224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Starved Rock State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (815) 667-4726
CGID6644

Starved Rock State Park

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   9   7   8   8   10   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
This park is suffering from a lack of cash. The grounds are not mowed more than once a month. The water pump was broken requiring you to fill tank at host site. Dump station filthy with feces and toilet paper all over and back wash hose broken requiring you to use fresh water pump. Very unsanitary. No ranger at gate shack ever. No security noticed during our 5 days there. Beautiful park but campground almost unusable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Starved Rock truly is an amazing place, which is why we wanted to camp here. The campground is very close to the park and hiking trails, so that was good. The vast majority of the loop our site was on was heavily wooded. Only a few sites near the entrance of the loop were full sun. We were in sites 61 & 63, which were full sun. There were many tent campers here. There was one major, major issue that is the reason I'm giving this campground such a poor rating. The bathrooms were deplorable. The loop was very large, and had flush toilets/showers near the front, and outhouses in the middle and back. There were WAY too many people using the flush toilets and showers, and things got really gross, really fast. Urinals overflowed in the men's room onto the floor. By Sunday morning, none of the three toilets in the women's restroom were operational. The playground was mediocre. We will never camp here again because of the bathroom situation. We had no choice but to pack up and leave first thing Sunday morning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Wonderful campground! We've always enjoyed spacious, level campsites in the shade when camping here. Decent bathrooms and showers, which were clean. Easy-to-follow directions with everything very well marked; easy dumping and water station. Great walking/hiking with well-marked trails through trees and along the river; beautiful canyons, waterfalls through sandstone cliffs. Wonderful Visitor Center and beautiful old Lodge if guests need lodging and/or you want to dine out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This is a beautiful state park. The sites are large and well maintained. You may not need a reservation mid-week, but it fills up on weekends. A few of the inner loop sites with full-sun have 50 amps. The perimeter sites back to a fully wooded area which provides some shade. The perimeter sites are a challenge to level for a larger trailer or motor home. We will stay here again. It is lovely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This is a lovely campground to enjoy the beauty of nature. We were in site 86 which is heavily forested. We were fortunate to have 50 amp service but of course there was not a water hookup. The directions to the campground were good as was the signage. The site was somewhat level, mostly dirt with a little grass and we backed in with minimal problem although it was a little tight. Given the trees, we were unable to use our satellite nor could we get local TV on the antennae. Verizon cell signal was good. We participated in several activities at the Lodge and also had a nice dinner at the Lodge. There are several hiking trails in the park with incredible views of the various canyons. It is definitely worth a stay to experience the natural beauty of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Starved Rock is a very nice campground. We have been there twice. It has lots of shade and trees, and the sites are nice, spaced well. The water is clean. Obviously, it is a short distance from the state park, which is good. It isn't expensive, either. Overall, it is a great campground I recommend for overnights and people looking for some weekend leisure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
We LOVE this Campground. There is not a ton to do but theer is a small playground. The campground is super clean with a ton of different stites to choose from. From fully wooded to completely out in the open. Some spots are huge and there is a ton of space to play catch, run the dogs, or just let your kisd run around and have fun. The bathrooms are super clean. The staff was super nice as well. There were a ton of tenters while we were there but everyone was pretty much quiet. The best part of tehis campground is The State Park itself. I can't even begin to tell yo how much fun we had. The park is Amazing. If yo have never been, you are missing out. We will be going back next Spring as soon as the rainy season is over. I hear it does fill up quickly in teh warmer months so be sure to book a site or else it's first come first served. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
The campground was easy to find and easy to get in to. We had a problem with the breaker on the electrical post. No one was at check in and no one was at either host spot (it was 2:00 in the afternoon). We went to another spot and resolved it the next day. Also no 3G or cell phone. But the park was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Beautiful state park. No TV reception. Quiet. Shady. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Campground has a wide variety of sites from large wide open to heavily wooded. Some wooded sites may not accommodate large RV's. The shower houses were generally clean, but 60-70 campsites is alot to ask of 2 showers and 1 stool each restroom. The park is one of my favorite, and we have been here 4 times now. Lots of hiking trails into beautiful canyons, many ending in small waterfalls. The nature center is very nice with helpful employees to plan your hikes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We stayed 2 nights and loved our campsite. It was the last one on the way out and very big. We had a raccoon and a black cat come out at night to eat anything we or the dogs left behind. Would recommend this park to anyone and will be going back again. Lots of things to do around the area: hiking, fishing, sight seeing, to name a few. Host was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Not a lot of reserved sites so you have to get here early in the summer months. Very close to the state park. Campground is clean, and the sites are well pretty far apart. Not very much shade though. Good place to camp if you are looking to spend time at the state park, but not much else to do on the campground or around the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Nice big sites! Restrooms were clean and well kept, quiet time was enforced by patrolling park security. Reservations should be made in advance for the better campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
A very nice campground but not very near any park activities. I would camp here again and recommend it to friends We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
I love this campground, though the only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because of the bathrooms. The bathrooms are way too small for the number of sites which makes for a dirty bathroom with lots of waiting for showers. Other than that, the sites are fabulous and the campground is very quiet at night (except for the youth group but they're further away so that's OK). This was our second time staying here and we will stay again because of the outstanding sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This was a great IL state park. We put in for our reservation in January by regular US post mail and got a lovely grassy site. It was great for this time of year when it tends to be a bit colder. There is also another loop that has more wooded sites. The hiking was great at the state park, kids age 4 and 7 loved it. The campground was clean and very pleasant, we will definitely go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
We've been to this state park several times. Camped a few times with the scouts but first time as a family. They have wooded sites and grassy area sites too. However, I don't believe there is a way to reserve the site that you want. Reservations are handled on a first come first serve basis - all through snail mail. In any case, we had a nice wooded site. Very quiet but that may have been due to the cold temps. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Very nice state park campground with selection of wooded or grass lawn sites. All sites have electric. We had a rally on the grassy loop and it was an ideal location with lots of space. The flush toilet/shower buildings are insufficient for the # of sites, but they were clean. The reservation system in Illinois is ridiculous (all via snail mail). But the park itself is a gem. Lots of beautiful scenery and activities. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
The wooded sites give the campsites a private feel. The hosts regularly parole the area to help keep it quiet at night. We enjoyed our campsite. However, there are not enough flush toilets or garbage cans. The dumpster is not even at the site of the bathrooms. There was not much of a playground either. There is plenty to do at Starved Rock which made up for what the campground lacked. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
This is a very nice state park campground. They have a great selection of sites...some VERY Wooded others not as much...but all have a private feel once camp is set up. The Starved Rock Park/lodge/trails are a short drive from the campground and offer some great sites to see. The playground is a bit lacking (4 swings) but my kids had a great time anyway. Lots of nice families camping this past weekend and quiet time was observed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Did not know that the CG is nowhere near the Visitor Center and the hiking trails. The CG is OK, but not much to do here without a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com