214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (904) 249-4700
CGID694

Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park

Camp Information
Sites
293
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   9   7   7   7   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
Very nice city park. Very easy to get in and out in spite of all the trees. Sunday night the bathrooms needed cleaning and some repair. We was there four nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$40
This campground provides a nice secure setting for staying in Jacksonville. Guard gate is manned most of the time. We thoroughly enjoyed the bike riding, both paved and other. Tree cover is pretty heavy, making satellite TV difficult, not to mention the opportunity to scratch your RV getting in and out of your site. It'spretty tight in some places. Some sites are not very level, but manageable. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
As posted in my prior review, this is a wonderful park at a very reasonable rate. When making reservations you must view the online campground map and assure you are given an adequate sized site for your RV by the hourly female office workers. We were assigned a 40 foot site for our 38' RV. We couldn't even get in the site, and would have had nowhere to park our tow vehicle. We saw several others arrive with the same issue. We would certainly stay again, but will always double check our site assignment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
We especially appreciated North Florida in January. Temps were cool, perfect for campfires and bike riding. Similar to October in PA. Sites are relatively large, surrounded by oaks and palmettos. Raccoons were common. What was really nice was the park was virtually empty! We had the place to ourselves to ride bike all over the park roads with almost no traffic. My wife liked that. The biggest attraction for me was the world-famous mountain bike trails that go around the park. I had never done that before and I want to go back and do it again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Nice wooded sites, but most are not level. We stayed at 271 and it was a pain. Camp store is closed, as of this date. Restrooms and showers are clean, but tired. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This campground has some nice and not so nice features. The main roads are wide but there are lots of overhanging tree limbs, and we snagged quite a few of them. The roads in the actual campground are okay but on the narrow side. Again, lots of overhanging tree limbs. We were in site 279 and it wasn't close to level. Took us several attempts and blocking the front tires to even things out. Unfortunately for us, there was a Nor'easter passing through and we had torrential rain and wind for three days. The sites are not paved so it was pretty messy. The sites do offer a fair amount of privacy with lots of vegetation. There is easy access to the beach, hiking and biking. The beach isn't the prettiest one I've ever seen but it was close by. Overall, it was very quiet with a few overhead helicopters during the day. I'm not sure if we would stay here again or not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Very shady park - if you want sun this is not the place. Very nice for summer heat - buggy though, so be prepared. Close to beach, 1 mile walk, great parking at beach though. Great bike trails, and lake for canoeing. Avoid site 98,99,100 - low and watery if rains. Look for sites that are not with the tent crowd if you want less activity. We were in 37' 5th wheel, some areas very tight, be picky about where you stay. They change the gate codes on Tuesdays and may not mention this until you get to the gate. Will go back in fall or spring We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$26
Delightful municipal park campground. Full hookups. Dirt sites were not level. Many amenities including beach and lake within easy walk, hiking trails, and picnic areas. Firepits at sites. Camp store was closed. Campground had gate securing it from rest of park. A good place to hold a rally, we were with an Airstream group. We enjoyed our stay and may return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Kind of hard getting in and out on the campground interior roads. Very narrow and very sharp turns. If I was any longer I would have been scraping trees going around corners.Forget the satellite with all the tree cover. I did expect the antenna to work being so close to the city, but I didn't get any channels. Large site and even larger mosquitos. Huge beach access and parking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
I have reviewed this park several times before, but am again. No question it is a great park. Several improvements have been made. The electrical systems have been improved in many sites. One of my previous complaints has been removed. Since 9/11, the Navy base had been doing continuous helicopter flights around the adjacent Navy base as part of the security and the did make some noise (at several thousand feet). That is gone now. The area was hit a week before by tropical storm Bryl the week before, but things were generally cleaned up in the campground. There are many nature trails and some had limbs down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
