214481 User submitted reviews online!!
Poche Plantation was rated 8 out of 10 based on 59 user reviews. Phone: (225) 562-7728
CGID6602

Poche Plantation

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   5   9   10   3   10   10   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
This is a very unique RV park. First, it is just across the levee from the Mississippi River and is built on the grounds of an old plantation. The house is now a bed and breakfast. Tours are held on the weekends and are free if you are staying at the park. Most roads are gravel and dusty while others have pot holes and mud when it rains. The sites range from very nice paved (pull thoughs and back ins) to gravel, muddy not well kept back ins. Some sites have no shade, while others are very shaded. We were in a not so good area, but the utilities worked well, there were lots of cable TV channels, and the WiFi was quite usable. The bathrooms were individual and nice and clean. The pool looked nice; the spa was not open. I did not see much to entertain kids, but I did see kids staying there. The owner is constantly working on improvements and is planning an on site restaurant. Apparently he can be hard to deal with, but he was quite nice to us. It can also be difficult to find someone in the office, and apparently reservations get mixed up frequently. Our reserved pull through site was changed to a back in, but at least we got one. I don’t think this place would be for everyone, but if you can roll with the owner’s quirky personality and management style and not expect too much in the way of amenities, you will probably have a good time. Finally, with all the diverse areas, it was hard to rate the entire park. It ranges from 9 to 5 depending on where you stay, so I averaged it at a 7. We would stay there again, but only if we could get one of the nicer spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$36
More than RV park--resort camping there. The owner's tour was great. Enjoyed the dinner last night, and the guitar duo was cool. Went swimming and they were building a new hot tub house. No damage from Isaac except their hot tub room, said the friendly staff. Today we extended our stay through our season as we are snowbirds who have found a new home at this beautiful plantation. The Church and US Post Office on their property was within walking distance from our concrete site. Really nice place and people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$29
It's hard to know where to begin with this park. The site was fine, level and all utilities OK. Wi-Fi was generally working. The pool was not in use and seemed to be under some kind of construction although the weather wasn't very accommodating anyway. Never saw a soul in the clubhouse and there were no activities or events of any kind. Laundry, showers and restrooms were somewhat tired but OK for the purpose. From what we could tell, the park is largely populated with working people. St James Parish sheriff patrols the park regularly. We almost never saw the owner/manager and were never able to arrange a tour of the plantation although we asked a couple of times. The office was never manned during our stay. The gift shop never opened the entire 8 days we were there (we cut our original 2 week planned stay short). We were there over Christmas so the park was a virtual ghost town for a few days. When leaving we had to chase down the owner to pay him. We have no idea what the rate shown was based on since it seems like the owner/manager makes them up on the fly. The best way we can describe the stay was that we felt more like tenants than guests and just had an odd feeling about the place. In fairness it may be because we were there over Christmas but we could find no evidence that there was anything happening there. We will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$40
I found an RV Park in Convent, Louisiana Just south of Gonzales for camping. It is close to my Work in Geismer and a really nice campground with great reviews. The park surrounds a plantation. The spacious lots ranging from I believe &450-$575 a month, or $40 a night. There's a pet walk, recreation center, which is open to everyone. I can't wait to visit in warmer weather, because the pool and hot tub area is beautiful!! The owner greeted me as I pulled in, he was hard at work painting, but he insisted on walking me through: my first!! Not only does he almost single handedly run not one, but two RV parks (Sugar Hill, being the second), he also owns the local newspaper (The Poche Post) and it caters to visitors with maps, lists of attractions & coupons. Very helpful. I don't travel often, being an older, single female, but I've never felt safer or more welcomed at a Park or anywhere for that matter. I will most definitely visit Poche Plantation And RV Park again, and encourage anyone visiting the area to do so too!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
Our review of Poche Plantation RV Park in Convent, LA, near Donaldsonville & Gonzales located by my work gets a 10!! Beautiful & clean! Count on us we will be returning & referring. The plantation tour was worth the camping alone!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
