215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Yampa River State Park (Headquarters Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (970) 276-2061
CGID6754

Yampa River State Park (Headquarters Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   8   7   10   8   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
This is a great little find of a park. it is just off Highway 40 and I would have given it a 10 except you can hear a little bit, just a little bit, of road noise. The showers and restrooms are clean, though we did not use them There is a nice little laundry, two washers and two dryers. The reception people are friendly. There's a lovely walk on a gravel pathway near the river that goes a ways into the woods. The sites are well spaced and have small trees planted between them, though they are not tall yet. Lots of open space and many sites have these wind shelters around the picnic tables that look like they would be needed on many days, though when we were there, it was not windy. There were just a few mosquitoes around. We would most definitely stay again in this nice little park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Our first Colorado SP, probably our last. The park is newer; level gravel pads, spotless showers ($1 for a few minutes) but not central to campsites, dispersed pit toilets. Electric at sites, dispersed water spigots [HINT: turn on spigot, pull down on larger tap --water pressure holds it down-- and water will then come through threaded tap. I was not familiar with THAT type of transitional spigot], some sites have shaded tables. $20 is value, but Colorado State Parks tack on an ADDITIONAL PER VEHICLE fee of $7 (so $27/night to camp, maybe even $7 for motorhome +$7 for dinghy=$14), so we'll probably not use their park system again. Most States (Western at least) have no vehicle fee added to a camp fee. We prefer SP, BLM, FS, COE, etc., to the 'pack' RV parks, so my ratings reflect the amenities we value: space, privacy, serenity, views, $value, vs playgrounds, golf, pool-spa, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Only stayed here one night on way to Breckenridge, but really enjoyed the stay. We had a pull thru site with electric. Had communal water location so fill your tank before setting up; had dump station. Park was relaxing, comfortable and quiet; staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They were working on a sprinkler system because everything was so dry. Site was long enough so we could leave tow vehicle attached. Plenty of room to open slides. We were in a 40 ft coach. Would stay here again short term. Beautiful sunset was a bonus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
This is a peaceful park located on the Yampa River surrounded by popular trees. The sites are level and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The fishing in the area is great and the pond in front has Northern Pike that have been relocated from the river- it's quite a treat to catch a Pike on a fly line! This park is located between Craig and Steamboat Springs. There are beautiful, green hills at this State Park and a nice walking path around the perimeter of the property. Clean laundry and bathrooms, as well as educational information at the main desk. A nice place to stay and relax. We stayed here with two dogs for seven nights and were very pleased with our experience overall. Don't miss the Wild Goose Coffee Shop in town! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
There are about 45 sites within this state park. It is located right next to I-40. We can not judge how noisy the road would be because all of our windows were closed due to the weather. The park officially opened a couple of days ago and there were only 3 other rigs in the park. The interior roads and sites were on packed gravel. Each site had 50/30/20 amp service. Water was available at the dump station or at hydrants located throughout the park. These hydrants were threaded so you can easily hook up your water hose to fill your tanks. A vault toilet was also located within each of the two loops. All of the sites were over 40 feet in length,and had a picnic table (some with wind shelters) and a fire pit. Near the visitor center there were flush toilets, showers, and 2 washers and 2 dryers. The showers cost $1.00 for 4 minutes ($0.25 for each additional minute). The washers cost $0.75 and the dryers cost $1.00 (don’t know how many minutes). Internet access via a Verizon air card was slow. Verizon cell phone worked well. Camping cost $20 with a $7 day use pass per day. We would come back here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Even without full hook up this park rates a ten for us. Friendly staff, fun and interesting ranger lead talks for adults and children. No shade, small trees, river for fishing and just admiring, bird and beaver watching. Quiet level gravel sites. Big rig friendly, clean laundry, shower house. Large easy to get to dump station. Easy drive to Steamboat Springs which has a lot of activities. Sprint and Verizon both worked here. We would stay here again, and probably will next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
