223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Steamboat Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (970) 879-0273
CGID6753

Steamboat Campground

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   9   8   9   7   10   3   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$42
The park is very very old. Sites are very close together. Would not stay here again. State Park has got to be better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
The owners are trying very hard to keep this older park looking nice. We did not notice the highway noise. Site were a little narrow but nicely shaded. We did not use the wifi as we have our own and their cable worked fine. Restrooms were clean. A little expensive, but the only one in town! We would stay again, for a week. There are many activities in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
This park has lot of amenities for kids, with a pool, mini-golf and a playground, plus recumbent trikes for them to check out to run around the park in. Some picky people have complained about the highway noise. We did not notice it because we made sure to take a spot far away from the highway. However, the spot we chose, space 31, was right under a tree and the birds crapped all over our trailer, awning and car. Lots of cleaning to do when we got home. I would give this park a higher rating if the WIFI was any good. It only works if you are inside the office building. They offer no apologies for the very weak signal and when you are on the WIFI it is very slow. The men's room is clean but dated. The nightly rate for full hook-ups is $42 but the taxes there are almost 14 per cent, so be prepared for a big bill. The free shuttle bus around town terminates at this park so that is handy. There even is a shelter to wait in for the bus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$47
Great location with access to free bus service. Sites are a little tight. Very friendly and helpful staff. Allowed us some parking discretion since our site was too short for both camper and tow vehicle. Beautiful river runs through the campground. If we are ever in Steamboat Springs again, this is where we will stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$41
We came during mud season, so the campground was almost empty. The staff was very friendly and our site was comfortable. We loved walking around the campground and taking the free Steamboat bus into town directly from the campground. The playground was great for our son and the park was very dog friendly and laid back. We would love to come back in the summer, we hear that it is very popular and books well in advance. The location can't be beat and the weekly rate of $240 was a great value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Best in town because it's the only in town. We have stayed here over the years and it's kind of going downhill. Still a nice enough spot. Very tight gravel spots with grass between. A la KOA (it used to be a KOA). Laundry was a mess. Hunters and workers washing greasy and muddy clothes. Had to wash the washer to use it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Nice tall trees, sparsely planted, proved welcome shade. The concrete pad under the picnic table was nice also to get shoes cleaned before going inside. The owner was very nice in explaining some of the background/inner workings of campgrounds. Our gravel site was level and a pull-through as are most sites. As we did not make reservations - we never do, so we were limited to 3 nights stay because the campground is booked solid for Labor Day weekend. The pool looked sparkly clean, and the mini-golf course was new and green. After two to four nights of boon docking, I need power and this stop is a pleasant place to stop. I enjoy the free shuttle into downtown Steamboat Springs and waiting time is a mere 20 minutes it the very most. The Yampa River defines one edge of the campground and is a nice place to catch trout. Fantastic Yoga Center in Steamboat Springs! I will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
The park resembles a retired KOA. The only sites available with full hookups were right next to Hwy 40. Very loud road noise. The only river side hookups were primitive (with no hookups). The bathrooms were old and needed updating/repairs. The sites were close together, and other campers were always out and about walking around. The campground does offer a free bus stop to Steamboat Springs. And the staff was nice when we cancelled our 3 week reservations because of the road noise and the fact that it shared a fence with a rough looking neighborhood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Arrived to a spotless campground, children playing in a crystal clear pool, smiling, friendly office staff welcoming me by name (I had a reservation). Sites are small, but they do have grass, picnic table, permanent grill, adequate gravel, including timbers embedded marking site outlines. I have a 32' Class A and found both owner and other camp staff extremely helpful getting me into a back-in site. Pull-throughs are available, but I will be here longer term, so I was accommodated with a back-in, as I requested. There are shaded spots, and the trees are trimmed properly to avoid gouging the roof. I can see traffic on Hwy 40 above the campground but can't hear any road noise. I had problems in July contacting this campground for a reservation. Owner assures this was a personnel issue that was fixed, and I can validate that. I have since been able to reach them by phone, and have them return my calls. If you have a larger rig (over 35') you would want to be in your site before dark, as the turns can be tight. There is a mobile home park behind the back fence, with occasionally noisy dogs, but that is beyond this campground's control and I am a dog person so I don't find it bothersome. It was pin-drop silent after dark, and it was so clear last night the stars were visible....best nights sleep I've had in a week! Yes, the campground still does need some maintenance, but it doesn't detract from the overall experience. Office has good selection of camping small items, including quality T-shirt souvenirs and ICE CREAM, soda, snacks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$54
The staff is great! They will go out of their way to help you and provide great service. The park itself is okay and we would stay here again, but, it's an older park that could use some updating. The roads and sites are very narrow, making it tricky to negotiate in a big rig. It feels very crowded and it is. It's also expensive for what you get, but then, so is everything else in Steamboat Springs. Expect quite a bit of road noise if you stay here. All that being said, we enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
