214825 User submitted reviews online!!
State Forest State Park - Ranger Lakes Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (970) 723-8366
CGID6955

State Forest State Park - Ranger Lakes Campground

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   8   2   8   8   10   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$17
Due to beetle kill, the campground has few trees but lots of nice grasses. Nice trails available. Pit toilets, no showers. Nice lake with good fishing but lots of mosquitoes especially in the evening. Found a nice geocache. To see moose, get up early and take the Gould trail that leads to a meadow. No dump station at this campground; one is located at the North Michigan entrance. Be sure to visit the Moose Center...you can hike to it from the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This used to be a favorite but now the trees are all gone and the service is not what it used to be. Evidently, since the Dept. of Wildlife took over the Colo. St. Parks, sevice and upkeep have gone downhill. The only amenity is electricity and firepits. One outhouse and one water faucet is all there is. We found out from a camper that the fish had all died of winterkill and the DOW had not re-stocked it yet. We won't return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
As others have mentioned this area has been hit hard by the pine bark beetle. The campground has been clear cut which actually makes for beautiful views of the mountains, as well as super easy to maneuver in and around the campground. The sites are long level back-ins with 50amp and good space between sites. It is right off 14, but there is not a lot of traffic, especially at night. We used this campground as a base for doing several beautiful hikes in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We had purposely made reservations at this state park because of the lakes. They say on their website that the lakes are stocked; no they are not. We kept asking the rangers when they would be stocked, and they just kept saying they weren't sure when they were coming. They also say on their website that they have a dump station. Not true, theirs has a leak so it can't be used. Also the campground had been devastated by the pine beetles. The downed trees were lying everywhere; it was such a mess. Stay away from this state park. We attempted to get our money back from the state; filled out all the paperwork but never heard back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a campground just over the Continental Divide, in a fairly remote part of the state. Most of the trees have been removed due to the pine beetle infestation, making the first impression of the campground a bit stark. However, this clearing gives a good chance to observe moose browsing in a bog down the hill behind the campground. There are quite a few recreational opportunities in the surrounding state park, including hiking, 4-wheeling, and geocaching. So this is a park in a area, to get away from the crowds. The campsites are level, and ours had 30 and 50 amp service. There are no showers, and only vault toilets. Potable water is available. The dump station is several miles away and does not have water available to clean-up or to flush tanks. There are hidden costs. There is a $10 fee to reserve over the internet. In addition a $7 fee for daily park use (or $70 for an annual pass) is required. There are special discounts available for Colorado residents, which would reduce the camping fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
They have had to remove the majority of trees due to pine beetles. This also improves the view of the marshes, and we saw 3 moose while here. The roads were in bad shape, but the sites were level. There was no host and the bathrooms were not as clean as they could be. Close to many hiking trails and the Moose Visitor Center. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$8
This beautiful campground is closing on 9-9-09 so they can remove almost all of the trees since they have been killed by pine beetles! It will be ruined and will be an open bare spot in the forest without shade. The host, does a terrific job keeping the campground spotless. BE WARNED. The dump is closed because of an underground leak so go with empty tanks!! This breaks your heart to see a wonderful campground be ruined! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$19
A great State Park Campground. The sites are large and easy to get into. The electric sites have been upgraded to include 30 and 50 amp service! There is a ton to do here, including hiking, mountain biking, fishing, hunting, and much more. The forests have been attacked by the Bark Beetles and look bad, but come and enjoy anyway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
Now this is camping! Sites are among the pine trees, night sky is amazing. This campground was very quiet and extemely well maintained! We were hardly out of our site when the camp host was here raking and cleaning! Hosts were very helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer and seen more sights. The only complaint is the vault toilets and no running water. If it had showers and flush toilets we may not have left! I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
Shaded spots, some were drifted with snow still. Not perfectly level, but what is one to expect in a state park? You're camping after all. Walking trail to fishing lakes. Picnic table and fire ring in each spot. Electric at most spots. Nice place to stay. Our space was reserved, but the marker was under another marker, a bit confusing. Friendly rangers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com