215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Hillsdale State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (913) 783-4507
CGID6917

Hillsdale State Park

Camp Information
Sites
259
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   7   7   9   6   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Very nice park with overall excellent facilities. We stayed here for 5 nights over July 4th. Only negative was shower water temperature regulation: hot or cold. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$19
Be Aware you will be required to give your Social Security Number for the KS park system. This is a lovely state park located near Olathe KS. Sites are level and very roomy. We stayed in Scott Creek Section. Site was a very spacious back-in with water and electric. No Sewer; however, there is a new double dump station close by. The park is very large with many areas as well as new construction on more sections. Facilities include restrooms, showers, laundry room, marina, boat dock, and covered picnic structures. The only drawback is this is a rural area & the signs etc. were poorly lit at night. Otherwise, it's a solid 10. Look forward to staying here again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$19
We paid $16 plus $6.50 plus $3. The park was nice enough with good walking trails, but I did not like having to give my Social Security number. They say they want to find people who owe child support (a 77 year old female from out of state?). The bridge was out, but there were no warnings and no information or directions for an alternate route. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
Like staying at this park. A number of big changes in the past year though. First and foremost is you must give a social security number (or its Canadian equivalent) to get a camping permit and your number is run through a computer. Although I had no problems, if you have an arrest warrant active in Kansas or owe child support steer wide and clear of the campgrounds as Rangers and State Troopers are never far. I would think this arrangement would add to the safety. They have also added a second well designed dump facility closer to the Scott Creek Campground. Used and its great. Also lake level is down 4-5 feet and shows no sign of coming up anytime soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
The Good: We had business in Olathe, and this park was reasonably close (there didn't seem to be many other options). The drive in is a bit further than we'd like but the roads are nice and traffic wasn't bad. Sunrises over the lake were pretty and we enjoyed the geese and ducks that were around. We did a bit of mountain biking on the trails, and appreciated the quiet & darkness at night. Our Verizon air card connected well for internet service. Our back-in site was large and level with a nice view over the water. We were there out of season. None of the gatehouses were manned, and we were not asked to buy any additional entrance passes. The Bad: Awkward placement of bathhouses to campsites. They seemed to assume we'd drive up rather than walk. The most direct walking route was through other campsites (no path) to the rear of the bathhouse. We were there a bit "after season" and the bathhouses weren't being kept up as well. The water level on the lake was down, so it wasn't a nice walk along the waters edge but muddy instead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
I stay at Hillsdale State Park campground a couple of times a year. More specifically at Scott's Creek campground. It is close to home and allows me to camp with my son on a short weekend without having to travel to great a distance. The campground is very clean, it sits right on the lake and has nice level gravel pads. There is a new playground that is fun for the kids and walking trails close by. It stays open year around and the camp host told me the water is almost never turned off. There are three 50 amp sites but the majority of them are 30 amp with water. The host told me they will be building a new campground that will be offering full hook-ups but not sure when they will be completed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
The rate is $20.50 per day but you also need to pay a daily access fee of $4.20. If you are going to stay at least 6 days, then a annual park pass for $24 is the way to go. We camped in the Scott Creek campground. Previous reviews said that the park was clean. I disagree. No one cleaned up after their dog so there was dog waste all over the campground. The campground seemed very trashy with plastic bags and paper in the weeds, cigerette butts and bottle caps all around the campsite. There was one campsite near the lake where the bushes had been used as a bathroom as evidencd by lots of toilet paper all over the ground. I was staying here to visit my son in Olathe. Next time I'll look for another place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
Very clean with easy access. We stay here when ever we are in the area. Haven't had a problem with noises. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Rate reflects their winter pricing and includes the camping and park daily fee. We were in the Scott Creek loop. Gorgeous park built on a reservoir. Our site overlooked the water. Sites have water and 50 amp electric. No sewer sites. Lots of biking and hiking trails. Amazing natural setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
I am only speaking of the Scott Creek Campground, one of 5 units at Hillsdale SP. Efficient host. Has several lakefront sites on a dead tree arm of lake that make it easy to use a kayak or canoe. Most of the sites in unit are open sky. Unlike a lot of public campgrounds, no streetlights so starry nights abound. The Scott Creek unit is the second least used so getting a site on a non holiday weekend is easy. A mere 15 minutes from Olathe and all necessities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
This is a non reserve State Park about 30+ miles south west of Overland Park. We camped here and drove back and forth. It was a pleasant drive. The weekends are packed. Try the ribs at Hillsdale Bank BBQ. There are trails to walk or bike. After viewing the closeup campgrounds, we would stay here again. You will need a state park sticker, $4.50/ night or $24 annual. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com