We were traveling to Convent, LA for work due to working in the industrial construction field. Poche Plantation and its sister site, Sugar Hill, are the only available RV parks in the area. We contacted the owner two weeks before arriving on multiple occasions to find out pricing and availability. Each conversation seemed to be a new experience for the owner and at best information was vague. We were quoted a price as a monthly rate. Upon arrival we waited for 30 minutes for the owner to show up. His futile attempt at humor was not welcomed by me after driving all day to get there. We were told that he had just poured the cement for the spot for us at Sugar Hill and that we needed to come back in two days. Mind you, we had been talking to this guy for two weeks and communicated our arrival date. Then he said he had one spot open but that it was $50 more than the quoted price. When we challenged that he turned to my partner and said "Well, you look good." Are you SERIOUS?! What we later learned is that there is no set pricing and that rate increases upon arrival is a common occurrence. Must be nice being the only guy in the business in the area. There is no office staff so you will deal with the owner directly. I must add that he does provide information on the area and where to get what is in his newspaper "The Poche Post." The park itself is very nice. All paved sites, clean, for the most part, well maintained. There were issues with the lift station which were repaired; however the smell of sewage seemed to be a constant. I do not know if it is an issue with the park or due to the industry in the surrounding area. The park advertises a pool though it is apparent it hasn't been cleaned in a long time. The Jacuzzi is not in operation nor was it in operation during the two months we were there. The laundry facility has 4 washers and 4 dryers. With the amount of long term people that barely seems adequate. With the amount of industrial construction work going on in the area you cannot count on spot availability. The park seems to be consistently full. Be aware that there are people leaving at all hours of the day and night due to work schedules. You will also hear sounds from the Mississippi River boat traffic to include horns, cranes, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
We had a wonderful stay. The park was very well manicured. Great cable and WI-FI and free. Large concrete pads with lighted pedestal. Close to major Plantation Tours. 50 min's to NOLA, 50 min's to Baton Rouge. Owner gave a very entertaining tour of Judge Felix Poche Plantation. Staff was polite and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
The weekly rate was $210. The owner was very gracious and helped us when we had to store our trailer and make a mad dash to Florida in the middle of our stay. The park is very quiet, great Wi-Fi and cable TV,beautiful grounds and very well kept. The showers and bathrooms were very clean and spacious. We were able to park in a concrete pull through with all hookups on a lighted pedestal. The owner gave a very entertaining tour of the old plantation house. My only problem was in finding the office. It could be better marked and directions to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
We had originally only planned to stay 2 nights but after checking out the site, the surrounding area and talking to the owner we decided to stay for 5 nights. We had a great site, clean restrooms and showers and met lots of other campers. There is a Catholic Church within walking distance and we attended Easter service there. It is a great place to stay and there are many plantations to visit in the area. New Orleans is about 1 hour away. We would definitely stay here again. A free tour of the plantation home was given by the owner and was very entertaining. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
The park itself was ok. Yards around the pool area and behind the plantation house, lovely. Nice treed sites and quiet park. However I think the rates are made up when you arrive. We were asked for cash $37 for each site we were then asked if we had $70 cash for 2 sites we could have them as the regular rate was $40. I noticed in the last review they paid $32 (March'12) and the Good Sam Site quotes $33. Our mistake by giving cash without a receipt and not going to the office. I think it should be reported to Good Sam. Would NOT recommend this place to anyone as it seems the rates are made up as he goes along? You can take the risks, but don't be as stupid as we were. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
Located on Poche Plantation grounds. Concrete pads in rear section have nice lighted power posts and street lights at night. Don't expect a manned office as there isn't one. Gravel roads throughout the campground make dust a problem. Rear section has a concrete sidewalk that's good for walking small dogs. No real dog rules here; permanent tenants don't always pick-up after their dogs. Also many let dogs run loose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
This park almost defies description. It looks like 2 different parks (maybe even 3!). I called for a reservation but when I arrived there was no one in the office which is buried in the back of part of the park. When we found it there was a note on the desk with a number to call. When I called the owner right out of central casting- told me he had the flu and to take any site I wanted but not 98. There were 2 sites available and 98 was one of them. I took it!It was a beautiful site on the end of the row. The day before we left owner came to our site and asked us if we were leaving! I told him I had made the reservation and paid for a week. It seems that a camper had arrived and apparently had been given a reservation for my site also. All through the time we were there we saw several campers come in all looking for their "reserved site" with none available. Over the course of the week we spent there this occurred 2 or 3 times every day. Owner conducted a tour of the Poche mansion which was entertaining although not enlightening. It is obvious that they are working on the park but it is not nearly ready for "resort" status. The pool was nice but hadn't been cleaned for quite awhile and therefore unusable. The laundry had 4 machines - 2 each washer & dryer. I really wanted to give the park a good review but the reservation situation or lack thereof makes it impossible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
