223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Wilderness Lake Campground & Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (860) 684-6352
CGID6623

Wilderness Lake Campground & Resort

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   7   7   10   7   8   7   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Clean quiet rustic setting. Friendly helpful staff. 30 amp in the old section near the lake. 50 amp on the hill. Canoes available at no additional cost to campers. No license required to fish, artificial bait only, catch and release. Owner's daughter was greeter at check-in. Owner showed us 2 sites on the hill with 50 amp and 1 site with 30 amp near the lake. We chose the 30 amp. TV reception would be better on some of the hill sites because the park is heavily wooded. We received 12 broadcast channels near the lake. Sites are grassy with gravel entry roads. I had a problem with my car. The owner had an employee take me to town to get necessary parts. I will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
We did not actually stay at this park; had reservation & did not accept site after arrival. Reserved this in April & owner was not truthful as to what was available for sites. OBTW,It is cash only,no CC(we were aware of that) Sent in $100 deposit by check. On arrival a young man(teenager) checked us in and thought we had a pop up which we clearly indicated on reservation a 31 ft Class C/towing. Took us to a site that was uphill/grass/rocky and no sewer & were told to empty our grey tank on the ground.....& they would pump out the black.(environmentalists have at it:) We said this would not work for us & got our check back & asked about deposit and were given $50 back (which was OK w/us) FYI:The rates were $50 & told $25 passport rate but July 4th would be $110. Why bother w/passport?? Liars can figure and figures can lie. I will say the lake looked nice but the rest definitely poor. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Nice rural woodsy place, and management was very helpful. But no cable, sewer or more than 30 amps. Even satellite wouldn't work; too many tall trees. Overpriced for the services available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
We are new to RV camping and found the people in the office to be more than helpful. We had a back-in site and did fine with the staff's help. Restrooms were clean when we arrived and through most of the evening, but needed a little attention by very early morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
We left our seasonal campground after approximately 8 years to come to Wilderness Lake. We camped here a couple of times when we first got our camper and should have picked this as our seasonal location. We are coming back as we have personally noticed that the campground has made constant improvements and additions since we were here last and the management completes their improvement and expansion goals while keeping the grounds beautiful and treating their guests like we matter. They provide activities, keep the grounds and building clean, and have handicap access to all buildings. Great place, great people! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Bathrooms just OK (being generous here). Showers share a dressing area. Hookups just OK. A quiet night; lots of morning birds and a scenic pond. Our Verizon Mi-Fi was spotty at best. Entry road was terrible. All dirt roads and sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Very nice campground that is away from everything...no freeway noise. Has a nice large lake with little sand area for kids to swim. We stayed here two weeks and really enjoyed it. Staff was friendly and helpful. Weekends were crowded, but okay. The little store on site has a few necessities, but not big. Showers and toilets by the office were old and with everyone using just 3, they were always messy. They do not have sewer hookup or a dump station...they come around campground every Monday and drain everyone's unit if they want it. We stayed in a 36 ft motorhome towing a vehicle and stayed in a pull through site. We would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Rate reflects weekly rate with PPA. Quiet park, marginal AT&T, no sewer, but allowed grey water on ground. Good electricity and good water pressure, was surprised by the owner emptying my tanks, thought I'd have to use the dump station. We have stayed here several times while visiting my brother in S. Windsor. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Stayed one night here.  Paid $25 cash, they honored a Good Sams card. It's a slow time and there were sites near the small lake.  Owner was helpful and seems to be trying to improve conditions noted in previous reviews.  There aren't many amenities but if camping is all you want this is pretty good.  I'd return for more days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This is not an RV park. It is a campground! Lots of family friendly activities. The campground would be OK if you have a small camper or trailer, but do not come here with a big rig. The roads in the park are all gravel and hills. There is water and electric only at the sites. They are not really designated as sites, just park on the grass or gravel and hook-up. Our motorhome is 38' and I bet if you have anything longer than 34', the dump station will be hard to get to without backing out. So you can forget about a pull through site! When asked, he said to use the dump station at I-84 westbound. Sorry but we are going East. We will not be back here again. It was way over priced at $25 for PA discount. Normal rate is $50 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
"Lake" is a small reservoir and a bit of hum from the interstate but pretty location, nice beach, friendly helpful staff. Dump closed, sounded like that was a common state. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
