219099 User submitted reviews online!!
The Club Resort at Lake Gaston was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (866) 553-6882
CGID6711

The Club Resort at Lake Gaston

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   6   6   9   10   4   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$3
We used our ROD membership to stay in this park for free. The $3 rate is for the upgrade to 50 amp electric. There are a lot of permanent sites in this park. Everything near the lake is a permanent site and they were very typical with big Rubbermaid sheds, etc. All fairly neat, but not my cup of tea. We stayed in a wooded area, Dogwood Trail, where I am assuming most non-member guests are placed. It had a much more transient feel to it, which was preferable for me. I will agree with others who have complained about the split rail fencing making turns tight. Our site had a concrete pad and a wooden deck with rails which was very nice except for a missing a board on the back step. We were not able to get any TV reception on satellite or digital via antenna (except for two very snowy stations). However, we were there for our niece's wedding and so didn't miss TV. Verizon Wireless was available (3G) but slow. The site sloped down immediately behind the concrete pad, so we had to pull off of it in the front in order to get the back levelers down on our 40' coach. All the sites are full hook up which was a plus. We didn't have time to enjoy the Family Center that is there, but the Clubhouse and Pavilion where the wedding was held was top notch with nice views of the lake to enjoy. I appreciated the great security and friendliness of the staff. If you have pets, be sure to keep them leashed. There is a lot of wild life in the park, including deer and pole cats that spray like skunks. There is a leash rule, but I did notice that some campers do not abide by it. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Pretty good campground overall. This is a membership campground so most of the ppl here know each other. We stayed here on a voucher provided by our dealer when we bought our camper. The sites are pretty close together and there are a lot of golf carts here. We where here in the off season but there was still a fair amount of GC traffic. The Family Fun Center is very nice. It has an indoor pool (saltwater) with a drop slide, 9 hole mini golf, 10 lane bowling alley, a few video games, and an exercise room. The rest of the park has at least 2 playgrounds (older), a swimming beach, marina, fishing pier(a bit rough but not too bad) a bar and restaurant on site, and a fishing pond stocked with bass. Sites are level and paved. The membership fees are not too bad and you can use the membership nation wide. If we were not moving to Ft Riley, KS we would have joined. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
We stayed using our ROD membership. We had heard so many nice things about this park but were extremely disappointed upon our arrival. The site was very short and with narrow lanes it was difficult to back in. The split rail fences also made it difficult to make the tight turns. They do have a bowling alley but for two people to roll one game with shoe rental is $13. Wi-Fi is available for $29 a week. No AT&T cell or internet service. Laundry was very dirty. Many permanent sites, who let their dogs run loose. Can't see the need to ever return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$3
Although this is a beautiful property, general condition was run down. Located in the countryside along the northern shore of Lake Gaston, this park is many miles from the main roads. The laundry was dirty and no hot water was available. Wi-Fi which costs 4.95 per day was only available if you walked to the club house and went inside. More like a limited hot spot. Power was low and we had to pay for 50 amp just to run one air unit. There was an activity building with pool, mini-golf, bowling, etc. but we were unable to find anyone to let us in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
We visited here for the weekend. We did have a nicely shaded site with a concrete pad. The decking around the marina, and out to the lake for swimming, needs to be replaced. They have about 12 benches on the decking, none of which you could "safely" sit on. The benches also needed replacing. We were told the campground has existed since 1984, and it looked it. However, five years ago they built a wonderful Family Fun Center with 10 full-size bowling lanes. That was the best feature! They have indoor: shuffleboard, racquetball, pool, putt-putt and dawning beds. If you have a Coast2Coast membership, they only have like 8 sites that are in full sun. We were also told that C2C does not have access to the entire grounds. Golf carts are abundantly used on the paved paths. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$0
