214299 User submitted reviews online!!
A Big Wheel RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (912) 576-5386
CGID6616

A Big Wheel RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   9   9   9   7   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
This is a first class park! A real gem. From the moment we called for a quik o'nite stay, to the moment we left, the hospitality was supreme. Clean, quiet, well kept. Level concrete pads, well placed hook-ups. Easy drive-around and pull thrus. Don't be fooled by the 'rustic' appearing entry. The park inside is very, very, nice!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$39
Good clean park near submarine base, was nice for overnight stay. Across road from State Park. Nice level concrete pads, lots of shade trees, small fishing pond. No satellite reception possible for most sites. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
We used our Passport America membership and the average rate per night worked out to be $25. We stayed four nights and loved it. It was a very nice park with paved roads and big concrete pads and patios. We could have a fire and just relax. The owners were friendly and the gave us lots of good ideas about things to do while in St. Mary's. Although we didn't go to the Sunday night pot luck, we did feel welcome. We would definitely stay at this park again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$17
We stayed at this campground for two months. It is attractive, well laid out, and convenient for a long stay. All the facilities were very clean. The owners respond to all problems immediately. We were on a gravel site in the "overflow" section and it required minimal leveling and slight adjustment with the utilities. But, the trade-off was a quiet shady site that contributed to sleeping late. It is the best place to eat in the county (the Sunday pot lucks). The rest of the week there is a good choice of affordable restaurants and three supermarkets about 10 miles away. Abundant day trips are possible using this as home base. The rate is Passport although the monthly rate was less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30+
This RV Park is a hidden gem! Whereas it is not a really Big Park, the sites are level and nice, with a good amount of space between each, and plenty of room for parking your vehicles. The location was just Perfect for us to go to Cumberland Island for a day. It is another hidden Gem and also approx. 45 min to Jekyl Island. The Biggest Plus about this park is the Owner and Staff and how friendly and accommodating they are! They have s Saturday night pot luck dinner which the Park Owner practically puts on entirely on her own (very generous). Laundry room was sufficient and easy to access and inexpensive compared to many places I've been. Will Definitely be back to visit more sites in the area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$12
We stayed here four months so we got to know a whole lot about this park. The rate shown reflects the monthly price with electricity being an extra charge which for us normally was about $75 per month on average. Make sure you keep your receipts to alleviate any disputed electrical charges during your stay. There is a $50 electricity deposit upon check-in, as well. Make no mistake about it; this is a real nice RV park. All of the hookups were adequate as expected, and the large concrete pads in most spaces are some of the best we have ever parked on. The roads throughout the park are paved with asphalt and are real nice. There is a beautiful pond on site that has catch and release fishing. There is a laundromat for you as well. The park; however, has a number of things that need attention. The WiFi is very slow to nonexistent. Our Verizon signal; however, was a great 4G one so our phones and MiFi device worked very well for internet. This park has poor grounds and clubhouse maintenance that needs attention. The whole place could do with a good cleanup, but they have nobody responsible for those tasks. So they rely upon unpaid volunteers from the ranks of their paying customers to accomplish them. I myself pruned many of the trees in the park so that RVs could make it down the park roads and into their parking spaces. I also joined with others to put in flower beds and remove much of the tangle of weeds in the park. They really do need to retain a work camper to do the work that needs to be done here. The tree cover in the park is so heavy that it may be difficult to obtain a satellite signal from your provider in some spaces. In some cases, you may be able to cure the problem with some tree pruning. Local TV is available from your crank up antenna if you can’t get a satellite. There is no cable TV available here. For those who enjoy potlucks lucks, there is one on Sunday evening.. Propane is available in this park. There is plenty to do with Crooked River State Park close by and lots of historical sites and beautiful beaches nearby. As you can see, we have rated a large number of parks so we must compare this park with other parks we have rated. We might stay here again if we happened to be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
