218152 User submitted reviews online!!
Willard Bay State Park, Cottonwood Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (435) 734-9494
CGID6682

Willard Bay State Park, Cottonwood Campground

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   7   7   4   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
The only drawback here is 30 amp service. The sites are large, level & our site (#73) even allowed for satellite service. It would help big rigs if they would trim the trees along the roads but it is passable. You get water & sewer which is unusual for a state park. Scenery is beautiful and quiet and beach is nearby. Check in time is 3:00 but we found no problem with checking in at noon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This is a very nice campground with paved, level sites, and plenty of access for big rigs. All sites have a picnic table under a roof cover, fire pit, and BBQ grill. The site was clean except for some left over garbage scraps from the previous camper. A new nature trail is being built and there is ongoing remediation from an earlier gas spill which damaged various park areas. Check in time is 3:00 p.m. They stick to this unless you want to pay an additional day use fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
A well kept and peaceful state park. Full hookups with 50 amp power. In October during our visit only about 6 other campers in the park. The lake is apparently low much of the time so the boat launches are at your risk. Close to freeway, you'll hear the noise when you're outside. Picnic table and cover at most sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We stayed here on site 39 (a pull thru). Electricity and water pressure were good. Sites are crushed gravel and our site was level. We could get a satellite signal and 4G Verizon MIFI and a good Verizon cell signal. You can hear I-25 freeway traffic and an occasional train whistle. We did not use the restrooms or showers. We would stay here again if passing thru this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Nice state park close to the water. Highway is close, but with the windows closed the noise is not too noticeable. Being mid week and cool weather, the campground was not busy and consequently quiet. Again, given the temp and the inability to utilize the lake, it would be nice if the price was a little lower. Otherwise, nice spot just north of SLC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Stayed for 7 nights. No one at entrance gate. You have to see the camp host for help. All roads and sites are paved. Spacious sites with shade at some. Hook ups convenient and in good order. Sewer is a bit of a stretch. Don't know if internet available, but my Verizon network worked well. Quiet except interstate noise is an issue. We were here when the mosquitoes and flies were at there peak. Needed lots of repellent and even that wasn't enough at times. Fire rings and covered picnic table on concrete at each site. Location convenient to gas and highway to near by Brigham City. Would stay again. Good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Convenient location right off the Interstate highway. Not my idea of a state park since there is loud traffic noise, as well as infrequent train noise in the area with hookups. Sites are average size, but with no privacy. Everything worked well except for Wi-Fi which would not connect. Bathrooms small, but clean. I would find another location is staying in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We had a last minute family gathering for the weekend, and it was great fun. Dutch oven meals, walks to the Bay, Boat Dock and trails, Sunsets in the evening and good old campfires at night. The weather was pleasant and everything was peaceful. The only bothersome item is the inbound gate closes at 10pm, so if you were out till after it closed, you'd have to park out and walk in. There is a Host on-site and the restrooms were kept tidy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Paved roads and level sites. Many are circular pull throughs. Several sites are open for satellite. The WiFi didn't work the two days we were there. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Very nice as State Parks go. Level gravel pads with very spacious pull through sites, plenty of shade. Picnic tables and grill on large cement slab under a nice shelter. A nice fire pit close by. We were in space 25 and had a lot of traffic and train noise. Wi-Fi was basically non-existent. Restrooms were small but clean. Park was very clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
This is a very nice State Park campground. The setting is beautiful. The park is very clean. There is a little bit of highway and train noise, but it is minimal. The sites are very roomy with a nice table and shelter. I wish we could have stayed for several days. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Very quiet in October. We saw maybe 4 other campers in the campground. Maintenance was putting up colorful lights for holiday season on trees as a test for future years. This may turn into an annual event for the campground. All services we used worked fine. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
We have stayed here in the past and liked it so stayed again. Beautiful park, easy walk to lake with amazing sunsets and other water activities. Highway noise is there but not overwhelming normally. This night however, there was highway construction all night into early morning and noise was terrible. The park has a lot going for it but I think next time I'm in the area I'll look for something more quiet. If you are into geochaching, there are a number of caches nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Very nice area north of the city, lots to do in the area. Grassy area in sites needed to be maintained better. We were here over the holiday for 5 nights. One thing to know is that the gates close at 10:00pm and do not open up till 6:00am, so you have to make sure you are back in time. We have stayed here before and would again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We stayed here since there were no sites in Brigham City. Fortunately, the host at Golden Spike (BC) gave us the state park's phone number and they had a pull-through. We had a very nice site with ample room for our 40' MH plus the tow vehicle (65' total). There are, however, branches hanging over the roads, hitting the top of the RV and the freeway noise is not good, thus the rating of 7. The campground folks were very accommodating and helpful. We would stay here again is passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
