219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Rock Crusher Canyon RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 130 user reviews. Phone: (352) 564-9350
CGID660

Rock Crusher Canyon RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
398
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   8   8   8   7   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
Massive park, HUGE sites, great atmosphere - almost like a State park - lots of woodland & different areas to choose your site from. Staff were very helpful and accommodating, the Wi-Fi (free) is exceptionally good with many proper masts throughout the park. The clubhouse is lovely with a good library for swapping/borrowing books, videos & DVDs. Heated pool & hot tub are both great. All in all, an excellent park with tons of room, nice folks, and activities if you want them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
Great place. Hugh sites with room for camper and a boat. Great pool & hot tub. Go here, its great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
Nice park. Very quiet. Great internet speed and lots of cable channels. No bugs. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$49
Very nice large park, most sites are gravel, pretty level, with good shade cover. Good location for Crystal River area activities. Would stay again. Nice dog park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
Stay overnight. Very quiet and peaceful. Large natural sites and close to shopping and attractions. Would recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$45
This is a very pretty park with lush vegetation and very clean. The only problem was that we got there later (around 4:30)than we'd planned and since they don't reserve specific sites we were crammed into a back in site that was way too small width-wise for our MH. The larger sites are reserved for those who come for a month or two which is understandable. The next morning we tried to move but the park was full. If our site was better I'd give them a 10. The pool was gorgeous, heated, and very clean. I'd stay again, but my advice is to get there as early in the day as you can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$38
This is a secure park with two levels and offers a state park effect with its many trees. However, site maintenance by owners or staff needs improving to achieve more levelness, clearing of overgrown bushes and trees, and parking accessibility for larger RVs. We have stayed here 3 or 4 times but experienced quite a bit of difficulty in getting into and out of our site. The park is roomy, with lots of walking area, a horseshoe park, dog run, and covered pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
This is an excellent park. It is woodsy and has a state park feel, but has all the hook-ups, which are important to us. The internet connection was excellent and the cable had plenty of channels. We had a quiet, corner pull-through site (#317). Shopping and restaurants are 5 miles or so away. The staff was very friendly and helpful on check-in and later when we made arrangements for family to come stay for a few days. The CG and bathrooms were very clean. We will definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$22
Just the best place to stay for the money. Price reflects 3 night Passport America. Hugh sites. Camper, 2 cars and boat, no problem, with plenty of room. Don't miss this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
This park has large sites, and is in a very scenic area. The park is very clean, and we loved being here. It was a good place to get out of the traffic flow on the highways, but was still easy to access. It almost felt like we were in a state park, with the trees, and the feeling of privacy at our site. The office staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
The campground has good sized sites with some privacy between most. The staff at the check-in were friendly and informative. We didn't use the pool, though it looked nice. Some of the other staff were not as pleasant and one of the workers on a golf cart was very rude. If in the area, we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Some older posts about restrooms, and how far they are from some sites are correct, but most units you pull in these places have showers and toilets. This place is great, very large sites. I bring a 30' camper, and a 22' boat. no problem, lots of extra room. Great pool and hot tub. Fifteen minutes to boat ramp. One of my favorites. Go there you will not regret it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Nice wooded sites with lots of shade. Staff and security was friendly and helpful. Nice enclosed pool and club house area. The only thing which kept me from making it a 10 was the bathrooms where few and spread out, this park is very large. There was also a small park in Crystal River with a spring and swimming area which was very nice and refreshing and free. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Nice wooded camp ground. Friendly staff with a security gate and security person (on site). All utilities worked as expected. We used this camp ground as a base to visit Weeki Wachee, (mermaids.) Tarpon Springs, (sponge divers) and Homosassa Spring Wildlife State Park...Excellent park. our 2 grand daughters ages 4 and 7 enjoyed all of the above. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Having travelled across the country, this is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed at. Who knew such a gem would be in this unlikely place. State park atmosphere, top notch facilities, everything is clean, no overbearing signs telling you what not to do. Even the long term campers are well cared for and some have amazing landscaping. Highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. First site had many red ants and we were moved with no problems at all. Private and shaded lots. The pool was monitored to stop the dangerous actions of running, jumping, etc. Ice Cream Sundays both days and also fresh pop corn in the afternoon. Will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
Nice secure check-in and easy pull-through to our site. All sites are sand and grass. Most sites seems to have plenty of room. The bath houses were a long walk but seemed okay. We stayed here so that we could swim with the manatees in Crystal River. We would definitely come back here again. A secure, clean, full service campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$37
State park feel with commercial park amenities. Spacious wide sites that are super easy to back into. Good WiFi at our site that was near the front gate. Price reflects weeks stay. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$42
This park reminds me of a state park with lots more amenities. Some may not like all the trees/shrubs/undergrowth between sites, but it does provide a certain level of privacy. We actually stayed here twice during our recent trip because we felt comfortable here and even reserved for a much longer stay next year. Some sites are more shaded than others, but there is a nice variety available. In addition, the park apparently allows guest to dress up their individual sites giving the place more character than cookie-cutter parks. The cable TV offering was extensive. The check-in staff was excellent even though they were quite busy both times we checked in. There are plenty of activities for those than want them and the heated pool area was busy even during cooler weather. The area surrounding the park is less crowded with less traffic than other areas of Florida further south, but it still offers a nice variety for those looking for fishing, kayaking, biking, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
We booked for 1 week and liked it so much stayed a 2nd. Sites are from mostly open to having lots of vegetation. Roomy sites, sidewise and lengthwise. Paved roads great for walking or biking; pet friendly. Free WiFi works great, free cable tv, picnic table. Paved roads but sand/grass sites, most of which are level. Large clubhouse and screened pool. Could have more washers/dryers for the size of park. 10-20 minutes away from 4 major towns. We will definitely return. Price reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$40
We stayed here for 10 days in February. This RV park has comfortable sites, though not all are level and even. They are preserving the natural trees and shade in doing so. Sites are laid out in a different numbering fashion - a bit confusing to a first-time visitor. Security gate and pass code is a welcome item. Improvements are being made (new entrance area, directional arrows and signs repainted) since last year. Nice covered pool, community room, and many scheduled activities, including groups who meet to go biking, fishing, or kayaking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