We were looking for a place to stop for one night on our trek south and don't generally expect much from campgrounds convenient to the interstates. Wow! What a pleasant surprise. This campground is beautifully rustic with sites along the lake. The owners were very nice and told us we could park sideways along the lake (taking up 2 sites) because their weekend crowd wasn't expected until the next day. The store had all the essentials. When we were leaving we did the unthinkable. For the first time in 25 years of RVing we drove off with the awning down and whacked it on a tree. The owner spent an hour helping us get the awning temporarily wired into place so we could leave. He couldn't have been nicer. Yes, some of the roads need some gravel, but sometimes there are more important items to consider when booking a site. This will be our "go to" campground on our trips north and south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We stayed here in a 40 footer with 50 amp, water but no sewer. The hosts/owners are very friendly. Loved the place, our only gripe is that the 2/10 mile dirt road coming in to the park off Village Top Rd needs some attention. Has 2 large ruts that shook the rig as we slowly passed over them, fill with some gravel and all will be well. The $25 dollar rate is Passport America. We stayed here a week and will definitely be back next summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This park is close by, but just far enough to be in a country-like setting. We are frequent tent campers and enjoyed this campground and its facilities. The owners and workers were very nice. We had the opportunity to do a little fishing in their very clean lake. They offer free canoe/kayak rentals, and have a nice sandy beach area, a rec hall with an arcade, pool tables and ping pong, and a basketball court. Our tent site (#58) was by far the most remote I've ever had at a campground: large with woods on all sides, perfect and quiet. Our firewood was dry, burned well, and was delivered to our tent site. The only downer was the showers. Although they are very clean and free, they didn't have a separate/private changing area. Only a common area, which isn't the most comfortable situation. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We camped here years ago when the new owners took over. They were just building the store. Not a lot to do here. I remember the sites were nice, level and wooded. we have never been back, more places to see. Looking at their website 50% no refund ever if you cancel for any reason seems to be a bit unreasonable. My Husband liked it, it was very relaxing for him. There is a man made pond. I didn't go in it, it was very inviting. I don't think we will be back here. The bathroom is the talk of the town. They are very clean and nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
I WOULD NEVER CAMP AT THIS CAMPGROUND AGAIN!! On their website, which looked like a nice campground. They post the campground rules and regulations of which they state: "Quiet hours will be maintained between the hours of 10pm and 8 am." This campground has a recreational hall in which they were hosting a function which included a loud DJ and lots of people screaming. As any camper knows, sound travels greatly through a campground. We were sitting around our campfire at about 9:30pm, trying to relax a little in between the blaring music and people screaming, when I finally called the office to find out when the function was going to end. (Figured it would end at 10:00pm as stated in THEIR OWN RULES). The man at the office, which I believe was the owner of the campground, stated the function was going on until midnight!! We tried to sit by the campfire and ignore the noise a little longer, but it just got worse. We called the desk and the man starting screaming at us that we were complaining, and told us to leave the campground. (Hilarious. We got kicked off a campground because the owner was mad, because he wasn't following HIS OWN RULES!!) By the time we packed up and left, at 10:20 pm, the music and partying continued just as loud as it was earlier. PLEASE BEWARE of this campground! APPARENTLY, any rules they state for their campground, are NOT the rules they actually follow. The quiet hours do NOT begin at 10:00PM as stated. LOUD partying is allowed until midnight!!! This is not a place for relaxation!! It's like camping next to a dance club! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
Definitely not a "Big Rig" campground. Dusty dirt roads that are tight, trees need to be cut back, and grass sites that are un-leveled. No sewer or 50amp services. Free boats but no longer offer free firewood. We arrived a day after rain and some areas of campground (roads and sites) had large ruts from rain runoff. Passport book said easy on/off interstate but is actually further than expected and not fun with big rigs. Although everyone was friendly, it seemed as though park is run by kids (teenagers). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Everything said in the other review is true. However, the waterfront sites are pretty close together and it is hard to figure out where one site begins and another ends. Nice folks who own the place and very helpful. Crowded and all, we will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
The web site for this campground call its self a resort campground. I've never been to a resort campground that doesn't have a fixed dump station. When I inquired about the dump station when I was making reservations I didn't get a straight answer. The bathrooms were clean but poorly laid out. The shower stalls had no hooks and there was no separate changing stalls. Only a community bench in the middle of the bathroom. Campground fire wood that they delivered to our site was not cut into small enough pieces and so green that it wouldn't burn at all. The lake was average. The beach was nice. We found everybody very friendly. I asked them to cut a stump down so I could get my trailer out and they did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Great campground, located on a small lake. New owner is always present and constantly upgrading this facility. New water filter system this year resulted in crystal clear drinking water. Free use of row boats, canoes. Mini golf, playground, sandy beach, game room, volley ball court. Lots of hiking trails and fantastic tent sites in the woods. Firewood is delivered free right to your site. Nice rv sites lakeside, amongst giant pine trees. Just a great place to kick back and get away from it all. No loud parties are allowed, and people who violate this are asked to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com