223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Copano Bay RV Resort (Was Big D RV Resort) was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (361) 790-9373
CGID6589

Copano Bay RV Resort (Was Big D RV Resort)

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   9   6   1   1   8   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$12
Monthly rate. Park is quiet and the people in the park are great. Sites are narrow and not very long. It's not really a big rig park. A couple of pull throughs but seems they are always taken. The concrete in the park is nice but it's all broken up because of poor construction and poor concrete, not because of age. They do have some park events to do but not really what the wife and I care for. But that's just us. The managers of the park are the biggest downfall here and thus the below average rating. We have full timed for 9 years now and the manager of this park has some serious issues and in my opinion will be the downfall of this park. I would return under new management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Rate based on weekly rate. This is probably the quietest campground that we have ever stayed in. The bathrooms are well kept. They have an excellent clubhouse. The laundry prices are somewhat steep: 1.50 for dryer, 1.75 for washer. Nice fishing pier. Like someone else posted, some of the concrete is beginning to deteriorate, but over all the park is a great place to stay in my opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$10
We had stayed here before for one month; this time we stayed for 3 months, rate based on monthly rate plus electricity. Previous stay the Wi-Fi was terrible. It has been improved considerable, and is now very acceptable. The park is in a general state of deterioration: i.e. concrete on roads and sites breaking up very badly. The day we left we were told that the park has been sold, so time will tell whether it gets badly needed attention. We must say the social activities are good, line dancing, pot lucks, bingo, Texas Hold'em. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
It was clear to us what Big D stood for! We pulled in at 2 pm on a Saturday looking for a place to relax for a week. Nobody was in the office, just a sign saying the night manager was in spot "x". The park was empty, maybe 10 RVs. So we decided to make a loop to look at the grounds and the pool before we stopped to speak to the manager. After pulling through to the end, an elderly man in a golf cart greeted us with a rude, "What's the deal?" I politely told him we were checking the place out since we were looking for a place to stay. Next words he yelled at me: "First of all, the sign is posted 5mph, and you were damn well going faster than 5mph." To which I stared at him in disbelief at how rude he was. Next words yelled: "And why didn't you stop at the office?" Again, I politely responded, "We did, there wasn't anyone in the office." More yelling: "Didn't you read the sign? I'm at site X ?" At this point, conversation over. I politely told him he made it very easy for us to make our decision. We would not be staying at his campground. To which he said, "Good, I don't need your money." And he took off in his cart. Might I point out: 10 RVs in a campground with 156 spots. Hard to believe our money wouldn't have been good here. And to note: there were massive speed bumps throughout the campground, so I guarantee I was not going more than 5mph. He traveled way faster than I did, in his golf cart!! Obviously we didn't stay here, but it's advertised as "NEW" which is why we went to check it out. It's definitely NOT new. Old buildings are just painted and turned into an RV park. Sites were gravel and looked level. There are NO trees. It's basically a parking lot with a few grass patches. Pool was tiny and somewhat overlooking a lake. It's located on the opposite side of the island, so there are no amenities nearby. We would not have stayed here regardless, but the incredibly rude staff made the decision very easy. If they treat you this way before they get your money, I can only imagine after they have your money. FYI: it's well worth making the short drive to Port A if you're looking in that area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$12
This could be a good campground, but the managers are very rude and inconsiderate of their patrons. Five RV's left when we did. Some went home and some went to other RV parks. My space was under water most of the time we were there and management refused to put tiles down so we wouldn't get wet coming and going. We will never stay at Big D again. The owner needs to wake up before his managers run everyone off. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$9
We stayed here one month, and found the other RV'ers very friendly. Sites are a little tight in some locations. We had some very heavy rains and there was an amount of flooding, but nothing too serious. My two complaints are the Wi-Fi is very slow, and the female manager is extremely argumentative, even to the point of telling me that Skype does not work in Texas. Skype does work in Texas but she will not believe it, the problem is the speed of the internet here. Pool is small but adequate, we didn't use it but if the weather had been warmer would have been refreshing. Streets are all concrete and wide, site pads are concrete also. Activities are planned most days or evenings. We would stay here for several months if the internet was up to par. I do not have to talk to the Manager. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$11