I reserved site CT09 at Willard Bay State Park Cottonwood campground. I arrived on Wednesday March 3, 2010 at 2:30 PM site CT09 was occupied by long term residents. They had their trailer up on blocks. A construction utility trailer was also parked at this site. The picnic table was used as a work bench. I called the Utah Parks reservation number and was told to go find a different campsite to stay at. I went to CT15 and set up water, sewer, and electricity. There was no electrical power. So I unhooked everything and went to site CT06 and reconnected everything and there was no water available. I ended up at site CT04. I had an eye sore view of the occupied campsite CT09. I called the Utah State Parks reservation center and explained my problem again. I was given Willard Bay Park telephone number and kept getting a recording. I'm not sure who is at fault since Reserve America had the site available and the Park Ranger has no clue that I reserved site CT09. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
We like to frequent state and national parks, so found this one after no luck in Logan. Nice campground on Salt Lake. Spacious sites, good pull throughs. Walked to the lake. Put the kayak in right on the beach. Convenient to shopping. Only drawback to this park is the incredible freeway noise. It is insidious. Stayed two nights. We would stay again even with the noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
We used this park as to stay while snowboarding at Powder mountain and Snow Basin. We were the only ones in the entire park (January 2010), snow was on the ground and the lows were in the mid teens at night. The water worked all night even though I only put heat tape on my hose. I didn't like the location of the sewer (about 8 feet behind the power pedestal at site 7) so we used site 5's sewer as a dump on our way out. We didn't notice the highway traffic noise even though the park is right next to I-15. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
A Canadian visitor's first experience with Utah state parks. My wife and I are traveling to Florida from Vancouver Island. We were planning to visit Utah for a month before heading further east and we were looking forward to staying in Utah State parks. Our first and only experience so far was at Willard Bay State park. We were very pleased with the park and the park staff, it's a beautiful place. We booked in without a reservation on Oct 2nd. We inquired about the procedure for reserving a site: we were given the phone number, fee, and were told that reservation must be made at least 48 hours in advance. We chose a site that did not have a reservation sign posted and felt that the site should be available for at least two nights (48 hours). The next day we were leaving the park for a day's outing stopping at the kiosk to pay for another night's stay. To our surprise the site was reserved for that night, Oct 3rd. The park attendant explained that she did not receive the reservation list for Oct 3rd until earlier that morning. We were also informed that the only sites available were the more expensive 'double sites'. We would have expected a reservation sign posted at the camp site no later than the day before the reservation date, ie: Oct 2nd. If we had known the site was reserved when we arrived we could have planned accordingly. What a pleasant welcome to Utah, especially from a State agency! How can visitors enjoy camping at your State parks for at least two consecutive nights without the worry of unexpectedly being kicked out? Why are park staff not informed well in advance so they can inform park visitors? A problem obviously exists with the administration of the parks and needs to be addressed by upper management. In consideration of my wife and I wasting a day we are requesting a full refund of $25. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This well developed campground has paved interior roads and sites. All sites are level and each has a sheltered picnic table. There is plenty of room between sites. The main drawback is the noise. The campground is only about 100 yards from busy I-15. The air conditioner could not cover up the road noise, which went on all night. Then at 5:30 a.m. a train went by and blew its whistle, not once, but four times. For the price, it would be nice if they would provide wireless internet. We stayed here overnight, but next time we will look for a quieter place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
It is sooo close to the railroad track and highway, that is it very loud. The camp host would drive around and make sure your bumper wasn't hanging over the pavement, so it wouldn't ruin the grass, but all we had were weeds and they hadn't mowed or sprayed for mosquitoes for some time. We were going into town for the 4th of July and the gates "close at 10pm for quiet time (except the freeway and trains) and when we asked if we could get back in they told us no we would have to walk back. We asked to talk to the park ranger and he said no they have no control over the gates closing. Come to find out they never close the gates, we came into camp one night at midnight. The ranger was very rude. The only positive thing about the campground was the full hookups so we could run the air conditioner since it was very warm and noisy outside. I would never camp here again, and would never recommend it to another human. Utah should be ashamed for having a campground like that and rude employees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
