223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Sault Ste.Marie KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (705) 759-2344
CGID6901

Sault Ste.Marie KOA

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   8   8   10   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$44
This KOA is immaculate and very well run. Some of the access roads are a little bit tight for our 36 foot fifth wheel. The campground is quite heavily wooded, so you might not be able to get a satellite connection. The laundry is very good, though a bit expensive. The owners were most cooperative while we had some truck repairs done. For a KOA, even the price is reasonable, though we selected a power and water site for a four night stay - full service is more expensive. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
We stayed at this park for 3 days and enjoyed it very much. The first morning we woke up, most of the trailers/motorhomes that had been there the night before were gone! However around supper time new campers came flooding back in, and this was what we saw daily while we were there. It has more transient campers than we've seen elsewhere so far, but it is run so well, and so smoothly, that we were not the least bit put out staying there several days. We even contemplated extending our stay, but needed to travel back towards the south. The staff is VERY friendly, willing to help, and the owner (we only met the man) was a very nice guy. They have the ability to weigh your vehicle and trailer at at cost of $50, which we did, and discovered that we were about 800lbs over on the rear axle of the truck! Very valuable service. They have an RV wash, a shared kitchen, and an agility area for dogs, all of which we did not use, but were well kept. **NB: We were treated to the sight of a bear cub on a nearby site. They apparently live-trap and release bears that come into the campground. In this area you really need to be sure that all food is stored properly. It was an AMAZING sight to see. Also, the price quoted above is the cost with a KOA members card. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$60
The best KOA we have ever stayed in, and also the best campsite in Canada thus far. Not crowded when we were there. Lovely patio with paved stones, patio set, fire pit, and swing on the deluxe site. Extremely well maintained and supervised. Friendly management and staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$65
We have travelled coast to coast through Canada and this KOA ranks high on our list of favourite parks. Very hospitable owners. Great super sites with patio furniture, fire pits. Very quiet too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Friendly staff, clean facilities and activities for kids. Campground was nice and shaded, but as tightly packed as expected for a KOA. Absolutely no traffic noise from anywhere in the park. Everyone was very friendly. One of the best KOA's I've been to. Great park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Very well run park. Nice shaded sites. Clean pool. Owners were very helpful with advice and setting up BBQ. Good space between the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Beautiful park. Mature trees, well maintained. Very clean restrooms. Pet friendly. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Owners go out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. Lots of things for the kids to do, new play area, miniture golf, fun bikes and movie night. Lots to see and do in the areaq. Had a great stay. Very quiet at night. Will be back again and will recommend it to all my friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
Typical KOA. The owners are trying hard to keep this ageing park up. Staff were friendly. We had a patio site which was nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Very nice campground: clean and friendly. Caters to dog owners with dedicated play areas for dogs. Lots to do for kids. Nice shallow pool. Location could be better as there isn't anything to do close to the campground. Bugs galore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$43
Best we have stayed in. Highly recommended. Everything is clean and the hosts are wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
We held a rally at this KOA with 27 units for a week. The owners were great, they helped with everything. Every participant was very impressed with the campground. The campground itself is located within 15 minutes of everything in the Sault. A real gem! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
KOA should send their owners here to see how to do it right. First, you start with a large enough property so your sites are not crowded, and there's room for trees, and nature walks, and big dog runs, and shrubbery. This place is great. There's no traffic or airplane noise, just birds and trees in the wind. And the hushed voices of happy campers. The interior roads are roomy and topped with fine gravel. Each site is level and has shade. Most have a fire ring. Cable TV has lots of channels, the Wi-Fi works well, and the staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. After a series of let-downs at other KOAs, this one in Sault Ste Marie, Ontario, Canada, has been a joy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