The campground was in the middle of having all the electrical work done and completed sites were in a total mess, the ground has not been raked to level the sites, branches and twigs laying everywhere, the dirt on the sites were not packed down. I expected them to be cleaned up if that is what the workers there are supposed to do and not sit in their golf carts in the campground talking to one another. The campground looked like a dump. If the workers spent time cleaning this place up it could be making a lot more money. Hope something is done real soon to fix the major problem of the workers slacking off. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
A definite 10 if not for some tricky access, tight turns and low hanging limbs and vines. It's OK, but gets your "pucker factor" going. The park is beautifull and sits under a dense canopy of live oaks with spanish moss. That rules out satellite but we got plenty of stations over the air. There are also plenty of Red Boxes in the area. They are in-progress on upgrading all sites to 50amp right now and the park is very well maintained in general. Security is good with coded gates and guards. The sewer ports are strange, with a riser that comes up and turns parallel to the ground, so have some way to get your hose up and situated to drain well. We'd definitely stay here again. Also, it is only 15 minutes to Mayo Clinic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
One of our favorite parks that we have stayed at. This is a great park and a spectacular value! Beautiful setting, gated and secure, sites are one block from the ocean, and reasonably priced. Access to and in the park was easy for our larger RV, although we worried if we we were headed to the right place as some of the surrounding neighborhood is not the greatest. Staff was friendly and we enjoyed walking around the park's nature trails, lake, and of course to the ocean. Lots of mountain biking trails in the park. Clean and attractive sites and park grounds. Not only would we definitely return, we cant wait to return here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This park is owned and run by the City of Jacksonville. It is a gem! Roads are paved and sites are gravel/sand and quite level. Good walking areas. There is a campground store/restaurant at the RV entrance, but we did not use it. A word of caution. There are trees and lots of them. Unhitch at the main registration area and drive (if towing) to plan your moves. We did OK with the 42' motor home, but pre-planning was essential. You will do OK, but check the campground route and your site. Everyone (staff and campers) were extremely friendly. Without question we would stay another few days on a future trip to the area. Sites have picnic tables and fire rings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Best kept secret on the East Coast. Very nice park. We camp here at least once a year. Very wooded with a natural look. Most sites are divided by natural growth. 50 amp sites are limited, but we have had our 40' on most of them. Some sites are not level but are doable. Facilities are dated but are maintained well. Restrooms and showers are also dated but kept clean as long as you remember you are on the beach and sand is everywhere. Sand gets tracked into the restrooms. Best part is how quiet the park is and how close you are to a fabulous beach. Staff and host campers are friendly and do most anything to keep campers happy. There is a small store. Close to all supplies, restaurants, groceries, movies, etc. Military BX and Commissary within a mile and is off base. Excellent value especially if you like the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We enjoyed the park. Limited access to rigs 40 foot and over. Our 42 foot rig had difficult maneuvers to leave park. Sites are not level but manageable. Location is best feature and good access to Atlantic Beach. We would stay again but check out sites prior to driving rig into park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Very beautiful park with many wonderful spots. Some of the staff could be a little nicer but we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$34
This was our second trip to this campground. Again we spent a week here. The park is starting to show its age. While there, there was a power outage which lasted twelve hours. Two days later a water main broke which put us without water for two days. While fixing the water problem, a power line was cut, again no electric for almost another day. After speaking with the park manager, the City has set aside funds to upgrade everything in the park. Hopefully this will start sometime this year. The park staff was accommodating during all these problems. The management seemed to work hard to get the City of Jacksonville to fix the utilities. They even agreed to refund some of our money, even though this is a NO REFUND park. The campground hosts are constantly driving the area and were helpful during our entire stay. Law enforcement was present during much of our stay. They patrolled the main road, which is also used by hikers and bikers. I saw countless traffic stops during our stay. It was comforting to see their visibility. They also patrolled inside the campground. As for the facilities, in spite of their age, everything was clean and in working order. The beaches were well maintained. All staff we encountered were helpful and courteous. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$26