We stayed here one night on our way to Florida for the winter. The park is easily accessible from I-95 yet far enough away for peace and quiet. The park was very peaceful. The owners are very friendly with lots of information about the local area. The owners host a pot luck every Sunday where they provide the entree and the campers provide the sides and drinks. They also sell firewood and ice at the office. The interior roads are paved and in excellent condition. The sites are concrete, level and very large. There are picnic tables and fire rings provided at the sites. The community room, where the pot luck is held, is nice and large. There are large washers and dryers on site. The restrooms are private rooms. They are large with big tiled showers and are spotless. There is a lake on site that is nicely landscaped. Fishing is allowed on a catch and release basis. Bass can be kept though. WiFi strength is excellent. We received plenty of clear TV channels with our antenna. The rate I listed represents a Passport America rate. We plan to come back here and stay longer in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$12
Nightly rate is based on monthly rate, which does not include electric. We were there for close to 3 months. This was a terrific park! As other reviewers have stated, all roads are paved and all sites have paved parking pads. Every site has a picnic table. Each also had an exterior light at the electric box. Some sites are shaded and some aren't. The location, just across the road from Crooked River State Park, was perfect for walking/hiking and bicycle riding. Every Sunday at 5:00 the owners hosted a potluck, providing the meat. It was great for meeting and getting to know others in the park. The owners were helpful and friendly. The laundry machines were large and reasonably priced. We very much enjoyed staying here and would stay there again if we were going to be in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
We stopped for an overnight stay heading north out of Florida and again on the return trip home. We try to use Passport America for overnight stops rather than truck stops or Walmart. We saw good reviews so thought it worth the few mile drive off I-95 and were glad we did. The owners are very friendly and live on site. The bathrooms were clean, as was the entire property. All roads are nicely paved asphalt while the pads are concrete and level. Our first night stay was in steady rain so we were glad to have the paved roads and site. The second night was beautiful weather and we got a much better view of the whole property and it is really nice. There is a mix of shaded and more open sites and most were pull through with some of those being quite long so the toad can stay attached. We will stay hear again when traveling I-95 in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
We stayed here for a month, very reasonable rates and super friendly owners. Clean sites, nice property. They have Sunday pot luck dinner every week. They provide the meat and drinks everyone brings a dish. It's a nice way to meet the neighbors. We loved it here and would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
I arrived Sunday for a 1 night layover with my two dogs after the Sunday dinner hour but was immediately invited for a meal. The pull-in site was shaded, flat, and easy hookup. Owners are very friendly, offering help as needed. Propane refill on premises. Clean restroom/shower with handicap accommodation. Only 5 miles from I-95 at Exit 1 or Exit 3. I will use them whenever I need to break up a long trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Our first time here. Nice park. Facilities nice but scattered; Friendly staff, good utilities pretty quiet, I liked the way you're walking on a dirt slope between you and your neighbor. Just a tad narrow while towing, they will direct you in order to help you avoid the electrical post while getting pretty close at that angle of attack. Long term neighbors were nice. Glad we did stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
Very friendly private park. Owners extremely helpful. Concrete level sites. Wi-Fi good. 50 amp service. Close to St. Mary's. We went to the Cumberland Island National Seashore and it was a great day. Take the van tour. Sites here are shaded. Very quiet and comfortable. We went to a neat pot luck supper held every Sunday night. Great conversations. We will be back as there is a whole lot to see in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
This is a nice park close to St. Marys and the coastal attractions nearby. All of the sites have wide, level concrete pads with a space for a picnic table and some chairs. The owners are friendly and helpful. Good laundry facilities with commercial washers and dryers. We would camp here again (38 foot rig) if in the area. The rate shown reflects a weekly rate with a passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Very nice owners keen to help and please, this is a well maintained c/g, full hook ups, 50amp, road is paved, easy access, concrete pads, p/t, big rig access, space around RV, space for the towed, lovely shade trees, grass between sites, picnic table, very quiet night and day, friendly people, bathrooms and laundry are old but clean, rec room, there are a few long term residents but everything is well kept, WiFi, not far to Publix/Winn Dixie restaurants or sightseeing. This is the second time we have stayed here, it's quiet, casual and laid back, we will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
