223566 User submitted reviews online!!
Park of the Sierras (Escapees Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (559) 658-8696
CGID6847

Park of the Sierras (Escapees Only)

Camp Information
Sites
274
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   10   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$12
Rate reflects a promotional rate. This is a gorgeous park and could have been a "10" except for some minor nits. The park is set in a hilly area with sites dropped in where they could which makes for great views and lots of room between sites. The route to our site was very narrow in spots and appreciated the drive thru via golf cart first and then the golf cart leading us. Each of the areas are on septic so they definately stay here again though we would just be better prepared for the restrictions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$21
Nice park, pleasantly laid out, large sites, lots of shade. Mostly, the most friendly, helpful, and welcoming people I have ever seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
The rate shown is the daily rate ($16/day) and averaged electric usage (calculated at the end of your stay based on actual use.) This is such a pretty park. Everyone we met had a smile and welcoming words for us. The park is super organized and immaculately kept. All the work done within the park (with the exception of a couple of paid workers) is done by the park residents as volunteers. We like to walk, and found that between the roads within the park, and the trails outside the park proper, we could easily walk 5+ miles. We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
This is a nice rural park set in the trees. There area a few sites that are satellite friendly. The site we had was gravel and quite large with a nice view. You have a cement patio. Lots of bluebirds around. The road noise was barely noticeable. The roads are narrow and twisty. I'm not exactly sure how I am going to make the turn out of here when I leave. It is true that you are not allowed to use your own washing machine or dishwasher. The dog run is near the clubhouse so you may need to drive to it. They claim to have about 5 miles of roads in the park. The traffic and access to and from the park on Hwy 41 is terrible. It is like LeMans in the way the locals drive. This park is only for Escapees club members. We would return but probably would not buy into this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
The rate given above reflects the daily rate plus electricity. It was very hot while we were there, so we used a lot of electricity! This is our all-time favorite RV park. The sites, which are level, with modern, working hook-ups, are thoughtfully laid out over hilly, wooded terrain. This is a rural setting which we like. There are several areas of open space near-by, conducive for walking. The folks here are either full-time RVers, or people retired from full-time traveling, but staying here in their motor homes or fifth wheels. They are a friendly bunch and fun to socialize with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
This is a great park to be close to Yosemite. The members who live here are very friendly. Our site was a pull through, but getting to it took some doing as the roads to the different sites are quite curvy and narrow. Chukchansi casino is 1 mile up 41. We would return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$16
Probably the best layout of all RV Parks we have stayed in ever. The sites are spread out in a hilly area with lots of trees and shrubs. Even in the few parallel sites you keep your privacy. Perfect hookups, very level and good size sites. Wi-Fi was the best we ever had since one repeater was right on our site. Nice clubhouse and lots of activities. Very friendly staff and very friendly fellow campers. We stayed for nine days and would have stayed longer if it wasn't for the traffic noise from the nearby state road. It depends a lot on where your site is located in the park; there are some fully exposed to the road noise, some are very quiet. For groceries you need to drive to Oakhurst, about 16 miles away. We'll return for sure and hope for a quieter site next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
Great park in a pretty rolling hill setting. Sites are large, level and most are shaded. Nice large gated dog run with lights available for night use. Yosemite is about an hour and a quarter away. Roads from the RV park to Yosemite are in great shape. People at the park are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$16
Members only park. Wonderful, friendly, helpful people. Most site have shade. The few that don't would not recommend in the summer. Many activities to join in on...or not. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
This was our first visit to an Escapees park, and we really enjoyed it. The sites are good sized and level. You pay for electricity separately. The area is beautiful. The one thing to remember is to let the water run for a bit before hooking up to your RV or filter. There is a lot of sediment in the water, especially if the site has been inactive for awhile. If you have a washer/dryer you can't use it due to septic restrictions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
