206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Safari RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (281) 332-4131
CGID6506

Safari RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   8   5   8   9   5   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
This is a tired park but clean. The staff are friendly and it is a good stop for a good Passport of America rate. Would for sure stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2014
$15
Rate is based on Passport America. Located this park due to proximity to Space Center Houston. Park has a few decent short term sites, but mostly permanent mobile homes and RVs, many in not great shape. It would be an OK overnight stop if you do not require use of the bathrooms and showers, as they are in despicable shape. During our visit only one toilet and one shower were in working order. When we woke up the first and only morning of our stay, the toilet was plugged, with no one available to fix it until 9:00am. As we travel in a VW van, working and reasonably decent bathrooms are very important.. We had unfortunately paid for four nights, and the manager did graciously refund the remainder of our fee, when advised that we just could not stay considering no guarantee of a working toilet. Also, although they advertise Tengo internet, we could not detect a signal at our site, and even standing just outside the office, the weak signal would not allow our connection. Cannot recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$15
Safari RV park is a Passport America park, with rates for 3 days. If you stay longer you get a discounted rate off their regular rate. My wife and I have stayed at this park off and on for 8 years. The park has the same manager. Safari also offers long term camping in their RV section or mobile home section. The park's location makes it very convenient to a lot of places to explore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Office closed when we arrived and is not open on Sunday or Monday. We arrived on a Saturday for 4 nights and registered on Tuesday. We used 3 nights of Passport America for $15./night. Fourth night was 25% off for $22.50. Sites are long pull through with gravel pads and small concrete pad. Site for the RV was below the sewer connection so had to raise hose to drain, Power and water pressure is good. There is a major problems with large dogs roaming or being walked with no one picking up. I had to clean up my site and dogs continued to use my site for their doing their job but I never saw them. Campground is filled with mobile homes and RV's that people full time in; only one other camper came in on an overnighter. Close to NASA, Kemah and Galveston. Also close to friends and that is why we picked this location. No cable with OTA proving a number of stations with about half of them Hispanic or religious stations. Would have been a plus for cable but at the rates we paid, we got a good value. Advertised WiFi but my computer never picked up a broadcast. We camped here with a 5th wheel and would probably stay again but only because of the location we needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
We have stayed at this park several times. We always use Passport America. The park is close to any place that you might want to visit. They have short term and long term camping. This park is a split park. Part mobile homes and part RV. Our stay was very pleasant. The sights are very spacious. We have not used their Wi-Fi because we have our own hot spot. I think you have to pay for their Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
This is a wonderful park for touring the surrounding area. Office staff was friendly and helpful, all utilities were up to par and over the air TV was good. Verizon service was on the slow end but tolerable. I would give this park a 10 but some sites were not satellite friendly because of trees, and the gravel exit road after a rain was muddy. Rate reflects a Passport America discount. We would stay here again if in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$15
Rate is with Passport America discount, cash only. We were underwhelmed with this campground after reading the previous reviews. Mostly full time residents who do not maintain their campers or mobile homes. The ladies shower was "out of order" and there is only one men's shower stall, and one toilet for men, one for women. Long gravel pull-throughs that are level. My neighbor decided to start his diesel truck at 6:11 AM and kept it running until 6:37 AM. Good over the air TV. If you are desperate for a spot for one night, this campground will be OK. I doubt we'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Great location. Close to Johnson Space Center and lots of shopping. The owner (I guess) went out of her way on Father's Day to make sure we had a shower key. Only downside was no cable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Quiet park with level sites. Good location for sightseeing in the area. We'd stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
This RV park is a mobile home park with RV sites. We stayed for 5 nights (three nights at a PA rate and then a reduced rate for two additional nights). This is a low frills place to stay but the location is great. It is directly between Galveston Island and Houston (about 23 miles each way). There is a pool, but we didn’t use it. There is a charge for Wi-Fi. Didn't see any restrooms/showers. We did get all the major TV stations through antennae. The sites are level (gravel) with concrete side pads. There is ample room between sites. We stayed for the price and location, which was perfect (just off I-45). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
