215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Lake Campground & Cabins was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (304) 872-6222
CGID6631

Mountain Lake Campground & Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   10   6   10   7   9   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Note that the park office closes at 4:00-4:30 PM. Sites were level and the road in is a little hilly and gravel. Go slow! It would be a nice park to just relax and kick back for a few days or if you are in the area for rafting or for sightseeing. Abundant wildlife. No cable and weren't really able to get anything with antenna either. No WiFi. No discounts but the price was reasonable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
I agree with most of the posters here. The dusty gravel roads were my biggest complaint. We stayed in the 200 loop. It appeared to me most of the sites were a bit of a challenge to get level. Especially in a motorhome. This campground is what it is. Large sites, nice camp store and gift shop, on site restaurant. The pool was very small and the put-put golf was run down. I would not recommend the lake front sites. Campers were crammed in bumper to bumper. The lake front loop was basicly a gravel parking lot next to the water. The basic nightly rate, $27.00, was very affordable, however after factoring in $5.00 per kid extra each night, it suddenly becomes less of a bargin at $42.00 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
We were in the area researching campgrounds for our family's end of summer event and stayed the night. While the campground is nice it was just a little too cluttered and busy for what we are looking for. In addition, this location did not require the full amenities we require but the available facilities appeared to be fairly clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
We were amazed at how beautiful and how large the campground was. All the campsites were well maintained and clean. The store was very well stocked and orderly. The workers were very polite and helpful and more than willing to answer any questions that we had. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and to be able to enjoy our stay. The pool was very nice and clean. The kids enjoyed all the activities that were planned for this weekend, especially the movies that were shown in the evenings in the ampitheater. The bathhouses were very very clean. We especially liked the fact that they had campground security patrolling the campsites. Overall our stay was great! Our family will definitely camp here again next summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
We stayed in a pull through site near the water. This area of the park is primarily for boaters who bring their boat to tie up at their RV. Area is not appealing visually and dirt from vehicles driving by was ever-present. The roads were not good. There were a few sites up higher with trees that might have been better for those like us that do not camp with a boat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We camped here for a week in a large woodsy site. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We rented a pontoon boat while we stayed here and rode on the beautiful lake. We would recommend this campground to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We stayed just for the weekend at this campground and I was pleasantly surprised. I thought that the camp store was very nice and the pool was nice (although small) and they had a movie at their amphitheater at night for the kids. I do agree that the gravel is a problem. Our truck and camper were so dirty and dusty when we left there that we couldn't wait to get them washed. I do feel that their "beach area" needs to be improved - not very inviting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
My family and I found this campground to be very nice and clean. The restrooms and showers where well maintained and appeared to be cleaned daily. There is on-site security that patrols and enforces the speed limits and quiet hours. There is also daily trash pickup at all of the campsites. The staff are friendly and helpful. My only complaint is the same as previous posts, the dust from the gravel access roads. However, we enjoyed our stay and thought the prices where reasonable. We have decided to return sometime in the near future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$19
A great campground except for one small, and I mean that very literally, thing: the gravel on the roads. The gravel chunks must be the cheapest on the market, the sound of them on the tires sounds like ripping rubber. The gravel is also a major factor contributing to the dust too. That said, the campground has ample shade on many sites and nestled in a picturesque wooded area. Just drive slow and wear earplugs when you do so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
We stayed in area 2, which was more shaded than other areas. The only dump station was difficult to get to (we were in site 205) - we had to back down the main gravel road to access it when we were leaving (the turn was too sharp and steep from our exit road) and it was a high traffic area on a Sunday with others leaving as well. The roads are all gravel and dusty. The camp store was large, well-stocked and homey. The entire campground is very large - you have to drive to the beach area and the pool from your sites. Security drives through often during the evenings and quiet time after 11 pm is enforced. They offer watercraft parking at the campground beach (no docks). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
It was an ok campground. Mountain Lake Campgrounds, did have a pool or lake to swim in and does allow pets, but however, I was not pleased with the gravel roads. It was dusty on the dry days which made for a lot of cleaning inside the camper. I was to be relaxing, not cleaning. Also, you must travel up a sort of step hill just to get to the main office. I am not sure if I would visit this place again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
Overall this is a great campground. The bathhouses are cleaned daily and were nice and roomy. We thoroughly enjoyed the lake access and the beach area. Our site backed up to the woods and we saw plenty of wild life. The primitive sites in one area were simply breathtaking. The general store was well stocked with a good variety of items. The staff in the store was not overly accommodating or particularly knowledgeable about camping but that is probably due to their young age. Our only other complaint was the lack of sewage hookups and the horrible sewage smell at night. We were told they had a cess pool but the smell at night was pretty unbearable. Other than that, a great campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
This campground has interior roads that are gravel, windy and sometimes narrow. The sites we saw were narrow and some were on an incline. The site they assigned us was not suitable for our 39 ft motorhome and we asked to be reassigned. They agreed with no problem and gave us another site but when we went to park there, it was already occupied. In turn, we asked for a full refund and they did give us the refund. We prefer to have nice paved interior roads, sites that are not too close together, and level sites. This campground does not have any of those things. One complaint we have is that most campgrounds employ young people who do not know much about the campgrounds or the difference between a trailer, fifth wheel, or Motorhome. Some don't even know the difference between 30 and 50 amps. All of these things are very important to know so they can correctly assign sites to specific types of RV's. I don't blame the young people, I blame the management for not properly training their staff. We feel we don't ask for much, just a comfortable site that is appropriate for the RV we have. Anyone out there agree with us?? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$22
We feel like part of the family, they are so friendly here! We stay here as often as possible and even drive to West Virginia during the off season to visit. I highly reccomend this campground for families and for boating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com