We stayed here three nights while visiting friends in the area. Check-in is difficult because it is hard to navigate through the park while trying to locate the office. Lots of longer term trailers in the park. Looks like 10 or so spots reserved for short-term campers. No one is in the office. You have to call the owner: he tells you how much it costs and you leave the money in a certain location. Never saw anyone associated with the park. Sites were nice with level concrete pads. All hookups are contained in one convenient location. Cable TV is super. Free Wi-Fi is good. Never had any problems with either. Spaces are somewhat close together. Nice area with local law enforcement patrols. We saw them at least 2-3 times daily driving through the park. The three restrooms are nice but the shower curtains were very dirty with mold/mildew growing. However, on the last night here, someone did replace all of them. Overall, probably the best park in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$34
This park has great 50 amp power, good cable TV, pretty surroundings and perhaps the most level site we've ever parked in. The owner has a very laid back management style that takes some getting used to, but Mark is extremely accommodating and his personality is part of the character of the place. We were here for the Christmas Eve bonfires along the river that were really a blast. There's lots to do in the area--plantation tours, interesting little restaurants, etc. and it's only about an hour from New Orleans. Mark's tour of the Poche house was interesting as well. If we're in the area again, we would definitely stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We took the "free tour" that was offered of the Poche Mansion, offered if we stayed at least two nights, so we agreed. We were only passing through and originally just planned on staying one night. Surprised, we were met by a colorful middle-aged man who rode up on the plantation's tractor. We were not alone; another 12 campers also were treated as the actual owner of this "nationally registered" historic mansion took the time and began to educate us all on how the location of Poche Plantation RV Resort really was a terrific home base to take in the sights, delight our taste buds, offering access easily via day tripping by our tow cars to the best culturally rich Louisiana we came to see and experience. Within a few minutes, we all knew this tour was gonna be like no other. This man, who was born and raised in this area and also spent seven years as a full timer, had a good perspective of many questions, attractions guest might seek, food that would delight our taste buds, and festivals with music distinctively Cajun Louisiana. And his knowledge of all these areas he shared, along with the unique history Poche is known for. As we walked, he talked, and we visited the historic church and the over 200 year old Sugar Cane Grotto and graveyard The grounds as we walked were all manicured to perfection, and the views of the Mississippi River sunsets were so memorable. The hiking and bike trails would not have even been known nor would our two night visit offered time to experience if we wouldn't have done what Mark said most do and that is extend our stay. Totally we stayed 16 nights and 14 adventure filled days. Two days we lounged by the heated pool in 75 degree days and spent a half dozen cool nights in their gigantic hot tub. The kids loved the movie room, the game room, and hiking along the great Mississippi river hunting frogs or catching some catfish. Similarly, I thought, Huck Finn must have enjoyed, just like our kids did, this laid back style only in Louisiana, along this great river while living on one of great river road historic plantations. If you travel anywhere close to Louisiana and don't make Poche Plantation your destination there can only be two logical reasons. One, you just didn't know such a place existed or you don't wanna enjoy what Louisiana is all about. If you're reading this you know can't use the first excuse. We will return and just wanna say thanks to the staff and owner; the pleasure was all ours and you truly made our whole family feel as we are now part of the Poche Plantation family. Again, thanks. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
This RV Park has good potential to get a better rating. We found it only a 6 because of unprofessional management. Easy going is great but not for the management. Guests going to stay only for one night don't want to spent all the time with check-in procedure and find the things they need to. First we had to find the office at the back end of the park. Yes, there are small dark signs you can't really see when driving up. The office was open but no one in. There was a sign with a number to call and a phone. The phone did not work. Our T-Mobile cell phone had no service. No site rates shown in the office or on the website of this park. Sites are concrete without shade or dirt with shade. So we took an open site. Our neighbor offered his cell phone to call the manager. The answering machine was on. The manager drove up some time later, wanted to get $40 cash, with Good Sam discount $36. No credit card or $3 extra charge. No receipt, no park map. Then he was gone and never seen again. The Wi-Fi worked, cable TV did not at our site, not at site beside. Walking through the park we found a dirty looking pool, a covered hot tub and a pretty cottage with showers, library, guest kitchen and a living room with TV and piano. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
