214909 User submitted reviews online!!
La Junta KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (719) 384-9580
CGID6899

La Junta KOA

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   5   6   10   5   6   1   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Nice park, nice helpful folks in the office. Spots are pretty tight with the pull through that was not really a pull through as there were many truck from pipeline workers parked making the exit from the spot impossible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
The Wi-Fi was pretty good at the spot we checked in. The cable TV was OK. The park is pretty cramped and filled with full timers from a pipe line. Water pressure in the morning was really low. About 15 lbs per my pressure regulator meter. Come to find out the owners were having the grass watered during the time most people would be showering in the morning. Didn't have enough pressure to shower. Hardly enough to even flush the toilet. Big price for poor basic service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
We stopped over at this KOA for one night. Not sure I would make this a multiple night stay as there is not much in the area and the facilities are pretty spare. Small playground not much in the recreation room. They have added many new sites on gravel with a picnic table on a concrete slab. The biggest issue we had is probably 80% or more of the campground is housing construction workers who have been there long term, while no one was unfriendly we felt out of place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
There is very little to pick from in this area of Colorado. We are not "KOA" types, but wanted to take in the historic parts of this area, as well as Bent's Fort, so we went with this selection. Most of the park was occupied by road crews and other seasonal workers. Also, it is obvious that much of the remaining parts of the park are "long timers." So, as you look at number of sites available, that is drastically reduced by the above "tenants." In speaking with the front desk, he virtually has only 5-8 spots to work with until September, so if you are traveling through this part of Colorado, I would strongly suggest reservations. We had to make due with a 30 amp site, as all of the 50 amp sites were taken. The pool was being redone, so it was not available. The "dog park" was small, and sandy, but made due. The office staff was very helpful and friendly!!! In fact, I needed to fax some paperwork, and they were able to do that with very little effort. The laundry room was clean but only had 2 dryers for the 4 washers, which were always busy due to the seasonal tenants. I would stay here again simply because the office staff was so helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
The man who checked us in was very friendly. We had a pull-through with electric, water, cable, and sewer. WiFi is available for free. The park is very clean and has an elaborate "dog run." There are a lot of trees and plenty of green grass The restrooms are absolutely spotless. It is in a rustic setting with a train crossing nearby. There are a lot of permanent residents who work for the highway department and leave early for work. I would happily stay in this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Park is OK. The roads and sites are gravel with shade trees. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. Very little road or R/R noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
Very tight spaces. We have a 36 foot motorhome, and, after a 5th wheel pulled in next to us, we weren't sure we could get out, the next morning without unhooking the car. We made it, but it was a close spot. It was dusty here. The best thing about it was that Walmart is next door, and also two places to dine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
The last KOA we stayed at was in 2002, the Lost Hills KOA on I-5 near Bakersfield, CA. After that experience we decided not to stay at any more KOAs. KOA stands for Keep On Adding, a 3rd person is extra, 50 amp extra,etc. We are now sorry we went against that decision. This KOA is several steps below the Lost Hills one. The sites were too short to leave the towed vehicle hooked up, and very close together. The roads were extremely dusty. We had to drive around twice because the first site we were assigned to was occupied. Several trees had branches hanging down far enough to drag on the roof of the coach. There was a tree at our site that prevented us parking in the optimum position in the site. Our vow to never stay at a KOA is renewed. we will never come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
