224206 User submitted reviews online!!
San Carlos RV Park & Island Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (239) 466-3133
CGID681

San Carlos RV Park & Island Resort

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$61



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   4   9   9   9   2   2   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$61
This is a decent campground. Friendly people and staff. Nice ocean breeze. Grass sites with cement area with picnic table. Pool was nice but small. Hot tub as well. We were in site 60. Nice view but very tight to get into. Was very difficult. My tire of my truck was literally on the cement border of the ocean. I mentioned it to the front office and they informed me that they would have never put on that site because of my vehicle and rig. A limit to late though. Would stay here again if on a different site and looking at the map. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$56
Yes, this is a smallish place with sites close together and not exactly great for a dog. If you want to be on the water, bring your boat and going out into the gulf then this is your place. Enjoy the mangroves and local waterfront restaurants. Lovely area to explore. Great local dive type restaurant across the street. Really nice docks if you bring your boat. You see dolphins every day, lovely birds everywhere, and we saw a manatee at our waterfront site. I would only get a waterfront site. For the extra few bucks it is well worth it and, yes, the other sites are a little painful. Great TV reception and my Verizon cell coverage was perfect. Easy access to the beach down the road across the bridge. All the local conveniences. We want to come back in their off season. The best time there - no one to bother you and the close sites don't matter because it is very slow in May, June, September and October. We will do a month rental this September or October while we are finishing up our summer travel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$58
To me, this parked seemed very much geared for the extended stay guest and not for the guest staying a few nights. The sites are incredibly close together (at check-in the desk clerk advised us to call him if to many cars were parked around the sites preventing us from backing into our site), and my neighbors awning was within 2 feet of my slide. Pets are allowed but per the rules, quoting printed Resort Rules, "No dog waste on or off the campsite." The Wi-Fi did work at our site and the utilities were directly next to the motorhome and worked as they should. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$45
Wow, great location. We walked to the beach from here. Helpful staff. The sites are close together, but our site had grass and a picnic table so it was fine. Beautiful pool area and warm water in the pool! Nice laundry facilities. Can't wait to return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$127
I have been coming to this camp ground every Christmas and new years my whole life and I really enjoy it. I started coming with my parents in their motor home when I was just a baby. Now that I am older I still come with my parents but I rent their efficiency trailers and bring friends and other love ones along for fun. This camp ground is located on the back bay area kind of like an island and the views are really cool. Every year it seems the park makes improvements to there facilities and in the last 3 or 4 years they seem to have really stepped up their game so to speak. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere of the park is very nice and relaxing. I definitely would recommend this place. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
This was a pretty nice park, a close bike ride to the beach, lots of wading birds, manatees and dolphins to see. The sites are close together but it didn't bother us, the view of the bay is wonderful and there is a cute little smoked fish restaurant across the street. I would definitely come back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2011
$84
Enjoyed the park. They are not pet friendly. No place to walk the dogs. People in large motorhomes bitched about the dogs constantly to management. They in turn left letters on our door. Would not talk with us in person. We tried to come to some arrangement but to no avail. Basically walk your dogs in the street. To repeat, enjoyed the park but don't take your dog there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
Touted as "water front" premium site: only if you like being on a smelly canal staring at shrubs. Very small sites, no trees, just concrete, really awful smelling and no shade in summer. Rest rooms were disgusting, old, no A/C. Laundry facilities are a couple of old washers and dryers OUTSIDE of bathrooms. No community room, never saw any staff the whole 5 days we were here (left one day early, just too depressing). Dog friendly means 20 foot dog walk in front of dumpsters, really disgusting. They had a garage sale of used furniture and appliances, that was the activity, and the only one. No cable TV, but they never told us that on phone: claimed "full hook ups". Just so disappointing, nasty, old, crowded, awful. Been to so many RV parks in Florida and elsewhere, this was definitely one of the worst. Would never go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$50
Love this place and try to stop here every time we are in the area. Close to Ft Myers beach and the water area is beautiful. My only complaint is that the sites are tight. But being on the water totally makes up for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$52
Our site was on the bay with great views of pelicans, herons, and other wildlife. However, it can smell like sewer and dead fish certain times of day. Sites packed in as tight as possible, our car had to be moved so the neighbor across could get his rig out / new one in. People were friendly enough and it appeared a lot of folks stay all winter. (Personally I couldn't figure out why they liked it well enough to stay all winter.) It was cold while we were there and there was no heat in the bathrooms/showers: none at all and it was around freezing. Park was old and not very well kept, which I wasn't expecting. Not really that close a walk to the beach at least a mile or more with a steep bridge in between. Personally I would rather drive 10 minutes to the beach and stay somewhere nicer. But, if you are determined to stay “near the beach” you might be happy enough with the place. Way overpriced for early January. Price was with weekly rate discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
A fun, funky park. We came for 3 nights and stayed 2 weeks. It's central to everything and a short walk to Fort Myers Beach, 6 miles from Sanibel. Since it was off-season, we had a premier spot, backed up on the lagoon that had lots of roosting and feeding birds. Very friendly staff. We would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$55