This was our second trip to Rock Crusher. A great park in a wonderful location. Cable and wi-fi worked great, AT&T was weak, and sites were spacious and level. Staff is friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this RV park for a stop over or an extended stay. The rate reflexes a monthly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$42
Sites have a nice distance from each other and the staff is friendly. The only con about this place is the sandy lots and no pull through sites for big rigs. This is a heavily wooded RV Park with lot's of old growth Oak trees and Palmetto Palms, which can present a little problem backing into a site on occasion. Be sure and bring big outside mats to keep the dirt/sand out of your rig! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
Large campground with many longer term seasonal visitors in large motorhomes and fifth wheels. Vegetation separating sites is not well pruned and can make access to sites difficult. Sites are not level and many covered with leaves as park maintenance does not clear them (we asked). Site surface is dirt/grass/leaves. Full hookups. Wi-Fi service was good. Laundry was clean and equipment in good order. Underbrush harbored mosquitos and other insects. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$21
We spent a month at Rock Crusher and enjoyed our stay. The park is very much like some state parks in that there is little landscaping around the sites unless campers are doing it themselves but the sites are nicely spaced with some privacy in-between -- better than any other private park we've ever used. Trash dumpsters are few and far between and sometimes get overly full before being picked up. They really could use more laundry facilities for the size of the park. We found it easier and more convenient to use a laundromat about 4 miles away. The office and the people staying here are very friendly! We met a lot of very nice folks who offered all kinds of information on the area as most of them have been returning to Rock Crusher for months at a time for many years. There are organized kayaking trips, bicycle outings, bingo in the club house, a variety of craft groups, poker, golf, water aerobics in the pool, and regular social potlucks and lunches/dinners. The Crystal River area offers a lot to see and do, especially if you also visit Homosassa and Inverness. We might return here when we get to the point when we no longer enjoy moving from state park to state park during our 4 months as snow birds. Rock Crusher has an excellent reputation and we weren't disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
If you,re staying in Crystal River, Florida, this is the only RV park worth staying in. We stayed here in December of 2012, during the Christmas Holidays. The park is clean, the sites large and most separated by significant vegetation; thereby providing significant privacy. The clubhouse is very nice. The pool, small, but nice. The grounds are hilly, which for Florida, is rare. I highly recommend Rock Crusher RV Park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
Price reflects passport america rate for 3 nights. This is a great park with very large sites, wooded with tons of shade. If a parking lot with hook ups is your thing, don't come here. If friendly people of all age groups, and a great staff is what you want, than this is your place. We had a breaker out in our power hook up, and we told the office, and it was fixed in 15 minutes by a friendly and smartly dressed maintenance staff person. Great pool and spa, a playground for my grandkids and a dog run. The list goes on and on. Don't miss this place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$56
Our site was combination of sand and some grass. Over priced for the quality of the park. Good WiFi and cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
Nice park. Nice and friendly check-in and a world of information about shops, points of interest etc. Grassy sites but firm and well kept. Pool was nice and hot and so was the hot tub. This place is worth another visit some other time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Typically we stay away from private parks because of the tight spots and over charges. However, this place is like a state park with state park prices. We camped on site 12. It was paved with bricks and well shaded.They only have 50 amp hookups but you can get 50 to 30 amp converter from the front office with a refundable fee. We enjoyed the park and would highly recommend it to others. Originally we tried to book rainbow river state park but they were booked and therefore we ended up here. Needless to say, after seeing rainbow river and then staying in this place I'm glad we did. Next time we go to rainbow river again for tubing we will stay at rock crusher canyon again. Lots of bugs, but its Florida. just bring fans and bug spray to control them. Horrible cell data coverage. Tried to use my cellphone hotspot but was only getting .3mb to 1.5 mb transfer rate mostly in the .5 area. We all had Att but it appears that most carriers will be affected as well after talking to a few people. Pros: Family friendly Large lots well maintained pool area , playground and clubhouse. Friendly staff and people. Good location near entertainment,shopping,food,etc. Full hookups with no issues or electrical issues. A couple of areas to improve on: Wi-Fi available and useful in the clubhouse ,however on our site it was unreachable. Supposedly a new company is being brought in to address the WIFI issue. Most sites are not paved, but the roads are. Could use a few more bath houses and dumpsters to strategically shorten walking distance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
We stayed here for three nights to visit the State parks in the area. The location is convenient for this. The park is very clean and the sites are private and shady. The staff was very friendly and informative. The activity room is large and the pool was nice and screened in. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Stayed here 5 times since 2009 and always have been pleased. I cannot say the same this visit. Maintenance crew mowing sites with constant lawn mower noise all day. Had site at bottom of upper level and witnessed permanent residents driving by at 30 mph plus, work trucks , commercial vehicles etc. But the biggest issue: mosquitos, mosquitos, and more mosquitos. Most likely will not visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
We visited this park for a quiet weekend getaway, it was perfect for this. Being summertime the park was not at all busy, maybe 20% occupied or so. It has more of a state park feel than a resort which we like. The roads are paved while most sites are not. With almost 400 sites this is a big campground. Seems to us the sites would offer something for everyone. Some are very secluded and shady while others are open and sunny. The foliage is mostly oak trees so it is not a tropical setting like you may find further south in FL. Pool and hot tub were great as were rest rooms. This park is busy during the winter and offers a lot of activities that time of year. Selecting a site on the eastern side will put you further from the road noise which is not bad anyway. We will stay here again especially since they honor Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$19
The only reason it does not get a 10 is WiFi havs been down for some time now, and we were told it would be back up while we were there, no dice. But it was actually nice to be internet free for a few days. Great place, you can keep your boat in your site with you, plenty of room. Great pool and hot tub. Very quiet & and great for kids. With Passport America it was less than $20 a night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
Large park with almost 400 full hook up sites, but it feels more like a state park. Mix of sites, but most are very well treed and very private. Wi-Fi and cable TV works well. Screened pool very nice. Very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
Rate is with Passport America. Very nice destination park. There is a lot of outdoor activities available in the area, and the camp sites were spacious for just relaxing without being on top of your neighbors. The screened in pool was a very nice feature. We will stay here again when visiting Florida's "Nature Coast". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
Very nice as always, friendly staff, clean restrooms. I love that I can keep my boat at my sight with plenty of room to spare. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$38
Friend staff and always clean. Lots of sites, but had to move from first site because not suitable for large motorhome. At our second site a limb was rubbing top of motorhome when the wind started blowing. They had someone come with a pole saw to trim limb, even on a Sunday morning. They had nice fenced dog yard, which is always a plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