$30 a night for water, electric, cable, Wi-Fi, swimming pool, hot tub, great showers, free tour of the Plantation and gardens, short walk to the Mississippi. I know the ratings for this campground have been mixed but we loved it. There are a number of permanent sites here but we were near the pool and bathrooms almost by ourselves on a cement slab. Showers are great. My husband said I better give it a ten because of everything it offers. We enjoyed it and it was on River Road where the plantations are so it is close to Houmas House, Laura, Oak Alley and other plantations for tours. Check in was easy even though you had to drive in and all the way around to reach the office, that is because they will be putting a new entrance road in next to the office. The owner gave us all sorts of ideas about what to do from walking across the street to see the sunset on the Mississippi to a local restaurant with fiddlers on Thursday night. Planned on staying one night but stayed two. River Road is not that pretty even with the Mississippi on the right – there are so many oil companies, sugar cane companies and others all along the road but the campground is peaceful. They had not had rain in over two months here so everything was dry and yet the river was starting to flood. We had met a couple from Ontario in Natchez the night before and they had stayed here before traveling north. They told us that they really enjoyed staying at this campground too. The morning we were leaving the owner gave us a tour of the Poche Plantation Home that he and his wife have been restoring. Interesting history and worth the tour plus it was free! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
I stayed here six weeks while working at Waterford-3 Nuclear Station. This RV Park is a little out-of-the-way, but it is in a quiet location. The owners go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
It is a great river road location. There are many small towns nearby and quite a few plantations to visit. The owner is on site and helpful with out of area visitor questions. The rate shown reflects weekly full hookup rate. It is a 45 minute drive to New Orleans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
This is a very well maintained and clean park. The tour of the plantation house given by the owner is very entertaining to say the least. The pool and restrooms are spotless. Great place to get away and relax. The only downside is the dusty interior roads due to the lack of rain. We will definitely be repeat customers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Good location for seeing Mississippi river plantation homes. Nice long level concrete pads. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
We thought this was a great place to stay. The owner and staff were very friendly and went out of their way to insure you had a good stay. All site had level concrete pads and there is plenty of room between them, great cable and Wi-Fi. The Mississippi River was right across the street. The reason we gave this park a 9 was they were having issues with the washers and dryers. We did however get our laundry done. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
I first read many reviews before submitting my own. All I can say is we did not experience any of the negatives called out by others. The manager/owner, while not in the office, was available via cell phone. All facilities were clean. Wi-Fi was good with excellent throughput. Manager gave great advice about local sights, restaurants. Manager recommended Loukque's (phoenetically, "Luke's") Automotive, down the road 4 mi, where I got excellent service (oil change / lube of my diesel truck) for best price I've ever paid. Convenient to plantations but some are on other side of the Mississippi so some circling is needed to get to them. Excellent value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
We made a request for a reservation over the internet and received a confirmation by email asking us to call when we were en-route. When we called about 40 minutes out, we were told that someone had given away our pull-through site but that they could accommodate us in a back in site. We were helped to our site and in our opinion the site was just fine as it had a level concrete pad. Upon check-in the owner showed us the map of things to do and see in the area, but unfortunately he did not have enough to give us one. We stayed for 3 nights. On Wednesday we went for a tour of the Poche Plantation Mansion which lasted about 2 hours and the owner was extremely entertaining. It was very well done and we were adequately informed of the ghost that may or may not appear during the tour. Sure enough about half-way through the tour the ghost appeared. At the end of the tour we had coffee and goodies in the kitchen where Miss Pat works. We used the hot tub one night and it was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
