites. This campground is only for those seeking a true nature experience and who do not wish noise, amenities or entertainment features. Two lovely home-style bathrooms (l handicap accessible), laundry. Nearest stores are in Silver City - about 60 miles south. If you wish to be out of touch with this crazy world and in total touch with nature, complete peace, quiet and totally dark skies full of stars...this is the place. Reservations required. Wonderful owner/manager. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com