We stayed three nights in this unique little park and appreciated the friendliness of the owners, a level concrete site, pretty landscaping and a nice picnic table. Our cats really enjoyed watching the park chickens parade by our rig a couple of times a day, and the crowing roosters early in the morning weren't as bothersome as I thought they might be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
First came to this park for a few days in March 2011. Liked it so much that I returned for a month in March 2012, then returned for a week in April 2012. Wonderful, cement, pull-through, full hookup sites. Beautifully landscaped and great shower, bath, laundry facilities. Most of the people who I met are full-time RVers from northern states and Canada who make this their snowbird winter home for many years. Great people who readily invite you to their activities such as daily bike rides through nearby Crooked River State Park. The weekly potluck supper is a great time for socializing. There is also a great area for overnighters and short-stay people. They accept PA but only for one night. But the rates, especially the monthly ones, are great. It's very pet friendly and the owners have free range chickens. The owners care very much. A few weeks after my month-long stay, I returned for a night. They saw I was quite ill and arranged for me to see their doctor within a few hours. It saved my life. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
This park is very convenient to Crooked River State Park and Cumberland and Amelia Islands. The folks in the park are extraordinarily friendly. Owners friendly, responsive and continually improving the physical facilities. We will plan to stay here either going to or returning from Florida next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
We started full-time RV living in 2011 and have stayed in some nice CG's. Everyplace we stayed at had something we liked and usually something we didn't care for. This campground was just right in every aspect. We had made a decision to come into this area for a month and looked at many campgrounds in the area but this one stood out for all the things we were looking for in a camping experience. First of all the owners are very involved with the campground. They had many pull-through sites and were willing to even trim a tree if we felt there was an issue. The utilities were flawless with good water pressure and clean electricity. We kept a meter plugged in the RV and it always showed good electricity. There were a lot of trees but we had no problem getting a satellite signal. They offered a cable connection but we did not use it. For us we need a solid Wi-Fi connection and their system never failed. We stayed connected the entire month and rarely did it slow down. The Verizon 3G signal is strong here too so our MiFi hotspot worked well when we used it. The campground is pet-friendly with a large exercise area. There is a pond for catch and release but we didn't use it. The park has a great location. We were only about 200 yards from the entrance to a lovely state park with a lot of trails and places to walk and ride your bicycle. The CG is located near the Kings Bay Naval base and they have nice golf course that the public can use at great rates. 30 minutes to Fernandina beach on Amelia Island and easy access to Jacksonville, Florida. Jekyll Island, Okefenokee and Savannah are all great day trips. The big surprise to us was the community activities that are encouraged. The owners sponsor a potluck carry-in meal on Sundays where they provide the main course. Plus they play cards at least 3 times a week with the campers. We needed a ladder and the owner had one for us to use. We mentioned that we could use a power saw for a little home improvement project and they gave us access to what we needed. Many of the campers come here for the winter and knew each other but never made us feel like outsiders. This is the first park we are going to be sad to leave. We will definitely stay here again when we are back in the area. The daily rate is based on our monthly rate and did not include our electric which is metered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
We found the listing for this park in the Georgia handbook, we picked up at the Georgia Welcome Center on I95. It was listed in the Coastal portion of the book under camping/RV parks. It was easy to find and very well maintained. They have level concrete slabs with full hook-ups and friendly staff. They are close to the Crooked River State Park so there is a lot of trails to ride bikes or walk on. They are a member of the Passport America program and with our discount we stayed for less than the cost at the Crooked River State Park.It was very clean and the laundry has all new washers and dryers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
This is a very nice small RV Park. Quiet and well managed. The owners and office staff couldn't be more friendly. They have a pot luck dinner every Sunday with the owners supplying the main course, very nice. There are many stores, including a Wal-Mart, within a few miles. The town of St. Marys is very quaint and picturesque. I was there for a month and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would definitely return when I'm in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$27
The people are friendly, and the camp sites are good with a concrete patio with each site. The laundry facilities are dated, and one of the three machines didn't work. Internet access was somewhat lacking, and many times it hung up for hours. The interior roads are good, but the corners are tight. We had to back our 5th wheel out of our site and down a road so we could maneuver around the corner to exit the park. We stayed here a week and would stay here again, but not in site 5. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