This is a very nice destination park when visiting this area. The park has many long term residents and some have really developed their lots into show places. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. The laundry is reasonable - 1.50 for both wash and dry and only one dry cycle needed. Nice pool and clubhouse area. Lots of activities offered. Horseshoes and shuffle board were put to good use. Very dog friendly and people are courteous to clean up after their pets. Great area for kayaking and the manatee were visiting the area. Will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
Great place sites were large and easy to back into. Felt like I was welcome from check in to departure. Staff went all out to make us feel at home. Lots to do and see in the area with many great restaurants. Wold put this place high on my list to go back to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
This RV park has gravel and sand sites. Utilities were newer but somewhat awkwardly located (sewer far away from other hookups). The whole park has many tall trees for shade. Sites are mostly level and roomy. Sites are numbered with area signs but each one has its number painted on the road at its entrance. The clubhouse had a screened swimming pool and offered activities. There is a key-card front gate for extra security. Late arrivals would have to call gate security to be let in. There was also a picnic and play area and a smaller dog run. The park is away from busy roads, yet 2-3 miles away from most businesses. We stayed here in mid-January and decided to return for 3 more days when heading back north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
We really liked this park. Convenient location, large shaded sites. There were lots of activities if you cared to participate. The dog run was a bit small, not useful for a medium or large sized dog that requires a bit of running room. The folks in the park were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Dirt and grass sites were slightly unlevel. Hook-ups were problematic for us. The sewer was in the front of the site and the electrical and water were in the rear; probably 20'-25' between these two utilities so bring your long hoses. They only have 50amp but will loan you a converter for a $25 refundable deposit. Our site was shady but some sites had no trees at all. Beautiful pool and spa. Decent laundry room. Front office staff was okay. Small fenced area for dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
Not family friendly. If you are traveling with your kids (of any age), this is not the RV campground for you. We visit Rock Crusher Canyon with 3-4 families every year for Thanksgiving for the last 5 years. We will never return!. The kids in our party range from 4-29. Two years ago new management took over Rock Crusher Canyon and it has gone down hill since. They have separate rules for live-in's versus visitors. Too many rules for the kids. One of the kids in our group was yelled at by a live-in for riding his bike "too fast"! Unless you are a live-in or retired (65+),don't waste your time and money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$16
This place really is a "Top Rated" RV park, and it is well designed in a natural setting. Every single spacious site has an assortment of palms, shrubs, and trees. There is plenty of privacy, and the sites are spread-out across 80 lush vegetative acres. It is the first RV park in Florida we have been to with a hill. There is a magnificent large size pool, heated, for lap swimming. The Wi-fi here is the best we have encountered. There is an established network for Wi-fi in the park for each site. The provided cable TV is excellent with 98 channels. Most sites are solid grass and are back-ins. We had one of the pull-throughs and a secluded site. Had the site pads been paved we would have rated the place a ten. We used the place as our base camp for exploring Crystal River. We will not hesitate to return to this beautiful RV park at the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
Price reflects Passport America rate. Everyone needs to try this place. It is especially great for boaters. True it is not on the water, but several ramps are just minutes any. They also let you keep your boat at your site. We had 29' camper and 22' boat with two vehicles, and there was plenty of room. Now not all the sites are this big, but most sites are very roomy, with lots of shade. Great covered pool, with hot tub. You can also have a fire if you bring one the raised pits. I got a good one at Home Depot for $29. Don't miss this place. (I only give Disney a 10.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
This campground is outstanding. Rate reflects PA rate. Wish they extended PA rate for more than just 3 nights. Sites are plenty long enough to hold any size RV or travel trailer. Pool was good, not too crowded, hot tub was hot. Playground for kids has swings, slide, tire swing, baby swings. Only has 50 amp service anything less must have a adaptor or they will give you to use but if you forget to return it will cost you $25. No open fires due to burn ban. No fire rings above ground either. THis was a sad thing for our kids but we managed to do marshmellows over the outdoor stove. Bike riding is adventurous as lots of hills, some you can not even make it all the way on bike. They do rent golf carts but I do not see the need for them as you have everything in your camper to accommodate your needs. In town was not much to do than the wildlife state park, which we found was awesome, our kids enjoyed it. We will stay here again but only to the limit of PA rate. Ask for a shaded site as that helps your AC run not so much. We were on site 285: sat on pavers and was very level and partial shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Very friendly staff. Clean campsites, clean pool area, nice laundry rooms. Overall, this is one of the best campsites we've stayed at. It will be hard for anyone to top this one. Will definitely stay here again. There were no campfires allowed due to dry conditions and the possibility of brush fires but that really didn't matter to us. Rates were reasonable considering the value received. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Staff was very friendly & helpful. Site was shaded with a very pleasant breeze everyday. We stayed here for 12 days & plan on returning in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Check in staff was very helpful and friendly. A very clean park. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
We have been camping here for years. We are happy that it is back to the way it was with non-commercial owners. It is a great place for kids, quick last minute trips and gatherings with family and friends. There are many ways to be next to your friends while camping. Clean pool and facilities. Nice check in staff. Will be back and would recommend to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$43
Large treed sites on gravel, convenient to both Crystal River and Homosassa Springs. Screened pool and hot tub. Would have stayed longer than 2 nights. Don't miss the Homosassa Springs State Park (no camping) which is a wildlife preserve/zoo/rehabilitation center! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
Camped here on a recommendation. WONDERFUL place; period. Near Homosssa Springs. Plenty to do here. Airboat rides, great seafood, shops, etc. Stayed a week; next time a month. Area can be COLD in January or February as you are 75 miles north of Tampa off route 19. Visit Cody's RoadHouse in Crystal River for great ribs/steaks, etc. Unique place. The "Freezer" in Homosassa is THE PLACE for seafood. All locals eat there. As the Terminator said "I be bock." Go there; run; enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
We are really impressed with this park, it has the feel of a state park, but all the hook-ups you need. The managers and staff are par excellent and added to a great stay in Crystal River. The Wi-Fi was outstanding, which is important to us. We will be back when deciding a place for the winter. There laundry and restrooms were very clean. We will be back to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
This campground was a great find. Very large and spacious sites. Space between campsites is enormous! Very friendly staff and campers. Lots to see and do in the area. Next year we'll spend longer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
This was our very first camping experience and we loved it. Although we have traded in our Class C for a 5th Wheel since we realized we needed more space. The sites were huge with plenty of grassy area for our dogs. It was too chilly to swim, but they had activities in the club house nightly. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