RV park developed at an old plantation. Make sure you take the tour with the owner. Very Louisiana laissez-faire park which is a nice change from some parks that rule you to death. Excellent Cable TV included with park fee. WiFi from sites is very poor: have to go to office. Too many aggressive, badly behaved dogs are off leash, (owner's dogs were okay). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Based on its website and amenities offered, we had planned to stay at Poche for 2 months and use it as a base for our children to fly down from Canada to join us over the Christmas holidays. We ended up staying for 2 nights. The park is quite a bit further from New Orleans than we were told: 45 minutes not 20. The 3 shower rooms were dirty. Dirty showers and curtains, floors, mirrors and even dirty toilet brushes next to the toilets. There were two "bathrooms" and the one for men was out of service, as were the laundry facilities. Nobody paid any attention to speed limits and there seemed to be a number of very loud trucks driving quite fast through the park, throwing up dust and gravel as they passed by. For us, the final straw was hearing motorbikes drag-racing past the property at midnight. So much for the charm of the plantation countryside, although we obviously can't blame the park for that! We went to the office numerous times to find the owner to pay him and advise him of our change of plans. We gave up and ended up having to telephone him, then go back to the office and leave the cash under the telephone in the office as per his instructions. Then he dropped by, as we were leaving, to make sure we actually had done that. Very unprofessional and much misrepresentation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
It is very hard to rate this place. The physical facilities of the park are outstanding, but there is a complete lack of staff to assist or help - you are on your own. We never saw the owner until the second day we were here, and that was by accident. He is very friendly once corralled. There are many young workers here, but as someone else said, they are not seedy. The concept of an RV park on an actual historic site is really neat, but on the downside, it is quite a ways from shopping although close to quite a few plantations. The rec room/library is in what was apparently someone's house and is very nice, but I doubt it's used much. I am glad we came, but we see no reason to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Level concrete pads. Wi-Fi, cable and full hookups. Camped in one of the pull-throughs in the back of the resort. Plantation tours were fantastic. Including the Poche plantation. Lunch at the Houmas house was phenomenal. Swamp tour was nice as well. I would definitely recommend this RV resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
I absolutely loved this park! It was very clean and nicely landscaped. The mansion is restored. The people who work there were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend Poche Plantation as the place to stay while in Louisiana! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
I had called prior to arriving to get the rates. I was told there were no weekly or monthly rates, only per day. After arriving and setting up, the manager informed me the daily rate was a dollar more per day than he had told me before. I paid for 30 days but due to business, had to leave after 21 days. The manager refused to refund my 9 days, saying that I paid a monthly rate. I asked him why all of a sudden there was a monthly rate when he told me to start with there were only day rates. He became irate and threatened to meet me at my trailer. I told him if he thought that was the best way to do business, I would be there in 10 minutes hooking back up to my trailer. He did not show up. The owners may be fine people, I did not meet them, and the park is nice. But the manager is not truthful nor respectful. I will not be staying here again, although I spend a lot of time in that area on business. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Owner is as laid back as they get. The free tour of the Plantation Home was worth the $60.00 we paid for our 2 night stay. Quite an entertainer that guy is. He came by our site while we were setting up and told us about the tour and eating at Hymel's (a must). We WILL return and you should too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is a very nice park. As others stated, the owner is quite a character and very involved in the park. The tour of the house is a must!! This is NOT your typical stuffy plantation home, "do not touch" tour. In fact, you are invited to touch and to sit. The ghost story is one of a kind, don't miss it. The RV park is nice, most spots are shady, the big rig sites are concrete and do not have much shade. WiFi could definitely use some boosting, we had to use our Verizon WiFi the whole weekend, and it was even spotty at times. The grounds are nice, quiet, comfortable to walk. Wonderful carvings in some of the trees. We would visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is a nice park in a beautiful area. Lots of plantation history in the park and the surrounding area. Very relaxed atmosphere, and the owner was very friendly and casual. Quite a few full-timers, but they were not seedy, like you find at some parks. It took us an hour to get into New Orleans, not 20 minutes like the web site says. There is a nice pool, and the grounds are well-maintained. The Wi-Fi worked the first night, but was down the second. When we asked for a receipt, all we got was a scribbled note on a generic receipt form from an office-supply store. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This park rates high for us in all aspects. Park facilities and all surrounds are spot on. The owner is one of the most helpful we have come into contact with in our 3 years of traveling in the US from Australia. We will definitely use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Excellent park. Level concrete sites, wide spaces either pull through or back-in. Good, fast wi-fi connection. Good water pressure. New wide gravel interior roads. Great location between New Orleans and Baton Rouge, near the plantations, on the river road right on the Mississippi. Nice folks. Stayed five nights. Hope to return for longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