This is a very nice county park. First the good parts. The price is reasonable for a full hook up spot. Some rows are 50 amp. The sites are good size, and there are lots of places to walk the pets. They have more campground hosts than I have ever seen at any other park, but they keep it very clean. Lots of easy beach access not far from the campground. The not so good: The sites are dirt and can be muddy in the rain. They are also well worn and some are sloped a lot from one side to the other. Bring blocks. Satellite reception may be difficult due to the heavy tree canopy in many of the sites. It was winter so the bugs were not an issue. I stayed here again a week later and still loved it. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We thoroughly enjoyed this park. It is within walking distance of the beach and is a very beautiful park. We enjoyed shelling and riding our bicycles on the beach. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Excellent camping experience for grandparents with 8 and 11 year olds in tow. Courteous and helpful staff. Bike trails, wave bobbing, beachcombing at loooong beach with lifeguards, campfires and walks made the lack of TV a total non issue. The week went by too quickly for this great park in the trees. Felt like a wilderness park, but with all conveniences very close. A little tight on the loops, but we had a huge spot. Sandy soil, bring two welcome mats! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is our campground of choice when visiting family in Jacksonville. With the live oaks, palm trees and palmettos, it’s like living in a tropical jungle. The roads are paved, campsites are sand. This 300-site campground is part of a beautiful park along the ocean; only campers are given the code into the campground. Some campsites are adjacent to a lake. Weekends can be noisy. Mosquitoes are bad in summer. We don’t have pets and don’t stay for more than 2 weeks so don’t have a problem with campground restrictions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Loved this park! Apparently its the best kept secret in Jacksonville as there were only about 30-40 sites being occupied most of the time we were here. We were here for 8 days. GREAT access to the beach. Beaches inside the park have lifeguards, which was so nice. The water fountain park was open while we were here but its geared for children under 52 inches. Campground hosts were very friendly and visible throughout our stay. Bathrooms were cleaned daily. Excellent park for bike riding. MANY trails. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
What a wonderful place to camp with your family!! You can walk or ride your bike to the beach, and there is a lake on the property. We never lacked for anything to do. Our only complaint was one staff member was a little rude to us, but other than that an outstanding stay. And we camped for a week! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
This is a well-run, clean campground. Sites are fairly level, sand. The roads are narrow, paved. 50-amp electric was good. The park is a tropical jungle, so don't even think of satellite TV. Even local TV from the antenna was iffy. Camp hosts don't interact with campers but office staff is very friendly and helpful. Restrooms are old, but clean and checked frequently. Our Verizon broadband worked well. We enjoyed the easy access to the beach and biking in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Really nice park. The park has many activities for campers, as well as day-tripers. There are several beach areas and while we were here they were never crowded. There is a nice play area which has a playground, volleyball courts, kayak rentals and a kids waterpark, which is closed this season. There is a fresh water lake which is well stocked. There are miles of bike and hiking trails which appeared to be very popular. As for the campground, the roads are a bit narrow, but the sites are quite nice. Did take a little work to back our 36' TT in the site, but not impossible by any means. Many of the sites are pull-throughs. Each site has a fire pit and picnic table and most all appeared fairly level. The camping area has a gate which only allows registered campers and guest entry. A small camp store is on site; just the basics though. The store also sells hamburgers, and such, along with ice cream. The campground hosts were always out working and driving the area. The bathrooms appeared clean. Management is visible and was seen driving the park on several occasions. The Jacksonville Sheriff's Office was seen numerous times patrolling the park which made you feel very safe. The park staff was very friendly. We can't wait to come back to this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
The only complaint I really had of this park was the unlevel sight. The bathrooms were clean, heated and always enough hot water. We received a significant amount of television stations over the antenna. Great access to the beach. We will return here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We stayed here for the first time. We stayed at site 293. After riding through the park, it was the best site. It had a concrete slab and was situated on a hill. The ocean was close and it had a few playgrounds near by. It's s big park with lot's of shade. If you stay there, request lot 293. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