The price is a bit high, but for the location so near to downtown. Super friendly staff. A clean park and excellent all around camper amenities - it was well worth it for our week long stay in Steamboat Springs. The pool was heated and the Wi-Fi was strong. The cabin with lazy hanging swings, and well-spaced shady tent areas are right along the river and would make a great place to stop in for a quick get away trip! We caught large Rainbows right out of the river behind our 5th wheel site. The full hook up portion is more level, closer to the road and has more traffic noise, so we opted to have water and power only as to enjoy the river ambience. This park has received some negative reviews in the past and was the "old KOA" but has been brought up to date and is under new, wonderful management. Laundry facilities and a general store really make for good hospitality. This is a dog friendly park with strict clean up rules, but we appreciated that! There is a free bus that runs every 20 minutes that comes into the park, in case you don't wish to drive or cycle the three to five miles into town. Every Saturday during the summer months, there is a fantastic farmers market in downtown that is a not-to-miss local event - even this event is dog friendly! The fishing and outdoor activities in this area are vast. This campground was a perfect place for a base camp to see it all, topped off with fresh cut green grass and tall Aspen and Cottonwood shade trees. And our dogs loved to run in the back area off leash! Would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
This park is very nice. Pull through sites are good. Up to 71 feet. We did not unhook our car trailer. Our main complaint was their pet policy. We are supportive of pet rules, however their policies may be a bit over the top. You will be fined if you don't pick up your doggy do-do, which is understandable. However, if they find any do-do on your site after checkout, they will fine you. I explained to them that our small Rat Terriers would not leave large 'logs' so if any big do-do was found, it was not ours. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Nice enough former KOA. Pull through both ways so you share common area between two sites. Some nice shady sites for hot summer but we were there in late Sept so we enjoyed the color of all the leaves. Bathroom and shower were kept as clean as you can for an older place. Cable was a short list but it worked. We stayed a week for a family visit. We'll come back next year. Nothing better in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
Beautiful camping cabins right on the Yampa River. Great trout fishing right out your front door. Clean and quiet campground with extremely kind hosts. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Not the best, not the worst. The wireless was very weak and stopped working every few minutes. When I called to make a reservation, the lady said they offered a military discount, but when I arrived, they said they offer no discounts of any kind. After going back and fourth, they finally gave me the 10% discount. Cable was good and had over 50 channels. Pool looked OK, but we didn't use since it was raining. A good overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
The front office staff was very helpful - from explaining the bus system to giving me extra quarters to make up for a cool dryer. The shower rooms were clean with unlimited hot water. We parked in a WE only site backed up to the Yampa River so close we heard the sound of the rapids as we slept. Although the campground is several miles from downtown, the campground has a bus stop, for the free bus service, on the grounds. We will definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground is conveniently located, close to town, next to river, just off highway. Our site (?22) had a faulty GFC 20 amp receptacle and kept sparking and shorting out. We switched to the 30 amp plug and all was well. The bathroom and shower facilities, both men and women's, were the most disgusting and unsanitary facilities that my wife and I have seen in all our experiences camping, including state and government run campgrounds! The urinal and toilets were black. Dirt was strewn about the bathrooms not picked up. There was mold everywhere. The bathroom stalls had old toothpaste containers, food wrappers, suspicious wads of toilet paper strewn about. The unsanitary smell was -- unsanitary. There was a large diameter hose hooked up to a faucet that they apparently use to power hose down the facility much like a prison or concentration camp facility, they then leave water pooled on the floors and leave the hose by the sinks -- unbelievably disgusting. The floors had dirty water pooled up that you had to step into if you wanted to use the sinks. If you are a self contained RV and do not need to use the restroom/shower facilities the convenience and siting of this camprground would be hard to match if visiting Steamboat Springs. If you are tenting or staying in a Van Camper and need these facilities avoid this place at all costs! PS I understand that this facility is for sale so maybe that is why they have let it go? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
A mixed bag here. Beautiful riverside location near end of free Steamboat Springs bus shuttle line. Tent area across private Yampa River bridge has breathtaking views. Arrived in middle of busy summer season without a reservation. Clerk said they keep several sites in reserve, and amazingly, we were given a beautiful riverfront site (with lawn chair). My daughter enjoyed the sparkling swimming pool. Barn swallows nesting in rafters near laundry area were a treat to see. If it rains some areas are muddy. Twenty-something clerk not able to advise us where to locally buy trailer supplies or auto parts (we located them, but this upscale town seems RV hostile). Onsite management was minimal. Lack of shower/restroom maintenance was unacceptable. Poor ventilation in humid ladies restroom, $10 portable fan on floor completely inadequate with dangerous puddles of water on floor. Came back five hours later there were still large puddles in restroom, so I found the mop and cleaned them up myself. Mystery solved when I discovered brochure in office advertising campground for sale. Stay here while you can, next year it may be gone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$49
Reading previous reviews had kept me from going to this campground for a long time. Took a chance and glad I did. The campground is much nicer than described. Cable, Wi-Fi, 50 amp service all fine. Nice community fire pit. Pool, mini golf and bikes (for rent) were nice. Only downside was the traffic noise. Will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$49