Nightly rate was based on the monthly rate plus the electric we used. This was a return visit to this park. We liked the location, no noise, out from the city a little ways, on a lake, and nice concrete sites. Sites are a little close but both times we've had excellent neighbors so it wasn't a big deal. This time we actually didn't have anyone on our door side for several sites. Don't care for all the pet rules they now have in place. I tried to obey most of them but it was so rainy and wet that the pet area was impossible for us to use; it was too muddy. We used an area outside the pen which was against the rules but had no other choice. Lots of things to do and see around the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Park is located in a quiet rural location on the north side of the town. The managers were nice and helpful. Most of the sites are back-ins. Ours was a little difficult to back into but the assistant made it easier. One issue is that not all sites have cable so be sure to ask for one that does. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$9
This is a decently nice park with concrete roads and parking. They also have concrete parking spots for your car. They have increased the amount of concrete around some of the sites and hope to continue adding more in the future. There is a fishing pier but you cannot access the lake shore from the campground. They have a swimming pool but it is more like an overgrown hot tub with water jets than a pool. The roads have been patched with a slurry that is either breaking up or has raised part of the road elevation several inches. It appears that the original concrete was not poured deep enough to carry the weight of large RVs. There are no trees in the park so you do not have to worry about satellite reception but it allows the wind to really attack your rig. You will not ever be able to safely put out an awning. They charge extra for cable TV. The Wi-Fi is free and works fine as long as there are not too many people on it as is the case with other parks too. The park was virtually full in the winter but emptied out by April 1st so that it is virtually empty after that date. For their sake, I hope they do not go broke. Three months business per year is not much. The amenities such as clubhouse, library and rec room close on April 14th and you have to get the manager to let you in if you want to use those facilities. There is an activity director but it is just a work camper (not a professional) who leaves about the first of April. There are some real cliques during the winter. It is so bad that one woman told us to use certain washers and dryers and it turned out that they were the worst operating ones in the laundry. She also told my wife to limit her laundry to 2 units even though the park rules did not say this and she was using 4 units herself. It just was not a welcoming environment like we have had elsewhere. Having said that, the managers are on site now and are very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$8
Nice campground. Couldn’t ask for a friendlier park. Managers and staff are both friendly and helpful. Campground sets on a salt lake with a fishing pier and cleaning station. Campground has pool, laundry facilities, exercise equipment, pavilion and clubhouse. All sites have a concrete pad with grass between each site. Wintertime there is always something going on. Close to shopping. It you like to fish Rockport is the place to be. Price reflects a monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
There is a manager on site now. The WiFi is great. And they have very large pads now. You can see where they added patios to the existing pads (not the best of work, lumpy) and now there is very little grass between sites!! Trucks and toads can be parked easily by the RVs. Very small pool and is COLD!!! Nice little fenced doggy area. Very friendly people. There is a calendar of activities. Nice exercise equipment and pool table!! Very nice lounge with TV. Sits on a salt water lake with a pier to fish. Just a few shower/restrooms available. Most people seems to be by the month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
Big D is 3 years old but already shows signs of wearing as the concrete on the roadways and sites is breaking up. The park and the staff are very friendly and all the staff, except the Manager, are on-site. There are no planned activities and all activities depend on the campers to organize and run. There is always something going on and the campers did a great job. Parking your tow vehicle on your site is almost impossible. Initially, parking was on every other site but as the sites filled, vehicles that could not park on their own site, could not park on the roadways and were directed to park in spaces at the entrance to the park (often quite far from their camping sites). Many of the sites are too short and too narrow for really big rigs. Wifi is free and fairly good but is limited by the number of systems using the service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
Staff was friendly. All concrete pads. Needs more activities, but it is a newer campground so maybe it will get better. The pool needs to be heated so you can use it in the winter months. Wifi is limited in the park. We will go back to this park. We have a 37 foot motorhome and had plenty of room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
This was a nice park in many ways.There are a lot of winter activities you can take part in. Lot sizes are not too bad, however parking your vehicles can be a problem on your lots. They really need a live on site manager.There is no one there fulltime. If you come in after hours your not sure where to go or what to do.WiFi works only part of the time. They say they are going to work on it before next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com