This park was great in many ways. There were play grounds for kids, easy beach access and good beaches with lifeguards. There were bike trails through the woods and hiking trails too. All were well kept and marked plainly. Most sites were pull through. The staff was helpful and friendly and available. Looking forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
This is our favorite "local" park. City owned and maintained. Spots can be small, at times. No pads, very "nature" oriented. Good security. TV reception can be spotty, due to the extremely large tree canopy's. I would guess 98% of spots have tree coverage. You can walk to the beach in 5-10 minutes, depending on your location in the park. Reservations are required and I would recommend getting them far in advance, as this park fills-up during holidays and the Kingfish Tournament, in the mid-summer. A fine park that has provided my family with many fond memory's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed one night in Hannah Park. This was a lovely RV park. We had a nice pull through site. The area is densely treed which makes for a very nice spot. We were unable to use the satellite for this reason but that is ok with me. The trees were wonderful. This park has beach access with a moderate walk. There are nice playgrounds for the kids. The country store left a little to be desired. Not much in there. There is an ice cream store. The bathrooms were ok. The floors were slightly muddy. We would definitely camp here again. Its such a beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This was our first time to stay here. We arrived on Wed. and the park was not crowded, but by Saturday, sites were fairly full. Our site was not level and we had to pull in at an angle where we couldn't use our awning, but that was not a problem. Electrical amperage was good and no problem with water pressure. Dog walking was adequate and for the most part everyone kept their dog on a leash. I would have rated this park higher if they had level sites and Wi-Fi access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Very nice city park. One of the best we've stayed at in a long time. Very friendly staff - -would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
I have stayed at this park before and rated it highly. It is a wonderful park, but this time, we made a mistake in going there over President’s day weekend, and it was full of kids. We had a site directly across from the restroom and there was a slope in the pavement that was in constant use by skate boarders. We were usually out sightseeing during the day, but they went on well past the 10PM quiet hour. Wonder where the parents were. We didn’t say anything, but will certainly not get anywhere near the bathroom in future stays. We were in site 196, and probably at least 8 other nearby sites would have been bothered by the noise. Go here, but be careful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
This was a very clean park with adequate size spaces. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
This is a beautiful park that reminds you of parking in the jungle with all the tropical plants. It is in easy walking distance of the beach and has many hiking and biking trails. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$31
This campground was a true delight to stay at. It is located within walking/driving distance of the beach, where we spent a lot of time at. The campground itself is full of gorgeous live oak trees which gave each site a lot of privacy. The roads were nicely paved. The store had basic supplies and ice cream. Laundry facilities were very reasonable-$1.25 to wash and the same to dry a load. The staff was friendly. We fit our 42' fifth wheel in our spot, which was not even a big rig spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
$27 plus tax and bed tax . Two hundred ninety-three sites plus some cabins. All sites come with electricity, water and sewer. This is a county park which is huge. They have a beautiful drive-in where the park itself has picnic areas, disc golf, boating, nature trails, bike trails, and miles of beaches and lakes. The campground itself has a punch in code entrance which is also used for the restrooms. The main road has street signs (small little green signs) with every loop having a letter from A to V. There are restrooms for every three loops, laundry area, camp store, covered hall as well as amphitheater and a lake pavilion. No swimming in the lake only in the ocean – resident alligator. It is a very nice campground and there are sites for big rigs but the roads in the campground are narrow. While we were there a caravan of big rigs came in and were all placed in the K loop. Follow your GPS because it went over bridges that my maps did not even show and we were in the campground before we knew it. When we drove in there is a naval base also and I thought we were coming into the naval base; but no, we were on the right track. Check-in was friendly, quick, and the campground hosts were all