We had a family reunion here with 4 RV's. Weeds everywhere and no grass to speak of. The host kept telling everyone to stay off the grass. What grass? They have a sign up saying the gates close at ten and we would have to park outside the gate and walk to our camp. The state of Utah should be ashamed of this place. Next to the freeway with loud truck noise all night long along with the train that goes by a couple of time during the night. We will never stay here again. The ranger told us the reason the gates are closed at 10 was because their is a 10 PM quiet time. What about all of the freeway noise. What a joke. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
As the above reviewer has stated the freeway noise is constant from I-15, not to mention the high powered boat noise also. The state of Utah ought to be ashamed for the condition of this park. It looks like nobody does anything here. There are weeds everywhere, very little trimming, brush taking over everything, display ramadas are filthy and covered with droppings from the trees, leaking faucets, etc. You have zero view of the lake from any site in the campground due to all the overgrowth. They take your money and basically tell you the campground is up the road, no map provided and it's very hard to find your spot as some have large numbers and the rest very tiny numbers with your "reservation card" stuck in a slot. The fee was for a online reservation which includes a reservation fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This campground has many positives but some negatives that would cause us to question staying here again. The road noise is constant but you get so you can ignore it. My main complaint was that we had several "extended" families camped aound us. All had dogs that they neither kept on leashs or picked up after them. This seemed to be the rule rather than the exception. All the camp hosts or Rangers had to do was ride through the park and see the rules were not being followed. As far as I know none of the offenders were reprimanded or cited. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Willard Bay State Park has three camping areas. This review is for the Cottonwood Campground, with full hookups. The good news is, the park has free Wi-Fi! The bad news is: I couldn't get it from site #36. However, Verizon Aircard worked very well. Very fancy for a state park! Each site got a barbecue grill, fire ring, and a pavilion covered picnic table on a concrete patio! WOW! A "covered" picnic table! At each site! I couldn't believe it, On the other hand, there were a lot of mosquitoes during my visit, probably because of the proximity of the lake. As other reviews have mentioned, you get "convenience to the freeway," but you put up with road noise. The pads are all asphalt and there is a good deal of spacing between RV slots. The pull-throughs are very wide arcs. There was one thing I didn't like. The water spout and electric post were located in such a way that you had to cross your water hose and electric cord over the top of the sewer hose. But this may be due to the configuration of my RV and maybe wouldn't affect other RV's. This is a great relaxing place to overnight while traveling through northern Utah. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
We camp here a lot on week end get a ways not to far from home. The Willard Bay Cottonwood Campground are ok the Wireless Internet is not all that good but will work. The noise from the highway did not bother us, in the summer you have the leaves on the trees and that helps. The camp sites are clean with fire rings and a covered table. For us its a great spot. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
We arrived at Willard Bay Cottonwood Campground about 1PM. There was no one at the booth as we entered the park, so I picked up an envelope and drove to campsite #15. We got settled and was resting in our trailer when I heard a knock at the door. I opened the trailer door and a park ranger asked me to step out of the trailer. He asked how long we were going to stay. I said three days. I told him my checkbook is in the cab of the truck. As I was writing the check he stood in a stance with his hand near his gun. This made me so shaky I could barely write the check. Other than that the first day and night was peaceful and the weather was pleasant for March. On Friday Cottonwood Campground started to fill up with campers. Overall we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This review is for Cottonwood campground and is the full-hookup section of the park. There are 2 other sections, one with no hookups (Willow Creek), and a marina. We found this to be an great place to overnight on our way to Wyoming. Some highway noise noted.Good paved sites with covered picnic tables, grill and fire-ring. Nice trails all over the park to bike or walk. We saw quail and lots of water birds. Will return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
We stayed 1 night at this campground while on our way north. After driving all day it was nice to have this campground conveniently located. The campground was clean and well kept. The roads were paved and we had full hookups. We were within walking distance to the beach and there were nature trails close by. The only negative comment was about the highway noise but it wasn't such a distraction that we could enjoy ourselves and sleep well. That would be the swap factor for being conveniently located - you can hear the noise from the highway. Overall, I can say that this campground was very nice and clean and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
We spent 4 nights here, it filled up on the weekend. We liked it a lot, sites are big and paved with picnic area with roof/shelter over the table, fire ring and grill. Perfectly decent bathrooms, good hot showers, easy access to trails and beach on Willard Bay Reservoir (fresh water) on the edge of the Great Salt Lake. New WiFi was just installed. We chose this place to stay because we wanted to visit the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge. We'd come back again. The only downside to the park is that it's near I-15 and freeway noise is audible at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com