206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Maverick Ranch RV Park at Lajitas Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (432) 424-5180
CGID6618

Maverick Ranch RV Park at Lajitas Resort

Camp Information
Sites
101
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   10   10   10   9   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
The nicest RV park in the Big Bend area. Large pull-thru sites with plenty of space between. Driveway and sites are all paved. Staff is very friendly. Musical performances 3 nights a week by the Whitfords added to the enjoyment of my stay. The RV park manager even showed up one evening after music with homemade ice cream for everyone. The only downside for me was the WiFi, which often slowed to a crawl in the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Friendly staff. We chose a wide and long pull-thru. Really nice private lav/toilet/shower rooms. Pool. Full access to all Lajitas Resort facilities(trails, golf course, riding stables, etc). We do not pull a towed, but were able to rent a Jeep from the Resort for the day to tour Big Bend National Park. Jeep rental rate is $99/day with 100 free miles. Not cheap, but we preferred seeing Big Bend this way instead of sitting on a local tour company's shuttle van. Being our first trip to this area, we only spent two nights. We are now considering coming back to spend a month (only $425) next winter. Tons of things to do in the area, IF you like spending time outdoors in the desert (which my wife and I do). Contrary to reports on some websites, Maverick Ranch does accept advance reservations over the phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
The sites are a generous size and there is lots of room between each of them. It was a nice modern park and the Wi-Fi worked well while we were there. There are several things about it that we were not impressed with however. It costs $2.00 for washers & dryers if you need to do laundry which is more than we have ever paid at an RV park. There is no propane on site. Pack enough food to last for your entire trip! I needed some bread part way through and had to pay $5.20 for a loaf at the general store. Diesel fuel was $4.26/gallon. It was very hot during the day and the pool was freezing so we were unable to use it. If you go there, make sure you stop at the little pizza restaurant just outside Terlingua. I can't remember the name but it is on the left hand side as you leave Terlingua, headed for Lajitas. Don't eat at the Lajitas Resort!! The food isn't all that great and it's over priced. If you're a golfer, be prepared to pay $129.00 green fees to play 18 holes. The Big Bend area is quite spectacular and worth the trip but Lajitas Maverick RV Park could be better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
Best RV park in Big Bend area. Clean neat with patios. Beautiful park with full amenities. Would stay here next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
This place is one of the nicest RV parks I've stayed in. The Staff are very friendly and suggest places to go and do. They were extremely helpful and accommodating and made our stay so much more fun. The bathrooms and showers were very clean as was the clubhouse. Each site was spacious with concrete pad and patio. Very scenic too. I will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
I was the host of a recent rally at Maverick RV and I can't say enough about the level of service our group of 40 Casitas received during our week-long stay. The staff was attentive, informative, helpful and welcoming. As was mentioned by another reviewer, the Wi-Fi was spotty, sometimes running very, very slowly, but, they're aware of the problem and are working to fix it. I had no problems using my Verizon cell phone. This was our first rally at Maverick RV. Everyone had such a great time that we're planning to do it again in 2015. The campsite fee reflects our group rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
I can't find much negative to say about this park. The staff provided excellent service the week we were there. Created as part of a larger resort by someone with big dreams, it has everything one could want. Located between Big Bend National Park, Big Bend Ranch State Park, and the ghost town of Terlingua, there is no shortage of diversions to keep you busy if you so desire. A local grocery carries most basic supplies, including wine and fresh cold cuts. The only negative things I noticed in the entire park was that some of the sites were more dirt than grass, and the Wi-Fi was weak in the fringe sites. The rate reflects a group discount as we were part of a rally held there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
We decided to get away from the fireworks on New Years. We spent four very enjoyable days at Maverick Ranch, drove through Big Bend Ranch State Park, and hiked in Big Bend National Park. While Maverick Ranch is a little further away from the national park, it is well worth the drive as nothing in the vicinity compares to it. It is well designed, well kept, and staffed by very conscientious people. The sites are long and there is plenty of room between sites. They've even managed to grow a little grass and some trees, despite the weather. The only negative, and it is nit-picking, but whoever designed the computer program for checking in needs to try doing it as a customer. Despite the best efforts of the staff, it is a slow and arduous process. We were shown to our site, and the check-in process was complete when they dropped by later to give us our receipt. Oh, almost forgot. On the Lajitas/Maverick Ranch website one is told to go to the Lajitas Resort to check in. Not so! Furthermore, finding the Lajitas Resort office is a challenge made more difficult if you're driving a 45' RV pulling a toad. The directions were terrible. None of that should be read to take away from the enjoyment of staying at a first class RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
