214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Misty River Cabins & RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (865) 981-4300
CGID7049

Misty River Cabins & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   9   10   7   6   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Rate shown is based on a monthly rate. This is our fourth stay in this park. We find it very convenient and picturesque when in the area. The park is on the quiet side of the Smokies (away from Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg) so you do not have all the traffic but still easy access to the National Park as well as a short drive into Knoxville. Sites and roads are dirt/gravel with grass and tress in between sites. Sites are sized nicely and they do have one row that has extra long pull thrus. Facilities are very nice and are well maintained. Wi-Fi is free but service can be spotty and slow. They have cable but we do not use it as we have satellite. I highly recommend the park if you want a peaceful Smoky mountain experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Just an average campground. All roads and sites are gravel (with lots of potholes) Sites were rather close together and not much shade. Electric was barely OK (109) volts and water pressure only at 40psi. On the plus side, the scenery was beautiful with mountains close by and a river only 100 yards away. Wi-Fi was slow but it did work. We got there late (8PM) and office was closed but staff was friendly the next morning and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We enjoyed our stay here for its proximity to Maryville and to the Smokies. The parking is a bit of a walk to the office and camp store. Friendly staff. Nice walks by the river. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
Quiet park with exceptional individual showers. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Sites were level, gravel, and plenty big enough for both our truck and trailer (52 feet). A good location for all local attractions. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
We love this campground. The sites are nice and roomy. You have mountains on each side and the view is great. We picked this campground because of the location; it is close to everything we want to do. Not far to the Dragons Tail or Cades Cove. The power is good, Wi-Fi OK. It has the best bath house we have been to. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
Clean showers and clean bathrooms. Wi-Fi was real slow and sometimes not at all. Our campsite was near the back and it was really muddy and the gravel pad lacked a lot of gravel. It is a Passport America park for $22 a night. They only take cash. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$54
Stayed here for a couple weeks while on business in nearby Alcoa. It is a basic park with not much happening, which should be expected in the winter. No trees and the gravel roads and sites get flooded easily when it rains. Mud was an issue. Park is pretty much in the middle of nowhere and we usually camp at Townsend (10 miles away) when in the area, but thought we would try this to save some fuel. Wi-Fi was horrible or I may have rated higher and the owner tried to blame it on the cable company, even though my expertise is IT and knew better. I don't like being lied to. Didn't use the bathhouse, but the laundry was nice, even though a bit pricey. Will probably go back to Townsend next time as there are much better parks there for the money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$45
We stayed at Misty River over the Christmas holidays, and we loved the place. The campground is nice and open with lots of room. The bath house is the nicest for a campground ever! It has private bathrooms that are clean. I’ve not ever seen anything like this in a campground. It’s so cool; you get the room all to your self. We used the bath house a lot, so we did not have to add water to our RV as it’s winter time, and the bath house was clean every time we went in it. It makes things so nice when you have a clean bath house. The reason we picked Misty River was its location to Maryville where we had family and Cades Cove where we like to hang out and tale pictures. Both are easy to get to from the campground. The sites are big, and we had no trouble pulling right in. The pool was closed, but it looks like a nice one. Now we can’t wait for summer to get here so we can come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
My wife and I camped in a campground in Walland, TN called Misty River. We had an enjoyable stay. We have a 41 ft class A. Our spacious pull through site accommodated us very well. The owner and his wife were very friendly and even provided a roast turkey for a Thanksgiving meal for the campers. Our adult children joined us while we were at Misty River. They were able to stay in one of the rental cabins at the campground. We would highly recommend Misty River as a very nice campground in a quiet, scenic setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Once again I was very happy with this resort. They know how to keep their campers happy. We have been camping at Misty River for the last 5 years, and it’s the only place to camp at in this area. We live in Knoxville and use Misty River for weekend getaways. The post below sounds like the bum that was tossed out the campground when we were there. Talking about someone who could give all campers a bad name! What a piece of work! The campground is 1 mile from the Foot Hills Parkway to get to the Tail of the Dragon ( why we love it there), 5 miles to Townsend and 11 miles to the entrance to Cades Cove. The sites are wide, power is good and the bath house is GREAT! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$54