Excellent rating in that it met all our needs and did so in an accommodating fashion. The owner is as mentioned, quite a character, and you should make an effort to engage him in conversation. His plantation house has a history and you can tour it, but do not miss a nearby plantation "Houma House". We would return if passing through, albeit avoid route 10 by using route 12 around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
I agree with the other reviewers, the owner is quite a character. Please do take a tour of the Main House. Sites were very big and level. Has lovely surroundings, and is very quiet. Walked to the top of levee, what a view. Has a nice big library and rec room. WiFi was off and on, I have my own Verizon card, so that wasn't a problem. The place needs to have a regular working crew, the bathrooms are in need of a serious cleaning. They were not cleaned at anytime during our 6 day stay, also there is no soap to wash your hands in any of the bathrooms. Just a little extra attention to detail would rate this place a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
We loved this park. It was lovely, clean and quiet. It has a "guest house" with library, big (and I mean BIG) screen TV, laundry room, and individual bathrooms with a toilet, sink and shower. The plantation tour was both humorous and interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This park was built by an RV'er, and it shows. The park has all the amenities, it's quiet, and it is pretty. The huge spaces are far apart, and have nice, big concrete pads. The owner is very cordial. He is justifiably proud of his restored plantation house and offers free tours to show it off. Has three laundry areas, a large community room, and nice pools. The WiFi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$33
We stayed at Poche Plantation for over a month and found it to be a great RV park. It is very quiet yet close to both Baton Rouge and New Orleans and also many beautiful and historic plantation homes. Don't miss touring the plantation house. and hopefully the owner will give you the tour. He is a wonderful story teller. The bathrooms could use cleaning more often, but the grounds are beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
The park is a work in progress. The owner is really laid back and very nice. He is adding new things to the park in a fast pace. Campsites are nice with full hook-ups. The grounds are very nice and tranquil. Do not miss the free tour of the Poche Plantation! Owner is full of humor and his knowledge is a treasure. Wi-Fi was spotty but we were able to access it daily. This park is centrally located between Baton Rouge and New Orleans and the best location to visit all the plantations. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Roads in park are hard packed gravel. A good number of sites are cement, wide, long, and are FHU with 30/50 amp service. Sites under trees are hard packed gravel with FHU. Over the past years this park has added a number of new sites. Now you have sites in full sun and sites under trees. Owner ask what type of site you would like to park on. Everything worked very well here. Owners are very friendly and helpful. They will see to all your needs. Owners will take you on a tour of the plantation home. The Wi-Fi worked well in our RV. You can pick up lots of TV channels over the air. Lots of nice places to tour close by. Verizon cell and air card worked well. Quiet at night. We will return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
This was one of our favorite stops on this trip. The owners are very helpful, hard-working, interesting people with a wealth of knowledge about this area that was gladly shared. There are so many things to see and do that are close by. It has easy access to New Orleans and Baton Rouge. The free tour of the plantation house was extremely interesting and the grounds are beautiful. Oak Alley, Houmas House, and dinner at Hymel's on Music Night (Thursdays) should not be missed. Another one not to miss is St. Micheals RC Church and the cemetary behind it. These are within walking distance. There is a grotto based on the Lourdes, France one behind the altar that was constructed out of sugar cane! A great place to stay. The hospitality is wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2010
$31
We stayed one week, and will never return, and the sites were tight. The owner was unorganized; didn't even have an office to check in at. The owner's dog ran around loose. He told us downtown New Orleans was 20 minutes away when it was more like 40 minutes. He had an attitude. When we told him our mail was being delivered to the park he said we should have had the mail delivered at the Post Office next door; who would have known? Many of the permanent residents work and would let their Diesel trucks warm up for 30 minutes between 5:00 and 5:30 am. There was no reason for it. There were nice bathrooms, but the laundry room was sad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Poche Plantation is located midway between Baton Rouge and New Orleans. The RV Park is built around a plantation adjacent to the Mississippi River. Verizon signal is weak and cell phone cards required an amplifier and antenna to maintain any sort of connection. The property itself is amazing being able to camp on the grounds of a real plantation is the stuff of dreams. While the spaces aren't perfect (they are in progress and we stayed