Rate reflects daily rate with Good Sam discount. Facility-wise, this is easily the nicest RV park in the area. All roads and sites are paved, which cuts down on the dust. My pull-thru site was long enough for my motorhome and tow vehicle and was level. A concrete "patio" with a picnic table was included. Utilities were well-placed and worked well, including the WiFi. Restrooms and showers were spotless. Also on-site are a nice community room and outdoor swimming pool. Staff was very friendly. I plan to return in the winter for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
I really want to like this park. At some time the park and its neighboring resort at Lajitas had a LOT of money invested in facilities. They are first class, but the service and maintenance levels at both just don't match. They try - just fall a bit short. That said, the park was nearly empty, and we were told to take any site you want. Certainly more than enough room for any pull through size with toad. Pool was nice but had a VERY loud group. About a 30 minute drive to Big Bend National Park and 15 minutes to the state park. Beautiful scenery - situated in the mountains. Sunrise/sunset spectacular. Really the nicest park within at least 100 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Perfect place to stay with big pull throughs, good Wi-Fi, great swimming pool, great views during the day and on dark nights. It was very quiet. They fight with the drought but still the few trees are green. Perfect to visit Big Bend Nat'l Park and do not forget to visit Big Bend State Park. It's a 'must do'. We will sure come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
This park was perfect for our needs. The sites are big with plenty of room for me to utilize my patio on back of my toy hauler to grill each night. West Texas has been in a drought for a while but they are attempting to keep the grass as green as possible. This was a perfect launching point for Big Bend Ranch State Park. The swimming pool is very nice. A hot tub would be a nice addition. Also a fenced dog area would be a nice improvement. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This campground has seen better days and needs a little TLC But it is the nicest place to stay for a visit to Big Bend. Keep in mind you are in the desert and grass and trees are a luxury as well as Wi-Fi and cell service. After all why are you coming to the middle of nowhere to talk on your phone or surf the internet? Enjoy the unspoiled beauty around you! Staff is great and friendly, facilities are clean and well kept, very much a family park so don't expect to find fancy high-end coaches and wine tasting, but its's also several levels nicer than any other option in the area. Sites are first come first served and most face north to south so pay attention to the setting sun and make sure it doesn't set on your door-side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
This site has the infrastructure to be a 9-10. It is certainly the best park to stay in when visiting the Big Bend National Park. Staff are helpful; sites are large. As stated by others this park is a part of a much larger complex. The complex has had multiple owners over the years and the RV park has been neglected in the past. It needs some TLC. The reason for the downgrade is due to 2 reasons. First, the Wi-Fi is not usable. Normally we don't make this big issue, but ATT and Verizon broadband will not work. We were virtually without PC communication for the 5 days we were there. Second, we had water heater issues and needed showers. The shower curtain torn and moldy. With TLC this could be a really nice resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
This is part of a large resort complex that has nice big sites, a pool, and a big club house. The rate reflects a PA discount. The roads are paved and sites are gravel and pretty level. It should be noted that only certain cites have cable hook up and they were all filled when we showed up. They have good Wi-Fi. Verizon and their MiFi did not work down there. They have a nice restaurant that is part of the complex and a golf course. We'd stay there again when we're in the area and it's pretty close to the west side of Big Bend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Nice park, large spaces, friendly employees. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
Can't believe this Gem was hiding from us and so many others. We drove the 17 miles from Study Butte into Lajitas and was surprised to find this Hidden Gem of an RV Park. Stopped at the office and met the Manager, looked around and informed him we would be back the next day and we were. The park is very well kept, grass is mowed, grounds are immaculate, the club house/community center is clean, as well as the bath/restrooms. I'll be sharing this RV Park with all our friends. We are already planning a return trip in January. This is the best park, bar none, in the whole Big Bend area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
