224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Wine Country RV Park - Sonoma was rated 5 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (707) 795-9333
CGID6475

Wine Country RV Park - Sonoma

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   3   4   3   5   6   6   7   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
This park is right in the middle of Rohnerville. Convenient if you have business here or want a place close to the new casino. Lot of full timers here with all types of RVs: new and old (but mostly new from what I could see), a lot of this park goes back where I could not see. I imagine a lot of people who are living here have jobs in the area. The sites are crammed together with narrow roads. I would not want to try getting in with a very large rig. The route to my RV spot was confusing as the map directed me in, but I was facing the wrong way for utility hook-up. I had to go back out of the park and come in facing the other direction. Once I was in the spot correctly, the utilities were easy to access, but the spot was not quite level. I thought it would be a nicer place to stay than the fairgrounds in Santa Rosa where I had just come from (as that place has nothing but large gravel over the whole park' not good for dog walking.) But next time, I will just stay in Santa Rosa: will not come back to this park. It should be fine if you need to stay in Rohnert Park for any reason, but I would not recommend it for a stop off point in your travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2013
$50
Wish we had read the reviews before staying here. There are very few spaces open for short stays and they are tight and hard to negotiate. Many cars are parked in front of trailers making the road narrow and the turns are not very wide. The back part of the park is in extremely bad shape. The office staff was very friendly but this park costs way too much for they type of park this is. Good Sam needs to re-rate this park as it does not come up to their standards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Read the other reviews and were hesitant to stay here but it was much cheaper than the next closest alternative. We were closest to the office so felt OK leaving to visit friends. Spaces are small and the place is NOT big rig friendly. Very few spaces for overnighters. I felt sorry for the big rig next to us trying to get out our first morning. I moved my car so he could turn across our space but he still had to back several times and rubbed a tree making the corner. Staff was friendly and dog area adequate. I will pay more and stay elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
The manager was friendly and helpful. The park was generally run down in the area not used for overnighters and looked to be occupied by seasonal workers. Our site was newly renovated and satisfactory, but younger teenagers at play raised the noise level in the early evening. The laundry was very basic and not as clean as it should be. Security could have been an issue if we had left our rig unattended. Getting out was a bit dodgey due to sharp and narrow corners. Not likely to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
To say this "Park" is a bit cramped would be an understatement in my opinion. The short term stays are crammed in together all in a row, and we had to back in and out of the road leading to our site as we could not turn around with our truck, and there was no other way out. On either side we looked into the windows of two huge RVs. This "Park" was a great disappointment, and I would find it difficult to refer to it as a park. To exit the place we left early in the morning and backed our truck and travel trailer out of the site and up the exit road inside the campground to get out. I don't know how else we would have exited as we could never have made the corners to exit in the proper direction--not without moving several vehicles and flower pots and not with a 27' Camper and a truck. That said, everything worked well. We had full hook-up, and the people in the office were great. They had a great looking TV & public sitting room, and the laundry worked well and was economical at $1.25/washer. The half barrels of flowers are a lovely touch but so inadequate in the cramped, dismal surroundings. We would never stay here again. Price quoted is Passport America price, and as far as I'm concerned, about double what should be charged for this place. Passport America and Good Sam need to rethink endorsing this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$49
A bit cramped and tight but manageable sites. Cable TV has only 5 snowy channels. WiFi took ages to set up and we had to call the provider to do so, when connected it was slow. Otherwise good for a nights stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
This is one of those RV parks that you can stay at for a night or two if you're driving through town. The name "Wine Country RV Park" is slightly deceiving, as the actual wine country is further north towards Healdsburg (about 30+ minutes). The host was very friendly and helpful. The park is maintained and there are half wine barrels with flowers at each site which is a nice touch. The bathrooms were clean. Laundry looked clean as well, although we did not use it. Note that the park has a section designated for full time residents, mostly in run down motorhomes. As soon as you pull into the park you're greeted by a few of these units, and the rest are sectioned off in the back. They keep the middle section open for short-term stays. Wi-Fi worked well, cable not so well. Sites rather close together. Getting in and out of the park was quite tricky as the corners are tight, as well as maneuvering around low-lying branches and trees. Short walk to a mini-mart/deli type store. Would only stay here again if we had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$49