in the nice and newer section) the environment and the surroundings combined with the historic nature of the home make this a destination for any RV's looking for an adventure in America. The owner and his wife along with a few hired hands run the entire grounds. Many of the spaces are paved concrete while some of the interior longer-term spots are dirt with cement walkways. Not perfect and still requiring a little bit of work it still qualifies as one of the best places we have stayed in our journey. For those of you who are self-contained and understand the history of the South this is the place to be. We regularly went into both New Orleans and Baton Rouge which are not too far away. Located right in the heart of plantation country this is a great spot to learn about where this country has been and to see what big industry is bringing for the future. I need to comment on the negative review below... that same person went out of their way to post negative reviews here and on a number of other websites. We almost avoided the place based upon that review but when we kept on finding the same review all over the net we realized it was a bit fishy. Super glad we gave Poche a shot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
This has a plantation home on site. Sites were clean, level, and services worked perfectly. Lots of new here and lot a work put in. Other plantations and services within an easy drive. I cannot say enough about the cleanliness of this park. Staff was very helpful. Walk up the levee and watch the boats. Very new and nice hall with huge TV. I use a rating of 5 as an "as expected" so a 9 is great from me. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
We recently stayed here for four nights and we thoroughly enjoyed this unique park. This RV park is wrapped around an 1800's Victorian Plantation home. This was quite a first-time experience for us and we were completely charmed by the place. Initially this was just a stop-over, but we ended up extending our stay to take in more local sites. This park was conveniently located to New Orleans and downtown Baton Rouge and we were able to visit several plantation homes in between the two cities. The park owner was very accommodating: allowing us to enjoy the plantation home at our leisure; we would sit on the porch swing most evenings. Wi-Fi was available but a little "in and out", which is likely due to all of the large trees, but we loved the ambiance of place. We enjoyed the hot-tub and were happy to have such nice laundry facilities. A recreational building was also available and we enjoyed the use of the library. The park and plantation sits just a short walk away from a historic Catholic church that had been recently renovated and was a pleasure to see. We had relatively good weather and enjoyed walks on the levee each morning which is located just across from the park. It's a very clean park with friendly staff and large pads. We're planning a trip back this spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
I was very disappointed with this park. The website doesn't mention section II "Sugar Hill". This is a field with concrete spots for RV and gravel parking. You get water, electricity and sewage. It was dusty and extremely hot since there are no trees on the property. All the amenities are at the main plantation 7 miles away. Payment was cash only. We paid for one month and was only able to stay 18 days. Expected a pro-rate but was told that we may owe more by leaving early. Ants were everywhere in and out of the RV which we had to take care of. Workers building more pads started at 6am right beside my RV. My spouse came to the area to work and I do my work on the internet. No internet was available; even with an aircard. Cell phone service sporatic during day but great after 9pm. If you stay a couple of days then the main plantation has designated spots for those people. I answered my questions on this review according to the campground I stay at only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
My disappointment with this park started during hookup. The cable socket was broken. Mark came by to check us in and said that it was just broken last week. I tried to pay by credit card, but their phone was down because someone hit a telephone pole last week but he would accept cash or check. He offered no receipt or brochure regarding the park or local area. His information on the local restaurant was bad because when we got there for dinner, they were closed since they only served lunch during the week. He also informed us that because of the hurricane last year, the Wi-Fi antenna was down, so no Wi-Fi. My last disappointment with the park was caused by no hot water in the shower. I didn’t ask for an excuse. My final b**ch is with Verizon. Cell phone reception was a little spotty and access to the Internet was very poor probably because of an overloaded tower. Next time I will look first for another park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
I rated this campground a 3 because of the road going in. We did not know of the material that the roadway was made of. It was a rock material of sorts that cause a tremendous amount of dust to penetrate our coach inside and all the compartments. The grounds were nice but it is not convenient to anything else, including restaurants, food shopping and sites. The owner seemed very nice. We would never stay there again. We were also surprised that The Big Rigs Book reccomended this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