Very nice park. Very much like a state park. Plenty of trees, which is a problem if you have a dish. Nice park to walk through. People are very friendly. All sites are grass, but plenty of space between them. Rec center is to small for the size of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Beautiful sites. Ours had stamped concrete. Only hit would be that they have too many trees for satellite TV (oh nooooo), but site came with cable TV, so we were happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
Rate reflects a monthly charge. We have stayed here several times over the years and it is better without Encore and in the hands of the original owners. For Florida this is a very treed park with its own character. Lots of sites, but each has a scene of privacy (some more than others). Roads are paved with grass sites. Leveling isn't a problem, but needs your attention. Excellent park for walking as the roads wind around the facility. Staff is just great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
Stayed here five nights as part of a group for Thanksgiving weekend. This was really a nice RV park, well kept up, clean and the only complaint was the internet access from our site was terrible, even outside the RV. The connection kept going on and off and every time requires a new page to log into. I know you are supposed to have fun camping but this was a weekend I needed to stay in touch with family far away. I would definitely stay here again. Also, nothing against them, there were a lot of golf carts in this campground. There was plenty of room for kids to run and play. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
This park came highly recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. There is a variety of shady and sunny sites, over 300 in all. Most sites are long and narrow and can easily accommodate large rigs. The pool, hot tub, clubhouse and washrooms are new and maintained in spotless condition. There are three laundry areas, each having three washer/dryer combination's. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This park is popular for snowbirds and locals alike and it has lots of activities in the winter. This area of Florida is a hotspot for no-see-ums but Rock Crusher, being several miles from the Gulf, seems to escape them at least in November. Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park is about 20 minutes away and has an excellent display of manatees and many other animals. There are a number of reasonably-priced golf courses in the area. We noticed that there are several permanent residents in the park. Perhaps a sign of the times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$17
One of our favorite RV parks! Huge sites with trees and shrubs for privacy. Nice folks in the office. Great location with lots to do in the area. We paid the Passport America rate. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Rate is Passport America, which they allow for up to 3 days this time of year. We stayed a 4th night for $35. I rated it a 10 because the owner/hostess was so accommodating. We had some trouble with the Wi-Fi, and she went out of her way to check on us and help us find a site that worked. Everything else worked fine. We had good shade and privacy and easy hook-up. We've stayed here before, and we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Very nice park, large camp sites, very well maintained, would recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Ownership of the park has changed since last spring, but it's still the same great place. Big sites, great amenities, friendly and helpful staff, and lots of friendly campers! We looked for a park like this for years, and now we're here to stay. At least for a few years! Try it, you'll like it. Our rate was based on the monthly rate that we are paying. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This is a very nice, quiet park with plenty of shade trees and privacy between sites. The staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Great site, not far to go see the manatees, some of the roads are a little steep. well maintained grounds and site security. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
I guess the only bad thing I could say was lack of grass. The place was packed. But it was lots of snow birds, all the year round units were very nicely kept, no junk. Staff was very nice, pool was clean and hot tub was nice, but a little small for the size of this park. No sites are paved, all dirt and grass, but level with lots of trees. We will come back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
We've been looking for a park like this for several years. Has no park models, BIG sites with lots of trees, wonderful amenities, and lots of friendly campers. It's along Florida's "Nature Coast," so you have to drive a ways to get to a beach, but the scenery and wildlife in the area more than makes up for that. You can still have a campfire in this park. Both Crystal River and Homosassa Springs are great communities, offering all the necessities of life in a small town atmosphere. We have already reserved for next winter. "Family style" bathrooms, and they were always immaculately clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
We stayed here several times when it was Rock Crusher and enjoyed it greatly because it was spacious and quiet. Now it is full to capacity "deeded ownership" park. Level earth sites. Very nice poolhouse though undersized for the hundreds of full sites. Good location in Crystal River with many trees. A big community, no park models but a number of year-rounders with their possessions around their units. Close to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
We were very impressed! Park has large, private sites, lots of vacancies too. Contrary to some other posts, our Wi-Fi works well. Just a few minutes into town where we found grocery stores and lots of the normal chain restaurants. The rates are all inclusive and seem very fair. We will sure return if we come back to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
Elite filed for bankruptcy and this campground is now run by the former owners. This is a great place which we have visited several times. Has paved roads with sand/gravel sites, and lots of treed and open areas. The staff is very friendly. There is a designated area for washing vehicles (cars, trucks, RV's). Has fairly good spacing between sites. One of the hosts leads you to the site and provides assistance, if needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
We got a great site and had an excellent time. I think this is the best campground in the area. Sites are shady, well spaced out. Very modern clubhouse, hot tub, and enclosed pool. No Bugs. I found the other campers to be very friendly. The area is loaded with biking, kayaking and hiking. Local downtown area is like in the old days. This was an Elite Resort but Early in March 2010 Elite left. The park went back to Rock Crusher Canyon. We will come back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
While camped here for Jan, Feb, & March 2010. Elite Resorts was removed (by court order) as owners. The park is now Rock Crusher RV Park. The original owners are back. It's the best park in the area. Elite removed quite a bit of the equipment in the park. Including a pool heater, the Wi-Fi System including the poles. It was not a friendly departure. The Rock Crushers have restored the park. I will come back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
This is a very clean park with lots of trees and some hills. It's an old quarry with scars of its use in the past. The sites are mostly large with natural grass instead of the typical pads. The utilities are located at the very rear of most sites, making for a long reach with your hoses and electrical. Wi-fi usually worked but was dead a few mornings. The staff is very friendly and the park is close to stores, but about 7 miles to the gulf. Overall it's a very nice place for the money: I would return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