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. You cannot find a better location for the money. We Walked to Fort Myers Beach and found some great little rustic dockside restaurants just outside the campground. We stayed for a week (the nightly rate reflects the weekly rate). We had a waterfront site which was well located for us. The sites are small (as we had expected) but we had a great time here and everyone was very nice. Keep in mind, many campgrounds in the area are farther away and you will have to drive into Fort Myers Beach, which is like driving in New York City during rush hour. Stay here if you want to spend time in Fort Myers Beach, not if you are looking to spend all your time in the campground. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2008
$60
What a Dump!!! I felt like I was camping in a parking lot. Our picnic table had a truck from our neighbor practically touching it. The view was nice if you could see past the huge rigs parked diagonal on the water side. Nothing at the store, nothing for the kids, a huge traffic jam just to get out of the place. The trolley was always full. We were supposed to stay 6 nights, we left after 1 day. It was only about 1/2 acre big no room for bike riding or anything. Fishing, what a joke. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$53
This is not the place to go if you want rustic camping. It is right on a main highway and the sites are very close together. On the plus side, the campground is right on the water. Our site had water on two sides and lovely views. The rest rooms and showers are old in design, but were very clean. There are a number of washers and dryers, I assume because of the large number of snowbirds who stay here in the winter. The sites are all grass and have a nice concrete patio. It would be nice if they were gravel, since they can get a bit muddy when it rains. The people who run the place are very nice and helpful. There are a lot of boat slips and I would guess in the winter they are full. There is fishing right at the park and easy access to the gulf. Another nice feature is that the trolley stops right outside the park and so for 25 cents you can ride to the beach or to the nearby shopping centers. You can even carry your bike on the bus. There is a pool and hot tub at the campground, but it was too cold when were here to try them out. Be aware that if you have a big rig, parking might be tricky in prime season. We had no problem, but the place was almost empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$62
I spent a weekend here with a 30' trailer. Wide lot 15' from the ocean. The regulars and staff were very friendly. The bathrooms did not look to impressive. I fished from my front door and caught a large amount of fish! There are alot of restaurants nearby. I would definitely recommend this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$55
This park has a combination of strengths and weaknesses that makes it hard to give a numerical rating. On the positive side the location is terrific, right on the road leading to the Fort Myers Beaches. Sanibel Island is also very easy to visit from this park. The park is right on the water, so there are pelicans and other birds to see here. The people staying here were mostly seasonal, very friendly, and largely over 70. The free Wi-Fi worked very well. On the negative side, the sites are extremely close together and really difficult to get into. The whole place is claustrophobic. Some of the waterfront sites are a little bigger, but some sites are like being parked by the side of the road. I don't think we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2007
$55
What a dump! The smell of fish can be smelled all over the campground! The campsites along the water are so small that our tent trailer barely fit on them! If you have a large RV, find another place to stay. The seasonal residents who are there are very unfriendly. They do not even wave to you when you walk by them. $55 dollars per night is a rip off! They do not allow campfires. It is against Lee county law! We will never come back to this place! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$44
This is a very nice park for the price. The spots are extremely small and hard to get into so I wouldn't recommend staying here for less than a week. We stayed here in a 30' Class C and I seriously wondered if we could make the turn at the far end of the campground. Two people had to move their cars so we had room to maneuver into our spot. I noticed later that some people had a park employee pull their rigs in for them. Once in your spot, however, the park is friendly, quiet, and beautiful. The Wi-Fi works very well (they have five separate Wi-Fi networks for a relatively small park). The bathrooms are clean and adequate although they seem not to be heated at all. The park essentially takes up all of a small island just across the bridge from Fort Myers Beach. There's a free trolley the runs up and down Fort Myers Beach and stops very close to the RV park. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance of the park and many more via the trolley. I would definitely stay at this park again although they really should offer cable TV, at least as an extra, since the TV reception is so bad. Also, heating the bathrooms would make showering a lot more pleasant in January. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
Most sites are waterfront and backup to Estero Bay. Beautiful views from almost all sites. Some sites are small, so call ahead if you have a big rig. Appears that they are making improvements throughout campground. All sites have concrete patio with picnic table. Roads were in bad shape with many potholes. Can walk to restaurants and the beach is only 1 mile away. It's a nice walk or bike ride especially since traffic gets very heavy going to the beach. Some sites are close to the road, but our site was far from the road and very quiet. Also, they offer free WiFi and boat ramp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$30
While this CG has very small sites, we had a very pleasant stay. We were there in late July however, so the place was nearly empty and the fact that our site was small didn't effect us. I can imagine that it would be very crowded if it were full. Our neighbors hook-up (elec., water and sewer) was barely 8 ft. from our front door - I'm glad no-one was in that site! The campground is very close to Estero Island and it's many resturaunts. It's also a very short drive to Sanibel and Captiva Islands. In all, we enjoyed our stay. The "6" rating is because of the very small sites - not much room to 'stretch out'. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com