I stayed at this park on two different occasions within a 3 week period. My first stay was at a full hook-up site, which offered 50-amp power and cable service. It was located at the edge of the campground and the water pressure was poor. During my second stay, only a 30-amp / water site was available. Located closer to the office, water pressure was much better than at the previous location. Also, over the air TV reception at this site was very good. I was able to view all the major US and Canadian networks. Considering that the price for the 30-amp site was $12 less than that listed above for the full hook-up /cable site, I’d probably select a 30-amp site if I returned. I did experience a problem with dryers in laundry which required 2 cycles to dry. When I commented on this to the owner, he indicated that I was overloading dryer and offered to refund my money. What I found interesting was that that 2 other people using dryers at the same time I was had exactly the same problem. Wi-Fi signals in the park are quite good. Note that the rate given is in U.S. dollars and includes taxes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$53
One of the best KOA's we've seen. Very friendly and helpful owners, and very efficient staff. Park is clean and tidy, with good sized sites and enough trees for shade if required. Cable TV was good and Wi-Fi available at sites although it was slow sometimes. The owners are RV'ers themselves and this shows in how they run the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$59
Very nice park! Big rig easy! Two premium sites with patios. Owners are very friendly and helpful! Nice dog park(s). Clean and large pool. Great camp store. Pool table! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
This is a fine park. Clean, quiet, shady, grassy sites. Conveniently located to visit the locks, the Canadian Bush Pilot museum and other attractions on both sides of the International Bridge, it's north of town off 17N, but there is no road noise. We were warned to not leave food or trash out due to wildlife, but we only saw chipmunks...and mosquitoes. There is a nice K9 area, with an adjoining agility run for trained dogs. The only complaint I have is the rate is a bit pricey, but I suppose it's in line with other costs in Canada. Staff was very personable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
This campground is one of the better ones we've used in our 2+ month trek. I agree with all of the recent previous reviews. We used the RV wash, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
Outstanding campsite in all areas. Very cooperative and helpful staff. The facility is well laid out, very clean. The washrooms are excellent. A quiet setting, not too far from town. Wi-Fi was adequate. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
One of the better maintained parks with level sites, gravel and asphalt road ways, plenty of activities to occupy most everyone. Wi-Fi worked exceptionally well - very responsive. Shade provided by mature trees that are well cut back to avoid damage to units. Good water pressure and power was in good working order. Well located for sight-seeing. Only staying one night but if schedule permitted would stay longer; have stayed here before and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$52
Among the best of KOA I have stayed in. A very nice venue. Well kept and clean. Large sites with fire pits. The owner even gave us firewood. There is a wash station for your RV including big rigs. Trees are spaced so they are no problem for your rig. Sites are level, the store is good. Staff was definitely customer oriented, friendly, and helpful. Would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$44
Only stayed for one night on the way to Tobermory. The campsite is very convenient to Sault Ste. Marie and Provincial Route 17. Still the feeling is as if you're way out in the country. Sites are gravel and fairly level. It rained a lot the night we were there with relatively few puddles. The Wi-Fi signal was very strong at our site although I heard others complain of a weak signal. The balance of the facility seemed well maintained and the store was well stocked. Also had a nice laundry. We’d certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$67
A little higher priced than our other stays, but I hear KOA's are more expensive. Very nice campground; we were even able to wash our Motorhome for .30 cents per foot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$43
Price was for a full hook-up - which you have to have if you want CATV - with the KOA discount. This park certainly deserves a better rating than the ‘6’ given previously; in my opinion an ‘8’ is more appropriate. We arrived in the pouring rain and the workers still were out in their slickers cleaning up the fire rings, and raking the sites used the night before. The check-in girl was friendly and helpful, and she assigned us a great private site. The WIFI, although rated ‘weak’ by my laptop, was fast and dependable from the motor home; the Laundromat was clean, efficient and reasonably priced; the restrooms were clean and modern; the cable TV offered 57 channels, all clear. The pool wasn’t yet open but seemed about normal KOA size. Altogether a very satisfying stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$46
Signage to campground good. Rustic style campground. Large area to park and register. Office friendly and efficient. Escort to site. Part wooded and part open sites which were gravel and flat. Overall site width a little narrow. Services for hook-ups in correct location. Solid electricity and good water pressure. Good infrastructure. Access roads well maintained but narrow particularly on corners. Good for overnight stop but as always KOAs are expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com