Passport America rate before taxes. PA is limited to 3 nights and not accepted in the winter months. Plenty of empty sites which lent it a roomy feel. As stated, it is in a wooded area, but some sites are on top of each other. Overall it is a great value with PA for 50 amp, water, sewer, CATV and Wi-Fi. We would come back if PA limit increased to 5 or 7 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This is our favorite campground for several reasons. We enjoy the wooded campsites, the friendliness of the staff, the clean, enclosed pool and hot tub with pool table, ping pong; kids playground, horseshoes, shuffleboard; the immaculate condition of the entire campground, quiet and secluded location, yet only a 10-minute drive to either Crystal River or Homosassa with shopping and great dining. Great walking throughout the campground and pet friendly with a small dog run area. One thing they could definitely improve is the size of the dog run area, we have a large dog! I realize most RV'rs travel with small dogs. Even on holiday weekends when many sites are full, this is still a great place for a weekend get-away. We enjoy the tranquility and peace and quiet of this campground when the snowbirds are away. We have yet to be disappointed and we visit it at least two weekends a month! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Stayed on lot #285 not far from the pool. The campsite was shady and level and paved with pavers which made it really nice. Campers and staff were very friendly and the campground is conveniently located near tourist sites and food. The pool and Jacuzzi was very well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We have stayed at this park about 5 times. I am reviewing again as it has changed hands and changed names. We have noticed some changes to the park with the new owners, but pretty minor. The staff was very nice. We got tickets for a free lunch on Sat July 4th put on by the staff (mainly workampers) and a free ice cream from a camper/vendor onsite. The campground itself is just the same with very large wooded sites with full hookups. They are now trying to sell the sites ($39,900) and I suspect with the economy like it is, they won’t sell too many. About 150 of the 400 sites were taken on this Holiday weekend. They have full hookups and all the amenities including a huge pool and hot tub. We live about 90 minutes away and awe will continue to come back. Great spots to visit close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Most of the comments on this park are fair. It is more like a state park than an "Elite Resort" but it is clean and the spaces are roomy and nicely separated. The one contact with staff was friendly. This is not peak season so the park was not crowded at all. It does seem family oriented and very affordable so I'm sure it is very busy during the peak season. WiFi was good most of the time though for some reason, we had trouble sending emails even though it appeared that we were connected. Cable TV service was lacking. Was unable to get many of the channels the second night. Probably some kind of technical difficulty. We've stayed in much nicer but all in all, this park was OK for the two night stay that we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
This was our first time staying at this park and we really liked it. We have 2 kids, ages 9 and 13 and there was plenty to do such as, free pool table, ping pong and shuffle board. The screened in pool was a nice size and was very clean. The staff and management were very friendly and helpful. We happened to mention to a staff member on check in what we liked to do and she pulled out the significant brochures/pamphlets and had them delivered to our site. We had one of the paved sites and it was very spacious and clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
This is one of the most beautiful parks I have ever seen. The spaces are very wide so no one is on top of each other. Lots of privacy. Lots of sightseeing close by. Great walking, beautiful pool. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
This campground has wonderfully spacious sites and it feels more like a state park than a commercial campground. Dirt sites detract from the general appearance. The campground has the amenities including a lovely clubhouse and screened pool, but it lacks in service. General irritants were: we stayed two weeks and one day and they charged me the one day rate instead of prorating it as other campgrounds do; there is no security at night and our neighbors' illegal campfire was ignored, as was the loud music, shouting and bad language until midnight most evenings; shuffleboard equipment was not returned by the same neighbor and the staff didn't bother to get it. Wi-Fi very spotty with many disconnects. Just generally a lack of service. Considering the campground was half empty at a normally peak time I think they could have tried harder. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
We were lucky enough to get one of the paved sites, which was plenty long for our 40-ft. motor home and tow. The CG was only 1/4 full. Great walking with all the paved roads and many acres. Wi-Fi was a little iffy at times. We stayed for 2 weeks and happened to be there for the annual manatee festival in town. We may return next year for a longer period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
Stayed for 3 days in May 2008. Lot's of shaded parking, but if in a big rig, some low branches could be a problem so be careful. Recommend a trip in the golf cart to preview your assigned lot. Only a few pull-throughs, but plenty of nice back-ins. We liked this place. Not many campers here this time of year so we fely as if we were all alone. Very friendly staff, and clean facilities. Pool was perfect, hot tub worked great, but I think it falls a little short of a "resort." All spaces are hard packed dirt. Be sure and visit Homosassa Springs Wildlife Park . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
We stayed here in March of '08 and it's a lovely park with very large sites, strong Wi-Fi and clean restrooms/showers. That said, not only have the rates gone up significantly, but we were told that to reserve a site for a month in '09, we'd have to pay in full at the time of the reservation, would not be guaranteed a specific site, and would under *no* circumstances be given a refund if we had to cancel (even for a death in the family, serious illness, or an accident on the way there) no matter how far ahead the cancellation occurred. I have to say it takes some nerve to institute such a restrictive policy and then not even guarantee you a particular site. Hopefully, they will see how much this is hurting their business and change the policy to a more rational (not to mention customer-friendly) one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
We were here for a full month. Nice park, the only problem is some road noise from Rock Crusher and Crystal Oaks roads - but that is gone by about 10 pm. They are trying to sell lots, not sure they are having a lot of success. Did see that the monthly rates for next year are going up over $100. Too bad as that will probably put it beyond our budget for next year. Only negative is the lack of really good restaurants in the area. Most are mediocre which is sad because of the abundance of fresh seafood, etc. People are not overly friendly - a lot of groups of people who have been coming together for years and it appears outsiders are wanted. Luckily we do a lot of other things so it doesn't matter to us. Also a few really tacky units around, but that is not unexpected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
This was a nice campground, but time will tell what Elite does with it. Some of their other properties are not so good. Pool was cold every day; thought it was just us, but when snowbirds are saying it is cold then you know it's not you! Last night there spa was broken and would be down until the next day. That reminds me, they were to have a campfire on Thursday night, well that didn't happen. We had wifi at our site, but I guess some did not. Friendly campers, but for those that have been here year after year were not happy with new owners. The reservation policy stinks, if you come here or make plans and something happens that you have to leave or can't come they will not refund you. Ice machine and soda machines only thing sold in campground, no store or supplies. Seems they are more concerned with getting your money than making sure you enjoy your stay. If you want to buy land then find a mobile home park. Cabins are for people that love to camp, and don't want to buy an RV or park model trailers. We camp for the outdoors, mother nature and quiet time with friends and fellow campers. Glad I was able to see this park before it is CRUSHED. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$33
Rockcrusher was a really nice park before elite resorts got ahold of it. Elite resorts has reduced the amenities, treated the campers with little or no respect, and has let the place go by not cutting the lawns during the summer months and reducing maintenance to a bare minimum. Living at Rockcrusher for many winters was nice, it was nice to go back to and see your old rv "family" year after year. But the changes and the way that elite resorts does business and treats it's guests, we will not go back there. Under the rockcrusher ownership it was a great "hidden secret" among campers, but with the new ownership demanding payment for the next year's stay in full, with no refunds and no exceptions, the increase of 3 and six month rates, (from 435 to 750 a month, now reduced to i believe approx 500 a month, partly due to the economy and the fuel crisis), and the reduction of all the amenities like trash pickup, mail station, bathhouse hours, diminished street lighting, and not having a pool or hot tub for almost 2 months in the 2007-2008 season. I have found new places to spend my hard earned dollars, as well as a couple of hundred of other prior rockcrusher winter regulars that we have seen year after year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2008