This is just a basic parking lot with a barn sized bathhouse in the middle. The area is great, but this campground is at least 10 miles away from anything except the Foothills Parkway. The bathhouse is unique, but that is all that makes it much more than a Walmart parking lot. The staff seems nice, but did overhear that they are way behind on their mortgage and may not be around long. Overall, what you get for the price is not enough to make us return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$54
A mid-grade campground at a premium price. I had to be in this area for 10 days and this was the only place I could get. It's not a bad campground, pretty standard. The best feature is a huge field that's great for dog walking. As others have pointed out, there are no services nearby, but it's a reasonably easy drive to Maryville, which has stores and restaurants. Power, water, sewer, cable all good. Wi-Fi service ranges from excellent on some sites to non-existent on others -- if you want Wi-Fi, don't stay on Row A. Verizon MiFi is usable as a backup, but we could only get 1-2 bars 3G service. Sites narrow. Tow vehicles and toads parked all over so maneuvering is a little difficult. Bath houses are nicely designed, but maintenance is questionable -- I found out the hard way that one of the toilets isn't solidly bolted to the floor. No enforcement of dog leash or pickup rules. The real downside is the price. They advertise $47/night for a long pull-through. That alone was high enough to make me think twice. But when you arrive, you learn that the local government is going to hit you with another 14.25% tax, making the price close to $54/night. A campground would have to be SUPER nice to merit a price like that and this place isn't that nice. I'll return to this area, but I'll find somewhere less pricey to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Great place near the entrance to the "quiet side" of the Smokey Mountains. One of the nicest bath accommodation around, almost like home. Friendly staff, helpful at check-in. Park is layer out so it is pretty easy getting around, even though it looks a little tight. There is a nice large field for activities, and they do have a bonfire on occasion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
Nice park that is on the quiet side of the Smokies so you avoid all the tourist stuff and traffic, but still can get to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg easily. Park is situated on a river with lots of trees around the park but not at the sites. Sites are gravel as are interior roads. Sites are level and long enough. Wi-Fi is free and is strong. Downside is price for sites. In my opinion the full price of $47 for 50 amp pull through site is too much for the area. They do accept Passport America which helped and if you stay a week the 7th night is free so for our stay of 11 nights it averaged to $35/night plus taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
We stayed at this park for 2 months in the late fall. We had read on their web site about the many awards they had received so we didn't know what to expect but hoped it would be good. What we found was a very good CG. The camp roads and sites were graveled and level and the owners were constantly doing maintenance to make sure there were no potholes or any issues. The 50 amp service was flawless and the water pressure was excellent the entire stay. The staff was incredibly helpful and went out of their way to help with any question or situation. The Wi-Fi was fairly stable but when it rained there seemed to be problems. It would have been nice to have a stronger signal since we lost connection at least a couple times a day. Verizon 3G signal was also weak in the area so the MiFi hotspot did not work well here. The property was nice and clean with a large field and an area for group campfires. They had some nice frontage along the Little River but no real place for campers to do any extended walking. The small 2 lane road running alongside the campground had no shoulder and was a danger to walk on. However what really makes this campground a winner is the location. You are basically camping right next door to the Smoky Mountain National park and miles away from the Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge traffic. You are also a very short drive from Maryville which has all the shopping you need. However by investing about 40 minutes and you can be in Knoxville with all the amenities. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$42
This is a large, well maintained park. Everything was clean and organized. The bath house has several individual shower/bathrooms (2 or 3 are handicap accessible), so you can lock the door and feel secure. There were several laundry machines, games and reading materials available also. The owners are very accommodating. We got there a little late, but they waited for us. The park was very quiet and peaceful. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$37