Great campground for this part of Texas. Manager very friendly and professional. He has been here this year and is making multiple improvements. Beautiful golf course resort with shopping and eating facilities. Drive west on FM 170 is very scenic. I would recommend this park for visiting the Big Bend and surrounding areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
The park is under new management, and they are working hard on improvements. The staff is very friendly and helpful and even helped me make some repairs on my rig. The park is located at the head of the River Road which is said to be the most scenic drive in Texas, and my wife and I agree. It is only a 30 minute drive from the headquarters of Big Bend National park and just down the road from the HQ for Big Bend State Park. We would recommend this park to anyone but would suggest early Spring when all of the flowers are in full bloom. They have a very nice pool also! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$37
Rate is Good Sam plus $2 for an extra person. We have stayed at this park previously and it has gone downhill fast. Needs work everywhere. Some sites may or may not have working cable or even cable connections. We received satellite fine so not a big deal. Bathrooms, showers, and laundry are all clean but again rundown. There is a clubhouse but it too is a shell. All sites have asphalt parking pads and most are pull through. The pads however are quite narrow. All sites have a patio mostly concrete. Most don't have picnic tables. Wi-Fi was good and strong. Best part about this park is the total quiet and the incredible star shows at night. This park does have a new and active manager who is trying to get the place back to a resort condition. I wish them well. We'll stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$33
We stayed at this park for four nights and found it to be quite nice, especially cable and internet which is not always available in this remote area. The restrooms and showers were very clean. There was a meeting room and an area for TV watching. The hosts were especially friendly. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$42
Nice park, friendly hosts who were helpful. Park very convenient to Lajitas resort, great golf course! Some sites could also use some more compacted gravel but this is a very nice RV park, we would come back for sure! Internet is slow here but that is a Lajitas issue, not the fault of the park due to satellite internet connections. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
What an isolated gem! We spent several days here while visiting Big Bend. The entire town complex was a high-end resort that is under new ownership. Since we visited in the very off-season, we did not expect everything to be operating, but were pleased to find that it was. There is no shade: good for our satellite, but the views are spectacular. The resort across the street is really cool: shops, bakery, restaurant, saloon. The golf course was closed due to freezing damage, but it is being restored and it is amazing. The pool area is landscaped and beautiful. Still some restoration to do, but this was much better than any of the options in nearby towns. A temporary manager was on site to register us. The active manager dropped by our site to say hello when he returned to town. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
If coming from the east, it's difficult to find. Doesn't show up on GPS nor does the town. It's difficult to get someone to answer the phone. We finally stopped at a sign that said "Town Square Registration" and called again. It happened to be the office of the hotel and resort. We registered and were told the discounted price was $32.00/night. Nothing agrees with the information on the Passport America website. The website says the regular price is $49.00 with a discount of 50% it comes to $24.50. The manager claims he never heard of Passport America. We paid the $32.00 since we had no choice. Before we left the building, he decided to reduce the price to $25.00. This is all after paying $20.00 to drive through the Big Bend National Park since that's the way the GPS took us. We met a very nice couple and went to the bar at the resort for a few drinks. The bar closes at 10pm on weeknights. The bartender was a very sweet young lady that stayed until 11:30 and talked with us. We awoke the next morning to discover the water was shut off. We were told it would be back shortly after the fixed a leak. That was 2 hours ago and it's still off. The RV Park is not very attractive, there's no one here running the place so you're on your own. No shade, no cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
The good: The Park was clean and well maintained. There are beautiful pool areas and nice landscaping all over the property. The bad: There was little shade for the rv spots, the restaurant and bar was a bit pricy, stay away from the fajitas in lajitas plate (the meat tasted stewed and there was little seasoning used. I was charged 17 dollars per plate). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