A one-night stop for us and it worked fine. Clean, level sites, and a spotless new bathroom/shower complex in the main building. In fact I've never seen such clean showers at a campground. Lack of shade, but it appears to be a "young" park? Maybe the trees will grow. Highway is nearby, so I would avoid sites closer to the road. Not much to do right at the park; just a playground for the kids and a walking trail. We would stay again for a quick stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We stayed here one night in August in site #25 close to the Yampa River. You cannot see the river from the campground but it is only a short walk away. It looks as if you could fish and kayak on the Yampa River. The campground has very small trees so there is no shade but some of the campsites (but not all) have shelters over the picnic tables. The grounds are well-maintained and the picnic area and river trail are beautiful, located in tall Cottonwood trees. There is a big shower house. The park is dog-friendly. There is a well-equipped kid's play area. The tent sites seemed to be shaded and well-used. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
If there had been water and sewer hookups, I would rate this CG a 10. Great reception in office. Back-ins and large pull-throughs to choose from and all very level gravel. Lots of space between sites. Great hiking trails along the Yampa River. Clean laundry and restrooms. Showers cost a quarter but worth it. Trees are not large enough to make great shade yet, but will be wonderful someday. We stayed here to tour Steamboat Springs area and did not mind the 25 mile drive as some people would. Conveniently located right on US 40 but the noise was not bothersome at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
In general, a fine park for an overnight stay although a bit high for what you get ($20 for site, $7 for daily park fee). Electric is the only utility available at the site. There is a dump site and water available. No Wi-Fi but our Verizon signal was very good. No cable TV but our satellite signal was strong. The sites are long, wide and level (gravel). The park was pretty empty so we picked our own spot. There are pull-through and back-in sites. Some road noise from highway 40. No need to fear for safety, the park rangers seem to make their rounds every half hour. Appears to be a well-used park by locals for weekend outings. We would stay here again if passing through. Compared to the prices of the RV parks in Steamboat Springs, this is a steal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This is a very nice state park! There was a friendly welcome at check in. There are long, level, gravel, pull-throughs with electric. A nice metal table shaded by a cabana type shelter is provided. Trees were scattered at each site, about 15-20 ft. tall. It was at least 100 ft. to nearest sites. Dept. of Wildlife manager put on a good 1 hour talk about bears and did a good job of it. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Very clean park with level sites. They have a dump station right there on the property. Nice trail around the grounds for exploring and the river is right there for fishing or tubing. Sites have fire rings and some have shaded picnic tables. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$11
Great state park. Rate reflects Aspen Leaf Pass rate for Colorado seniors over 65. Nice gravel sites that are level and clean. Water and sewer available at the dump station. 50 amp to 20 amp electric on site. Close to Steamboat Springs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We were disappointed with the Yampa River State Park campground near Steamboat Springs, CO. The reason was because on the Yampa River State Park's (SP's) website. They showed photos that had campsites along the river in a heavily wooded area. The SP's website photos were VERY deceiving to say the very least. The photos from the SP's website showed the campground as being very wooded with TALL TREES at the campsites. As we walked around the campground we noticed there was only 1 campsite for 2 tents, walk-in campsite along the river in a partly wooded area. All other campsites were in a field type area with small, newly planted trees. We are so used to campsites in SPs having so many TALL trees/thick wooded areas. This campground was such a disappointment to us in that respect. We made friends with a couple of women camping with their 2 daughters who were our 'camping neighbors.' They felt the same way since they also researched the campground and also viewed the photos on the SP's webpage. They could not believe, when they drove into the SP, how it looked after viewing the SP's website photos. DH and I also bumped into the camp-hosts, who were very nice people. During our talk, we asked if other folks had ever expressed their disappointment in how the CG looked to them. They said it happens all the time and wished there was some way for them to post more accurate photos of the CG on the SP's website. They told us that some folks get really mad at them and felt deceived that they (camp host) had posted those photos. This is terrible IMHO, since the camp host at these SP are usually only doing the job during the summer taking care of the facility only and have nothing to do with the website. I do want to add that the campsites were very, large and widely spaced but the trees were so small and no shade whatsoever! The bath-house was very clean with coin-operated showers. Also a laundry room is in the same building, which is well maintained by the camp host. Electric hook-ups only; the