We had a meet and greet as we do every year for our RV folks, and all I can say is that it was once again the best we have had. This is our second year of having it at Misty River and as usual they were top notch. I myself stay there when i can, and that is about 7 times a year, this place is the best. Our group is even thinking that we might go here again next, but that will have to be seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
It was not the "best park in Tennessee" as advertised. It was not the best in the area. The park was white rock sites with overgrown grass. No appeal, no big trees, short pull-thru with sideways truck parking. For the area, no beauty around. There were clean RR and laundry. We were extremely disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
Our stay was wonderful. The friendly staff was very accommodating and friendly. They are Passport America members. Their bath house facilities are the best I have ever experienced. Each shower area is a spacious, individual, complete bathroom with toilet and sink, many of which are handicap accessible. The laundry has a new folding table, all new washers and dryers that are well maintained, and the area is clean. The campground is nestled between two mountains in a valley next to the river which runs the entire length of the campground. All the sites are level, expansive, and easy to access with a fire ring at each site. The road into the campground and each site is of well-packed, level gravel. The campground is near Gatlinburg (30 minutes), Smokey Mountain National Park (15 minutes), Foothills Parkway (10 minutes), and many great riding roads for motorcycles (Tail of the Dragon, and small curvy roads all over the foot hills). There is a big meeting room for groups to gather, a game room, a pool house with showers, large cabins for those who don’t pull or drive their accommodations. The manager will try to do anything to make your stay pleasant and is knowledgeable about the area and attractions. We will return when in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$43
We found Misty River off the beaten path in Walland, TN. It is beside the beautiful Little River in a lovely setting. We loved the clean individual bathrooms. The owner if very friendly. We will be back to Misty River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
We stayed here for a business meeting and really enjoyed the peace and quiet. Beautiful campground and our dog loved taking a walk next to the beautiful river. Staff was wonderful. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
We enjoyed our stay at Misty River. It was peaceful and quiet, which is what we wanted. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The bathhouse was clean and huge. We will be back. I will recommend Misty River to all my camping buddies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$42
Misty River Campground makes the A Grade three years in a ROW! There’s only 13 RV Parks and Campgrounds in the Nation to receive this award three times. We love this place. It's always clean and the staff is great. If you ever seen there bath house with the private bath rooms, you will know just one of the reasons we love them! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
One of our two favorite campgrounds. Friendly, clean, great pool, hot tub, showers, etc. We plan on coming back this summer for an extended stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
A great campground; you couldn't ask for a nicer RV park. We have been going to Misty River for the last year. We live just down the road in Maryville, and there must be 15 campgrounds within 20 miles of us. We have been in all of the campgrounds in our area, and I know why they keep making the A grade. It’s the same reason it’s our most favorite campground. The sites are nice and wide, the Wi-Fi is strong, power is good, the cable works, and the staff is happy to see us when we get there, and it’s clean!. The bath house is the best that we have ever seen! I wish more campgrounds had private bath rooms. When you have young children like we do, being able to have a bath room to ourselves make my life a whole lot easier at bath time. Now it’s time to roast a hot dog at the fire ring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Not sure why they have an A grade. It reminded us of a parking lot. Sites were all gravel but level and I don't remember any pads at all. This campground was overpriced in our opinion we have stayed in a lot nicer campgrounds for less $$. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We pulled in at midnight and the manager came out to help us. Drove us in his golf cart to our site and stood there with his flashlight so we could see while we hooked up, then told us to stop in and pay at our convenience the next day. We drive a 43' coach and easily pulled in. The next day were thunderstorms and the manager came around to remind campers to pull in their awnings. Outdoor pool is awesome. Really great RV park for big rigs! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Beautiful campground! Closest campground to the Foothills Pkwy. Has big and clean bathrooms! Located right on Little River with unbelievable cabins. They are big enough to be houses! Everyone was very nice and helpful. I would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Misty River RV is an older, well established CG. The Old Walland Hwy leading to the entrance of the CG is two way, (single lane each direction) very narrow with no shoulder, making passing another rig difficult. Plenty of room for easy access once in the park, even for the big rigs (45+). The spaces and access roads are gravel. The electric (50A), water and sewer were easy hook-up. However, we did have one power failure for approximately 40 minutes when the temperature reached 97 degrees. The WiFi was excellent, no problems with the signal. Each space has a fire pit and table, but most of the picnic tables are in need of maintenance or replacement. We used our Passport A card and ended up in the section that appeared to be set aside for the seasonals. The park has several well maintained recreation buildings that house the big bath house, laundry room, game room and conference room. Your trash can be set out in front of your space and it will be picked up each morning. The grounds are clutter free, but the grass requires mowing. The Misty River runs adjacent to the CG making for a nice relaxing walk by the river. The management and workers were very friendly and helpful. The price was a little high ($45+ tax), however, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This place is great! The last person who reviewed this must be smoking something. I came here with my family 2 adults 3 kids! We were not charged extra because we had kids! Most other places would have charged me $9+ more a night for my kids. The pool was great and the showers where clean and big! There were people who stayed there in the summer I talked to a few and if you looked at their licenses plates you could see their counties and see they were near to the campground! The staff was nothing but friendly and nice. The river was nice and cool on the hot days and there was $8 tubing only 0.5 miles away along with great BBQ. If I go back I will be going back to this park, I can see why they have won RV Park of the year two years in a row. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Misty River is my favorite place to camp in the Smokies. The staff is friendly. The BBQ is the greatest. The bathhouse is clean and family friendly with private bathrooms. Even with all the hot and dry weather, the campground's grass was manicured. The pool and hot tub are sparkling clear. The river was a little low, due to the heat. My site was C10, which was spacious and level. Their big area in the back of the campground was a great space for my dog to play and get to the river. My nightly rate was $36 because of my AAA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We live 30 miles away from Misty River and it’s an easy run for us so we camp here about once a month. The WiFi is great, the bath house is the best that we have ever seen in a campground, it’s better than Disney’s bath rooms! The sites are large and roomy and wide with room to put your awning out. As in any campground you can have some dummy park where they should not, but the roads are wide and it’s a easy campground to pull into and out of. We have never had any problems pulling our 40 foot rig into a site. The kids love the pool, Dad likes to fish in the river, and I like it all. We love this place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
On the positive side, there is good Wi-Fi and cable TV, the restrooms and laundry are quite clean, and there is a large green space for playing frisbee, etc. On the down side, about 20-25 percent of the sites are permanent residents (although with generally adequately maintained trailers) who park their vehicles obstructing the roadways and who seem to be indifferent about picking up after their pets. The "green spaces" between sites are weeds with spotty gravel in the parking spots and with many bare dirt areas. We would stay here again, but only for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Once again I was very pleased with this resort. They know how to keep their campers happy. They are running a stay and play special right now, if you stay on Saturday you can check out on Sunday at 5pm instead of 11am , makes for more fun if you only stay the weekend. They are hosting the RVUSA.COM Meet and Greet the first week of October, which is open to all RVer's. The main course is being done by Misty River. It is a potluck type, all that attend will only be required to bring a dish of some sort. This is not the only type of function they support. They have many other rallies and functions through out the year. But this is the first for RVUSA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
This campground is in a beautiful setting along the Little River in Walland, TN. We enjoy the cleanliness of the private bathrooms and the quiet peaceful setting along the river. We camp here at least once a year and always look forward to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We were part of the Airstream rally that stayed June 2010 and had a wonderful time. The campground is clean, and all of the sites were large. The wi-fi is strong, and all of the sites are full hook up with cable. The bath house is one of the best I have ever seen with private bathrooms so you don’t have to share, and it was very clean. Even with a lot of us there, the bath house had so many rooms in it, we never had to wait. The laundry was clean and in a large room in one end of the bath house. The club house was roomy. We will be back soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We had business in Maryville, and we stayed here for one week. This is the second time we have stayed here. The previous posters are correct; plenty of room, TV was good, as well as Wi-Fi and the cleanest bathrooms ever. This time we did notice that there were more people living there. I hope this doesn't get out of hand. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is our most favorite campground! The bath house is the best! We wish I had these bath rooms at my house. The campground is clean, not too crowded like other nearby campgrounds, convenient to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and the Smokies without the traffic hassles. Nice pool and hot tub and the river was nice to fish in. The Wi-Fi was fast and the BBQ is GREAT. There is a large fire ring in the field that is real nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This is a very nice campground. We have camped a lot in the Pigeon Forge campgrounds in the past. This time we wanted to try staying on the other side of the mountain. We love that the sites are nice and wide and the bath rooms are GREAT! We have a 19’ Bambi so the bath rooms are important to us. What others have said about the bath rooms are true: they are huge, clean and private! WoW is all I can say. I have never seen anything like them and I wish more campgrounds had bath rooms like this one. This campground is beautiful with a small mountain on each side of it. The power was fine and we had cable TV at the site. The WiFi was strong, the laundry was clean and the dryers worked well. They even pick-up our trash in the morning. There is a large dog walk in the field and lots of room for the boys to play. The owners and staff are friendly. We will be back to this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$36
Misty River is set next to the River and is in a quiet, peaceful setting. The owners are friendly and easy to get along with. Sites are spacious and each one has a picnic table and fire ring. The only thing missing is a concrete pad. Next to the pool is a great little bbq stand, that I can't wait to try this spring. Bathhouse is incredible! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$34
This is one of the nicest parks we have ever stayed at. The bathrooms and showers are brand new and spotless. We had a large pull thru gravel pad with 50A full hook ups. Utilities worked perfect. The Wi-Fi was fast and reliable. Highway noise is noticeable but not objectionable. There didn't appear to be much for kids to do here. I'd have to call it an adult park. The price we paid is the off season weekly rate including tax. If the park had paved roads, concrete pads, and a hot tub, we'd rate it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
We stayed at Misty River last weekend and watch the leaves change and had a great time. The sites are spacious and they are easy to get into and out of. The laundry is large and bathrooms are great! I’ve never seen this set up before in other campgrounds. You get your own bath room! Someone was always there cleaning them every time I walked in. The Wi-Fi and cable both worked well. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will go back we had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$42
This is a lovely campground with all the facilities we require for any extended stay. It was a pleasure to stay here from the start with efficient and helpful registration. There's a large field for dog walking which makes a change from some of the campgrounds we have been in on this trip. The individual bathrooms were clean with good pressure in the showers and lots of hot water. Cable and Wi-Fi worked just fine too. We are storing our fifth for the winter while we head back to Canada, and feel confident they will look after it well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
We have camped here several times. As I type, we are here enjoying the Labor Day weekend. It did rain, however they have plenty of rock down so no worries about tracking any type of mud in. Great since we have dogs. We have also stayed next to the field which again was wonderful for taking the dogs out to walk and play. Across the field is the little river and a walking area. The bathrooms are extremely clean, and the staff is friendly. We have driven through other campsites going toward Townsend but the amount of room your given is nothing compared to this campground. Sites are level and allow for plenty of room to set up. It's very pretty here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
Nice new campground with all of the goodies. We love the bath house! It’s the only campground that we have ever gone to with private bathrooms. You get your own bathroom all by your self. The bath house was very clean and the laundry is in the front of the bath house with new washers and dryers that work! The sites are large and most of them are pull through sites with wide roads. We camped in a motorhome with a tow car and had no problems coming or going. We used to camp in Townsend, but like the wider sites here. We arrived around 9:30 at night and the owner even came out to meet us and show us to a site. The Wi-Fi is good and strong and the BBQ is GREAT! The pool was closed for the winter but the hot tub was still open. This is a GREAT campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
Enjoyed our Labor Day weekend at Misty River. Sites were of ample size to spread out and enjoy. Owner put on covered dish dinner by supplying the barbecue chicken, was good. Well laid out park, some turns are a little tight with tow vehicle behind the motorhome. We'll do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