Our disappointment with this park began at check-in when the person at the counter couldn't tell us what our rate was. He had to check with the manager. The weekly rate we ended up with was higher than what we were originally quoted because we were there in the middle of spring break. The manager had a very arrogant attitude about the whole thing. Fifteen minutes after arriving at our site the electric went out for about half the park and temps were in the 90s. It was only off for about an hour and we ran our generator but the ordeal made us hesitant to leave our pets alone for very long during the heat of the day during our week-long stay. I made two trips to the men's room and found it dirty and without hand soap both times. The laundry looked as if it was once very nice but it was dirty and there was lots of empty space where many of the washers and dryers once had been. This "resort" has a real ghost town feel to it. It's flat, windy and dusty. When we left, there were only about 6 rigs left in the whole place. It looks like it was once very nice but is now sad and neglected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
We were staying in Terlingua and took a drive to Big Bend State Park and saw this campground. We cut our stay short in Terlingua and moved here the next day. This is the nicest RV park in the area. At 17 miles west of Terlingua, it does add drive time to Big Bend National Park. This place went broke and was purchased by another rich Texan. New management is really trying to make this a real first class RV park and destination resort. They are working on drawing specific groups with specific interest to special events. This place even has an airport that can take a 737. There is a very good restaurant at the resort along with a hotel, spa, and shops. There is a golf course and lots of activities. Priced a couple of them and they were a bit pricey. Campground has big paved sites and is well designed. We were told that it fills up at spring break. In January there were a handful of snowbirds and about that many in and out on a nightly basis. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Plenty of room to run and play with the dogs. Wi-fi and cable worked great. Boarder Patrol drives through campground several times a day. Local sheriff in and out as well. Guess they were looking for illegals, drugs, and guns. Even though this resort is right on the Rio Grand we felt safe. Be sure to take what you need with you. No gas or fuel. There was a small store and deli with basics only. Would be a great out of the way place to spend part of the winter. Will stay here again sometime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
Nicest RV park in the area, amenities are a bit scarce (not every site has a table), sites are large and go back to back so you are not on top of your neighbor's connections. West Texas can be very windy at times, make sure to pay attention to the prevailing wind (SW while we were there) and put the back of your RV toward the wind. Excellent golf course and plenty to do at the resort. Internet was somewhat hit and miss, mostly unusable. Wedged between the Big Bend National park and Big Bend Ranch State park, plenty to do and see at either park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
Don't expect this to be a real RESORT! The grounds were horrible. Grass and weeds needed cutting, and there were pot holes everywhere. Our pad site had 2 big potholes in it. The people who run it are very nice but that's about it. Grass covered holes in our space, and there were dog droppings everywhere! We wanted a picnic table and was advised that "over there" about 80 meters away was a table that we could have? If we wanted it, we had to get it. Our friends came down and took a shower which cost 5.00 a day. Bathrooms were clean the first day.. The second and third day they reported that they were dirty! Wi-FI didn't work and cable wasn't really that good, either. If someone would spend the time and money on this campground, it would be wonderful! We stayed 4 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
This is by far the nicest campground outside Big Bend. It’s under new owners and they’ve added cable TV. It’s located in Lajitas, TX about 40 miles from Big Bend NP. In our opinion, it was worth the 45 minute drive each day. The park offers long and level pull through paved sites with concrete pads, Wi-Fi, pool, and laundry room. Across the street is the Lajitas Resort and Spa. The resort has a golf course, an equestrian center, and all sorts of activities are available on site or nearby. We took an ATV tour and a canoe trip on the Rio Grande River. Although it was pricey, we enjoyed both activities. The hiking in Big Bend was great especially the Lost Mine Trail. There is a General store about a quarter mile from the campground. Suggest you bring all your food with you for the length of time you plan to spend here since the closest grocery store is over 50 miles away. The closest Wal-Mart is about 100 miles away. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We stayed here for one week. They honor Good Sam and the rates are very reasonable. Remember, you are in a desert so expect high temperatures in the nineties. The only negative is that there are no shade trees. Therefore, expect your AC to run 24 hours a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