We came here through our ROD membership. (Resorts of Distinction). There was no charge for our stay. The first thing you see upon entering the campground is the Family Fun Center on the left. Huge building with an indoor pool, handball court, 10 lane bowling center with snack bar, video game room and a 9 hole putt putt course. All indoors. Very nice. We kept on going to the check in office. Our reservation was there and they showed us where our site was. Off we went. This was our first time here and noticed right off that once we got past the new Family Fun Center, the park is an older park. A lot of permanent sites. Most are maintained nicely, but some are a bit trashy. The interior roads are all paved but very narrow. We had a hard time maneuvering our 40’ fifth wheel though out the park. When backing it in to our site it took a couple of correction moves due to the narrow roads. There are some corners that we will not be able to turn in one direction due to split rail fences to close to the street corner. The site has a level concrete pad. Water, sewer and 30 amp electric come with your site. There is also a 50 amp box at each site that has a lock on it. I think there is an extra charge for the 50 amp. No cable TV, but these sites were in an open area where we could get satellite reception. (I need my satellite). I saw at the office that they have WiFi available for $5 a day or $20 a week. Activity inside the park is abundant. The park in right on the lake. There is a boat ramp, boats docks, parking for your boat trailer. At the water there is a motel with 6 or 7 rental units. Below those is a bait and tackle shop right at the dock. Gas and propane are for sale there too. Across the street, right on the lake is a snack bar. Next to the snack bar is a large outdoor pool. Another area of the lake there is a beach for swimming as well. The park is golf cart friendly with paved roads for just the carts in spots. Also, there is a restaurant that serves lunch and dinner a couple of nights a week. Activity outside the park: Not very much. There is an antique store that also serves lunch and dinner and also serves ice cream. It is about 2 miles away. A flea market about 5 miles away that’s kind of small. The only other notable is a winery about 10 miles away. We go places to visit the local sites as well as enjoy the parks. This park is very nice but nothing else to do here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$3
We stay here anytime we are in the area, but that is always in the off season when park is almost empty, it is one of our favorites. There are amenities galore. A beautiful new large clubhouse with hot tub. Bar and Restaurant are only open on certain days. There is a large separate building with swimming pool and bowling alleys. We stay here with ROD Membership, no charge except for 50 Amp. Sites in the older part have concrete pads and are under large shade trees, that is where we stay. We enjoy walking the dogs through the trails in the woods and down around the lakeshore. There is a separate area in the open that is in the sun, not as pretty. Resort is on Lake Gaston with a marina and motel on the property. A new nearby cell tower went up last year which allows us to use Verizon aircard. We usually spend a leisurely week here and look forward to returning. Unless you are boating or fishing, there is not much to do in the area. The parking lane, in the check-in area is very narrow. Go very slow and watch your mirrors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
Stayed on C2C, grass was not cut on sites (12" high). Narrow streets required skill to get into sites. Mostly permanent sites and not very well kept up. Some sites were actually junky. Concrete pad, grill and fire ring. C2C members were told we were not entitled to use resources on left side of road. Wi-Fi was $5 per night for length of stay, could use rec facility for $2.50/person/night. Boat ramp and dock area were very nice. Bathrooms were just OK, large piece of ceiling in B/R and fallen and rotting wood was visible above. We might stay here again as a stop-over but not as a camping trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$3
We camped for $3/night as Western Horizon Members - this is a very nice park with lots to do in the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$13
We stayed as Coast to Coast members. We were put in a area on a concrete pad but we were jammed up and sites were very small. We had no place to park our tow vehicle and we had to keep moving it around as people came in and out. The campground was large with a lot of permanent campers and they have all the nicer spots. There were narrow roads and sites were very hard to get into plus the roads had stupid little wood fences at most turn areas. They were very tight to maneuver. We saw two coaches come in and scrape their sides on these fences. The staff was very nice and helpful but the general impression we got was that the campground was run down and needed lots of TLC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$1
We stayed here in a 40' motorhome using the ROD membership. This is an older park with most sites in heavily treed areas. New cement was poured for 13 open sites but not open for use yet. We camped in a grassy area that had a table. Under trees but we had satellite and TV reception. Interior roads are narrow. Was about a 20 mile narrow, no shoulder road to get to the campground. Personnel are friendly. Looks like the park is putting some money into sites. Does have a very nice Recreation Facility (fee) and Clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com