220376 User submitted reviews online!!
Prairie View Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (307) 334-3174
CGID6538

Prairie View Campground

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   6   6   5   3   1   7   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
OK place to stay one night. Mostly pipeline workers here for the long term. Site was gravel and easy in and easy out. People are nice and try to be helpful. Nice cafe on site. Wifi was good, but there is no TV reception. Lots of kids running around, but well behaved. Would stay again for one night. Not much else around, but make sure to see Fort Laramie while you are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Campground has new owners who purchased the place only a few months ago. They are making many improvements given the place was not maintained for many years. They were so accommodating given an unexpected blizzard rolled through. Offering guest into their home to ensure we all had shelter. Coffee was on every morning and we were greated with kind smiles and helping hands. The couple that owns the property has their son working there and he as well went out of his way to make sure guests had all they needed including rides to walk in hunting sites even when roads were limited. The improvements are just a start but these owners deserve a "10" for customer service and guest comfort. I can't wait to visit again next year to see all the changes. If you enjoy a hometown feel and welcoming company you are picking the best place in town. Public hunting sites are close by and easy to locate from Prairie View. Thanks again for the great stay and making sure we survived the blizzard! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
PPA rate. New owners since June, very friendly. Bathrooms clean, but need modernizing. Site not level. Lots of highway noise, so bring a white noise machine or fan. Rumbling train noise at 5 am. Not bad for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$13
Basic prairie park. Limited shade, pull through sites. No cable, Wi-Fi, antenna TV. Older but pretty clean bathrooms. Driveway has ruts in it so drive in/out slowly. Wanted low cost stop for the night with electricity for the AC unit. If you want low cost w/o electricity try the rest stop across the road as WY allows overnight "parking" and the rest stop looked nice and modern. Rate reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
First off, the entry at the cattle guard is deeply rutted as is the driveway right at the office so go slowly. The sites are pull throughs, the 50 amp service works well, the water pressure was fine until the managers started filling their big inflatable swimming pool. Sites 7-10 have big pine trees growing over the sites so that if you have slideouts you won't be able to open them without badly scraping the sides of your rig. The other sites are open. Price is with the Passport America discount. Okay for an overnight stay. No antenna channels available, good Verizon and AT&T signals, no wi-fi provided by the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$13
Bypassed this park on the highway so stopped and asked directions. The neighbor told me he thought the place was closed and that it had been for sale for quite some time. I drove into the driveway and there was a small child (7-ish) sitting on a table outside the office. He said his parents would be home in awhile. I parked anyhow as there was another motorhome parked in the campground. The water pressure and the amperage from the electrical outlet was good. The sites are somewhat unlevel. The $13.25 reflects Passport America discount. I would not camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
WOW! What to say? We pulled in and this place is for sale, not taken care of at all. The grass has not been cut in a long time. There are pot holes everywhere. There were only 3 or 4 RV's / trailers even here. Would not recommend staying here at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$13
Sites are grass, roads are gravel. Has some 30-amp and some 50-amp sites. There were a couple of potholes as we drove the Bulgemobile in and out of the park, but nothing worse than we often see. Turns are navigable by a big rig with a little planning. We were the only customers the night we stayed (May 1). The 50-amp power was excellent. The park is right off US 18, but there was no significant road noise. Coal trains went by about a mile away, but all we heard was an occasional rumble and a distant whistle. They allow unlimited length stays at the $13.25 Passport America rate. The restrooms were locked up; I don't think they had yet opened them for the season. The park was unattended. You fill out the form and drop your money in the box. We received good value for our money and would stop here again while in Lusk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$11
This is a really basic campground: just okay for an overnight stop. The manager was friendly and the site was level. The park could have been cleaner, and roads in better condition however. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$11
This park would not be a bad overnight stopover BUT the road leading into the park was covered with HUGE potholes which were filled with water following rains. We entered VERY slowly but still the holes were so horrible that we broke a connector on our hot water heater because of the rocking of the coach in the holes. There was no one there the 3 nights we stayed (no staff - no owner - no workkampers). We left our money in an envelope. There were many other available sites other than the main row we stayed on but (as we understand it) the water had frozen over the winter and they had never been repaired soooo no water on any of those sites. We learned from another camper there that if we went out the "back" way we could avoid the potholes which we did when we left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Driveway STILL full of muddy deep potholes. Would have bypassed the place but park driveway is off a cul-de-sac. Stayed here on Passport America for $10. Park is a real dump. When leaving we found Lusk to be a pretty town and will come back some time, but not to this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
I ditto the statements of the previous rater in May '08. No puddles in the driveway but the potholes were still there. Nothing has changed since May and the park is in really run down condition. When I tried to level with my jacks one of them sunk into the dirt. We packed up and went into Lusk to BJ's Campground which is nothing to write home about but was paradise compared to Prairie View. All the parks we have stayed at in Wyoming are very over priced for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
Big holes full of water in park driveway because of recent rain. Very nice lady did check in but park owners are not doing any maintenance at all. One whole row does not have functioning water. They advertise 50 amp but do not put any one in those spots. Maybe by paying extra? Park was OK for our purpose as we were going right by the park anyway and it was late afternoon. Sites were a little narrow but 60 ft. pull thrus and quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$10
There are huge potholes on the roads. Be really careful entering the campground. There were a number of permanent campers. OK for a stopover at the Passport America rate. Office staff was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$10
Driveway still not fixed, use caution. We stayed for 2 nights on Passport America, for that it's OK, if we are paying the full price? Some sites have been upgraded to 50 amp, HOT and WINDY place. Campground is for sale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Large pot holes in driveway still here. The manager apologized for this saying the owner was to take care of this. This is a pleasant campground with grass around our campsite. Many of the campsites are marked with orange cones because the hook-ups don't work properly. This is a good stopover. We would stay here again on our way from Colorado to South Dakota. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$10
Driveway deserves caution. Large potholes. Laundry equipment was only partially operational at our visit.Many of the sites have recently been rewired.Only one shower in the men's area was working. Passport America, Escapees, and other discounts make this a good spot to stop.Great access to the rodeo grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com