nice. They make rounds to check the campsites and there is a resident police officer that lives right near the gate of the campground. All the sites are in the woods mixed with palm trees and most sites are huge. There are some stray cats, raccoons, owls and lots of birds. You would never know that you are near a city like Jacksonville. We were the only campers in our area. May is a good time to camp because spring break is over and there were not many campers. One of the hosts said they don’t get too many snowbirds because they can’t stay for over a month but they do get families on spring break, weekends and in the summer. An interesting campground well worth checking out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Roads are hard to navigate between the trees and narrow road. Loud music played till 12 midnight & people partied til 1 am, when quiet time started at 10pm. water park is only for kids 6 and younger, the beach across from the campground is your pool. They need a pool! Sites need to be kept up, looks like the trees are taking over. Staff was real nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
We had stayed at this campground just over 2 years before for two nights and decided to go back. The rates had almost doubled. The park has some good pull through sites on the first row but would not be good for long, big rigs. I could not make the turn to get out from site 14 and had to back out and go around the loop with a 30' fifth wheeler. Lots of trees! Lots of mosquitoes this time! I didn't see any of the wild feral cats wandering around like the last time so they must have had a round up. No real campground Internet access however, I think I tapped into the campground store one when they were open. If you like the beach it is a short pedal bike ride away. I'm not sure if I would want to leave my truck parked near the beach parking because it seems very isolated and a potential target for thieves. Would we go back again, only to do some fishing and when the bugs are not bad. Seemed a bit high on the price for a city run campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
This park is a bit of paradise close to the city! All the sites are tree covered and beautiful. A few sites have a limited water view of a small fishing lake. The park also includes a mile or so of ocean front access across the street from the campground. There is a lot of day usage of the ocean area, so the security in the campground is pretty tight. The park is owned and run by the city of Jacksonville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
This park is laid out well and has ready access to the ocean, to a small lake, and to bike trails. The camp store was well stocked and security seemed very good. Tents were mingled with RVs and trailers. Shades trees covered most sites and so even in the heat of day, it was cool. Down side, and reason for less than 10: a) Getting a hold of them was difficult. I called continually for over 5 hours to get a reservation and since it was long distance, that was a pain. b) Roads in the campground are narrow and winding. We have a 26' RV and went into a 40' site. Have no idea how bigger rigs would get in and out. c) Since you are not supposed to bring in your own firewood, we bought ours at the camp store. It was pine and very green. Had trouble getting it lit. Overall it was a great spot and wish we had longer to stay. For proximity to beaches and Jacksonville, it is great, even though it may be a bit high priced considering the condition of roads and sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$31
We arrived in Florida a day ahead of schedule and needed a place to stay for one night. We lucked out and got a site on a Saturday night in March. We absolutely loved this place. Lovely campsites a short bike ride to the ocean beach. The sites are large, roomy, private, and beautiful. Did I mention that it has full hook-ups? We were happy to pay the $31 and considered it a bargain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
Very nice beach, easy lake access. The dogs had a blast!! Staff was friendly, sites were large. Easy drive also to area attractions, and camp hosts were great with giving directions! We had a coupon from a local paper that saved us some money during our four night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
Very nice park. A very nice white beach is just a short walk (ten minutes or less) with swimming, fishing and sun bathing. Bike friendly with trails and and paved roads to investigate. Our site was large could have parked 3 extra cars if needed. Most all of the sites were tree covered. No WiFi and unable to use Satellite TV but this is a great place. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