Must be a member of Escapees. Cash only. Can't use the washer and dishwasher because the sewer system can't handle it. Restrooms and showers are clean. Sites are level and built on a hill. The ground was hard and the sites are well spaced. The sites you can use are vacated by their owners. Our site access was easy but I think most of them are back in. Park roads were paved. There is internet at the club house. It is a quiet park and a little out of town. Park is well maintained by owners and volunteers. We stayed to go to Yosemite. It was too far: we put 300 miles on the car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$11
Rate reflects 50% off week's stay coupon plus electric usage for a 50 amp full hook-up site. This is one of the friendliest parks we have visited. We took the tour and enjoyed learning how the residents volunteer to maintain and staff the park. Roads were paved with steep hills and some tight turns for big rigs. Sites are large and most are gravel. Nights are very quiet and the stars are spectacular. Verizon signal and MiFi worked fine. The park gets well deserved high ratings, however, our personal preference is not so far off the beaten path. We had great difficulty trying to keep the foxtails and corkscrews off of our long-haired dogs just from walking them along the paved streets. There were lots of interesting birds and other wildlife. We would stay again, mostly because of the nice people and outstanding value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$16
We enjoyed our stay at this SKP park, which was a first, for 10 days. This is a membership/owner type park and you are renting an empty spot who's owner is not present. Clean, well laid out, friendly and a host of activities if you wish to partake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$0
We are members of this Escapees park. As full-timers, we have stayed in hundreds of parks over the last nine years, and this is the best we have seen. Huge sites scattered along winding roads, it is more like a campground than an RV park. It is true that you cannot use your RV's washing machine at your site, but there is a reason for that. As a member of the park, I know how the septic system is designed. There are actually approximately 35 separate systems, with the laundry on its own dedicated septic tank and leach field. Because bleach from the washers kills off the bacteria in the tank, that system is really nothing more than a simple leach field. Park volunteers regularly clean the filter that keeps laundry lint from the washers from clogging that leach field. Each of the other septic systems in the park is quite small and serves a handful of sites. They were engineered before RVs had washing machines in them, and they can't handle either the bleach or the water load of washing machines. The park's laundromat has excellent late-model washers and driers, and they are less expensive than I can recall seeing in any other park. We look forward to spending part of each spring and fall in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Just finished a long Labor Day weekend at this park. The rate is the daily rate, then you add actual electric usage. Staff was awesome, park was clean, facilities spotless. The park is very convenient for visiting Yosemite and the foothills of the Sierra. Also right down the street from a large casino. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$13
We paid $43 for a week, that plus electricity came to about $13 per night. (It was in the 90's during that time so we used ample electricity.) The park is gated so secure, clean and has very friendly people. Our only complaint was we couldn't use our MH washer as "would overload the sewer system" BUT they do have a laundry that no doubt dumps into the same sewer system. Guess they just want us to feed their machines quarters! Would have rated this park a ten if not for the washer deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
A really nice Escapees SKP Co-op Park about 2 hrs from Yosemite Valley. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice sites & campground. Posting to inform full-timers like us that you cannot use your RV clothes washer at the park. Laundry is excellent for such a large park. Quarters available from the front desk during working hours. Bring liquid detergent, too - no power detergent in the laundry. Rate reflects a monthly rate and includes an estimate for electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
This "Park of the Sierras" is in the California foothills just up from Fresno on the road to Yosemite National Park. It is an Escapees park for members age 55 and up. Our rate was actually $43 for the week, a special price for first time visitors which is half the regular rate of $96/week. Verizon signal and air card are very good and many sites (not all) are satellite friendly. The park is actually more of a community than an RV park as there are none of the amenities associated with an RV resort. There are no pools, spas, golf courses or stores but the community is super friendly and have many activities to which visitors are invited. We will certainly make this a regular stop on our visits to California. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$12
