206780 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails - Horseshoe Lakes was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (765) 832-2487
CGID6690

Thousand Trails - Horseshoe Lakes

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   8   6   5   7   8   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$0
The rate cited is the Thousand Trails member rate. First, the campground is in good hands. The manger takes great care and pride in the facility. That said, there is a high number of seasonal/annual camp sites, 79 or 80. The sites available to short term campers are good sites with full hookups but short on 50 amp sites. The "locals" do have a little bit of an attitude toward "visitors" on their turf. We spent a very relaxing time here, joined in a cheese & cracker gathering. Friday night where we were pretty much ignored by everyone until we broke into a couple of the groups. This is a beautiful campground with all the lakes. Trails are okay and you can wander all through the preserve, away from the crowds, and find wild life to watch and photograph. Interior roads are gravel, as are the mostly level sites. We enjoyed our stay here and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
This has now become one of our favorite Thousand Trails parks, great manager that cares about their park. Well kept grounds, mini golf need help but was told it is a priority on their list. Plenty of full hook up sites to choose from, very level and found lots of shade. Located out in the country but a short drive to Terre Haute for almost everything you would need or want. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
This is a membership park and the $15 rate reflects our RPI rate plus there is a $3 resort fee and tax. This park is a great place. It is a 290 acre resort in the woods and nestled among 9 lakes. The sites are gravel with full hookups and a picnic table. At the resort lodge they have a laundry room, pool, tennis courts, miniature golf and a playground. Some of the lakes have boat ramps. It is worth the drive of 24 miles north off of I70 to stay here. We stayed only one nite, but wished we could have stayed several more days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$1
This Thousand Trails preserve has several pretty ponds and lakes and we had a campsite with a great lake view out the back window. There are many seasonal residents who take great pride in the place and have a sense of ownership of the place. There's a bit of discomfort with "outsiders" coming into "their" park. However, a few smiles and handshakes and all is good. The roads are mainly gravel and the facilities are rather dated. However there is a nice little pool that looks inviting. This is a nice place to kick back and relax as there's not a lot happening except on the weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
The roads and grounds are reasonably well cared for and the trees and lakes are certainly beautiful. The utilities are quite alright but there are only about 22 - 50 amp sites. It seems most of the nicer sites are taken up by annual site holders, as seems common in TTN parks now, which leaves few sites for traveling members to get satellite reception without an on-ground unit. We were given six sites from available which to choose when we checked in, only one of which was satellite suitable. While I understand the reason for annual site holders, I don't like the high percentage of them in our campgrounds, which is unfair to those who travel from park to park. Also, I noticed that many of the annual site holders in this park have turned their sites into their permanent residence with their swing sets, stacks of firewood, golf carts, and the like. I have the distinct impression of this park as resembling a trailer court. Most occupied sites are empty during the week and inhabited on the weekends, giving us an easy way to see who is traveling and who is not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Normally this park is more of an 8, but improvements have not been made this year. We've been to this park about 4 times already this year and each time the sewer is not available for use. There is a sign advertising DRY camping until further notice. The pool is filled, but we were told it would not be available until the sewer was fixed. We've been told for 4 weeks straight that it should only be another week for everything to be fixed. Be aware that they advertise full hook-up, but as of right now there is only electricity. The rate is WAY too high right now for those who are not members. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
The check-in building is located down a road to the right when you enter the park. It's kind of awkward for big rigs because it's a fairly small parking area and you have to make two sharp right turns to get out of the lot and back to the road. The ranger station is manned for only a short period of time each day, if that. There are only a few 50 amp sites, and those we saw were mostly occupied by 30 amp rigs. The interior roads are gravel, but in good condition. The grounds were mowed and well kept. There are lots of lakeside sites with beautiful trees. We were able to pick up satellite from our site. The adult center was pleasant, the WiFi worked ok, and there were good walking trails. There are over 30 covered bridges in the area, and the map you get in the office has the coordinates of each. We had fun serching out the locations. We plan to return the next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This is one of our favorite parks and it's close to home for a short get away. Many of the campers are members and if you go often, you will get to know them. Everyone is especially friendly and helpful. There are activities planned for most nights throughout the week. There are sites for all preferences. If you like shade, sun or a lake view, they have it. There are a few improvements that we'd like to see. The swimming pool is kind of small, but big enough to cool off and play a little. The snack shack is only open on the weekends. All sites are gravel, along with the roads going through the park. One of the great things about the park is that it's mostly members and they do a great job taking care of their park. I'd also like to see the office give campers a break on weekly stays. We've been to this park many times and we've never been disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
This is our first visit to Horseshoe Lakes. The staff is very friendly and helpful, but the condition of the park is very disappointing for a Thousand Trails Preserve. There are several long-term spaces that are pretty junky. While there are some big rigs here, we don't consider it a good place for our 38' fifth wheel. The roads are mostly gravel, narrow, and very uneven with tight turns. Some areas are only dirt - muddy in the rain. Most of the sites are narrow "thread-the-needle" opportunities that drop off into gullies immediately on both sides. Many are too short for a big rig. Underbrush is very close and the weeds and "grass" are unkempt. We stayed two nights but only because of inclement weather. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
We stayed at this park two years ago and were very disappointed when we returned this year. Some sites are overgrown with weeds through the gravel sites. The road had numerous potholes. Trees have low hanging limbs that can scratch an RV, specially near the office where you check in. There were no activities during the week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$1
Another GREAT Preserve in the Thousand Trails system. Sites are very nice and lots of room between others. Wi-Fi in adult lounge. Roof mounted satellite accessible from site A-78. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$2
We arrived mid August and there were no activities scheduled, unusual for a 1000 Trails Preserve. Large potholes in main roads. Many low hanging trees. Mini golf unplayable. Tennis nets in need of replacing and courts have large cracks with weeds growing in between. Some interior roads have very soft gravel making bicycling very hazardous, in fact wife had an accident needing 3 sutures at local ER. Pool was closed when arrived for repair, opened for one week, then closed after Labor Day in spite of 80+ temps. Two potluck dinners were put on by members and no management available. Grounds were kept very nice and many opportunities for fishing and nonmotorized boating. This could be a very nice preserve with proper management. Many local members upset with current management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$2
$2.00 per day for 50 amp electric. Full of seasonal rigs(best sites used by them). Needs more maintenance. Pool has several rips in liner patched with duct tape. Mini golf is full of grass and needs repair. Roads are full of pot holes and make walking and riding a bike hazardous. Nice office staff. Some sewer sites and electric sites don't work. Very pretty park with lots of lakes and very nice walking trail system. Could really really use some updating and more tender loving care. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
This is a pretty park and especially nice for the weekend member campers. The mini-golf course needs a lot of work, but there are other amenities that are nice. Most of the sites are ok for the bigger rigs and the management is nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com