We stayed at Hanna Park during the week when mostly long-term seasonal campers were our neighbors. The park and campground are very beautiful and the campsites are fairly private, although close together. Most sites are pull-through. They are dirt/sand sites with a picnic table and fire ring. We loved the natural setting, but the dirt was a bit of a mess when it rained. The beach area is gorgeous with a very gentle slope toward the water. The lake is pretty, and there are a few sites on it, but the side with the playground is on the opposite side from the campground. The beach and lake playground are at least 1/4 mile away, and since my husband took our only vehicle to work every day, it took a little planning to get there and back. Bicycles would have made this easier. The sites closest to the campground entrance are closest to the beach and lake playground. Our children were made to feel welcome, as was our dog. Disposal bag dispensers for pet wastes were located throughout the park. Our dog was allowed on the beach. The camp store prices were reasonable but it is a small store with limited item selection. Their hours were limited and somewhat sporadic during our stay. We were still grateful it was open at all, since it saved us a trip out several times. Bike rentals were $5 an hour. The office personnel were efficient and friendly except for one occasion when I had to call and request the new bathhouse code. They made a point of insisting that they had informed us about the change, when in fact they had not. No big deal, but the lady came across as being defensive when I was not being accusatory. Like I said, no big deal. The host campers were very friendly and helpful, especially to our kids. One host couple gave our daughter a big bag of peanut brittle, just made by some of the ladies in the kitchen of the little activities building on site. The only reason I did not give Hanna a 10 rating is the age of the facilities. The bathhouses are obviously old, but for our family that really wasn't a problem since everything worked. They were kept reasonably clean, and any dirt involved was just that -- dirt and sand tracked in on the floors. During our stay they were cleaned and restocked daily. We had one complaint, though. It was getting down in the 40s at night, but the bathhouses weren't heated. That made for a chilly early-morning shower for my husband, who was working during this trip. We used the laundry facility once and although they could probably use a few more washers and dryers, we had no problem getting our laundry done. All things considered we were very pleased with Hanna Park and would definitely go back, especially during the off-season when it isn't crowded. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$26
This is a beautiful location, among old Florida vegatation and within walking distance of the ocean. There are some 50 amp sites but most are 30 amp sites. The rate was the discounted winter rate. However, the campground was in much worse condition than past visits. Some of the problems included dirty restrooms and sites, restrooms and sites that needed repairs, poor interior road conditions (pot holes and large drop offs along road sides), poor and unsafe electric outlets (our neighbors arced and burnt up their plug) fewer host campers available to help, new management rules that made no logical sense,and some unfriendly/indifferent office staff. The rates were raised a couple of years ago but the funds certainly did not go to campground upkeep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$32
Hanna Park would be considered out home park. It is just a 10 minute drive from our house. We had a great weekend. The restrooms could use a little work but our overall experience was good. We have already planned to return on Feb. 8th. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
This is a beautiful park with heavily wooded sites, bike and hiking trails and a beach within walking distance. Most of the sites are easy to access. We bring our truck camper here because the large number of tress make navigating a large RV difficult. That said, I see larger motorhomes and fifth wheels there. We have camped here 4 times in the last 2 years and have enjoyed it every time. I have noticed some rowdy tent campers on weekends, but for the most part the camp is quiet. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
We have been campers at Hanna for almost 20 years and the old gal is beginning to show her age. The staff was very young and must be city employee's who cared very little to the paying customers. We arrived on Wed and the dumpsters were full and the camp ground empty. By Sat the campground was full and so still were the dumpsters. Staff was more concerned with over sized children in the playground than open beverage violations in plan view. If this park was anyplace but along the beach it would be out of business in no time. Since we love the beach and it's close we will send e-mail to the city managers and return again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
This is a very nice park. We camped here for 4 days and enjoyed every bit of it. Easy access to the beach. There is a lot of sand at the sites, and some of then take a little bit extra to get level. This was a return visit for us and we would come pack again. The campground hosts are friendly and helpful if you need help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
Camped there the last week of April 2007. The site we reserved and used was large and level. We did notice several stray cats but they were not a bother. Would highly recommend staying there and will stay there again in the future. A lot of trees, vegetation and over head canopy, made the camp sites cool even on sunny 80 degree days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
