220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Berkshire Lake Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (740) 965-2321
CGID6752

Berkshire Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   8   10   5   7   4   3   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We planned to stay a few nights but left after one. Honestly, we would have left shortly after arrival but were too tired to look elsewhere. We were given a "pull through" site that was to accommodate our 40' coach and toad. It was 90 degrees off a narrow road and so we had to disconnect the toad in order to maneuver into it. Once there the leveling jacks punched through the thin layer of gravel and buried themselves into the soil. A small "swamp" lay across the site as well which looked to be the result of leaks in either the sewer or water system. As the site sloped too much we tried one across the road that was more level. No luck. There too the jacks went straight into the soil. Even after placing plywood under them. That folded up and went into the soil along with the jacks. Management finally brought us some 2x lumber and cement blocks which in combination solved the problem. Noise from barking dogs and speeding (yes speeding) cars and golf carts running past us until 11 pm dropped our evaluation of this place even further. At times the noise was so loud it drowned out the television (even with the windows all closed). We walked though nearly all of the park that evening and took in the sights. There were no other pedestrians. Everyone drove around on golf carts. None of the roadways are paved and the little remaining gravel is seriously pock-marked with deep pits and ruts. Made me wonder how folks would feel comfortable speeding on it but I could never answer that one. Bottom line is this park is well past its prime. Whoever owns it has got to be sucking the income and using it for other things. There is just too much "deferred maintenance" showing compared to the high number of guests (nearly all permanent homes) who must provide a positive cash flow. We will stay in a truck stop before we stay in this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Nice setting with a beautiful lake and walking path, but it needs to be maintained better! The bathrooms, showers and laundry facilities are so-so: especially the laundry facilities. They were never clean during our 2 month stay and pretty gross to use. The campsites are never cleaned after campers depart. I even spent time picking up litter after a storm: just because I didn't want to look at the mess! There's a restaurant/sports bar on site, but it has a very limited menu. Gravel roads and lots are often muddy after rain. We had a terrible time getting level: more so than anywhere else in 9 years of camping. Staff is pretty much hands off and it's a family run business. The best part about this park if their annual Halloween Party and haunted hayride. Well done and lots of fun. Maybe it's better in the summer, but we needed a short term (2 month) place to stay near Columbus and this was the most convenient spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
This campground was well maintained, with pre-Memorial Day work still under way. There was a fairly steady procession of golf carts and other maintenance machines on the roadways while we were there. But they were not objectionably noisy and stopped before dinner time. Otherwise, this was a very quiet location, with no highway, train, or other noises to interrupt our sleep. The Wi-Fi here was one of the fastest connections we have ever experienced on the road! Verizon voice and data signals were strong as well. We would return here for an even longer stay than an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
We had a wonderful stay at this campground last summer and fall. We stayed for 4 months so the rate relects a summer monthly rate. Great Wi-Fi and free The best 25 cent wings I ever ate at the party house on Wednesdays and fun events for the whole family, especially the haunted forest at Halloween. The lots are nice,big and grassy with firepits and picnic tables. There are plenty of places to walk your dog. Everybody there is super nice too. I will be back this summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Nothing fancy at all. Staff nice, site level in trees and near nice pool. It gets very crowded after lunch. Sites close together on gravel. Had rain so plenty of mud off gravel. Lots of kids. Only stayed here because of relatives near by. Close to Westerville and Polaris area. Campground itself needs a major upgrade to get a better rating. Restrooms were fairly clean but well used. This is not a vacation spot in my opinion. Stayed here a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This campground is close to I-71 and US 36/37. Sites are moderately level. Pool is immaculate. Staff is friendly, restrooms could use some updating. Very nice 5 to 6 acre lake with plenty of fish! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We stayed here a total of 2 nights though not in a row. We stayed one night on the way to Lake Erie and then one night on the way back. I will not stay at this park again. I have never been to a campground who's quiet hours start at midnight. People where yelling and having golf cart races starting at 11 PM. Even though there is a nice fishing lake, a nice pool, a semi-nice mini golf, the entertainment choice is driving through the campground on a golf cart at high rates of speeds. Keep close eyes on your children. The owners were nice. The spaces too close together. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We agree with the other posts; we camped here for 3 nights, of which there were no quiet hours enforced. It appeared that this was a popular place for the locals to hang out, which is fine, but it should be noted that this is not a family campground when booking your stay here. As you make your way through the grounds, it would appear to be, for the most part, a mix of seasonal/permanent RV sites and mobile homes. Luckily we always use the bathroom in our fifth wheel, as we tried to use the restroom while setting up camp and it was very dirty and foul smelling to the point of having spiders in the toilet. Lastly, camp sites are right on top of one another, making it hard to enjoy your site when the weather doesn't allow for swimming. On a side note, the pool was very clean. Overall, we were not satisfied and will not return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
An older park that is showing its age--and lack of infrastructure investment. Entrance road asphalt is mostly a memory and laundry facilities were marginal. A mix of long term residents in a wide range of units, with occasional overnighters. A quiet, safe place except on weekends when the locals roll in for beverages around the bonfire while cheering the Buckeyes on. We stayed a month while visiting family in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
We stayed here over labor day weekend 2008. We will not return here. The sites were very tight. Right on top of each other. They had a band one night that was very loud until 10:00, and they were not very good. They do not enforce that other campers be respectful when they stay up late. People were very loud. I have a young child (10) who was exposed to some foul language from campers near our site who were enjoying their campfire. I was not impressed. Won't go again. People were nice and the pool was nice but that was all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
There are only 47 sites for overnight. All other sites are seasonal campers. The sites are shaded but, very narrow. The restrooms are not very clean. The pond has trash laying all around it. We had 3 ten year olds throwing rocks into our camp site at nine o'clock one night. They were seasonal campers. I would not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Mostly seasonals, all full hook ups. Stayed one night and found it nice and quiet. During summer it probably is quite active. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com