It is on it's way to becoming a very nice resort. Again, the facility is certainly there, but the management is a little shaky as they try to resurrect this HUGE resort. We didn't have the best experience but that was mostly from dealing with management. We were interviewing for a work camp position. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$29
Although this campground is located at the Lajitas Resort and Spa, it is named Maverick Ranch RV Park. If you like the desert, this is the place for you. It is located between Big Bend National Park and a huge Texas state park, and it is by far the best private campground in the region. The area is about as isolated as you can get--the closest Wal-Mart, we were told, is 100 miles away. The facilities are terrific, including one of the nicest bath houses we've seen. The resort has a decent restaurant, and there are a handful of other restaurants within several miles. Groceries, propane, gas/diesel are about 10 miles away, although the resort does have a small store. On the downside, the Wi-Fi is very slow, and many sites don't have a TV hookup, which we were told by the host was iffy at best. The resort has a golf course, an equestrian center, and all sorts of outdoor activities are available on site or nearby. The rates were also quite reasonable. We found our stay there very relaxing and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
Pick your own site, then register at the Hotel. We stayed here for 4 days and loved it. It is a quiet, lovely setting with mountain views. The Bathrooms, laundry, pool, keep fit room, were all clean. 60 pull through sites. There is lots of space. Paved site and grass. We ate at the Candelilla Cafe, food ok, but pricey, and service very slow. We will be staying here again. There is so much to see and do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
Part of the Lahitas resort, park's name is Maverick RV Park. Clean, quiet, neat park, good scenery, pool clean. Many sites that are said to have 50 amp service, dont. Advertised cable TV doesn't work. WiFi is hit and miss. Some distance from Big Bend Nat'l Park entrance. Registration is across the highway where there is no turnaround for larger RVs. Park is in need of updates and maintainence. Golf course is closed for major renovation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
This campground is part of the Lajitas resort. There were 10 to 15 campers here while we were here. Lots of room and big spaces. The showers were very clean and well kept. You have to check in at the resort which is not at the park area but is not really a problem. The camp host was very nice and helpful. Very convenient to Big Bend NP. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
If they had been honest about the condition of the park I would have given it a 7. The views are very good. Restrooms and laundry are clean and nice. Sites are very large with services in the appropriate spots. The pads are gravel but nicely compacted. There was one other camper in the park, which may explain the run down feeling of the place. The negatives. The pool was filthy. There were little things swimming around in it. They raked the pool when we mentioned things were living in it, but they should have shocked it. It's away from the park, but it's not a bad drive. The WiFi is non-existent. You can see their hot spot, but there is no real connection to the Internet. Our air card worked well but it was a slow connection. The bar and restaurant in the resort were so-so. Would not eat or drink there again. A high spot of the trip was a recommendation from a local. It is called La Kiva and features food, drink and a fantastic guitar player and singer. It's in Terlingua, just after the turn to Lajitas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$29
Very nice facilities near Big Bend National Park & the RV park is park of Lajitas Resort & Spa. The restrooms, laundry, and pool area were very nice but lightly occupied during our 3 night stay in Feb. You can use the facilities at the resort located a short distance away and there is a very nice restaurant. Resort overlooks the Rio Grande River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
This is our first time here. It is a quiet campground with spectacular scenery and sunsets. It is the only park in the area with grass, so blowing dust is not a problem. There are some windy days, but most are quiet. We have not seen the ants that a previous reviewer mentioned. The new owner has plans to do upgrades and repairs. Some sites do not have working electricity, but the camp host was very helpful in guiding us to an appropriate site. In the hotel area there is a surprisingly good restaurant and cocktail lounge, and there are movies on weekend evenings. There is a small grocery store, and other shops. The nearest supermarket is in Alpine, 97 miles away, so you will want to stock up before you come. