206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Huron Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (810) 622-0110
CGID6717

Lake Huron Campground

Camp Information
Sites
430
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   7   8   7   10   4   4   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Camp ground is large an open. Very nice when it first opened but has gone down hill. We stay here every year, but kinda tired of it. Pool is full all day. Beach is hardly used, not that nice. Lake has OK fishing from shore, (cant bring in your own kayak or boat) have to rent for big money. Store is large but shelves are empty, pizza is good. Always a cold breeze off the lake take several jackets! Hope the new owners make some changes like lowering the site price. Not worth the money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Price is at weekly rate. The staff and check in were friendly, and our grassy pull-through was very large for a private park. Visitors were spaced so no one was next to each other unless requested. Most sites are full hook-up, and a few had concrete slabs. The restrooms and pool were very clean, and we didn't find any sulfur smell in the water. The game room is large, but we could not find the advertised fitness room. There are 2 washers and dryers at each station, a nice playground, and outdoor activities. Trash needed to be taken to the front. Verizon had a very good signal, and the cable stations were OK. We were in the second row from the office and found the internet quite spotty. There were several times during the week we couldn't get a connection or it would drop. It is not dependable for work, but would be OK for other things. Caution--pop-ups ask to be near outer comfort stations as the one near the office is locked at 9:00 PM! There is a limited selection in the camp store and there is a small IGA 5 miles south of the park. A county park with free access to Lake Huron is a mile north, and a boat launch to the south. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
This was a very large park. Not many camping at this time of year. Check in by park manager was friendly. Laundry room was clean. Park had lots for kids to do. Being a new park the trees were not big enough to give shade. Verizon cell worked good but on another carrier. Verizon MiFi also was roaming. This park would get more business if they lowered the price some. Other than that it was a nice place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is a huge, newer campground which was mostly empty while we were there. It tends to get busier on the weekends but even then is not even half full. The sites are large and open and everything is in good working order. The park is not on Lake Huron, but rather on a small, artificial lake across the highway. It is attractive and well-maintained and offers all the amenities. Sprint, Verizon and ATT all have strong signals. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
This is a large, fairly nice RV resort that does not appear to have many seasonal/permanent sites. We stayed here for a mid-July weekend and the park was maybe 30% full. We had a FHU, pull-through site with <20 channel cable TV. Most sites are are on grass with maybe a dozen sites with cement pads. I found the sites to be longer and wider than most parks The rate varies with the hook-ups (FHU, W&E, rustic), PT or back-in, location, etc. The Wi-Fi worked fine for us at our site. There is plenty for families/kids: nice pool, playground, basketball and volleyball, a large pond with a swimming beach and boats to rent, etc. There is also a cafe with decent pizza and ice cream. Due to the size of the park, there are golf carts being used. However, during our stay, they did not create the nuisance they do at some parks. That may be due to how wide the roads are. I wouldn't want to be here when the park was anywhere close to full. That could be as many as 2,000 people. My main complaint was the Sulphur water that made my load of laundry reek after it was done. For the price, I would expect cement sites and more cable TV stations. I'd come again but not long enough to need to do laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Have camped here a number of times and enjoy this park very much. Except on holidays it is not very full. Many long pull-thru sites and both Wi-Fi and cable work well. There is fishing and a beach but prefer the pool. Rest rooms are keep clean and showers work well (although you have to keep pushing button). A bit over priced on holiday weekends, but some specials are offered at various times on non-holiday weekends. We will visit again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$54
We have camped here about 7 times because it's half way for our friends. All but one time the site was very wet (water between bare toes) and this time was a swamp. Dandelion weeds are overtaking throughout the sites and park. The pizza and ice cream are great and the pool is nice but too small for the size of the park. If you don't use the bathroom in your camper expect a very long walk to the facilities. There is only one playground at the front of the park which is a long way from the back of the park. 4th of July fireworks are wonderful and the park is usually quiet at night. This is a resort campground and not for the "real" campers that enjoy the outdoors. No trees or wildlife will be found here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$67