A very nice park, close to the river. It has clean restrooms and pool. We enjoyed our stay here over the Labor Day weekend and would come again. In the surrounding town of Townsend, there is a really nice bike trail on both sides of TN 321. It's close to the Great Smoky Mts. National Park. It was very crowded but with such great scenery: it was well worth the trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This park has very nice bathrooms, large sites and great landscape. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This was our 3rd trip to Misty River. The park is well maintained and quiet. You can't beat the bath house. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
The park is nice and well maintained with wide roads. We are in a 40 foot Winnie with an enclosed bike trailer. We found the sites to be nice and wide and easy to get into and out of. The power, cable and wi-fi work great. The bath house, even though we did not need it, was very clean with lots of private bathrooms. We did use the washer & dryer and they looked new and worked great. We only need one run of the dryer to get the load dry. The laundromat is in the front of the bath house, and it is air conditioned. The w-fi works there also. The ladies in the office were very friendly and even took time to print us out some maps of the dragon’s tail on Hwy 129. The pool was clean and there is a game room next to the pool. Next to the pool is a small BBQ stand with GREAT food! The river was just a short walk from our site and we had a large field that our two dogs could run in. There was not a lot of shade yet, but this is a new park and lots of trees are planted that will grow given some time. I prefer the sites without trees so I don’t have sap dripping on my rig. The satellite dish works better when I’m not under the trees anyway. The guy who posted below is right, this campground is much better than the overcrowded campgrounds in Townsend and if he did not like his site, he should had asked to be moved to a site that he did like. That is why we have RV’s, so we can move them when we want to. This is a great campground and we will be back anytime we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
When we arrived, this park appeared to be a nice, well maintained park but our first impression was that it had been oversold by previous reviewers. Our first day was OK until it rained and there was not enough gravel at the site, so mud is an issue. They have planted a lot of little trees, but for now, there is no shade. We were assigned a spot next to a unused narrow grassy space close to a park model. That was pleasant, we thought. Then, the second day, with many vacant spaces available, they assigned the very narrow grass space to a pull behind with three adults, three children, 2 dogs, and two vehicles. They were amazingly good neighbors, but their campfire was too close to our rig. They were outside most of the time, and there was visiting just outside our bedroom window after we went to bed. Not really the campers fault, but poor judgment from the park owner. I delayed doing the dumping duties in order to avoid being in the middle of their picnic. This previously unused grass spot should not have been assigned at all, since so many other spaces were available. Their trailer and truck had to be parked at an odd angle due to the space being undersized which meant I had to ask them to move their truck in order to exit when we left. It really should have been a tent site. The laundry, and other facilities were over there and looked nice, but we have to base our rating on what we use. The site, the appearance, etc. Good, not great. Good Wi-Fi. I would have given this campground a 9, but due to our particular experience, it gets a 6. This campground is much better than some of the overcrowded campgrounds in Townsend, but doubt that we will stay here again on our next trip to the Smoky Mountains. We did see a really nice campground in Townsend that will probably be our choice next time. FYI: Rate above includes a discount + 3 taxes = $45.87 per night. Also, just noticed that we paid $6 more per night than the other reviewers. One really excellent thing about this CG is the BBQ concession on certain days including the weekend. Best BBQ we have had and nice guy who runs the concession. This part of the camp experience gets a 10 for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
I also give this campground a 10. I have camped here many times and it’s always a great place. We live about 20 miles away and try to camp at Misty every few weeks. The reason we camp there is the wife LOVES the bath house! It’s always clean and we have never found it to be dirty. The only down side is that the trees are still young and some of them are not very big so we just turn up the AC and have a good time. The owners and staff are very helpful and easy to find if you need anything. We love the BBQ by the pool. The sites are large and easy to get into with most of the sites being pull through sites. We even got to pick some tomatoes from the garden. We think it's one of the best campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Well, I again give this campground a 10. But from what I have seen it will not be that way for long for sure. The shower floors were dirty, and the grass was not mowed as it has been in my most recent stays, and it is not kept up as well as it has been. But I will still keep coming up here. It is great, but I hope the National Award Of Campground of the Year does not go to their head as it is a great place, and I hate to see it run down . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