We agree with all positive comments. It is a great Campground, we came for one day, extended multiple times and stayed in total more than 2.5 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
Great campground. Level sites with concrete pads. Good water pressure. Manager is very friendly and helpful. They have a potluck dinner on weekends which was a great surprise. Really makes this place feel like home. Great stop for a few days or longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This is the friendliest park that we have been to so far. We had a great Thanksgiving dinner with most of the people in the park. We would come back here again. It was close to a lot of kayaking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$12
I've been here since 11/18/2010 and will be staying until April. The rate above is based on a monthly rate. This is an excellent park run by very caring people who live on site. The grounds are taken care of and all the residents are very friendly. Most have been coming here for some time which indicates a good quality park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This is a great place to visit. The owners are concerned and kind folks. The park is well maintained. There is a concrete patio as well as concrete parking slab. The staff is also professional, understanding and have a "can do" attitude! If you are on I-95 near St Marys, consider this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Awesome RV park! Beautifully landscaped with paved roads and large concrete pads with lots of space between campers. Very quiet and a very peaceful atmosphere. It's located near Crooked Creek State Park and Crooked River. The owners are friendly and helpful. Plan to stay the winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
In my opinion this is an excellent park. Family operated, clean, mostly concrete pads (about 8 left to complete-paying as they go). Wi-Fi great, good electricity and water pressure. This campground does not cater to kids (no playground or pool) but you can bring kids if you want just not much for them to do. I loved it and hope to go back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This park is very clean and beautifully landscaped. All of the streets are paved and the lots are concrete with a substantial amount of outdoor lighting. There is adequate shade trees on the lots, the park is quiet and within minutes of many area attractions. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Lots of shade - easy to find. But it is a scant block away from a huge truck parking lot. Our trailer reverberated with the rumble of the engines all night. Trucks are all gone in the day time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
The Wi-Fi was strong and fast. The laundry was fine. There was a small pond, but I did not throw my line in. The staff was friendly, and kept the park nice. The location was perfect, as we went to the Okefenokee swamp, Fernandina beach, and Cumberland Island. We had a nice pull-thru site with concrete pad, table, and fire-ring. No complaints whatsoever. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Finally: owners who really care about their guests. They were super helpful and friendly. A very quiet site with a few permanent residents. Has level pads, lots of trees, and chickens wandering around. A little bit far out of town, for restaurants. The owners stress this is not a place for young kids, they do not have the amenities to keep them occupied. We agree, it suited us just fine, peace and quiet. Wi-Fi was excellent. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Great place to stay. Owners on site were very friendly and helpful. Next time we'll attend the Sunday covered dish dinner. Bathrooms clean. Lots to do in the area plan to spend a few days. We really enjoyed the baby chicks and momma hen. Sites large, level, easy to pull through. We would definitely stay here again. Campground also is Passport America for first night's stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
As full time RV'ers, we often wonder why the owners of smaller camping facilities don't make an effort to be friendly and nice to new comers. We didn't have to wonder here. This couple know what they're doing. The place is neat and clean and pretty. Effort has been made to plant flowers and trees while the park is still being added to. There are chickens scratching in the dirt and a nice ole dog laying around. There's a little pond to sit by and think. It's quiet and easy living. Great for a rest after some traveling. The owner came down and invited us to play cards. We loved it there. Easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
Owner is great. This park is a work in progress, some of the sites were concrete, others were not, but are coming. It's friendly, and convenient to everything. Across the street from Crooked River State Park. A biker bar is on the road entering the RV park, but there were no problems caused by them. I would stay at this park again. It is a Passport America park, but I got the month discount: $325 + utilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