We camped here after camping in an expensive RV park in the Keys, and this was just as nice, if not nicer. The site was very large, plenty of space to park our pick-up truck, open our slide, and enjoy the picnic table. We found the park very clean, friendly, good laundry facilities, and quiet. The beach was huge and almost empty, and we took our dogs on leashes, and had a wonderful time. Overall, we would rate this campground a 9.5 out of 10, the only thing it needed was a better camp store, We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$33
Great CG. Easy access to the beach, fishing pond, paddle boat, kayak and canoe rentals. Small water park for young kids. Shady camp sites. Friendly workers in the office. Helpful camp hosts. Beats out many we've visited. Would love to return soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$23
This 450 acre park is owned and operated by the city of Jacksonville and is absolutely beautiful. Our site was a ways from our neighbors and very wooded. There are 14 miles of trails (biking and hiking) and we spent lots of time hiking and walking on the beach (4 miles of pristine beach). The staff was very friendly and even had a $2.00 pancake breakfast on Monday morning and always had free coffee and newspapers. They go the extra mile. Our site was a little uneven, but not a problem. There was no cable TV, but we don’t watch it much anyway. No WiFi. The one slight negative we had was the Naval aircraft carrier base about 5 miles away always had up a helicopter or two (I guess looking for terrorists.) and even at about 2,000 feet up they made some noise. Nothing that was a bother though. Showers and bathrooms were modern and clean. They have many located through out the park. We will definitely make a return trip. I recommend approaching the park from A1A South or North to avoid the big traffic through Jacksonville. From the North you can take a neat ferry ride for $3.00 across the intercostals waterway. There is a great fish house called Safe Harbor Fish company that buys all the local commercial catch and also has a small restaurant on the side. Very good and fairly cheap. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$22
This is a gem. If fishing is Your Game than this is the place. I gave it a 8 only because the roads in the park are very narrow and hard to negotiate with a large rig. Sites are spacious and private. The Host that we talked to was gracious and kind. There are many stores two miles or less from the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$33
The park is very nice, clean, and staff was helpful. Other reviews said there was a lot of stray cats. We did not have a problem with cats, it was Racoons! I do think they need to do something to control the amount of racoons because they are so tame, they just walk right up to you. We had to make sure everything was put up even if we just walked to the restroom. The lake was great, you can rent paddle boats, lots of playgrounds for the kids. There is hiking trails and biking trails. The access to the beach is biking distance from the campground, we found lots of shells. We will definitely visit Hannah Park again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$31
We camped here this June and last year in September. Great sites, very dog friendly, dogs are allowed on the beach and the campground has clean-up bags in containers at each rest room and at the beach to use. Very handy. It is a walk to the beach so we drove across the road, lots of parking. Site 293 is the best in the park but also site 46 and on that row is very roomy with trees for privacy. We had 290, not that great and 152 not that great either. Good seafood restaurant and seafood market in Mayport. They have cleaned the park up since September. There were lots of cats, raccoons and armadillos all over but this year we didn't see any. No alcohol allowed in the park or beaches but we did see evidence of it. We like this park a lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
We had heard wonderful things about this campground, and it certainly could be just that wonderful, but it isn't. The park is beautiful; the ocean is wonderful; the sites are nicely situated. But, the mosquitoes, in January no less, rival those we remember from Wisconsin! Worse than the mosquitoes are the feral cats. There are at least 10 that we saw, and they hang around outside your rig every night and whine to be fed and let in. We're told that some of them have been neutered, but there are far too many, leading me to believe that some are reproducing. We tow a white convertible and every morning we'd wake up to dirty paw prints all over the car, the windshield, and the roof. This is an active adult park in the winter, with an active seasonal community and I can understand why some folks return year after year to spend time with friends. But as a campground for those who are travelling, this one is nothing special. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
The campground itself was great. The only downfall was our site was right by the tents. The noise/party level went well on until after midnight and because our children were with us, we felt a little uncomfortable. Drive through security would have been great. The security man at the park gate was very nice and helpful and when we told him about the problem he apologized and told us to let him know if we had anymore problems. We will definitely go again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$18