$40
This campground has been taken over by Elite Resorts. I feel the campground has nothing to offer but a campsite. They no longer escort you to your site, no trash pick-up, no security at night and although they advertised having WiFi, no WiFi in the upper level of the campground. Employees seemed not to know what was going on at any given time. I was very disappointed in this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
This is a great park. We were here for 3 months. Our first time in this park. Huge sites with lots of privacy, not easy to find in Florida! People here don't like change, but we are seeing Elite trying very hard to make much needed improvements. The rates for 3 months or longer for next year have barely gone up from what we paid this year. The wifi is fixed and is great! Personally I think it will do this park good to possibly get rid of some of the "old guard" and welcome in new people! We will be coming back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$33
Unlike many, we prefer State campgrounds, choosing more space over amenities. The 3 nights we spent here were comfortable, facilities were pristine, although insufficient washers/driers & space in the laundry was a problem. Operators and those in residence were cordial. A number of the regulars were not happy about the recent ownership change - particularly the escalation of fees and emphasis on ownership,which sounded very expensive (50K for a site that could only be occupied 1/2 time - and with a monthly fee around $85 according to what we heard) We too found a lapse in updated info. The sheet we were given on check-in contained outdated info on garbage pickup (discontinued), and the Ted Williams Museum, which closed 2 years ago and was move to Tropicana Field. Overall it was still a good place to stay despite being priced more like places closer to the coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2008
$40
We will not be back. I will not pay $40 a day and have to move if they sell the site I am camped on. The new owners and their polices stink. It a shame; it was such a nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$40
This park is now called Elite Resorts Crystal River. It is not an Encore park (as suggested by another poster) but it has been sold and the lots are for sale. We arrived 12 days after Elite took over and there was still some confusion but, overall, it still seems well run (in some ways, better than before). The Rig washing site is gone, the lake area is no longer accessible, the sign is gone, there's no available propane, and they will be using a different entrance. They are upgrading the WiFi and are putting in a number of towers. We're camped next to one and, though it was down for about three days, we now have WiFi that's faster than my high-speed broadband at home. Prices are up and they no longer offer any discounts, but the sites are still very large and attractive, the park activities are more plentiful than ever, and the park is still a fairly good bargain for this part of the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$40
Unfortunatly for all concerned this great park has been taken over by ENCORE. The prices have gone from $17 for perimeter sites to all for $40. They no longer honor any club discounts even though the GOOD SAM sign is still hanging. They no longer have site pick-up for garbage and no longer give the free newspaper. They want you to purchase sites for $49,900.00. There are no improvements in the park,so why raise the price to $40. I feel this is a disservice to the local campers. Just be aware. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This is an excellent place to camp. The park is in the process of reviving the live concerts they were once known for. The sites are grass and, for the most part, level. All electric is 50amp but they have 30 amp cables available in the office. Some minor problems in the park when it rains, but a far cry from giving them a poor review. There are no problems with management or staff members. Will definitely camp here again when we return to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
We came in to park as a late check-in. Someone came down and met us and was very nice and helpful in getting us parked. Our check-in person was very accommodating in getting us a spot that would work for our rig. Nice Park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
The rv park was very clean and kept up really well. The visit was relaxing to us. There were two problems that we had. The electric had went out and the man that came to fix it, fixed it and was very professional about it. The other problem we had was the office staff. The lady at the ranger station was very mean and very rude. Someone needs to take her to customer service class. Also we tried talking to the rv manager and she wasn't very helpful. She looked at us like we didn't know what we were talking about and she didn't know what was going on in her own park. This is the only reason why we gave the rating we did. Other than that ONE reason on the office staff, the park was great. Great views and well kept up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$23
This park was extremely clean and well managed. The heated pool and hot tub were wonderful. The laundry facilities were clean and well priced. We were able to have a great time with my nieces and nephews and plenty of activities to keep them busy. The lots were private and quiet. The only reason they got a nine instead of a ten is because of one person that worked the desk. She was down right mean, unlike the other staff that we were pleased to deal with. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
I like this place. It feels like camping in the 'real Florida'. The jacuzzi is wonderful as are the shady sites. They need more golf cart rentals, though. I think they only have 3 or 4. We also stayed here in previous years, when they have the concerts. Trace Adkins, Travis Tritt. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$27
I'll second what others have said and add that the spaces here are gigantic. I actually was able to hook up my toad by pulling the rig forward a little and driving the toad around to the back--In a back-in site!! For the price, this is one of the best campground deals we have encountered. The only negative I found was a weak WiFi signal. I had to take my laptop out and balance it on the utility post to get a decent signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$35
For those saying it is the best ever, they haven't camped in New England. It is, however the best of all we saw in FL. Staff is friendly? The Ranger Station staff need a pot or two of coffee first I guess. Laundry rooms need change machines. You can only get change from the Ranger Station, hopefully she will help you out. The sites are nice, private & roomy. Pool was warm, kids loved spending the holidays out of New England weather and in their heated pool. Caution, if the snowbirds are having their water aerobics, you have to wait. Thankfully my boys are patient -- one solid hour they sat & waited. We did receive a flyer on our rig, asking if we wanted to various activities and it invited us to the weekly activities meeting. I think the snowbirds are doing this on their own, it didn't appear to be CG organized. We missed our typical night time campfires at our sites. They have these community pits but who wants to schlep kindling and wood all over? There is a grocery store 3 miles away, not 15 miles as previously noted, and its not a new one. Nearby do not miss Homasassa Springs Wildlife Park, Rainbow RIver boat cruises, Withlacochee River, we drove to Orlando for dinner one night & to Kennedy Space Center too. Be sure to swim at Rainbow Springs Headsprings in Dunnellon. Overall a nice place, but there is not much to compare to. Oh, the lake is gross & there are gators there. There is a huge sign posted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2006
$18
This is a wonderful park, sites are large & very private, however, the rudeness of the reservation staff leaves you with a bad impression. The restrooms, laundry areas & Club House are always clean. The Club House is too small to cater to a large group & they've had problems with the plastic chairs that they use. Wi-Fi is very poor. They need more antennaes to accommodate the number of sites. The only place that reception is good is in the Club House. The park doesn't offer planned activities. Activities were organized & planned by the campers. It is rumored that the park is for sale so that may explain the attitude of the staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