We stayed at "A Big Wheel RV Park" last year for the first time. However we had inspected it a few times before. Each time we came, there had been noticeable improvements from our previous visit. The owners, who are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area, have more plans for the future. All the internal roads are paved and many of the sites are concrete. The drainage is good, and even after a rainy period the campground is not muddy. After having had that problem at other campgrounds, that is a real plus. The Live Oaks make this campground shady, but the sun shines through. The main building in the campground consists of a weather proofed, closed-in-porch ("The Lodge") with bathrooms, a kitchen and a laundry room. We only use bathrooms at campgrounds when they are exceptional, and we use them here all the time. The bathrooms are large and private and very clean. The owner cleans them herself many times a day. Each bathroom has a shower, sink and toilet. WI-FI if free and this year when we returned, we found that it had been upgraded and is of exceptional quality. Many evenings, campers are found in "The Lodge" playing cards or Mexican Trains. Evey Sunday evening, the owners/hosts supply the main course for a campground dinner. Guests provide the side dishes. Special occasions are also celebrated. Crooked River State Campground is right across the road from this campground and we take the opportunity of riding our bikes and walking our dogs in the larger area. Some campers play golf and ride their bikes in the submarine base just down the road. Shopping is also handy. We took all these things into consideration when we decided to make this campground our destination for the winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$29
We love this park! It is our second winter season here. The sites are lightly shaded or full sun and ample in size with paved access roads. This park is only a few years old. The owners are on site and continue to improve it every year. As the homepage indicates it is their "second life" work and they spare nothing to provide a warm welcoming experience for all. Come on down and meet Jasmine, an English Bulldog who will happily lead you to your site! I rate A Big Wheel "8" because it is a small friendly place without glamorous amenities we do not need. Come and see... you won't be sorry! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
A small friendly campground. We found it through it's website and were hoping it would be a place we would like for a few months every winter. We love the area and extended our original reservation of 2 months to 3 months and have already reserved for next winter. This is a fairly new campground with very friendly owners on site. Constant improvements and upgrades being made. It's on a quiet road with a state park within walking distance and a naval base with a golf course just up the road. A bar, the Bloody Bucket, is next door but was never an issue the 3 months we were there. We've had more issues at previous campgrounds with barking dogs than with the bar and the motorcycles at the bar. We fell in love with the campground dog and enjoyed the chickens that wander free. Nearby shopping is convenient and traffic was not an issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
My husband and I stayed here twice this summer to visit our son stationed at King's Bay Naval Base. We enjoyed both our stays. The owners are very friendly and the park is very clean and quiet. There are cats and chickens and a dog and rooster who are the camp mascots. I never was bothered by the rooster's wake up call or by the bikers from the bar on the highway by the campground as was a prior reviewer. It met our needs perfectly and we would stay again without hesitation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We choose this campground based on the reviews here. We used this campground as a base camp to visit Cumberland Island and the surrounding area. I really wanted to like this campground, but there are lots of things the other reviewers left out. Pros: The owners are very nice and helpful. There are lots of new concrete slabs. The electric is PERFECT, new power pedestals with a very nice light on top to assist you in hooking up. Water is good with decent pressure. Wi-Fi was slow at times, but had a good signal (when I finally got it working- explanation below) Cons: There a lots of cons. It appears the owners may not be Rvers. Upon check in we got a map of the campground. The only thing on it was a outline of the campground. No rules, no information (IE: quiet times/check out/is fishing catch and release?). We got a pull through, but the entire campground is in need of tree trimming. We had branches scraping the camper as we pulled into our site. I couldn't pull straight out when we left , I had to pull onto the grass on the other side of the road to get around tree branches and still scraped the side. Then EVERY turn out we rubbed branches on the side of the camper. The entire campground needs to be trimmed. Overgrown grass everywhere. It seems they put tomato plants around, but the grass is now taking over. A weed whacker is needed desperately. After we set up I tried to get online, strong signal but kept getting an error. After about an hour of fiddling with my Laptop (thinking that was the problem) I went online with my iPhone and noticed the iPhone worked on Wi-Fi. Long story short the owners of the campground had their router set to N only. I went into their router (they had only the default