218147 User submitted reviews online!!
Crown International Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (803) 547-3500
CGID6546

Crown International Campground

Camp Information
Sites
199
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   2   4   3   6   4   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
We were traveling from FL to PA and needed a one night stay and chose this park. We asked for a 50 amp site, but none were available. I was told that there was a 68' long pull thru site with 30 amps. I agreed. On getting to the park, we were given wrong directions to our site. Rectified that by re circling the loops. The entrance to our site was very tight and never could have made it without very careful guidance from a friend. Trees impeded the other end of the pull thru, so I had to back out of the assigned site the next morning. This park needs work and should not be advertised for "Big Rigs". I travel towing a CR-V. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$40
A nice park with a mixture of short and long timers. It's not a resort as the name might imply, it's a place to stay. I had to take a different site than we were assigned because trees impeded navigation. Not a problem this time of year as park was not crowded. I would return to enjoy the local area. Be advised, the directions to the park lead you through such a nice upscale residential area that you will think you are lost. You're not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2013
$17
This is an OK place to stay to see Charlotte, visit family etc. since it is so close to the city. The sites are mostly pull through but none are level. You will definitely need blocks for either the front or the back jacks of your RV. You will also need blocks for one side of your RV for the tires. Space between sites is fairly close. There are picnic tables but you need blocks to level them. They do have a laundry room and one bathhouse with showers that were clean. No play area for kids, no pavilion, no dog run. The office is in a single wide trailer. The manager is efficient in checking you in but that is about it. The manager said we could have blocks to level our RV when we made our reservation but when we got there she said we would have to buy them ourselves. The less you have to deal with the manager the better. Rate noted is based on monthly stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
The best thing about this park is its location. It is convenient to Charlotte. The sites are not level, the drainage is poor (it rained a lot)and mud flowed. Owners did not seem to care about any concerns or improvements. Cable was ok, as was Wi-fi. The laundry facility was very nice. Lots of day laborers and long term tenants. There was an old amphitheater that was deteriorating and looked terrible. No playground or any activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
The previous posts were pretty much on target. The only reason we stayed for several days is that the location to Charlotte and the different museums we wanted to see were within a reasonable travel time from this "trailer park". This is more of a trailer park than a campground. The sites are very close together, not very level and generally not very nice. We had no grass on our site, I couldn't hook up to the water because the water was muddy and the picnic table was at an angle and pretty much falling apart. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We stay here because it is the closest campground to where we need to be in Charlotte. The sites are extremely narrow and seldom level. They are technically pull through sites, but making the turns into and out of the narrow roads is very difficult. Management is friendly but not efficient. Although the advertise cable, our site did not have an active cable hookup, and it took several days to get one. There is a new laundry facility which is clean and convenient. Most of the sites are used by long-term residents, and the basic rules (where to park extra vehicles, etc.) are not generally enforced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We stayed at this park with friends while visiting the Charlotte NC area. It seemed to be the closest to where we were visiting and had a lower rate, with Passport America discount, than other parks in the area. Park is quite congested with sites close together and many sites with rigs that go from end-to-end. If being not very spacious was a downside, there is absolutely nothing to do at this park. They do have Wi-Fi (worked well). You can walk around the ruins of the Tammy & Jim Baker facilities that the park seems to have been part of originally. (Was Lakeside Cabins and Campground). The park is also extremely hard to find as the entrance is on roads not widely available on older GPS. Staff was friendly, but it took hours to respond to an 'out of paper' report for the men's room, so not sure if they are understaffed or have some other issues. We would not recommend this park for extended stays and there may be better options in the area for quick overnight stops while in transit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