This is not a destination park. It is fine for a quick over night or short layover. The sites are small and very close together. There are a few that will handle larger RV's and they are good about placing you in these sites. This is more of a residential park, most full timers in the park. There is a back section that has mostly older run down trailers, but this is blocked off and does not take away from the front part of the park. I note some previous reviews stated noise from some of the full timers in the back section, but we found it very peaceful and quiet during our stay. The front part of the park is nice and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The club house is large and inviting. There are comfortable sofas around a TV and another section of comfortable seating around a fireplace. The ping pong table is outdoors and has has seen better days. The weather has caused it to warp. Laundry room is well maintained. We had a tough time when leaving. It was very tight at the end where we exited. They had installed some storage lockers which took up space and made it very tight getting out. We had to move a large potted plant in order to get out. So make sure you check the exits before leaving to make sure you choose the best way out for your RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
We stayed at this park for 3 nights. The park manager was very friendly and helpful. The site (#112) was sufficient for our 29' RV and Jeep. The restrooms were very clean. The park has great proximity to Sonoma State University (less than 1 mile), Sonoma, and surrounding vineyards (about 30 minutes). The sites are pretty close together and there are a large number of extended stay campers at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
Call this park first. Do not drive into this park to see if they have any vacancies. You can’t tell from the roadway what you are getting into. There were no sites available in this older, cramped park filled mostly with what appeared to be permanent residents. The streets are so narrow that we didn’t know if we would be able to make the turns to get our 32’ fifth wheel back out without hitting something. One of us had to get out of the truck to watch for trouble all the way back out, unusual when you are going forward. The desk staff was cool, but not rude. Probably an okay place for smaller rigs, just due to the price (Passport America) in an expensive area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This resort is clean and has flowers here and there. Restrooms and showers are clean. That is about all that is good about this park! RV's are jammed so close you can not extend an awning. Lots of permanent types living in older RV's. Lots are very small with hookups near the front of RV so you have to stretch hoses to reach. Overpriced for amenities. Is both a Passport America and a good Sam park but very much overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Why would anyone stay here twice if they were not forced to stay here? How could any park place MH's closer together? This is a place to sleep if you have too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
We found this park to be very flexible and 'camper friendly'. The management was very knowledgeable of the area and an excellent resource for both wine country and San Francisco. The park was well maintained, clean and reasonably priced. We would recommend it to our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
We discovered this park through Passport America. The park write up in the Passport catalogue makes this place sound like a first class resort. We were very disappointed in our stay here. They pack in the RV rigs so close together that one could not even put up their awning. This place should be condemned as there is no standard for RV's some of the permanent residents trailers etc. are from the 50's, with tires missing, tarps overtop of them, falling down etc. Not to mention the people living in them! It is truly depressing to see that people actually have to live like this. Families living in 28' trailers! Kids playing on the road etc. Cats and dogs everywhere! Don't get me wrong, we have a dog and appreciate parks that welcome pets. The only thing good about this place is the Manager, who is very friendly, hard working and knowledgeable of the area amenities etc. We couldn't get out of this place fast enough and will never return! We have RV'd for many years and across many states and provinces and this is the worst we have stayed at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$44
We stay here 3 to 4 times a year because our daughter is a student at Sonoma State University, which is just 1/2 mile down the street from the RV Park. The wine country, the beaches, even San Francisco are not to far away. This park is clean, safe, quiet and for us very conveniently located. There is nothing wrong with this park, although the turn to get in is a bit tight , but you just take your time. The managers a very friendly, and we really like to come back every time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$44
OMG, don't walk, run away from this horrible place! These people should be fined for deceptive advertising. This place is a dump! I agree with the other reviewer; if reprobates, druggies, & sex offenders are your crowd, you will feel right at home. All others steer clear. This "park" is located in a densely populated residential area, and not near anything but a laundromat that charges $4/load. The sites are cramped, and on gravel that gets very muddy. The park advertises that it is dog friendly, but there is no dog run, and every grass or mulch area is filled with dog and cat excrement. Obviously, picking up after your pet is optional. The only place we found to walk our dogs was a rather sketchy parking lot just outside the grounds. They do provide basic facilities; laundry, rest rooms, showers: but I was too afraid of being mugged to go in. The garden settings and "lodge-like" community room shown in the website photographs are idealized beyond belief! The manager was very accommodating, but that could not make up for the horror of this awful place. If we had not traveled so far, and it had not been so late, we would have left immediately. We could not get out of there fast enough the next morning. If you were down on your luck, and had no other place to go, you would still think twice about going here. RVers beware! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
We camped here last month and had a blast! I loved the quaintness of the park. It was clean and friendly. Everyone was very accommodating. We have stayed here before and most certainly will come again! Keep the good work! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
This park is very clean. It is close to all services. Employees and Manager are very accommodating and friendly. Would highly recommend this park to any family or friends. We really enjoyed our stay and will miss it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$49