After reading other reviews of the La Junta KOA, we were pleasantly surprised. It has a good location next to Wal-Mart. It has level gravel sites. Everything seemed clean and well kept. The staff is friendly. It is quiet at night. After seeing a room at a local hotel, we definitely made the right decision staying at the KOA. It could use some grass. The sites are a little small. The price could have been better, but we didn't have a KOA card. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Price reflects VK discount for 50 amp FHU site. As previous reviewers stated park has tight short gravel sites. We complained about low branches and were told the guy who normally trims them did not come this year. Staff was very friendly. The dog area was weeds and dirt full of grasshoppers. I walked our dog to Wal-Mart at night for fear of snakes and saw one on the street. We did not try the cable or Wi-Fi but they say they have 57 channels on cable. I think we'll avoid this one in the future unless absolutely necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Staff in office was very friendly and helpful. They recommended a very good Chinese restaurant. Short walk to Wal-Mart, restaurants and shopping plaza. Sites are very close together and not very long so park seemed crowded. Train across highway was no problem. Pool was open. Enclosed pet area. Close to downtown. Convenient to Bent's Old Fort, a National Historic site. This is the only RV park or campground in town so it has no competition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
This is the second time we have stayed here. Since 2007 this KOA has went downhill even more then it was. You just get the feeling no one really cares. The office closes early, and did not open till noon on Sunday. While I waited on the kids to shower I spent most of my time directing guests outside the office. Hopefully this place will get turned around someday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This is a small campground. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a corner site with some shade (not too much). It is mostly gravel but our site was long and wide enough for comfort. We had all of the hook-ups including Wi-Fi and cable. You can walk to the Wal-Mart and some of the other stores which are next to the KOA. We were here for two days and enjoyed the local sights including Bents Old Fort. If we are ever in this area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We have stayed here 2 times in the last 30 days, just by chance, not design. The $28 is for water/electric with the KOA discount plus taxes. Check-in staff is great. They trust you, as an adult, to find and park in your site after they mark up the site map. Others have commented on all the features such as the rec room, etc. I would like to comment on the restrooms, particularly the showers, which should be the Gold Standard for all other RV Parks to follow. The showers stalls are large and have an abundance of hot water and a nice shower head. There is dressing area with a door proving separation from the main part of the restroom. There is a very good shower curtain. There are adequate hooks for hanging towels, and clothes. There is a bench to sit on while putting on your shoes. But best of all, there is a clean plastic web mat in the shower and a clean cloth rug in the dressing area. The train tracks were no problem during our stays. Walking access to the adjacent mall is a plus in our book. Be vigilant at the campground entrance. While it is directly off Highway 50, it is on a curve in local street from the mall. Near by Rocky Ford and La Junta have 9 hole hold courses. $32 for 9 holes riding at Rocky Ford, a gold course built by the WPA in the 1920's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
A totally unexpected delight. We just saw the sign on the road and needed a place quickly. It has a big "lodge" where you can watch TV or eat your meals. They even serve a free pancake breakfast on Sundays. Staff was really nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Owners are very friendly and helpful. Site was a level pull-thru with good hookups and a clean and well maintained picnic table. Bathrooms and showers were immaculate! They have a nice recreation room, tv area, mini-golf and a sparkling pool. They served a Sunday breakfast of delicious pancakes, (try the blueberry) sausage, and biscuits and gravy, juice , donut holes and coffee. This was free, but were taking donations for a charitable cause. Only one negative and it wasn't bad but there is a railroad track across highway and I heard one train during the night but no whistle! We will return as it is only a couple of hours from home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
We thought this was a really nice park and would stay here again. Easy in and out, great staff, free cable TV, pool, game room and free wireless that worked well. This KOA is well priced and a bargain to say the least. Wal-Mart, restaurant and shopping center located in the lot next door and an easy walk. The park is all gravel with sites that we felt were plenty wide for our fifth wheel. We would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
There seemed to be as many camping in the Wal-mart a few blocks from here as there were here. There is not a lot of choices for campgrounds in the area. Friendly people, the level gravel sites are close together. This was a stop between Bents Fort, a must see, and the train ride at the Royal Gorge for us. There are reenactments in late Nov & Dec at the Fort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
The park is a nice one. It is close to highway 50 and there is a little road noise but not too bad. The noise problem was with the trains. Several pass by just across the highway at about 5 o'clock in the morning. Of course they have to blow the whistle at every crossing and you can hear it for miles. The office has a nice Christmas store and the staff are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Right next to a Walmart, use the Walmart, this place is nothing special. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com