This is a great park if you are planning to visit some of the many plantation homes between Baton Rouge and New Orleans. However, because of the quasi remote location, be sure that you stock up on groceries before arriving, as there are no stores in the immediate area. The park is nice and the bathrooms/showers were very clean. It appears the park caters to workers, as most of the sites appear to be long timers here to work along the Mississippi river in the numerous petro-chemical facilities. All campers we met camping near us were here for that purpose. Because most of the workers leave for work around 5:30am, the park is very quiet after 8:00pm. We had a very large concrete site. The water, electricity, and sewer connections were good. As stated in several other postings the cable TV did not work. The wireless internet connection was the fastest I have ever seen at a campground! My only complaint about this park is the poor reservation system they have. I called about a week before arrival to make a reservation, but was told I would have to do it online. So, I completed their online form and received a reply verifying my reservation. Because the park was off the beaten path and I wanted to be sure all was in order, about 24 hours prior to arrival I phoned to confirm that they had a spot for us, and I was informed that they were expecting us, our motorhome and toad. When we arrived at the park, we did not see an office to check-in, so we called on the phone. We were advised that the park was full and they had no room for us. We informed the manager(?) that we had reservations and he wanted to know if we worked for one of the local companies in the area. We again informed him that we had a reservation and that we had confirmed 24 hours previously. The manager then advised us to park in an assigned FHU spot. All in all it probably was not a big deal, but it was a hassle none the less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
The nice thing about this park is that you get to tell your friends you stayed at a plantation along the Mississippi river. Mark, the owner was very friendly and offered us a free tour of the facility. It was very interesting. We parked in what looked like overflow along the fence. It was dry while we were there, but if it rained, that area would get very messy. There are sites with concrete pads, so if you are staying for a long time, request one of these. The park roads are very narrow, but most of the sites are wide with plenty of shade. Make sure you go to Hymels seafood restaurant down the road; the food is incredible. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
Absolutely great. Stayed for 3 nights and plan to return next December for 3 weeks! A beautifully run site, extremely helpful and informative staff. Everything is spotlessly clean, with a very well equipped rec. room and beautiful shower rooms. I would recommend this site to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
Great park for a base to see the plantations along the Mississippi river. Owner very helpful with directions and area questions. Very nice community building, complete with well stocked library. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
Nice park adjacent to the Mississippi but no view of the river. The cable TV was out along our entire section but they are working on it. Nice concrete parking areas and plenty of width. The new area still needs landscaping. Nice trees but we still could find our satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
Campground has nice eye appeal, is clean and maintained although the cable TV didn't work in the new section where we were. The new section has concrete pads with gravel roads. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Most sites are filled with permanent RV's, construction workers, but the owners save some sites for tourists. If coming from the north watch for a very small sign at the entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
This is a nice little park that offers quiet and peaceful surroundings while visiting the NO area. The owners are on site and are very gracious. They inadvertently over booked by allowing someone to stay an extra night when we were to come into the park. No problems, they gave us an overflow site to hookup, THEN provided a lovely bed and breakfast room on site at the park for both days of our stay!! WOW that is hospitality. This is a small park, in process of being expanded but well worth the stay!! I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
This is a lovely, well-maintained park across the road from the Mississippi River. All spaces in this new park have large, level concrete spots with state-of-the-art pedestals surrounded by grass. Restrooms are spotless and have self-contained areas with shower, sink and toilet. Huge club house with big screen TV lots of other amenities. The pool and hot tub need work but this is planned to happen soon. Owners are extremely gracious and provide tours of the plantation home on the property. Be sure you're well stocked with groceries before you arrive because there are not many shopping and dining options in the immediate area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
This is one of the best small RV resorts we have spent time in. Park is new, roads are gravel to site, pads are cement with power, water, sewer in correct place with a patio. Great swimming pool, bed & breakfast housing here, plantation house on site. Bathroom & showers were better that ones in our home. Great room with bathrooms, super size TV, kitchen, library, and laundry room. Wi-Fi was free and worked well. Mark and Yvett did a great job here. Super Wal-Mart is 15 miles away. Hymel's Seafood five miles away for great food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com