Friendly staff. We came and were told to settle and come for paying the next morning. Very nice! I couldn't see shower-facilities and I did not spend time to check that out, so I can't tell anything about restrooms, showers, laundry. The rate reflects Passport America rates. WiFi is available through Tengo Internet It is not included and you have to pay online separately. We did not pay once we realized that the internet is very, very slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
Plenty of room for big rigs. This is a small mobile home park which has about 12 pull-through transient sites - some shady and some open. Wide roads and packed gravel sites with patios. PA rate of $14 per night was great. No frills park. A good place to stay while touring the Houston and Galveston area. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
This is a passport rate. We stayed here because it is close to Houston, Galveston, and other sights we wanted to see. We were glad we did. The staff were very friendly and helpful in the office. Quiet and nice sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
This park has seen better days but for the $14 Passport rate, it's worth the stop. The park is mostly filled with older park models in desperate need of paint. It has a swimming pool but there are not chairs around so it's not very inviting. Wi-Fi is provided by Tengo and costs $5 a day. The garbage cans were full when we arrived and were still full when we left three days later. But the bigger garbage bins are just a short walk away. It's quiet, easy to get into, the site are spacious and all the services are in good shape. Our greeting was very friendly. We've stayed here before in will undoubtedly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
Very nice park with easy access to both Houston and Galveston. Paved roads, gravel sites, cement patio and picnic tables under wooden roof. Wide sites and long enough for 40'ers. Rate was Passport America. 50% good for 3 days and then 25%. Nice girl in office. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$14
The Fee is the daily rate for 50 amp Full Hook Up pull thru site with q Passport America discount. It is an older mobile home park with 11 pull through sites for transient RVers, also some back-ins. No permanents in the pull through sites. Paved roads with gravel sites, some having a very small cabana type shelter over a picnic table. Sites can accommodate big rigs, but have trees which can interfere with satellite reception at some sites. Best access to the park is to use the I-45 southbound frontage road, south of Calder, then right on Big League Dreams Pkwy, which comes out on Calder a hundred feet or so north of the park entrance. Park is a good value for the money and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$9
The manager is very friendly. She keeps her big, loud, friendly dog in the office with her (which is OK with us; we're dog lovers). The park is not a "vacation spot". It has a pool but no hot tub, no playground, no designated dog area (although there are plenty of places to walk your dog). But it is very laid back and easy to get in and out of. We paid $250 plus electric for the month. This park is convenient to Galveston, NASA, and the Houston Rodeo. There are both an LP store and a small RV parts place less than a mile away. No road noise. We'll definitely come back to this park if the opportunity arises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Staff was friendly and helpful. We prefer to use campsite bathroom facilities, and theirs was dirty at all times with a layer of hair, grime, and soap scum on the walls the whole time we were there. The facilities did not appear maintained any of the time we were there as the condition of the trash, showers and sinks never improved. I had to unclog the drain in the bathroom myself. In the women's bathroom, the shower stopped working all of the sudden, and instead of fixing the problem, they instructed my wife to use the men's bathroom (not a problem but we have 2 little girls as well). The washer and dryers worked most of the time, but occasionally the machines just didn't work. The pool was closed because staff said the liner needed to be repaired which was to be repaired the next day. The next day my wife asked if pool lining was repaired; they then told her that the pump needed to be replaced. Finally we were able to go swimming 3 days after we arrived but there was still a hole in the lining and the pump was the same old one that was there all along. Staff was understanding about our need to suddenly leave as our visit was cut short due to family emergency. Camp sites were very nice and if we didn't need to use facilities or pool I think we would have been very pleased overall. Facilities and pool needed some attention. I believe part of the problem with this RV park is that since it is shared with a mobile home park they forget about the RVs. Also, it was somewhat strange to have a campsite that was shared with mobile home park. Office and signage appear old and worn. Wi-Fi was not free according to staff, but had no difficulty getting online briefly by using someone else's unsecured access. We would not stay here again unless in motorhome. For us the campsite's strength was it's location that suited our needs perfectly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$13
Located in a mobile home area, but the RV section is pretty nice. Concrete patios, full hookups, shade trees, easy in/out, big rig friendly wide sites,friendly staff, and Passport America rates make this a real bargain for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com