I can see why rating is so good here. We love the place. The road around the campground is wide and so are the pull thru sites. We showed up at 8:30 in the night and the owner came out to show us to our site. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful. The cable & Wi-Fi signal was good and the bath house was GREAT! It is the best bath house ever! The bath rooms are very clean and you get you very own private bath room. It was so nice to be able to take the kids in a bath room that I did not have to share with anyone, it made bath time so easy. The pool and hot tub was clean ad the kids loved the water jets in the pool deck. We had very good BBQ from the little restaurant by the pool. We walked down by the river and saw some ducks that the kids gave bread to. Some one was fishing, but we did not try out luck. The view of the mountains on each side of the campground was beautiful and I just hated to have to leave. We have found a new home in the Smoky Mountains. This is a great campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
I was surprised to see such high reviews for this campground. When we arrived it looked like it hadn't been maintained in a month. The grass was knee high and so on. I was not impressed! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This is a new campground. We enjoyed the benefits of Misty River being a couple of years old - full hook up with 50 amp service at all sites, spacious pull thrus for big rigs, Wi-Fi that works, cable TV, individual bathrooms that are clean, a new pool with a hot tub. The setting is quiet and relaxed on the Little River in Walland, TN. It was nice to be on the "quiet side of the Smokies." We plan to revisit Misty River next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
What a great place to stay, all the sites are FHU with cable /Wi-Fi. We were part of a rally that stayed in April 09 and had a wonderful time. All of the sites were large. The bath house is one of a kind with private room so you don’t have to share. It was so clean you never had to worry about dirt. Even with a lot of us there the bath house had so many rooms in it we never had to wait. I wish more campgrounds would have bath rooms like this place! The laundry was clean and in a large room, it is in one end of the bath house. It was so big that we sat on the couches and played the dulcimer in the laundry room. We were close to Townsend and the Smoky Mountain National park, dulcimer shop & picking porch and every thing we wanted to do. The pool was open and looked great but we did not use it. The BBQ there is great! We will come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This park is very well maintained. The owners were helpful and very friendly. The Wi-Fi was solid. The cable TV offered a lot of stations and was included free. Nicest, cleanest bath house and laundry facility we have ever seen. The campground is located in a rural area with great access to the Smokey Mountains unlike other area campgrounds which were in town. The pool and hot tub area was closed because we were there in early spring but it looks very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$36
We had a great experience at this campground. The owners were very nice and it is a very friendly park. The location is very convenient to both Cades Cove and Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg. They also have a great playground for kids with a pool and hot tub. The bath house is just unbelievable! They are private bathrooms. You don’t have to share the bathroom with anyone you don’t know. Its just like a bathroom at your house. The sites are flat and wide. We had a 40 motor home with a 30 foot trailer and had no problems moving around the park. They even had a pull thru site to fit us. The wi-fi was strong and cable was good. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Very nice campground, with a view of the hills and the Little River along one side. The laundry/rest rooms have couches to sit on; some guys were online there, so the wi-fi might not be as good at some sites as it was at ours. There are about a dozen individual bathroom/shower rooms, heated and with fans, many of which are handicapped accessible, very clean. Free cable as well as wi-fi. It's no longer a Good Sam park but they still honor the Good Sam card and give you a discount. Very close to Great Smoky Mountains National Park (which was way too crowded for our tastes but pretty). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
Misty River Cabins & RV Resort was named small Tennessee Campground-of-the-Year at ceremonies in Nashville yesterday, during a meeting of the Tennessee Association of RV Parks & Campgrounds (TNARVC). The park was so recognized for its accomplishments in campground operations, marketing, management, and industry unity. The bathhouse is state-of-the-art with large private bathrooms like you would find in a home. It was definitely built with the family in mind. Four of the bathrooms are handicap accessible with zero barrier showers. The resort uses guest reviews to help them get a non-biased camper review of their facilities. So far, they have had 68 campers participate in the survey who have given them an overall rating of A with a grade of 4.8 out of a possible 5. Misty River also has a grade of A+ for cleanliness. TNARVC is composed of over 60 private campgrounds across the state. Its mission is “to serve the special needs of RV parks and campgrounds in Tennessee and provide the public with the highest quality camping experience.” We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