Great city park! We camped next to the lake. The rules say stays are limited to 14 days but we noticed a sign saying at the discretion of park management you might be allowed to stay longer during winter months. It was obvious many people had been there since the Christmas holidays. The staff was friendly and we saw three sites marked for campground "hosts". Coffee hour, activities and free dial up service for internet connection is available at the recreation hall. Nice clean laundry area. Beach access is across the road from the camping area (not within walking distance) you need to bike or drive. Lots of good hiking and biking trails. Many pets and children but quiet hours were observed. Big trees and lots of shade, do not expect your satellite TV to work. Camp store had assortment of necessities along with ice cream and small restaurant. Entrance to park and some turns in campground are very narrow. Go slowly and carefully and most big rigs will be fine (would not recommend for big bus conversions). We would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2005
$21
We really enjoyed our week here and agree with most everything others have said. Would consider this a family type campground except for a couple of park hosts who growled at our boys for minor things. Mostly the camp hosts were friendly and helpful. They have a few planned activities (mainly for adults). Loved the Tuesday morning pancake breakfast. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$16
First time here, we loved this park. Beach is about 1/2 mile away, but within the park itself. We road all the off road biking trails as well as paved road all over the place. We had an end site that was near the lake, and you can launch your canoe/kayak from many places in the park. You can rent peddle boats there also. Kids have a play area. Has a little grocery store and an ice cream shop right at the campground. Our little doggie loved the beach as dogs ARE allowed on the beach. We had a great time. Will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Beautiful park lots of trees small walk to ocean Restaurant & Store on site. Plenty of walking trails and also biking trails. Lake on site you can rent canoes and paddle boats. They have childrens playgrounds and a waterpark. Really nice for 16 bucks. The only thing its a little tight in places so be careful when entering and exiting the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Heavily wooded near ocean and lake, Hanna Park is a perfect place for the camper who enjoys more than watching TV. The walking and bike trails are very good and the beach is a 15 minute stroll through the park (or a 3 minute drive). We come here as often as we can for weekend getaways. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Nice shaded campground. Fun to go bike riding on the beach which is a very short distance from the campground. We stayed a week and found it very likable. were there in 2003. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Great 450 acre city park. Lots of trees & vegetation. Bike & hiking trails. Park is on the ocean - short drive to beach parking. Do take reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$17
We stayed at the park for a few days in January. We, 2 kids & 2 adults, liked the park so well we came back (from Ohio) during spring break and stayed 10 nights. Every site we saw was shaded. The campground is inside a city park that requires day users to pay a fee (campers pass thru for free) and then there is another gate to go thru to get into the campground. We saw lots of kids but didn't hear lots of noise. Many trails for bikes and bikers of all ability. Several playgrounds for the kids. We will be back. We recommend this campground to everyone. As a plus, THEY DO TAKE RESERVATIONS. Nice place and nicer staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
One of my favorite campgrounds. Good size lake for swimming, fishing, canoeing, etc. Beautiful beach on ocean across the park's road. Most sites are large and shady. Staff friendly and accommodating. Have quite a few 'Hosts' who are very willing to be helpful as well. Lot's of activities to keep both children and adults happy. Only negative is they could use more bath houses especially if you have children and no toilet/shower facilities (would have given them a '10' otherwise). We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$18
This is a nice city campground within a short walk of the beach. Also has a small waterpark that the kids will love. Alot of bike trails and hiking trails. Just a down home family oriented campground in the Jacksonville area. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$22
City park. Really nice natural setting. Pull thru but lots of trees. Couldn't find clearing for sat. dish. Sites handled 40' 5th however access roads were VERY difficult. Turns too tight with adjacent trees making it impossible to "straighten" out the turns much. Low hanging branches and branches close to roads will brush your RV. Ocean beach not really accessible to campground for those with walking difficulties. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com