password) changed the settings and was able to get Wi-Fi for our stay. Note to owners: CHICKENS and ROOSTERS should be allowed to roam free and crow at 4am and then again at 6am. We got awakened each morning by the lovely (sarcasm ) rooster crowing. I wanted to make him lunch by the last day. A big negative to this campground is the Biker Bar right in front of the campground. It's called the "Bloody Bucket". Roaring Harleys into the wee am hours. On the weekend they really cranked up the music. In the camper, TV on LOUD and the A/C going we couldn't hear the TV. Then for hours and hours into the early am the sound of roaring motorcycles. This campground is about 7 miles off the interstate. If roaring Harley's are your thing then this might be the place for you. We won't be staying here again, we'd stay at state park down the road to avoid the biker bar and the crowing rooster. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
We stopped here on our way back from Florida for an overnight stay. This park is a small little family run place near the river and the navy base. It is several miles off the interstate. The owners are on site and very friendly and helpful. Our site was a little small, but it was a pull through and perfect for us for the night. We took an afternoon tour of St. Marys historic district and waterfront. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
We stayed three nights at this campground, and plan to return next year. It is family run, very friendly and people-oriented. Restrooms and showers were clean and spacious. They have a park-wide potluck every Sunday night, which was fun and unique. Nice place, nice people! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
We were only going to stay one month, but ended up staying over two. Great park and great folks! We have definitely decided to return for the winter. Our GPS found this park for us and all I can say is "thank you Garmin." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
We were passing through so just stayed one night. Nevertheless we were very impressed that the owner was standing outside and welcoming us in. The spot was large and roomy. I would stay here longer next time around. I had enough bars with my Verizon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Small quiet park with owners on site, as well as their dog and chickens. About 1/2 seasonal sites. Transient sites are concrete - ours was a rare pleasure - shade and rooftop satellite TV access. CG does take measures to control insects and no real problem even though hot and humid time of year. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Very nice family run park. Owners aim to please. Location rather remote, about 5-10 minutes off the interstate, and from town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
Owner very friendly, and had many suggestions for local sightseeing. Wifi signal was strong, and showers were great--individual rooms with toilet and sink. Unfortunately some idiot in the neighborhood had to fire up his Harley repeatedly at 1 am. And the bugs (sand flies) were pretty bad. The owner offered to sell us some bug lotion for $5.50, while admitting that it worked for some people, not for others. We made do with our own bug spray, but these people need to implement some solution to deal with bugs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
We stayed in a 42 ft. rig and had a little trouble getting through the turns in the road to our campsite. Turns are quite tight but management was going to try to correct the problem by widening the turning radius of access roads. Only a few paved sites; all the rest were dirt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Nice clean park. Bathrooms very large and clean. Friendly owners that were very knowledgeable of the local area and attractions. Mixture of paved roads and sites and dirt. More of the park is about to be paved. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
Excellent, friendly management team - husband, wife and adult son. Mixed concrete sites (11) and grassy gravel sites. Level and VERY spacious wide sites. Roads are mix of paved and excellent marble base for future paving. Restrooms are private, large and very clean. This is a new park with improvements continuing daily. Once all sites are concrete and roads paved this park will be a 10. Rate stated is based on a weekly rate. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
We camped here based off this RV review web site. The campground is still under major construction. We were the only overnighters staying the weekend. The owners and their son were very nice. The campsite was concrete with full hook-ups excluding cable. My wife loved the farm animals wondering around. This campground is ok for no kids, children would get bored very quickly. We will come back when we need a good quite place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
This is a new RV Park and they are still adding sites, I found it to be very nice. Some sites have concrete pads. I didn't mind parking on dirt (they will be concreting all the sites) The Park itself is located a minute or 2 from the Crooked River State Park..Their still in the growing stages. They have Sunday's Pot Luck which is very nice, There is a pond, I enjoyed watching the birds around it..The lots are nice size..The owners are very nice and hope to have satellite hooked up soon.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com