water spickets are located throughout the CG. Vaulted toilets-houses are located near campsites. Flush toilets are inside bath-house, which is near CG's entrance. There is a playground area for children near the bath-house. Yampa River SP Campground is about 30 minutes outside of Steamboat Springs, CO. No campsites are along the river except for one walk-in campsite for 2 tents. Next time we will stay at another SP campground instead. I just wanted to do a review of Yampa River SP Campground, so other's will be forewarned about the lack of trees/shade. If that is what you are used to, and having been to the SP's website and viewed their photos. I wish there was some way I could post our photos over on the SP's website: REAL photos showing how it really looks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
The fee included a $6. park entrance fee for the State Parks of Colorado. The campground was well kept, as were the bathrooms and laundry. The sites were very large, affording a quietness between neighbors. Parking pad was level and constructed of pea stone. There is a walking path around the perimeter of the park and was a good way to exercise our dog. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
This campground is fairly isolated, but it's right off the primary two-lane highway in the area. It's a twenty minute drive to the nearest anything so be sure to stop in Craig (if you're heading east) or Hayden (if you're heading west) if you need any supplies before arriving at this campground. The Headquarters campground is extremely clean with very nice showers, restrooms, laundry and visitor center. The sites are very level, well spaced and primarily for RV's and trailers. We would camp here again in a minute. Craig, about twenty minutes west of the park, has a really cool city park with a pool and a whole grove of carved tree trunks. Well worth the drive to check them out. Park pros: clean, spread-out and well maintained sites. Has beautiful river access. Park cons: has little or no shade, and is not convenient for quick runs to the store (which could be a 'pro' depending on your situation). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
A very nice park with large sites spaced well apart. Each site has a picnic table (covered at most sites) and a fire ring. Our site was a 40' gravel pull through that was level. Although only electric is provided at each site, water spigots are located within the park and there is a dump station with water at the park entrance/exit. The restroom/showers are clean (the showers are coin operated - 25 cents for 4 minutes). The park is pet friendly with large grass areas and a very nice shaded trail along the Yampa River for walking (bring bug repellent). There is a play area for children with swings and other play equipment. Park staff patrolled the park on a regular basis and were helpful and friendly. The only negative to the park is the lack of shade trees. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
This is a great campground if you don't need water and sewer hookup. The dump station is at the entrance of the park, and you can also fill up your tank at the same place. We saw a couple of deer while we were there. The river is about 150 yards from our site, and the kids actually went in to catch some crawfish. I imagine if you go in late summer, you will probably need some mosquito repellent. It wasn't that bad in April. It would have been ok if the rate is just $18 but you have to add the reservation fee and also the vehicle fee it all adds up to $32. The site is pretty level with all the regular amenities such as picnic table, shade shelter and fire ring for each camp site. The toilet/shower house is very clean. As a matter of fact, it was super clean. I have never seen a state park shower house this clean. We will come back again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
I wish there was a higher option for the question about the bathrooms being clean. This park had a restroom/bath house that was so clean, you could eat off of the floor! The sites were gravel, but were very close to being level. There were a couple of pull through sites, but I selected a back in site and still had plenty of room for my 40 ft 5th wheel. The sites each had a fire ring, a high quality (commercial type) picnic table, and some had a cover/wind block for the picnic table. The sites are very well spaced. No two sites are on top of each other. There is a dump station available, however no sewer hookup at the site. There also is no water hookups at the sites. The showers were clean, but are coin operated, however it was worth the quarters to shower in such a clean bath house. The cute young lady who runs the office/park info center was very friendly and courteous when I went in to pay for the second night. (It was after hours when I arrived the first night.) The bath house building also has a laundry facility, Coke and Pepsi machine, change machine, puzzle table, and a magazine rack with a selection of magazines and pamphlets. Do be forewarned that there is a train track across 40 that has a train that runs between 6 and 8 am. It did wake us up, but it was gone quick enough to allow us to fall back asleep. There is a camp host on site. I really can not say enough good things about this state park. I am very happy I found this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com