This is a lovely campground and could easily accommodate our 45' Prevost. Very natural surroundings and extremely roomy sites. Unfortunately the surrounding towns and communities did not offer much in the way of doing things. Rather boring in this area. But the campground itself is extremely nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Absolutely stunning. Huge campsites. Some sites separated by trees, giving you a very private spot. Beautiful pool, screened in to keep the bugs out, heated perfectly. Lovely hot tub, really hot!! Helpful staff, nice clubhouse. Quiet, restful and very, very clean. I could have stayed forever. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This is a fabulous park. Huge sites, and most of them are very secluded in wooded areas. They have trash pick up at your site, which is very handy. The only problem was that the Wi-Fi didn't work at our site and we were relatively close to the clubhouse and office. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Paved roads and well manicured. Huge number of channels on the cable. Beautiful pool but very SMALL for the 400 sites and it must be very busy in the winter season. Plus its a very, very, very long walk to get to the pool. Their electric is only a 50 amp plug, so my 30 amp had no plug in. My site was very muddy and we tracked a lot of dirt in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
We camped here on Memorial Day weekend. There were not that many facilities to accommodate that size of a park. The grounds were kept up very nice but the staff was extremely rude. The following is why they did not get a higher rating. When contacting them by phone and then actually talking with them when we checked in, there was one lady in particular that was and still is downright mean and acts as if you are wasting her time. We expected to be able to swim in the lake but were greeted with a "Beware of Alligator" sign when we got there. It would have been nice to have had that information before choosing the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$23
This Park deserves all of the high ratings it gets. We had a great site and were treated very well by management. Restrooms we're very clean and we had no problem with access to them. We will definitely return We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
We stayed in this park for a month. They advertized wi-fi available in sites 1 - 66. We were in site 44 and were never able to get on the internet using their WI-FI. We heard that they had the equipment to upgrade but hadn't gotten around to installing it. The laundries consist of 3 washers 4 dryers in each bathhouse. There were two bathhouses, plus 1 laundry facility in the clubhouse. One bathhouse was missing a washer, so that put it down to 8 total washers for a campground with almost 400 sites. No change machines in the laundries, so had to get change from the office when they were open. Sometimes they were low on change. The swimming pool/hot tub area was nice. Also, nice big screen TV in the club house. The sites are large, but there are no cement pads at all, so we were always bringing in dirt. The sites are grass and dirt. When it was damp in the morning from dew we always managed to track in lots of dirt and weeds into our unit. We weren't overly happy with the attitude of the staff at the park. But, the activities director did try to do a good job of keeping some activities going for the snowbirds. The biggest problem with the park is that based on their advertising we were expecting a better park. They advertise that the bike trail is close by, but in reality it is about 1/2 hour drive to get to it. The park is great for weekend or short stays, but if you're a snowbird looking for somewhere to stay, I would suggest looking elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$22
What a great park! There is a site here that will suit everyone. There are shaded sites and there are sunny sites and everything in between. There are three levels to the park and all are naturally landscaped. The sites are as large as I have seen any where. There is 50 amp power, cable tv, and phone service available to your site. There is plenty to do here with the heated pool, spa and fitness center. There also is a lot to do in the area, so come on do. It is now a Good Sams park so you can get a discount too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$17
This is the third year that we have stayed here for two weeks. This is one of the cleanest parks that we have stayed in, the showers, bath and sites are pretty much spotless and they have on site trash pickup daily. It's basically an adult park as other than the pool there is very little for kids to do. The sites are good size and level with all hook ups on one post, most have a lot of trees but still enough openings to get your satellite dish out. Cell phone signals are very low and we noticed most people standing outside their unit to use them. They also advertise WiFi, unless you are in a certain area of the park (high rent district) you will have trouble getting a signal, again a lot of people walking around with their laptops trying to get a signal. The clubhouse is a smaller one and is often rented out which means it's closed to the campers, it has a nice exercise & weight room, kitchen and large screen TV. This is the first year that the spa and pool have been heated enough for us to use. Walking around the park we noticed a few FEMA trailers but only one looked a little trashy the rest were very clean and well maintained for being there over a year. The park only has 50 amp service so if you use 30 amp and are going to be here more then a week buy an adapter before you come, they rent them ($2.50 a day) but you would be better off buying one and then you have it if you need it later. If you are a GoodSam member then you can get one of the outer perimeter sites for $17.00 + taxes. A nice quiet adult park to relax in with all the shopping and store you would need near by. (Five years of full timing) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
What a beautiful campground! The sites are large, shaded and seperated by a wooded area for privacy. There is a pool, spa, and a lake for fishing. These however are the only amenities that this campground offers. We stayed Thursday through Sunday and there were no weekend shows, dinners or anything as other posts had stated. As posted before, there are still no further activity for kids. The clubhouse has a kitchen area, TV, and dining room table. They had rented it out for a birthday party, so we felt a little uncomfortable sitting around. There are no games in the clubhouse, or activities for the kids. There is no store at the campground and the closest grocery store is about 15 miles away. The ampitheater only runs during certain seasons and it was closed while we were here. It along with the lake are actually located just outside the campground, same property but you have to leave the campground to get to them, which is a very long walk. There are no grills or firepits on the sites. There are a few community, or first come first serve firepits throughout the campground. We also had to rent one of their 50 amp adaptors as we lost power at about 3:00 am in the middle of July with the a/c going out. Ugh! It is a very relaxing campground. We visited some of surrounding springs and between that, the pool, fishing poles and bikes my kids had a great time and we relaxed. So we will return!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
The park is very wooded and clean. The sites were huge and most appeared to be seperated from each other with a thick wooded area. There were picnic tables at every site. There were no grills or fire pits at the sites. There are a couple of "community" or first come first serve firepits. You can't really see the theater, it is just outside the entrance of the CG as well as is the lake, so we drove or rode bikes to the lake. The other posts were correct in that there are not a lot of kid activities, actually there are no activities other than the pool and the lake. There is a clubhouse with a gym but there is nothing in the clubhouse except a TV and kitchen area with a dining room table. Thankfully, my kids are happy with a pool and bikes, plus we visited a few of the beautiful springs in the area. The CG is out of the way and nice and quiet. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2005
$23
