220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Enota Mountain Retreat was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (706) 896-9966
CGID6964

Enota Mountain Retreat

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   10   2   1   7   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$54
Be aware there are a few "surcharges" in addition to rates but it is all stated ahead. I listed $54 a night because there is an additional $10 added to the rate and $5 for a pet and an additional $10 a person for guest. All of this is on the Website so there is no surprise. We were there 5 nights and it rained most of the time - not the campsites fault. There is no pavement and there was a lot of mud. The water went out twice due to people running into water spigots. Interesting. This appears to be an older campground - the back in for our 40' RV was very tight. There are nice wooden decks next to the site but, when you run out the slides it takes up most of the deck. Most sites are not level. There are concrete pads to park your rig on but, they are more suited to shorter rigs without slide outs. As always we met a lot of nice people. We rated it OK but will most likely not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
Overall, this is a pretty park; however, they will nickel and dime you to death. The additional people/children charge is not unheard of but you have to pay $5 per night per dog (my husband asked me if that meant they were going to clean up after our dog), plus $5/day for a "burn permit." You cannot bring firewood with you, you must purchase it from them. You pay another $10 per stay for a conservation fee. They advertise WiFi; however, it only worked about 30% of the time at our site. We had no cell phone service with AT&T and neither did our friends using Sprint. The sites are very close together and the statement about leaving things natural is not a lie. Our site had a number of trees so close to the pad that we had make a choice as to whether we wanted our awning to open or access to our outdoor kitchen (we could not open both). The campground has a few waterfalls you can hike to. We chose to hike to the 200' waterfall. Warning - Do not attempt this after it has rained. The trail is dirt which as you know turns to mud after a rain. The slope is pretty steep as you get into it and very slippery when muddy. We were told there was a "swimming hole" at the falls and you spend all this time hiking up to the falls only to have to climb down an embankment if you want to visit the "swimming hole." We saw a few snakes so we decided against a dip. I found the place a little pricey for the amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$27
After the previous park we inhabited in the area, we were overjoyed to be here. This is a lovely and spacious park, run by a non-profit, with a huge organic farm. The Appalachian Trail is in close proximity, and nearly every site has a stream in the back, as well as decks and picnic tables for your eating pleasure. They are pet and family friendly although when we were there it was August and it was on the quiet side. There is a huge lodge where you can get breakfast if you wish, but only at certain times. Yes, they charge for firewood and a permit, but it is a place where they try to keep things as pristine as possible. We had great walks to a 200 foot waterfall and Loved this place. It was serene and relaxing and just wonderful. We look very forward to returning one day soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
In theory, this should've been a very pleasant experience. I believe if we had visited in the off-season we would've had a great time. However, we went with friends on Memorial Day weekend and were very disappointed. The campsites are ridiculously close together and over crowded. We witnessed many sites with three tents pitched in very close proximity. The bath house was a mess almost the entire time we were ,and it was woefully inadequate for the volume of campers using it. It was fairly obvious on our third day here that people were not happy with the situation and were packing up to leave early. I determined this by the number of folks that were leaving late in the day, rather than experiencing another night of cramped, noisy, camping with sanitary facilities that may have been failing at any moment. I really wanted to like this adventure, but I just can't get past the generally poor execution of the camping facilities. Half as many sites with at least two more bath houses would be the minimum needed to make this camp site workable. I know my review is scathing, but it's the truth, and I didn't even include the issues with the dumpster overflowing. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
This is not a destination for peace and relaxation. It caters to rowdy, beer drinking adults and their unruly kids … in some cases brought in by busloads … much to the dismay of those paying well over $30 a night plus $5 per pet for hookups on substandard lots. There is no cable TV; you can’t even get antenna channels due to the remoteness of this facility. For six nights we were shoehorned into a tiny space that disallowed motor home slides to be fully opened. The creek is littered with dead branches and trash. Adults and kids use it for bathing and washing dishes. People insisted on using fire pits between spaces that spewed ashes and hot cinders on neighboring rigs and cars. Limited WiFi is available in the office. They boast waterfalls on the property, but getting to anything that remotely resembles a waterfall is nearly impossible. You must walk along very steep, muddy and dangerous foot paths. This campground is a disaster and should be avoided unless your idea of camping is a culture equal to a noisy, low class trailer park. There are other area facilities that offer much more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Nice park, clean. The only down sides are the lots are too close to each other and it is very hard to get a large travel trailer in most sites although you can do it. The lodge is nice and offer food service