Park is very well maintained, also very quiet. Management is very good and does whatever possible to accommodate guests. We would stay here anytime, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this park to nay of our friends, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
I have never been able to stay for my sister's sports events with Grams and Poppa. It was so much fun. Thanks for giving a place to stay so my family can enjoy it affordable. Showers were great. Loved the fact that there was such a free Wi-Fi and those managers could not have been more pleasant. German couple who make you feel at home. They were very pet friendly which made Grams and Poppa happy and allowed them to come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
Just like the last two folks reviewing this “Park”, it was very much deceptively advertised as an “RV Park”. My wife and I have been RVing for well over 30 years and we’ve stayed in some questionable private and publicly owned parks, but none of those can compare to the disappointment and disgust of this place. The “Park” is located within a densely populated residential community and given normal driving conditions this place is in no way closely located to “Wine County”. Our 4 day experience started and ended with one of our neighbors, I not so kindly nick-named “The “Prowler”. We found “The Prowler” seated on an old broken fence staring at us and our RV nearly every time we exited or entered our RV. In short and quite bluntly, if you’re homeless, suffering from some mental illness, an ex-con / registered sex offender, or just a transient worker not giving a rat about the rats where you’re temporarily lodged, well than this is the place for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
Not what we expected to say the least. This "RV" park really needs to be advertise as a mobile/trailer park and stick with the more permanent resident clientele the majority of the park already has. I am sure the economy in California has a lot to do with it but as far as I was concerned it was mis-advertised. Big rigs fit in here on a wing and a prayer and a lot of maneuvering, swearing and frustration so save yourself the grief if you have one or anything RV over 30 feet. We have stayed at many campgrounds and I can honestly say this was the most unsafe I have ever felt especially with several permanent residents watching every move we made. I felt horrible for the kids living here, like the reviewer said previously, their play area was also the dogs toilet area. Our tow vehicle was frequently blocked in by the permanent residents and their friends. People are walking around the park and through your campsite all hours of the night making leaving out your chairs or barbeque not even an option. I would suggest anyone thinking about going RVing in the Napa Valley drive up and stay at the nice KOA in Willets. It was well worth the extra drive with many nice wineries in the area. We left several nights early forgoing our "prepaid" RV reservation as there is a LARGE sign saying "No Refunds." It should have been our first clue that something wasn't right. We finally decided to leave and take our chances finding something else. At this point the Wal-Mart parking lot was looking really good! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
This is one of the worst, dirtiest, and unkempt parks I have EVER stayed in. The child play area and the dog area are the same small grassy spot and this is certainly not a big rig park. Additionally, my surge protector continued to shut off my power at my assigned power box and I had to run off a neighboring box. There are about 5 spots that are open to RVers, the rest are all old run down permanent residents. The photos are not an accurate depiction of this park. My spot was directly behind an old school bus with a 1970 something pickup with a jack under it holding in the transmission. Also, on my way out I saw a Dept of Corrections officer in the park, apparently checking on one of his offenders. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
The manager was very pleasant to deal with, but I would not stay at this RV park again. Most of the customers are long-termers. Some look as though they have been here for years. The cops showed up one night, but not sure why. The sites were cramped and the whole park has an over-crowded feel to it, which made me quite uncomfortable. It was difficult to find areas to walk the dogs and let them do their business. Northern California is wonderful, but we will stay somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
Our rate was Passport America. The manager is very nice. The park is clean, and the laundry facilities are nice. You can wait in the rec room while you wait for your clothes. Yes, the back of the park does look like people have been camped back there for 40 years, and if that bothers you, just don't go back there! We felt safe. However, the spaces are very close together and we heard our rude neighbors all throughout the night. We did not complain though, so that's our fault. The park is pretty hard to get in and out of. It's really tight. Overall though, for the price, we couldn't beat it and we'd come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$50
The owners here are very personable and accommodating. And while it's true that the interior road is rather narrow and tight, we had no problem negotiating through to our site -- which was a pull-through. The site fit both our 24' motorhome and our Smart Car toad without a problem. Showers here are operated with tokens provided by the office -- there is no charge. Free cable TV and there were lots of local stations available on the system. The primary feature of this park is its proximity to both the Napa and Sonoma wineries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
This park is in a great location for good grocery shopping, restaurants, bookstores, etc. If you have bikes, all are close by with safe bike lanes. The older, residential part of the park is a wonderful example of community and affordable housing and we enjoyed our walk around the park. It was just the kind of restful, stocking up, overnight stop we needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
We just did not like this place. The sites were real close together and no place to sit outside. In the back there were a bunch of homeless types living out of really old junky trailers. We walked back there and found it to be very unnerving. We paid for three nights: they make you pay in advance with no refunds when we wanted to bug out. We still left after only one night. Would not recommend or stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$52