After reading all the good reviews on this campground, I was expecting alot more. Received the Good Sam membership rate after joining when making reservations. I got my temporary membership card at check in, but haven't received any information or my real card from Good Sam . Its been six months. Makes me wonder where my money ended up. The first night it rained hard and I woke up to find our camper surrounded by water. We ended up staying two extra days because there was no way we could pull our trailer out without getting everything stuck. The office help was rude and unsympathetic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2005
$20
This was our first long (more than a weekend) stay in an RV park. What a great first experience! The park was beautiful, with good sized, shaded, lots-you didn't feel as you were on top of your neighbor . The facilities were immaculate; clean showers/baths, beautiful pool/jacuzzi area, nice laundry room. Everyone there was friendly and helpful. This park is also incredibly pet friendly. We stayed there with 4 dogs and there were no problems, and we were welcomed. Even though there were some long-term seasonals there, every site was clean and well maintained. We can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$20
This was one of the nicest RV parks we have ever seen. Very friendly. We have been twice (3 days and later 4 days). We will be back. Easy to navigate and lots of privacy. Seems to be very new. About 3 or 4 miles to town and about 10 miles to gulf beaches. No junky trailers. Have weight room, big screen TV, social activities. Only problem was I didn't want to leave. Good Sam rates. Reservations needed in winter I would think. Pool area and hot tub were first class. It is 70 miles from my home and worth the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$35
We have stayed at Rock Crusher on several ocassions and have never been disappointed. It is clean, friendly and has lots of places to explore around the campground. They have golf carts to rent, great places to ride bikes and their level sites are indeed level. Their sites are not paved because they don't need to be as they are on stablilized natural pads. We have been there even during a rain storm and not only were there no puddles around our coach but it stayed level. On their website, click on "Check out this review" and visit our website. We were thrilled when they asked if they could link to us. And we are in no way affiliated with them nor do we even get a discount of any kind. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Okay for a short time. No paved sites, and "stabilized" sites they advertise are dirt and grass. Pull thru sites (they have only four) are not really pull thorough in the sense you can leave your toad attached. Rustic camping place. Good for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
We have four kids ranging in age from 4 to 16. Not really "kid friendly," at least for the older age group. Enclosed pool and spa was nice but recreation center could use more "entertainment" for the younger age group. Spacious sites were easy to maneuver into, especially since we recently changed from a motorhome to a fifth wheel and are just learning to back it up. Lake area could use some clean up. Otherwise beautiful area. Would stay again but probably for husband and myself only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This may be the nicest park we have ever visited. The sites are large, level, shaded, and grassy (we don't like cold slabs of concrete). More importantly, there is a ton of room between sites and most have extensive privacy bushes, some even with mini-forests between sites. Many sites back up to the woods, which gives the entire place a very rustic and natural feeling. Definitely stay on the separate level on top of the hill (hills are a big novelty in Florida) because it is much more secluded and quiet. The lake and music festival area (located next to the campground but within the overall Rock Crusher Canyon property) have beautiful rock cliffs at least 100 feet high (artificial from quarry days - no such thing exists naturally in Florida). They should invest some money to fill around the lakeside to minimize the mud, maybe install some picnic benches with a nice playset there, and definitely stop trying to pass it off as a beach. The clubhouse is very clean with a heated pool, exercise room, and so-so playset for the kids. The bathrooms were very clean and pleasantly configured with individual private rooms containing a sink, toilet, and shower (rather than dormitory-style with toilets and showers lined up in a row). Location is very convenient near must-see Homosassa Spring State Park, short drive to Ocala horse country and Silver Springs, and not too bad for Busch Gardens or even Disney. For our taste, this park may even be nicer than Fort Wilderness! The staff was very friendly, though a bit stretched and in need of extra help. There were also a few unsightly broken-down vehicles and one mobile home near the festival area, but that was outside the campground area and you'd have to go looking for them. Overall, this park deserves the high ratings that it gets from the guide books. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Just left this CG and we will be back! Sometimes a little quiet in summer, but well kept, very clean, occasional entertainment, check website for calendar of events. Great sites, great clubhouse. Not everyone needs activities 24/7, infact that is what sets this campground apart from the others. Know one is making your schedule for you all the time. A great place to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$34
This is a great campground. The sites are large and very private. There are no planned activities, this may be a drawback to some. The staff is very friendly, but they respect your privacy. They deliver a newspaper to your site every morning, and pick up your trash at your site. The bath houses are different from most. Each is a shower, toilet, sink in one room. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$35
This is the 3rd year of operation for this CG. Everything is very clean and well kept. They even blow the leaves off the roads within the park. All the roads are paved. Garbage is picked up every day and, at least during the winter season, a newspaper is delivered to your site on the weekends (no charge). The only thing they don't have is an "activities director", so for those who need someone to guide them through the day, this might be a negative. For us it was no problem. We found all the employees and the camp hosts (workampers) to be very friendly and helpful. There is a show of some kind just about every weekend and also several bigger name acts throughout the season. The park is an easy drive to either Orlando and Tampa. Crystal River itself is a more quiet area with a couple of nice local beaches, lots of restaurants and stores. A really great CG. Too bad they aren't all like this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Beautiful campground but for anyone here for an extended stay there are no activities. The workers here do not seem to care and only seem to cater to the rallies and to people here for the shows. Don't seem to care if you stay long term or not and make absolutely no attempt to have any type of organized activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$35
This park is really worth the drive. Campsites are spacious and level. Clubhouse is clean and the TV room is very comfortable, not to mention the kitchen. Pool is completely screened in as is the hot tubs. We had no bugs and we were there in August. It rained but the sites never flooded or got mushy. Restrooms were clean and very modern. Can't wait to go again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Beautiful, spacious modern RV resort. Very large sites, some beautifully shaded. Excellent, brand new clubhouse and pool (under lanai). All sites are level and hard packed, plenty of room for privacy between rigs. A bit out of the way, but worth it if you want peace and quiet and a spacious, shaded site. Staff was new, not very knowledgeable. No staff on site at night, no security gates. Large entertainment (outdoor) center next door. We will return. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$30
Beautiful, wooded campground with large, level, shaded sites w/out overhanging from trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$38
Has separate entertainment series starting Sept 1 (I think) with Lee Greenwood in a natural arena. Has special camping packages. Also on Friday and Saturday nights has dinner show with excellent food. Cash bar opens at 5, dinner at 6, and show from 7 till 10 with family entertainment. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$28
New park, still working out the bugs. Deserted at night very spooky and buggy. Staff doesn't seem to be camper friendly or knowledgeable. Beautiful setting but off the beaten path. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com