Bathrooms were not very clean: muddy floors, hairy showers. The campground was like a large parking lot with some grass and mostly weeds. There are very few mature trees and almost no shade. Some of the sites were VERY small. Our site was pretty spacious though. We had FHU. Overall, we were not impressed and will not be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This is a huge, fairly new park with sites on grass. We were here over a holiday weekend and it filled up, but during the week, we were almost alone. We had a lot of rain so there was mud in the sites and some rigs got stuck. The showers are good, laundry adequate when not busy, pool very nice. There is no view of Lake Huron but there is a man made lake on the property. We did like the peace and quiet. There were lots of activities for the kids on the weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$54
Wonderful newer park. Highlight of our vacation. Laid out nicely, large lots, great pool and beach area. Beautiful island with wooden bridges leading to it. Great store, nice staff. Even has a room where you can use computers. Pet friendly. The area surrounding the campground is very nice lots of parks where you can see Lake Huron. Will return to camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
This is a large campground. The sites were spacious, has a clean bath houses, good WiFi signal, a man made lake with boat rentals, mini golf, bike rentals, golf cart rentals, basketball court, volleyball, playground for children, nice game room. The pool was heated though a bit small. I found this to be a perfect campground to jog in. The park is huge and jogging around the perimeter is sure to give most a good workout. The camp store with pizza is top notch. The only negatives I have, are the lack of mature trees and the pool being on the small side. Overall we really like it here. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
This is a nice, newer park. It appears as though very little expense was spared when this park was built. The access roads and sites are wide and level. The camp store has just about anything that you may need, including homemade pizza and hand dipped ice cream. Restroom facilities are spread throughout the park, rather than having only a single location. The private lake is large and clean, as well as the pool. The only drawback is the lack of shade over the RV section. The tent sites near the back were shaded though. There are trees planted, and there will be plenty of shade when they mature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
We loved this park! But note we were here in the "off season" ~ as full timers we likely would not have been so enthusiastic about it in The height of the season but when we were here it was lovely, quiet and peaceful with great "nature" (walking or biking) trails. The bathrooms, showers and laundry (although we used none of them) were immaculate. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was distanced from restaurants etc - the closest being about seven miles away, apparently however, there is a pizza cafe or such on site it was not in operation while we were there (off season). Additionally, while there is a lovely man made "lake" there (which truly was lovely) it is NOT on Lake Huron and there didn't appear to be public access nearby, so the campground name is a bit misleading. Our rate for a 50 amp full hook up was based on the off season rate with a Good Sam discount. We would most certainly return here off season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Nice, spacious sites, friendly staff, good size pool area. You can rent row boats, paddle boats to use on their private lake. There is fishing on their lake as well. They have one of the nicest camp stores I've ever seen. There is a pizza/ice cream shop in the camp store. I really liked this park and plan on coming back. The only drawback that I could see is the trees are not mature yet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
Overpriced and underdelivered. They used to deliver Pizza and firewood, pickup trash, now they raised prices and took away the nice parts of the stay. Had a very noisy night and no one did anything to quiet them down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
This will be a nice park someday. It looks brand new. There are small trees planted which do not yet provide shade. Full hook ups are available. The advertisement for lakefront is a little deceiving. The lake is their own, not Lake Huron. Lake Huron is across the street and not visible. They do have their own lake and it is large with a swimming area and paddle boats for rent. Restrooms and showers were clean. Internet is easily available. There is a cmp store and a pizza shop that is only open on Friday and Saturday. There is an arcade room and activity rooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$43
Nice roomy sites and wide streets. Most all sites are sod and are level as long as its dry and has not rained. Camp store is the best I've seen yet. The offer homemade bakery goods from a local bakery in Harbor Beach. The bread is awesome! Bathrooms/showers were clean but few and far between. We camped on Memorial Day weekend, which was a full campground and again in August which was only about 1/3 full. Neither time did we see security or staff members anywhere within the park (other than the main buildings up front). There is a 24-hour phone number to call if any problems. The pool is small for the number of campsites. If you are looking for a shady campground, this is not the place for you. There are no shade trees through 90% of the park which allows the wind to whip right through. The sites in the back of the park do seem to be less windy than the sites in the front of the park. We would like to see more bathrooms, security through the park, and activities (ie: playground, pool) in the back of the park. It will be a nice campground once the trees mature. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$55