This was our first visit to an Escapees Park. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. We stayed for more than 2 weeks. The ice cream socials were very nice. The office folks worked with us to find a site that allowed us to get our sat dish to come in. The only negative thing that I noticed in the park was the number of loose roaming cats. I can understand it it were due to a feral cat problem, but many of the cats I saw wore collars and were obviously pets, not ferals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
We stayed for two weeks, and had a great time. The people there are very friendly and welcoming. There is a wide variation in sites, so make your preferences known when you arrive, and they will try to accommodate you. It is a beautiful park, but not your typical layout. Very hilly (too hilly to ride bikes), but some nice views and some larger sites. Be aware that it is an hour and three quarter drive to the Village in Yosemite, and it's a tedious drive, although scenic. We liked, and used, the clubhouse daily, but we missed having a pool or a spa. You certainly can't beat the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
VERY hilly. Narrow sites, just enough room for our 40 foot motorhome and a couple of chairs. Sites are on "terraces" of land, so little drop offs from one site to the next. Beautiful scenery, however. Huge activity hall, no pool. Some activities are offered. Staff was having difficulties keeping up with mowing and landscaping. Our site was so overgrown with grassy weeds we offered to weedwhack it ourselves. Terrific destination for Yosemite, which is about 20 miles away. Acorn woodpeckers all over the place and other beautiful birds. It is 28 miles from Fresno if you need a big town fix. Park is gated. Weather is more moderate due to location and protection from the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$9
This is a beautiful Escapee Co-Op park just forty miles east of Fresno, CA and twenty miles from the entrance to Yosemite. Park Sierra suffers from a lack of park maintaince and grooming. All such labor is accomplished by volunteers. . . obviously there is a need for more volunteers or the hiring of service employees. This is disappointing as this could be a truly lovely park with adequate grooming. Park residents were quite friendly. There are many, many rigs older than twenty years and not in the best of shape. We did enjoy a wonderful Easter Sunday dinner in the clubhouse with great people. There are no other amenities other than the roomy clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
This is the nicest Escapee Park we have stayed in and would recommend it to anybody and would stay here again. It is a beautiful setting and the people are very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$16
Only Escapees members can stay at this co-op. In eight years of full-timing, this is the best park we have ever visited. 254 sites in a 160 acre park in the foothills, elevation around 1,800 feet. All roads are paved. Sites are large, level gravel, mostly back-ins, with old-growth oaks and manzanitas providing shade. There is a fenced dog park. Most of the sites have members' RVs parked on them permanently, but there is not a run-down unit in the park, and sites are VERY well maintained. The park is maintained by volunteers; perhaps that's why everybody is so friendly without being clique-ish. We didn't feel like outsiders here. 50-amp power was very strong. Wi-Fi only in the clubhouse, but guest Escapees can rent a DSL modem at their site for a nominal fee. Wi-Fi is very fast; I clocked it at 5 Mbps. There is a grocery store and other services five miles away in Coarsegold. There is plus a huge casino about two miles from the park. They have very inexpensive buffets. 13 miles up the road is Oakhurst, with Von's and Raley's supermarkets and other facilities. 27 miles to Costco in Fresno. It's a pretty 1.5-2.0 hour drive to the floor of the Yosemite Valley. They claim that no Escapee has ever been turned away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$13
They claim that this is “California’s Most Beautiful and Friendly RV Park” and in my estimation it is all of this and more. I cannot say enough about the hospitality, facilities, RV sites and location. I would recommend this park to anyone going to Yosemite National Park, Bass Lake, following the 49er gold rush trail or to anyone just wanting a peaceful get-a-way! This is also a co-op community of full time RV’ers who use this park as a home base, which is probably why it is so well maintained, friendly and has so many spacious sites. You must be an Escapee to stay here, so invest in an Escapees membership (Escapees.com), $60 per year, it is well worth the investment if you come this way often. (You can stay here for up to 90 days!) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
