214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Columbus Belmont State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (270) 677-2327
CGID6677

Columbus Belmont State Park

Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   10   9   9   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Site are large, grassy, many shaded. Gravel site. Very unlevel. Sites # 25-30 have a beautiful view of the Mississippi. But even without the view, sites are really nice. Only about 4 or 5 sites have sewer (near dump station) Bathrooms are clean and modern Laundry has only 2 washer/dryers, but clean and fine. Pets are welcome, with plenty of grassy area to walk them. Plenty of room at site to tether. Offers Tengonet or Boingo via Tengonet. Just OK, but better than our worse than dial up connection via Verizon. Verizon Internet mainly not usable Sprint Internet had no signal For Satellite, there are quite a few trees, but should be able to get a clear sky view. There's a small book exchange in laundry room A couple of hiking trails, snack bar, museum. Walmart is 21 miles away. We were disappointed with the camp host's dog. Cute little dog, friendly, but barked and barked and barked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This is a nice park that is very isolated. There is a small museum, a mini golf course, and nice trails. The snack bar is a very nice touch as well. We rated it so low because of the cost and the constantly barking dogs as well as the odd assortment of campers. The bath houses and showers, while clean, are very small. The campground is very isolated. The nearest town is 20-30 minutes away, and the closest one of any real size is 40 minutes away. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
This park is a 10 plus. Truly one of the most beautiful parks we have ever camped. Gorgeous site overlooking the Mississippi River. Grounds are immaculate and sites level with nice campfire ring. Swings and benches to sit in and watch the barges go down the river. Truly breathtaking sunsets on the river. We were here in the middle of the week in October and it was not crowded. Hope to visit again soon. The only negative was the road getting into the park is narrow and curvy, but worth the drive! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Superb campground. History buffs will enjoy - old graveyard, Civil War displays and fortifications, museum. Grounds very well maintained. Staff extremely helpful. Rather isolated, so make sure you bring it all. It's a little cooler up on the bluffs, but fans are necessary for summertime tent camping. Plenty of deadwood for fires. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
We rented one of the "elite" sites. That means we backed up to the bluff overlooking the Mississippi. You can (and should) reserve one of these sites. It was worth it: HUGE campsite with a swing and wonderful view of sunsets. They have recently added sewers. There are two interesting trails and a nice museum. Not much going on, but a great place for camping. We loved it. Were going to spend two nights, ended up staying three. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Great small park for getaway. Sites backing up to river are best for view. One large circle, so all travel to bathhouse must pass through inner part of circle. But sites are spacious. Battleground is very interesting with a museum. Any rig over 40 ft. would find access difficult. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
As for the campground itself, the sites are large and easy to back into. Some are more level than others. I required a 5" side to side level, but once unhooked, I was perfectly level front to back. No sewer hookups, but a dump station was available. Beautiful view of the river from the sites at the back of the loop, from about site #23 to site #33. Lots of shade trees and a nice breeze helped keep things feel much cooler than the 95 deg temps should feel. This is a perfect location to get away from it all, as it is a bit off the beaten path and the town itself is almost non-existant. Aside from the state park, there is virtually nothing else to do but relax and unwind. Playground was sufficient but more suited to children in the 4 to 10 age range. But lots of space for them to play and be seen without having to hover over them. Bathrooms and showers were older, but clean and served their purpose. There is also a laundry area located near the office. We will come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
We spent the weekend here with our 9 year old daughter. This is a very beautiful campground. Campsites are mostly shaded with beautiful old oak trees. A confederate trench left from the Civil War is located right behind campsites 23 and 24. I think campsites 24 thru 30 have the prettiest view from atop the bluff overlooking the Mississippi river. It is a wonderful quiet campground to spend the weekend relaxing. It is not exactly action packed, and there is not much to do locally near the campground either. This is really the only reason I didn't rate the campground higher. I would note that if you are the type of person who freaks out when someone walks through your site, do not stay here! The campground is arranged out in a circle with the office, playground, and restrooms in the center. There is no way to get to any of these facilities except to walk through a campsite. You cannot view the bluff overlooking the river without walking through some other campsites. Everyone was very friendly when I visited. The staff was nice. Reservations are available online. Sites were paved with electric and water. Dumpstation was available. Firewood was for sale at the office for $2 an armload. Washers and dryers were located in the office. Mini golf was closed while we visited. Really beautiful and underused little park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com