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will be back again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We were one of only 4 rigs each of the 2 nights we stayed there. While there was an office on site at the RV park it is not in use, you had to go up the hill and across the street to check-in or get any information. We pulled in late the first night and had no idea where to go so we just pulled into the first available site. This site had ants larger than I've ever seen anywhere, and their bite is just as bad. We then moved to another site where we stayed, but when we let the folks in the front office know that their water spouts were leaking on both sides (just as a courtesy to them-it didn't bother us), we were informed that site was closed for maintenance. There are no trees large enough to provide even a hint of shade (temperatures were 116 and 118 the 2 days we were there) and the wind is ferocious so don't consider putting your awning out. Although there is a swimming pool on the rv park grounds it wasn't clean enough to swim in. Lajitas is quite a distance from the entrance to Big Bend National park, but right next to the entrance to Big Bend State Park. Terlingua is where all the tours are out of and is at least 16 miles from Lajitas with all the winds and curves which slow you down tremendously when you're trying to get anywhere. The nearest gas station is in Terlingua with gas at approximately $.25 cents more than what you can find in Alpine. The Far Flung Outdoor tour Camp 360 was awesome and so informational! I would recommend that if you aren't partaking in alot of the activities at the resort like the spa or golf, stay in Terlingua. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$29
We also just returned from the Lajitas - Maverick Ranch RV Park. It was very good. If you have stayed at others in Big Bend you will appreciate the lack of dust. All sites were good - I don't know if there is a bad site. Great scenery from every site. Their map shows 101 sites and that 35 are currently working. You are a guest of the hotel and can use all the resort activities. We did a wine tasting and a Fossil Seminar - all at no cost. Not every site has cable. Maybe that will change when they get all the sites operating. No WiFi at the RV Sites. I got a good signal outside the hotel office. My AT&T cellular phone worked at the RV Site. Register at the Hotel Office first and they will give you a map of the working sites. It will save you a lot of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$29
Note: The name of the RV Park is "Maverick Ranch" and it is part of the Lajitas Resort. We stayed at Maverick Ranch for 3 nights on our trip to Big Bend National Park. We found the RV park to be nice, but in need of a little maintenance. Please don't take this the wrong way, the site is not run down, but some of the hook up stations needed a little work. We stayed in site 82 and had no problems with water, power and cable TV. One of the other people we met there said they had to move to a different site due to a power issue at their first site. The common building with the showers and bathrooms was immaculate. The pool area and porch around it was gorgeous. There were about 15 other RVs there in addition to us. All of the sites are level, the majority of them are pull through. The views of the surrounding mountains are great. It is a great place to watch the sun go down in the evening. We also found the location to be excellent. It is about a 30 minute drive into Big Bend National Park. The Lajitas resort changed ownership recently and they opened up the RV area to any RV. The previous management team had restricted access to Class A rigs only. As for RV parks near Big Bend I believe this is the best. We looked at the other parks in Study Butte and Terlingua and they looked pitiful compared to Lajitas. Our stay here was problem free and we will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Big Bend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2007
$29
The name of this park is Maverick Ranch RV Park, not Lajitas Resort and the website listed has no information on the RV park. It is a forgotten part of the resort and the new owners/managers of the resort seem intent to keep it that way. They do have a pool but it is not accessible as there is no on-site management to open the gates and no security to ward off looters. You are definitely on your own! You register nearly a mile away at the hotel office and it appeared that the few that stayed overnight simply didn't bother to register. The place is obviously the victim of a long and persistent looting campaign as everything of value is gone including the picnic tables, the laundry room equipment and, it appears, much of the office equipment. The place could be beautiful but is instead a neglected tragedy. About half of the sites are back-ins and many of those are not level at all from side to side. Some interest and TLC could make this very remote park a gem but it doesn't look like that will happen. Until things change, we won't be here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
This is part of the Lajitas Resort which is a 5-star resort featuring a "Leading Hotels of the World" hotel built to resemble an old western town. The RV park is a well kept secret, but is beautiful with large sites with level concrete pads. It has a few picnic tables scattered among the sites. When we stayed there the water system was not working (which was not a problem for us) but all of the other hookups were. Therefore we (and a trailer) had the entire park to ourselves. The resort offers lots of amenities including a gourmet restaurant (Ocotillo) a family movie theater, general store and a great golf course with a 19th hole across the Rio Grande River in Mexico (you won't get your ball back.)Be sure and drive the Big Bend State Park road along the Rio Grande, it had some of the best view in the area. The sunset over the Mexican mountains was beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com