This is the most we've ever paid for a campground. A full hook up site is $49 tax included. The campground is adequate, nothing special. Steamboat Springs is a tourist area and I guess we're all willing to pay this amount. We thought we might stay for two days but we're reconsidering and might leave in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Friendly staff, but that doesn't make up for the condition of the property. Mud puddle impressions everywhere. Site driveways are mostly dirt so if it rains, and it must have a couple of days before my arrival, the site area is unusable. The place has a general feel of neglect. It is right on the road and the traffic was heavy until about 9:00 pm the night I stayed. People seemed to be enjoying the pool which looked decently kept and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Since this campground was our only choice at Steamboat Springs in May (Natl.Forest camps not yet open) we were committed. It was off season and muddy so there were few dry sites to consider. We were not given a choice on the tent island which is prettier ("too wet"). After that we couldn't find anyone; available service was minimal. We finally found several Wi-Fi codes on the bulletin board; the fifth one was successful. The view of the ski area is great from our site (51). However, the highway right above us is very noisy. We would not go out of our way to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
A little pricey, but to be expected near a town like Steamboat Springs I guess. We were warned that the lower 2 laundry driers were not as hot as the top 2. We had a big load & had to use one of the 'not so hot' driers. Without saying anything the office girl added extra money to the drier while we were not there. Nice touch. Kind actions as such go a long way. We were there in early mud season but maintenance activity was well underway for the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$49
The staff here are very nice and helpful. There are a number of cabins for rent here too. The TV service is terrible even though we paid for it. This park is crowded with unsupervised small children. Wi-Fi works well. This would be OK for a night but no longer. The office and store are nice but many of the sites and other amenities are falling apart. I would not choose this park again based upon the cost and quality not being equal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$43
We loved this campground and Steamboat Springs. Everyone that worked at this campground was friendly, knowledgeable and polite. We got a river site with a fire-pit. They even provided free fire wood! The campground is only a couple minutes from downtown and the City of Steamboat provides a free shuttle that picks you up at the campground. It's an older campground but they are making improvements. We found this campground to be reasonably priced. We wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
My site was OK, however two other families in our group had problems getting the sites they were promised when the reservations were made. The river is nice, but overall the grounds need some upkeep. The store was convenient, and the staff was courteous. There were a ton of kids running around (some of whom were not so supervised). However, it is not too bad, and the river and city bus system are both convenient. The cable television is fuzzy, and goes off frequently. The Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
Since there are few choices in the area, we chose this campground. The staff was very friendly, but the campground is run down. This was once a KOA and at that time it was well kept. The best thing is the free shuttle bus into town and the river. The worst is the tight spaces, unkept sites and overall appearance of the place. TV reception is poor. The place could use some TLC and overall fix up. Given the lack of choice, it is OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We've stayed at this campground many times in the last 14 years: in tents, cabins, pop-ups and now our RV. It seems to have gone down hill. It's a nice location, on the river, and the workers are friendly. It just needs some major up-keep. I'm now reviewing for the time we spent in May 2009. It was for one night. There are a lot of permanent workers that "live" here. They all seem to have dogs, that run loose. The trash can was over flowing. It just seems run down. The bathroom was very dirty with clogged toilets and stuff on the floor. I really wish they would take better care of this place and bring it back to the it's original splender. The last few times we stayed here it appeared that young adults and teens were running it. It does have a game room, a pool and somewhat of a mini-golf course, but to me that just makes the place noisy. With that being said, I'd still stay here, (if the other place was booked), but I'm aware of what I would expect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$43
This campground is overpriced for what you get. It suffers from lack of care, I understand it has been for sale a couple years. The roads have holes with mud when it rains. There are sites on the river and they are well worn. Our site was a back-in, full hookup away from the river and was a bit small but adequate, had grass and a table. The cable TV was very fuzzy so we used the satellite. The wi-fi worked OK. (888) 451-2243 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Had a fair spot, good wifi but not very level and the hook-ups were not placed logically i.e. a very long hose needed sewer and water. Trees also could be a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
Park was fairly nice, very packed the weekend we were there. We'll be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$43
This place should be called Steamboat Dumpgrounds! I have never been in a more foul, dirty campground. Do Not Camp Here! We arrived after the office closed so we picked up the needed paperwork to do a DIY payment. We chose a site and made our way to it (without making the payment yet.) The sites were not level, or even close to it. The sewer connection was broken so my threaded elbow would not screw in. The cable TV was terribly fuzzy. I was getting very annoyed at the condition of this place for $43 a night. Then the last straw came. My wife walked to the restroom/bath house to see what was available. She did not look happy when she came back and told me that I needed to go and see. As I approached the men's room I noticed a sign on the door that stated, "The restrooms will be closed from 12-2 everyday for cleaning, we apologize for this inconvenience." After entering the restroom I had to wonder what century this cleaning took place because it had not been recent! It was disgusting! I would not shower in there under any circumstances. I was so angry I was actually shaking. I went back to the site and told my wife that I was very angry and wanted to leave. We decided we were going to drive the extra 45 minutes to the next camp we knew of. We left a note to the owners in the box and packed up and left. We were very glad we had not yet dropped our payment. We ended up finding a fantastic state park called Yampa River State Park. It was just to the other side of Hayden and it was a really nice park for half the cost of Steamboat Campground. Search to read my review on it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com