214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Bastendorff Beach County Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (541) 396-3121
CGID6657

Bastendorff Beach County Park

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   8   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
This is a country operated park. It has lots of camping, both RV and tent. It is generally pretty quiet unless the foghorns become active. We never saw a host or employee, so I cannot comment on the staffing. The bathrooms and showers are a disgrace. The showers haven't been maintained or cleaned in a very long time. The baths are slightly better, although the pressure from so many campers is great and the cleanliness is spotty. I understand the baths in the group sites are better, but they are far from most of the campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
Very nice park with nice, welcoming hosts who were concerned about our comfort. Vegetation between sites for privacy. Several different areas in the park to choose from. Nice playground area with view of the ocean. The price is very good (we had water and electricity). The showers/bathrooms are a little run-down, but the water temp is stable. The beach is very nice. The only down-side for us is that you can't make reservations - it's first come, first served. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Great park and reasonably priced. Access roads are a little narrow. Good variety of site sizes. Great view of the ocean from the day use area. No access to beach from the park, but it's an easy 1/2 mile walk from the gate. Camp hosts very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Very nice park in a super location - beach. We only saw one pull-thru site, so plan on backing in. Lots of good sized sites. One caution about this park is getting to it from US101. From the south, our navigator took us on a very narrow and winding road called "Seven Devils". All paved, but a bit tight for a big rig. Google maps said to take Newmark off of US101. VERY steep hill going west from US101 on Newmark. Signs there limiting the use of the road to less than 15000 GVW. The best thing is to call the county on the number listed and get their directions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Very nice county RV park and beach area. A wide variety of sites all up the hill from the beach - some very small and some very large. First come first serve only, except for groups in a special area which can make reservations. Park sits high off the beach with a great view of the beach from their main day use parking area. No Wi-Fi but good cell phone coverage with major carriers. My type of place - lots of grass, room to roam, things to do and peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Spent two full days at this park. We stayed at the "group" camping area at the top of the hill. The first night we were totally alone then another fifth wheel showed up for the last two nights. Sites are very level. The approach is asphalt and the site is concrete. The bathrooms in the group are were closed this time of year because of previous vandalism. All the other bathrooms were open. There are also two dump stations on site since there are no sewer hookups there. There is a nice playground and beach access from the park. Nearby is the town of Charleston where you can probably imagine that the send people from the witness protection program to disappear. There are a lot of nice restaurants on the waterfront. If you are looking for something good but inexpensive, go to the "Sea Basket." We had fish and chips there and it was pretty good. There was a killer rain/wind storm the last night we were there and the trailer shook a bit. Regardless, it was a great place and very quiet. I would give it a ten but there was no Wi-Fi or sewer hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
Since it was after October 1, the rate had dropped to $15. We stayed in the open group camping area at the top of the hill. It was great for satellite reception but there was a strong storm one night and the wind really blew up there. The bathroom/showers in the group camping area were modern, spotless, large, and private. There is now a very strong Verizon Extended Network signal in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
This county park has 56 RV sites with water and 30 amp power, plus 35 tent sites. There are a couple of pull-through sites, but they are in the group camping area. We use the group camping area (available if no groups have reserved all the sites there) most of the time we stay at Bastendorff because they are on the top of the hill with no trees, so there is good satellite reception. These sites are huge. The other RV sites are big enough for any rig and are surrounded by trees, giving excellent privacy. The central dump station is convenient to use. There is lots of area for hiking in the woods. The beach is not within walking distance. There is a big playground for kids. There is no Verizon cell service in the campground, but there is just down the road (Extended Network area). This is our favorite park in the Coos Bay area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com