Until now, I've never given any park a "10." If I were looking for a place to buy in and stay for a while, this would be it. From our first greeting when we arrived at the front gate, the office, the staff, the welcome crew, the neighbors - everyone was friendly, welcoming and most helpful. There are two cable channels dedicated to park events, announcements and helpful information. Sites are widely spaced and beautifully maintained. Laundry and rest rooms were immaculate. A huge clubhouse boasts a library, craft and meeting rooms, coffee bar, "garage sale/member exchange" area, indoor and outdoor seating and plentiful things about the local area and attractions. There are acres of hiking, nearby Yosemite is a magnificent side trip, and the community of Coarsegold is unique. If a casino is to your liking, it is just a mile down the highway. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Wow, this park is all they claim. Very rustic, back to nature and super quiet. Large lots, I would have given this park a 10 but they don't have pool, spa, tennis court or golf course. They do have some activities, like social hour and pot luck. Great tasting water and good pressure, strong electrical and sewer setup is good. Lots of cable TV channels. WiFi at clubhouse. Like so many have said: the folks are super friendly and warm. Lots of very steep streets to deal with. This is a working SKP park for sure. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This is a beautiful SKP coop park where members own the their spaces. We were SKP member guests and parked on an owner's spot while they were away. The utilities were all very good with the water pressure a bit high. The grounds are kept well groomed by members' volunteerism. This is a good park to travel to Yosemite NP. Shopping is close by in Oakhurst. There is a huge Indian casino close by. Our costs reflect the weekly price; electricity is charged extra at the PG&E rate. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
The roads inside the site were a little narrow. Even with our 5th wheel at 102" wide and, when hooked to our truck we are 62ft long, we managed OK. It is a gated community. Very clean and well cared for. We would definitely stop there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
This is a beautiful park, open to any Escapee RV Club member. Nestled in an oak forest, mid-way between Fresno and Yosemite. Excellent clubhouse with lots of activities for adults. Disappointed they don't have a swimming pool, but was told they are considering putting one in. Great internet, available at all sites. Nice clean laundry and shower facilities. Very friendly folks! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
If you are an Escapee, this is the park for you!! It is beautiful, some sites have lovely views. The entire park is well maintained, the interior roads are paved, the sites are generally gravel with a concrete patio pad. We really appreciated the staff member that escorted and assisted us, the road was a challenge: steep and curvy, but we made it. The site was spacious and level. My only slight negative, they do not allow you to use your onboard washer/dryer: due to the septic system. They do offer a good laundry facility, reasonably priced. We used this cg as a base to tour Yosemite. The best deal anywhere. Our daily rate is based on the monthly rate. We will return, great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
This is an exceptional RV park. It is an SKP cooperative park and quite large, and you must be a member of Escapees to use this park. All the sites are owned by individuals and vacant sites are rented to transient travelers when the owner is elsewhere. The sites are large and well separated from other sites. Some are pull-through, but most are back in sites. Roads are paved and sites have gravel. The site we stayed in was quite level. Most of the park is built on the side of rolling hills with numerous mature oak and other native trees between the sites. It is a beautiful place to stay. You must arrive before 5pm since the rules of the park require that one of the managers direct you into the site. If you arrive after 5pm, you will need to stay in one of the dry camping sites near the office. This park is gated and you must have the code to enter. As with other SKP parks we have stayed in, everyone was very friendly. The only downside is the turn off onto Road 416 from Highway 41 heading north from Fresno. This is a left turn at the bottom of a long hill and curve. There is a left turn lane and there is good visibility up the hill. However, the road (416) that one turns onto is very steep and visibility is restricted as you enter the road. Just go slow and be careful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
This park is limited to Escapees members and their guests; you rent the site of an absent owner for the $15 plus metered electric. An absolutely gorgeous park with great facilities. The park roads are paved and wind through the oaks and manzanilla. Sites are large and depending on how much the owner has added, very nice with patios, bird feeders, and other touches. The staff and residents are friendly and helpful, and you're invited to all of the activities. Good Verizon cell and Air Card, and most sites have free cable. It's almost worth the annual cost of membership just to come here. It's a special place and we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Beautiful park like setting of sites spread over 160 acres of wooded hilly campground. Very friendly, helpful staff. You have to be Escapee member to camp here. About 30 miles from south entrance to Yosemite NP. Shopping is approx. 10 miles. One of the nicest CG's we have been in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com