220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Hilltop RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (251) 960-1129
CGID69

Hilltop RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   8   6   9   9   8   7   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$19
Good for one night passing through. My price reflects TT discount. Plenty of sites to choose from. Not much of a camp store, but there was a fairly big quickie mart and gas on your way to the campground from the highway. Easy on / easy off from the highway. A few people live there year round whom were nice old retired men. I didn't use their bathrooms and laundry, but they looked nice. Lots were clean where we used a pull through sight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$11
Rate is based on monthly stay. I stayed here from mid-January through April 2014. The campground is in an excellent location, just a half mile off of I-10, the camp hosts are friendly and helpful, and the location is good. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$19
The rate is Passport America. This is a nice park with well-spaced RV sites. The sites are on grass, so we used leveling boards to insure no problems. The hook-ups are in good shape looking as if they are fairly new. IIn much better shape than seen in most RV parks. This is an attractive park, and we would surely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$19
Hill Top Large park, plenty of room, easy access, great showers and a $1.50 laundry. Showers are well equipped and maintained. Only problem is the triangular corner stool is not fastened to the wall and will tilt if you put your foot on it. I had a problem getting connected on WiFi at the far NE corner of park but manager reset the system and I got on. Manager came by to check on my status. Strongest signal will be down the center line of the park as there is an antenna at the office and in the rear center. Modest number of TV channels which can be a blessing. Near by truck stop with diner is worthy of a visit. We stayed here 2 days. PA rate was $17 which is $18.53 total including tax. Regular rack rate is $26 + tax so there is a conflict with Pass Port’s claim of 50% discount. The number I put in the rate box is the total $, rounded, that it cost me to stay at that park. Some parks have low rates but then charge for all the “extras” such as 50A, WiFi, Cable, and so on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
Very nice RV park with great owners and staff. Close to I 10 and quiet. The park was neat as a pin, WI-FI worked great. Passport America rate. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
First time at this park, as we have always before stayed at a neighboring one. We were pleasantly surprised. It is very pleasant, has a nice laundry room, and the people in the office were very friendly and helpful. It is well kept. This is the Passport America price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
Great overniter, just off I-10. Nice folks at the office, will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
This was a great overnight stop east of Mobile. Easy to find, Good gravel roads and grass sites. Staff is very friendly. Quiet. Probably would work well as a base for vacationing or working in Mobile area. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$17
Yes it is out of the way, off the beaten path easy access off I-10; an easy toad commute to Mobile, Foley, and Pensacola. BUT it is very quiet and secure. It is an adult park only which as empty nester we prefer, there are no children running around & park rules are very strict and limiting on their visits. There is nothing here to entertain RV'ers but after the full days we spent out in the area attractions we did not miss that. Grass sites are level and there is plenty of space between rigs. Apparently people live here; we really never talked to a soul our 5 day stay; most visitors are out and about as we were. Either Wi-Fi was not working or it was not strong enough to pick up; used our Verizon broadband. The only draw back is that there is nothing close other than the truck stop/gas station off I-10. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
We stayed here three days thinking it would be convenient to the Gulf Shores area as well as Pensacola. Both were a bit of a hike, though worth the time. (Naval Air Museum in Pensacola is fabulous and the Gulf Shores is very pretty though touristy). The park itself is bare bones necessity, FHU and not much else. WI-FI worked "OK". No cable but enough digital antenna stations. Spots are very generous in length and grass (which was either dry and dusty or muddy). There is really no where to walk, or ride your bike, or go out to eat (closest would be a truck stop) so we pretty much headed out in the morning and did not return before dinner. Never met the owners; a camp worker checked us in after we were already hooked up. Rate was PA (which was weird because the advertised regular rate is $27, and our neighbor commented that they had paid $25/night so I don't know where the $18 came from). We would return only as a stopover if necessary. We drove by another park on the way to Gulf Shores, and I wish we had stayed there instead. Much closer to the shore and equally close to Pensacola. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$11
We stayed a month (rate is monthly w/tax) through the holidays and were very pleased. Good utilities, strong fast WiFi, good Verizon signal. Good laundry. Restrooms clean. Staff is friendly and helpful and the snowbirds staying for the winter were super friendly and helpful. We have a 40ft mh and had no trouble navigating, just take your time. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$10
$290 a month. We stayed here two months and loved it. Loved our hosts and made many new friends. There are people who live here year round. Everyone was so friendly but if you want to be left alone they respect that also. Lots of fun road trips. Our host went above and beyond any information we ask for. She was amazing. We plan on going back next year. This is so central located and the rate is so good. Near FL near cost and near Mobile. A fun fun winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
This is our second time here. Last was Nov. 09 and what a difference the time of year makes. In 09, the place was nearly empty, in Feb it's nearly packed. They found room for us just the same and honored PA to boot. Free functioning WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