We were a little leery based on past reviews, however we were pleasantly surprised. This is part of the old Jim and Tami Fay Bakers Heritage USA. These folks have purchased the campgrounds and lakeside lodge and are restoring as quickly as possible. They were having the TV cable upgraded while we were there and told us we only had basic cable, but when we turned it on we had over 90 channels. They gave us an air card to use but the second week we were there they had Wi-Fi installed and it worked great. They also planted some new shrubs and trees and did some landscaping while were were camped there. The restroom and showers were as clean as any we have seen all winter. On the short side, the campground is on the slope of a hill and its a little hard to level in some sites, picnic tables but on dirt or grass and not level. There is nothing for children to do. However it is very convenient to Charlotte. We spent the month of March here and will return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This campground is a great value! Although not particularly scenic, it is wooded, and the sites are clean and large. It's very close to Charlotte and easy to get into and out of. We enjoyed the quiet and the proximity to Charlotte, and the staff was very helpful. We had to extend our stay several times because of truck repair, and they accommodated us every time. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
I stayed here for over 3 months and it was very nice they have done a lot of Improvement. They have cut a lot of Tree's down made better room for RV's to Pull into spaces. There are new Owners and they have made a lot of changes. New Vending machines, washing machines.The Owners even had a Great Cookout for everyone over Labor Day it was nice of them for I'm from out of town and didn't have anywhere to go Labor Day that was nice. Yes there are some People that do live at the campsite, but they are no different then the ones that are working out of town that have to stay there for work. Had great security. I Will Suggest everyone that wants to have a nice place and a homier place to stay give them a chance We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
These guys are really confused. I'm thinking this is a condo-resort development that has tacked on a campground to sort of hold onto the land until they are ready to develop it. They are really not too serious about supporting camping. Amazingly, they closed their office at 5 pm!! Which leaves campers floating around trying to figure out how to fit into the tiny, twisty, over-treed spots. Here were my obstacles, objections. Absolutely no internet, though it was promised over and over by phone and in person. Twisty, warped sites that were very difficult to get leveled on (even w/ my little 25 ft. trailer). Too many trees to allow me to even put out an awning without re-setting my trailer several times. I was told where three 30-amp sites were, BUT (I should have looked ahead of time), after starting to get set up in each of them without help at 5:30 pm, (quittin' time for the staff), I had to move when I opened the posts, only to find there was only 50 amp power available, or there was NO power available, or there was no water available!! The bottom line: These guys are not serious about running a campground. DO NOT come here, especially with a big rig. Instead, go 2 miles away to the Charlotte/Fort Mill KOA. You'll spend a bit more, but you'll get MUCH more also: including an attentive staff and a place where everything works! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
This is more of a long term park with permanent residents. The sites are very tight & uneven. The cable on our site was broken, so we had to extend a cable to the next site, luckily it was unoccupied. I would not stay there again, at least the restrooms were clean and the staff was very nice, but that was it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
We had a horrible time here trying to find a site that a 35' fifth wheel with three slides could fit into. Sites are very narrow and very uneven. Trees interfered with awning and three slides on every site we tried to fit into. Trees also make it hard to get into and out of sites. We do not like to have one side more than three blocks high to level and the steps end up right next to a drop off to the next site. Some sites are short, and people end up parking in other sites. They do not take reservations. It is "pick a site" when you get here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
Great location with lots of shopping, restaurants and golf nearby. Easy access to I-77, Carowinds and Knights Baseball. All sites include 3-way hook-ups and cable TV. It's been recently updated, and has friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Lot of permanent party type sites; cluttered, shabby. These old, overbuilt cgs are OK for us retirees to stop for the night. But I am tired of paying $30 for slums. And I would not allow children to play in them out of eyesight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
One of the worst I have stayed in. Very narrow and sloped sites We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2006
$1
This place is still very scary. I drove out to just look at it and you had to pass through an industrial construction zone to get there. Many of the old delipadated buildings of the the old PTL complex are still here: broken out windows, overgrown castles, like a ghost town. Looks like a good number of full timers and storage spots. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$18
One bathhouse working. Pine trees weeping sap all over everything. Pine limbs falling all over too. This park is falling apart. They are there just for the money. This park is not what it used to be when the 700 club had it. If you have an old unit and want a cheap place to park this would be fine. But for those who have new units and care about their finish I do not recommend. Some sites flood when it rains. The grass in the park itsself gets cut maybe once every three months.The black ants and spiders are free. It seems no-one in this area can build a park for the nice units. You are not allowed to swim there. The recreation center is not opened. No tennis court access and the water park is closed and falling down. I found they have changed names several times. They used to be called Radisson Grand Resort Campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com