221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Palmetto State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (830) 672-3266
CGID6746

Palmetto State Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   9   9   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
Arrived well after dark, and the road from Luling to the park is a dark, narrow road. But, we had scoped the park earlier in the teip, and knew where we were going. Sites are asphalt paved and easy to back in to. Level, although we saw one site on a significant slope. Perfect utilities. Camp host registered us with no hassle. Beautiful tropical forest setting. Had to leave early because of an emergency. Will return again one day to see the CCC structures and hike the wide, beautiful woodland trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
This is a very nice, green, and shady park! It offers camping, picnicking, hiking, biking, swimming, fishing, playgrounds, and boating. For boating, you can launch your own, or rent one from the park store, which offers canoes, kayaks, and pedal boats for use on the lake. The store also rents inner tubes for floating on the San Marcos River, which runs through the park. The park has many trails available for hikers and bikers. It also has structures that were built in the 1930’s by the Civilian Conservation Corps, and an informative and scenic interpretive trail. There are a wide range of accommodations ranging from tent sites with water only, RV sites with water and electric, 1 full hookup RV site, and 1 mini-cabin. Some sites are very level, while others have a slope. Water and electric supplies are good. On the technology side, we received a few over-the-air TV stations, from Austin and San Antonio, but they were weak. Also got weak 3G cell phone service from Verizon. The park was quiet and peaceful, even on a holiday weekend, and it's sites are very shady to help keep you cool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
Just an overnight stop for us and I called from San Antonio to make sure they had vacancies in the RV area. Lady who checked us in was very nice and let us pick our spot (from her computer screen) We had a nice site with trees on one side and a large field and trail on the other side. Enjoyed walking some of the trails by the river and a very peaceful stay despite being only a few miles off I-10. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
Nice park, level sites well separated. Hiking trails well maintained. Headquarters was beyond the campground turnoff and it was difficult to get turned back around. Would camp there again. Relaxed and comfortable setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
If this park had sewer hookups, it would rate a 10. Great sites with lots of space and new, level parking pads. Each site has a picnic table and a grill; some have smoker pits also. The park is small and quiet and TV is pretty much out of the question. Stay here to read and hike and enjoy nature (we had about 10 deer in the field next to us this morning). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
We stayed in site #2 which is the only site besides the camp hosts that has full hookups. This park has several bike and hike trails. The trail through the palmettos is fun. Luling is close by. City Market BBQ is very popular. We ate lunch at Blake's which was very good. The oil museum run by the Chamber of Commerce between these two restaurants was interesting. Buc-ee's is on the way to Luling and is always a must stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
We stayed here and really enjoyed the park, the park is very clean, well spaced, plenty of shade. ATT signal very strong (posting this review from our RV spot right now) bathrooms very clean. The walking trails were exceptional and made so event the most amateur of hiker could enjoy them, even in 100 degree heat the shade helped keep us cool.  The park host were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Two drawbacks are no sewer hookup (dump station on the way out); and if you are trying to use your satellite dish, you are out of luck because of all the trees (it is a trade off for the wonderful shade) although one or two RV's managed to get a signal. You won't be disappointed in this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
We'd forgotten how nice this old CCC park is. An hour from either Austin or San Antonio, it's a true gem of Texas campgrounds. The CCC created some marvelous buildings that are well kept up. There are many trails, a small ox-bow lake for fishing, and the San Marcos river rushes between the tent and RV campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
A little jewel in the woods. Very quiet. Small park with hiking opportunities along park paths. Nice CCC structures to view. Lots of trees so satellite not available at all sites. Verizon not too strong a signal. I've stayed here before and will again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
This is what all campgrounds should be like. Generous sized spaces under a canopy of trees. Grills and fire rings, some spaces even had small smoker-style bbq's. Lovely marked trails along the river. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate with us, but would stay here again if given the opportunity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
This park is in an area that had quite a bit of rain in the days prior to our stay. Some of the walking trails were closed. This was a typical Texas State Park and was good for our one night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Great campground for kids and adults. Lots of room between sites, yet close enough to mingle with the neighbors. Great trails, lake for jumping off pier, warm spring for slow/ short tubing. Hosts and park managers friendly and visible every few hours. Take your canoes, kayaks, bikes, hiking gear. Lots of shade, paved sites, and super clean. Will do it again...we were pleasantly surprised. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
One of our favorite state parks. Wooded sites and privacy. Sewer not available, but there is a dump station. Fee does not include the park entry fee of $3, which is waived if you hold a state parks pass. We stayed for two nights and will return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
We love this quiet little park. The trails are easy and in the spring were beautiful and loaded with wildflowers and palmettos. Saw several interesting birds here, including some Cedar Waxwings and Crested Caracaras. They are expanding their trail system further, which will be great. Our campsite was large and fairly well shaded. The park host was very friendly and helpful. He sold ice and firewood, which is always appreciated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
This has got to be one of my favorite small parks. Be aware that there is an inner an outer ring of sites in a large loop. There's only one or two spots on the outer loop that you can get a big rig in -- the others are popup sized, and can be quite off level. The inner loop sites are nice, reasonably level and big rigs fit fine there. Really a quiet park at night. It's a swampy area so your mileage may vary with mosquitoes during the summer. Walking down to the river is nice, and the water runs fast and cool. Great way to spend a hot summer day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
Very quiet park. Lots of good walking trails through the palmettos. Tons of deer to watch and we walked up on a baby hog. Sites are small and have no growth in between for privacy. You can see every site in the small park. All have grills, fire rings and table. Everything was clean. Good park to see once. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
My problem with this park was that it had very small campsites and hard angles on some of the roads with overgrowth (where big trailers have trouble navigating the turns). Our campsite we could barely get into, and even then it was so un-level that the bumpber was on the ground and the jackstand an unsafe height in the air. luckily, we were just passing through and stayed only one night. Camp rangers also were not friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Pretty park with beautiful old CCC constructed buildings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$16
This is what a state park should be; tree covered, quiet, nice pads, and plenty of hiking trails. Sites are large and have a pad with picnic table, a fire pit, and separate barbecue. Electric and water only at the sites with a dump station, no cable or WiFi; just the noise from crows and other birds. You'll need a portable dish for satellite TV and 50' of coax to find a hole in the trees. About six miles off I-10 and 12 miles from the nearest town (Gonzales) with a small Wal-Mart and a few restaurants. There is fishing in a small lake and the San Marcos river. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
What a pleasant surprise . Plenty of trees, nice people, easy in easy out.This park is very clean and quiet. We had a refreshing stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
This is a lovely little park. Just a few w/e sites on one loop, tent sites on the other loop. Some short hikes in the woods, but watch out for skeeters and no see'ums. A good base to visit historic towns in the area, like Gonzalez, Yoakum, Luling and Shiner. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$16
Small park but very nice. On the banks of the San Marcos River. I would think big rigs might have trouble maneuvering into sites. Logs of Texas history in the area; very unique ecosystem within the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com