We arrived at this site after a very bad experience with our last RV park and were treated very, very nice and accommodated. We had a very nice site by very caring nice people, it really brightened our day, which we greatly needed. I would highly recommend Hilltop to all, a great place, very quiet and very friendly people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$17
The rate reflects the Passport America rate. Friendly staff, centrally located between Pensacola, Mobile and Gulf Shores. Sites could hold us and the paved roads are a little tight, but workable. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$16
Passport America Daily Rate. Park is located just off I-10 and is good value for PA or monthly rate. Wi-Fi is very good but no cable TV is available. Washrooms were OK but needed to be cleaned a little better. Has many activities, and you are greeted by friendly staff. Sites are mostly pull through with grass or gravel, but if you have a really big rig it can be a bit tight. Lots to see or do in area, and would be a good choice for an extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
Nice family owned and operated campground with owner on site. Adult park with community room, laundry facilities, paved streets and gravel sites. Quiet country setting. I would stay here again if I were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2009
$15
This park is simply not for big rigs! Narrow paved roads and numerous towed vehicles impinging on traffic. Also the normal "exit" is padlocked until 7 AM.. Other than the above comments the park appears to be a very nice adult park. The Wi-Fi was excellent. Our rate was based on P.A. discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$16
Passport Rate. Good location just off of I-10. Good value at $16. Very friendly staff. Not for Big Rigs! We only made it to our site because someone moved there car. Narrow paved roads that more suitable for golf carts. We were told we would have to exit back out of the entrance when we left. Our site was all grass and we only stayed two nights. The price and location give it a 7 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
Located off the interstate somewhat, however a nice place to do an overnight. I would stay here again. The place felt very secure. A great host checked us in and was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We found Hill Top in our Camp Club USA book. We had planned to visit to another campground nearby; it was awful and we did not stay. It was 9pm when we arrived, unannounced at Hill Top. Despite the office having closed at 7pm, the owner came out to greet and help us to our campsite. The next morning, we went to the office to handle our check-in and pay. We were thrilled with the personal attention that we received. They also provided us with their weekly and monthly rates. We have been full-time since October '08; however had only stayed in one place for up to two weeks. We were so impressed with the monthly rate ($275 for 30 amp including electric, water, sewer, and Wi-Fi) that we decided to commit to the month of June. I travel with a service dog and in many places this can prove to be difficult because most people do not know about service animals other than seeing-eye dogs. Typically, I dread the conversation because it creates such hardships. I was relieved that these two owners were interested in learning more and had a true desire to help make our stay, along with my service dog, an enjoyable experience. This park has bathhouses, laundry and a nice large room that is set-up like a living room and has a lending library. We were invited to come sit with a group to watch the races. the Wi-Fi signal is very strong, even on the farthest end of the park. This is a great place for either an over-night stop or a long-term stay. I am very happy. In talking with other residents, they are also happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
This adult park has friendly staff but no ambiance. It has large pull-through sites, a very small game room, and a decent, clean laundry facility with 4-5 washers and dryers. The full-time residents keep to themselves. The owners' dogs are the only dogs permitted to be left outside unattended (in a fenced yard). Unfortunately, they bark quite a bit at anything that moves. Hilltop now belongs to Passport America. For $12/$13 a night, it's not bad as a stop-over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
This is a serviceable overnight stop off of I-10. I sure wouldn't want to stay any longer. It is just a lot with no trees or any other natural interest, filled with RVs (lots of full timers in various states). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
We had a truly wonderful stay at Hilltop RV Park. The separate bathrooms and laundry facilities were spotless and convenient; gated security and strictly enforced park rules removed any unwanted intrusions; the park hosts were super friendly and eager to make our stay a pleasure; all hookups, the free Wi-Fi, and excellent TV reception were all far better than expected. All asphalt roads, huge spacious slots with trees and a game room where everyone congregates, made this park one of the most welcoming we've ever visited. We had fun! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
The managers clique sits in the Game room every morning and evening. In the evenings there is lots of drinking and card playing. No Shade, far from anything. I will stay at Wilderness or Styxx next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
This was ugliest campground we have ever visited. Nothing for children to do. No privacy. Don't waste your time or money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We liked this park. t is right off of I-10. The only downfall was it wasn't really close to town. Other than that, it was a nice clean park. They are adding more spots as we speak. The park has paved roads with grave sites and grass. Each site has a picnic table also. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$15
Nice clean park near freeway with no noise. Stayed for two weeks and did the sites, Passport rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Kind of a Mom and Pop operation. No trees and rather expensive for the things offered. No children allowed (except temporarily). A couple of RV's were parked that looked like they had seen better days (looked like an extend stay). If you want a sleeping place I would pick Wal-Mart parking lot over this $19 a night RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com