214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Glen Retreat was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (909) 790-1801
CGID6771

Oak Glen Retreat

Camp Information
Sites
183
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   5   9   6   9   7   7   3   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$13
The drive up the twisting mountain road may be scary for some people but it indicated that the place would definitely not be in an urban setting. Upon first look, the place looks very shabby. However, our site was level and very long with mountain and valley views. The trees in our area of the campground were small. In the other area the trees were full grown but this was an area for long term campers and looked like a poor mountain community with plywood add-on porches, etc. We enjoyed the calls of neighboring peacocks who came down from the woods in the day. The campground warned of bears, mountain lions, bobcats, coyotes and snakes but we are used to many of these critters as our home is in the desert. There seemed to be several activities for kids including a pool that is open after Memorial Day. Our $13 fee was because we are AOR members. Wi-Fi was $2 a day extra. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$13
Stayed here for a week we'll never be able to live again. What a dump! Restrooms and showers were filthy with beer cans on the ledges and smashed bugs on the walls. No one cleaned restrooms thoroughly the whole time we stayed. Many permanent residence live in the camp separated from visitor campers by a dry creek. You only met them when they came out at night to visit the camp's fulltime bar: watered down drinks and mystery meat burgers. Employees were new and didn't know too much about the area. Long mountain drive into town and civilization. We definitely will NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$13
This campground is conveniently located is the heart of Oak Glen's apple country. Shops and restaurants are walking distance from the park. The interior roads are in need of some repair: too many pot holes. The park is built on a hillside with the sites staircased up and down the hill. If you have trouble walking up a steep incline, make sure to ask for a site at the top of the hill close the to clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
This was a nice place -- and just across the street is old town with a petting zoo. Campground is on a slope, but the sites sit on a concrete slab so they are level. Kids loved riding down the hill -- coming back up was a bit tougher. Great rec room for the kids!!! There is a bar/restaurant on site that is open to the public. Should have gone there on Sat night -- it looked happening! (We didn't hear any noise though). Nice people work there. I had an electrical issue with my coach, and a fellow camper was referred to me by the staff. He came over and helped me. Kids had fun on the golf course; pool was closed due to winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$6
I agree with some of the recent posts. The park is under-going needed improvements. We were excited to find that they have added some 50 amp sites. There are only a couple of them so far, but the staff promises that more will be added in the future. We were disappointed however that there is no more WiFi in the lodge. I was told that this will return with other improvements. Overall, this is a nice place to stay outside of the L.A. area. It’s high enough to escape the heat & the smog. Fall is the best time to visit, as that’s when apple season is in full swing. Apple Annie’s Restaurant nearby serves delicious home cooked meals. Their bakery is irresistible as well. Expect to wait in line during the fall. Everything is within walking distance, we don’t even drag our car along anymore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$3
Finally. an entire crew of new people on site. The lodge has been re-done. The brand new mini golf course is going to be complete this April. The new staff is extremely friendly and excited about the changes being made. Must say, I was impressed. I love all the shops and restaurants across street too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
The park was allowed to be run down as noted in previous reviews, but there are new staff members and they are working on repairs to the facilities and improvements. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful; Vicky and Teresa are the new office staff. I had a good conversation with Vicky the night I checked in and she seems very interested in bringing the park back up to resort type standards, but as she said it will not be a rapid process due to costs. The shelves are stocked with non-perishable food items and other things that are most likely to sell. There is a planned movie night in the club house each night, and most of the games in the Game Room were operational. The small bar also serves food, and there are plenty of small restaurants around the park to eat at. The asphalt has been allowed to erode, which between snow, ice, rain, and heat has caused some potholes, but nothing that will damage a rig if you are obeying the posted 5mph speed limit in the park. If you have any questions or concerns about previous reviews, I recommend that you call Vicky and ask her, as I found her to be honest and up front when I called and asked, voicing my concerns about what I had read. And yes, I plan on going back so I can enjoy the beautiful scenery (I saw a great sunset and then sunrise), see the "tourist traps" and try some of the apple pie. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Being near the small area of Oak Glen was the plus, (its across the street from Apple Annies). The spots don't have a lot of shade and are terraced so you look down into your neighbor's area. It was okay for a short stay. I would definitely go back. It was easy to park with a small MH or small trailer, larger rigs would be difficult. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Campground is not maintained well at all. Sites are not level. Sprinklers right beside your site. Pool out of order. Miniature golf really crummy shape. Shuffle board was OK. Camp store was no good; most of the shelves were empty. They did have movies to rent for the kids. Land line phones did not work. We planned to stay here for 5 days and only stayed for 1 night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2007
$1
My In-Laws gave us their membership to Oak Glen Campground as they had gotten to old to use it. They told us how beautiful it was and we had used it many years ago with them. It had been a great park. Unfortunately, the park has not been taken care of. It has become something of a dump. Since it was free we tried it again but it was in such bad shape we ended up leaving early. The store was a joke, nothing was in stock but bare shelves. Only 30 amp service and it didn't always work. The roads inside the park were almost impassable. Huge potholes and branches hanging down from the trees. We needed a 4-wheel drive instead of a motorhome. The staff were likely under paid and disinterested. They didn't seam to care about their guests or the shape of the park. A lot of people now live in the park full time. Mostly thug looking folks so I was afraid to leave anything outside. The park is in a beautiful location and close by to apple orchards and a wonderful little town. It's high up in the mountains but the drive wasn't too bad. We got snow one night and had a blast the next day playing in it. However, because of the poor quality of the park, we ended up surrendering our membership to avoid the next year's dues. We haven't had the heart to tell our parents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com