224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Kansas State Fairgrounds was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (620) 669-3615
CGID6791

Kansas State Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
211
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   8   9   6   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
This is a super stop for overnight in Hutchinson. We were here to visit family so didn't spend much time at our camper. Stayed 5 nights. We were one of 10 campers in the park. Would not want to stay here if park was full as sites would feel crowded. Great interior roads. Sites were solid even with a heavy rain. Simple sign in process for arrival on weekends or late at night. No shade to speak of. Level sites, buffalo grass, clean and quiet. Call the office to find out if any events going on. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Would probably give this place a ten, but no shade at all, but it is Kansas. Well kept up, almost the only game in town, but a nice place overall. We stayed here during nothing going on, probably crazy when something is happening at the fairgrounds. Most sites are back-in, some can be pulled through if you have no one else in adjoining sites. Would stay here again. Lengthened our stay to two days instead of one to allow for sightseeing and visiting the salt mines. Also plenty of room to unhook closely as the area for "RV display" (State fair) is adjacent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
We met about 140 of our closest friends to rally at the Fairgrounds. During the snow, then and finally 70 degree weather, we had great fun. The back-in gravel sites were flat. Every site was close to the building were we had many events. No trees, concrete roads, and not close to nature. But this was a great place to gather for our week together, with a nice kitchen,large warm room, and a superbly maintained historic auditorium. Close to the Hutchinson Cosmosphere - seriously this is a world class display of USA and Soviet Union rockets and the resulting race into space, including Gemini capsule. Really well done. Another place to tour is a working salt mine - this place is huge and the underground displays are interesting and informative history. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Stayed overnight and was a good value. We followed the directions in the TL Directory and all gates were locked. Finally got in by maintenance building. We were the only ones there for the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Would recommend this campground. There is no shade, but the sites are large. We did not have to unhook. No traffic noise. The RV park was very well marked on how to get through the fairgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Mostly level gravel-grass wide spots. WiFi did not work. Be sure to call ahead for the events schedule. Enter from the fairgrounds entrance at 20th and Poplar. Check in at the admin building. Cash payment is required. Huge quiet fenced area with 4 or 5 permanent users. Great for an overnight stop. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This is a pleasant park with large grassy sites, although no trees. The bathrooms are very new and clean, but no hot water at the sinks, and it takes 5 minutes to get hot water in the showers. WiFi is available but expensive ($5/day, $25/week). My Virgin Broadband2go worked well here. THERE ARE NO SIGNS to guide RV'ers. If you enter the fairgrounds at 20th and Poplar, turn left and at the next fork turn right. That puts you on Ft. Leavenworth Blvd. Follow that north all the way to the other end of the fairgrounds. There is a self-check-in station on your right as you enter the RV area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This park is within the fairgrounds and the directions to the entrance were not well marked. The sites are to be back ins but we were able to pull through our site because there were not many rigs there. No amenities, no Wi-Fi or cable but was very quiet and clean. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Best place in Hutchinson for convenience to attractions such as the Cosmosphere. No shade available and it was over 100 when we were there. Only 3 other rigs in entire park. Totally self-service: use drop box. Trash pick-up only service. There are rest rooms nearby. Fair grounds make a nice place to walk dogs: shady, pond, grass. Close to all services. No WiFi and 1 TV channel. Site was level gravel with grass between sites. All back-ins unless not full and you can pull through to your site. Electric, water and sewer all worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Very nice facility with long level full service sites. Grass pads without any tree cover. The fairgrounds are available for camping anytime not reserved, such as the State Fair or for a larger RV rally. You must drive through the center of town to get to the fairgrounds from the south, however traffic is not bad. Payment for your campsite can be made using the drop box at the campground entrance or at the fairgrounds office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Rate was for the Fair period and had admission included. An OK place to stay. Trash pickup almost at your door. Only negative was a helicopter ride operation that flew repeatedly (every 5 minutes from noon to 9 at night) dangerously low overhead. Manager very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Too bad the administrators of this park don’t finish this place and promote it. The access is through the fairgrounds and completely unmarked. The sites are not marked but once you figure out the layout they are all the same and they are back-in's. I did a drive through because there were was plenty of room. All this place needs is Wifi and better access to be a first rate park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Enter the fairgrounds at 20th and Poplar. Follow the paved road to the left and all the way to the north end of the fairgrounds. Payment envelopes and after hours information flyers are available near the restrooms. The streets are paved. The sites are level grass/dirt and there are quite a few handicapped spaces which had concrete patios and sidewalks. We had no one beside us, but it seemed like sites could have been tight with neighbors and slides/awnings. No frills park, but very convenient to Hutchinson and the surrounding areas. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
211 full hookups, many water & electric only, easy access, very nice concrete roads in new full hookup area on north side of fairgrounds, grass sites, hookups in excellent condition, not available for two week period after Labor day We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com