What a disappointment! After failing to get reservations at a nearby campground we often enjoy, we decided to give this place a try. Had seen them at the RV show and was impressed by what we saw on the website. Stayed on a pull through "supersite." The problem was that there was a grassy gap between the parking pad and the patio pad and the pads were not level with one another. Couple that problem with a major thunderstorm, and our entire site was seriously flooded. Quite aggravating to try to tear down camp by wading through 6" of rainwater! That was just one complaint about this place. Being a new campground, there is not a shady site to be had. It felt like we were just camping in a huge open field. Super windy also. There is only one playground and it is waaaaay in the front of the park: quite a hike for those staying towards the back as we were. Basketball courts and pavillions are near the playground also. The pool is laughably small for a park of this size. Even though it was nowhere near capacity, the pool was jammed with people constantly. They did have a nice lake area to swim in also, which we enjoyed. Boat rentals available as well. Golf carts can be rented but are quite expensive compared with other parks we've stayed in. Camp store is impressive: neat and very well stocked. They have a pizza place inside also, and the pizza can be delivered to your site if you choose. We ate inside and quite enjoyed it. All in all this campground has great potential, but the amenities would need to be upgraded and improved upon before I consider staying here again at this nightly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Very nice campground. We only stayed one night on our way through the area - came in late and left early. But what we saw was nice and if we are ever back in the area, we will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$48
If you are looking to camp among the trees then this place is not for you. But, if large, level, and grassy sites are what your after, then check this place out. Lots of things to do, best camp store I have ever seen, friendly and helpful staff. We will be back and will bring friends! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
We camped here in May 2007 and then returned in July. The sites are large and the roads are wide. Everything is well kept. The trees are young so there isn't any shade but our awning worked just fine. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. (We had a tornado warning and staff came around to let everyone know what to do and where to go.) Camp store is well stocked with a pizza/ice cream eatery. They will deliver pizza to your campsite for a $2 fee. The only thing we didn't like about this park is that all the extra things to do are way too high priced. A golf cart rents for $50 per day and row boat is $10 per hour. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
For the money I would have thought the sites should be more level and gravel or paved! Ask for 50 amps got 30 amps. Will have to see if they improve CG next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
This is a large campground (395 sites). We enjoyed our stay here. This is a new campground that doesn't have many mature trees for shade. The weekend that we were here it was very windy. They advertise lake front camping, however, this doesn't mean Lake Huron. They are referring to their 20 acre lake at the park. We found that their sites were large and grassy. The price was reasonable, $37 for full hook up pull through with cable tv. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This park will be amazing when it is finished. They are working very hard on getting it all done. The office staff is very friendly and work hard for you if there is any problem you have. We had to leave early because of a family emergency and they couldn't have been nicer, which in this day and age is sometimes hard to find. We will go back often! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
I was very disappointed in this campground, it is simply not ready yet. Every site we were assigned we arrived to only to find someone already there. We were assigned 3 different sites before we finally found an open one. They said they were still working out the "glitches" with their computer system. Very few of the things they list on the web site are available yet, from talking with the staff it sounds like they will not be finished until later this summer. The staff was very nice. One day if they ever get this place finished it looks like it could be a nice park, but until then I would not go back. Also, the lakefront sites they mention do not really have access to the lake, they just overlook it. The lake is down a very steep hill with lots of brush and trees between the sites and the lake. The only reason I gave it a 3 is because the staff was very nice, they were trying. But at this point they are in way over their heads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
The campground just opened in May. Very few things were ready. The sites had very little grass (mostly mud). Kids playground was still under mud, many areas with no grass yet and mud. The trees are very small and there is no shade or any large trees anywhere in the park. The sites are spacious however becoming rutted. Restrooms/showers were very clean however did not seem to be enough of them of the number of sites at this park. The showers shut off every 20 seconds and you have to constantly push the button to turn them back on. The water temperature also is not adjustable. Pool was not finished yet. Game room/pool table room was nice. Washer/dryers were not hooked up yet. Children play areas were not accessable due to lack of grass/sand/etc because all the mud. The web site showed a very nice list of planned activities, however upon check in we were given a very small list of planned aactivities. Only 1 of which was the same as the web site. We felt like we were in a huge open farm field camping. We left a day early due to lack of activities. We were very disappointed & would not recommend this campground. Too many amenities were unavailable/not ready for the campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com