It's always difficult finding a good RV park when you are touring wine country. Although this one states Big Rigs Welcome, this is one one of the tightest parks to get in and out of. We couldn't even turn in the entrance and had to stop, unhitching our car and blocking everybody. Even though they have the name "Sonoma" in their title, Sonoma is at least 1/2 hour or 45 minute drive from this small RV park, located in town, surrounded by apartment and condo buildings. Healdsburg and the wineries to the North, just as far. I should mention that the manager of the place is the nicest guy and does everything he can do to make it work, and get the rigs in, but he is working with what the owners have given him. Just a big rig will fit in a space, doesn't make it big rig friendly. If you could drop a big rig into the space with a helicopter, things might work better. Many rigs were not even capable of making the turns once inside the park, and had to leave going back through their empty space. Parking for your vehicle is tough also, unless you get one of the dual spaces that are extra wide. I did like the dual location of dump drains, one near the back of the coach and one mid-station, to accommodate different hookups. The recreation center seemed very old and dingy. There was a long-term area for the park, blocked off by a entry gate. We would not stay there again because of the severe space limitations and congestion. Because of the economy, and gas prices, I don't think anybody will ever build a really nifty RV park centrally located and easy to get to in the wine country. We've tried the Napa Country Fairgrounds RV park several times near Calistoga, and that's ok, but when we were there, the help leaves around 6 and farm workers would come in, use the showers, then eat dinner and sleep in their cars, one of them parked right behind our RV. I wonder whether that still goes on? Thank you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We spent about 5 weeks in this park as a base for touring the wine country. We loved it and so did our dog. We requested a double site and were able to park our Jeep along side the RV. The managers were very friendly and made our stay very pleasant. Although the park is just off a main street, we were surprised at how quiet it was in the evening. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Very tight park. Driveways and roads are just big enough. Spots are very tight. Roads paved, sites gravel. Well maintained. Picnic tables at every site. Very good WiFi. Good trees and shade. Pretty expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$49
Well-- I read the previous reviews and I have to say, that a lot of must have changed. We arrived in the Wine Country RV Park and the managers were one of the most friendliest people I met at check in for a while. They guided us to our site and during our 1 week stay, we were asked every day if everything was fine.And it was. The Park is very well kept and we had a great time. It is a quiet, clean and safe place to stay and we will be back. It is also a Good Sam park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
This is a great away! The park is older and quaint. The bathrooms are clean and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It is more personable than some of the bigger parks. I love that is it close to the beach, wine country, and Sonoma Grove University. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$49
Sites are very narrow. At times you will not be able to use your awning and at the worst of times you will not be able to use slide-outs. This is not a big rig park. Entrance makes it very difficult to get in and out. Many long term residents. Noisy, motorcycles. If you get a spot by the parking lot don't expect a good night's sleep. When we stayed one of the few trees found in the park lost a huge branch and another RV'er lost their awning as it crashed through it. Obvioulsy park maintenance is poor when it come to things like that. Bathrooms were very clean. One half of park is given over to permanent residents. Mangers at the time were rude and not helpful at all. The park is placed close to local sights, but would not stay here again. No firepits or picnic tables available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$49
A small RV park not really suitable for large rigs. Sites are small, and there is not much space between sites. Staff was ok at time of visit. It was difficult to drive out of park, not much room for turning. We will not stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
Sites extremely narrow - if there are two RV's parked next to each other then neither one can put out their awnings and in some Sites slides can not be extended if there is another RV parked next to you. Managers presented a very "dictatorial" attitude towards the Guests and were not very helpful. Front of park is for newer RV's and the back of the Park is closed off by an access gate and contains what appears to be permanent people in very old trailers. Would not stay here again even though it is very convenient for "sightseeing" in the local area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
The staff was not very friendly. We were reminded that the check-out time was at 10AM and that they are not very flexible regarding that. Even though there were quite a lot of available sites, we were put into the site exactly at the park entrance next to a very bright and loud humming light (as we found out later in the evening). There was quite some traffic (cars and motorcycles) in and out of the park. There seem to be quite a lot of long-term stayers in that park. The site was very narrow. With another RV on one side and a fence on the other, we were able to walk out of the site, but had no possibility to put any chairs out. Also there was neither a pick nick table or a fire pit. Positive things were the very clean showers and restrooms and the free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$45
Great Location, Central to Wine Country, Sonoma and Napa and only 45 miles to San Francisco. Managers are great and the new re-opening will be a success. Need to make sure you call for directions in, not many city signs (707)795-9333. Very clean and they love your pets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com