which is good if you don't want to cook. They charge you $5.00 a night for pets which I think is a little steep and there are cats and dogs roaming around all sites unleashed. All in all I would probably stay there again but it will be down on my list of places in that area just for the fact of tight spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Pros: Beautiful surroundings, concrete pad and deck. Cons: Picnic table needed to be rebuilt; site was tight to fit in - the vehicles and campers across the street are close and it makes it hard to maneuver (we were in site 19 and have a 30' TT); showers were cold and dirty; the owner could stand to improve her people skills. Overall this was not a good fit for our family and we will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This is a fantastic place to camp. We spent one week there. The property is huge and beautiful. Streams run throughout with most of the campsites along one of the streams. There are a ton of activities for young kids. My 14 and 18 year old sons even had a good time hiking and exploring. The weather was great, and sleeping at night with the windows open and the sound of the stream was perfect. There is a lodge where you can relax and play a game of chess. A small selection of camping and food items you might need are also available there for purchase. There is wireless internet available at no charge, and they even had a phone where you can make free long distance calls to anywhere in the US as long as you kept your call to 10 minutes. There is no TV reception unless you have satellite, so bring DVDs for the kids if that's what you want to do. They charge you $5 per night if you have a pet which I thought wasn't great, but this is a non-profit camping facility so they have to raise money somehow. If I were camping in a tent or pop-up where I would have to use the bath house, toilet and shower availability would be somewhat limited if the place really filled up...but they were clean. There is a lot to do in the local area. This site is only three miles from the highest point in Georgia, and the Appalachian Trail runs right by the camp. The Alpine tourist town of Helen, GA, is just 14 miles south. The German food is great there and the miniature golf place on the hill was fun and inexpensive. We will be making reservations to return there next year at the same time. I highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This campground it great! We camped on site H and were right on the stream so you can hear the water rushing by. The staff was very friendly and helpful.There is a nice playground for the kids and the farm tour at 4:30 when they can milk a cow and collect eggs and our tour guide Casey was wonderful he took us thru the garden and let us sample the organic vegetables. There are lots of hiking trails. There is a 200 ft waterfall and a 400 ft waterfall. It was a steep climb up to the 200 ft which had a swimming hole at the bottom but I was afraid of the height so I did not try it out.The only thing that does not give this resort a 10 is that there is no swimming pool. If you can't make the steep climb up to the swimming hole you need to wade in the streams to cool off which is still alright. I will definitely return here but in the fall when swimming is not a priority. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
Besides the swirvy drive up and down two separate mountains to get to this campsite, we really enjoyed ourselves at this campground. The positives first: This campground retreat has a lot of activities, especially for kids. My kids were occupied all day long every day were spent here. They had in-gound trampolines, a decent kids park, a petting farm with cows, chickens, goats and horses. The goats just had babies a week prior so the kids really had fun holding them. There were a ton of different trails and hikes to beautiful waterfalls and streams on the property. There was an organic garden, however because we were there during a winter month, the garden was not grown in yet. The kids got to milk a cow that apparently they use for breakfast at the lodge. When we checked in we didn't get the site that we originally picked out during our online reservation due to electrical problems, but we got a site right in front of the fishing lake where the kids had a ton of fun catching trout. The trout were very easy to catch and it was catch-n-keep, so whatever we caught made for a nice lunch. This was Valentines weekend and there were a ton of kids that were either there for a retreat or camping with families. That is always a positive for us, because our kids enjoy meeting other camping kids. The only real negatives is that they sort of find a reason to charge you for everything. The $30 or so per night was for a full hook-up on a paved site, across from a stream and lake, however there was a charge for $5 per kid, per night above the 2 kid limit. We had 2 extra guests with us, so it was an extra $10 per night. We also have to pay $5 per dog, per night. And it was $5 per fish that you caught. If the daily spending isn't a bother, than it's definitely worth it. They use the money to continue to maintain the property and keep this place in top condition. We would definitely come back here again. My son is already planning his birthday here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
This place is beautiful. Woods and streams and waterfalls. Great hiking. Very friendly staff. Excellent camp to get away and relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Enota Mountain is wonderful. Quiet and shady. Friendly staff. Breath-taking views. We'll go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Stayed here Thanksgiving 2006. It is a not-for-profit campground. Not sure what that means... looks like a couple of hippies that run it and they get "volunteers" to help with the small menagerie of animals and the restaurant. We would probably stay her again because it is remote and up on the mountain. We day tripped to Clayton and Highlands while staying there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com