Misty River Cabins & RV Resort was named small Tennessee Campground-of-the-Year at ceremonies by the Tennessee Association of RV Parks & Campgrounds I love this park. Lots of room. Nice clean bathrooms... and what a set of bathrooms! Good power & wifi. Easy to get to, very friendly staff. Its just a great place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$39
This Park is at the Foothills of the Smoky Mountains. We liked it because it was near Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, yet off the beaten path in Walland. We have a 45 foot motor coach which the pull thru sites easily accommodated. The private bathrooms were outstanding. This a campground we plan to visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Last year, we discovered a new campground in Walland, TN, Misty River RV. This campground is on the quiet side of the Smoky Mountains. It is beside the Little River, off Highway 321. Misty River has private bathrooms that are very clean and nice. The owner has a friendly welcome for his campers. We sometimes camp in the hustle bustle of Sevier County, but it was nice to enjoy the relaxed, scenic atmosphere available at Misty River. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Excellent, excellent facility! Bathhouse is top notch, sites are very large for the Smoky Mtn area, very level, beautiful valley. Swimming pool area is very nice. This is one of the few RV 'resorts' that can truly call itself a resort. The weekend BBQ is incredibly good and very inexpensively priced. The only complaint I have is that the water pressure is barely adequate. Everything else is well thought out and well excuted. But have long hoses and connections as all of the hookups are are the end of your camping area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This is going to be a great camping resort. It has a lot of potential. The bathrooms are clean and roomy. The sites are very level and clean. They have garbage pickup at your site. I will return to this place very many times in the future. I will also recommend it to anyone that wants away from the main stream crowds of the Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg area. I am planning another stay there this following weekend since it's only about 51 miles from where I live. Great place, very friendly staff , and all in all a great place to stay and relax. They also have a little BBQ snack shack that is outta this world. All meats are smoked right outside the shack. Very good food. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
We stayed here for a week to attend a family function in Maryville. I'm sure that it was not a busy time of the year for this campground. We were very pleased with the facilities. I couldn't believe how much room one had. The sites were very level. Everything worked just fine. The bathrooms were great, probably the best we have seen in awhile. I must say that the Wi-Fi was excellent, better than usual. We really enjoyed the "Little River" that flowed near the property. Very relaxing. Even though there wasn't any shade they did have trees planted. I'm sure that in years to come this will develop into a great place to stay. We will be back... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$45
This is a new campground (Sept 06) and the owners have done everything right. The sites were perfectly level, WiFi strong (and free), bathrooms the best and cleanest I've ever seen in a campground anywhere, good water pressure, consistent power, and the managers are among the nicest I've met. Because it's new it has no trees, but give it a few years. Basically much nicer than the very cramped campgrounds in Pigeon Forge and Gatliburg. Well worth a stop on your next Smokies visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$39
This is a new Park, but such a future it will have if it continues the way it is now. The laundry is a dream to use. All new, clean machines within an air conditioned building that is kept as clean as the machines. The trees haven't had a chance to grow but should be great in a year or so. We stayed here on the week end going to Smoky Mountain Park. Pets can be walked down to the stream for everyone's enjoyment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
The campground has potential , I'm not sure it will ever live up to it though. The problem we had was that they don't enforce the rules ,mainly the rule concerning dogs being on a leash. The trailer across from us was inhabited by four or five people ranging in age from about 14 through maybe 20 , apparentlly that's where they live . They had dogs running all over the campground; 4 adult dogs and a litter of puppies . We couldn't sit outside with our dogs without being harassed by these roaming dogs. We arrived on a Friday and immediately had aproblem with the dogs , we complained at the office and were told " yeah we've been having some problems with those people".Finally after the second or third complaint they asked the people to tie their dogs up. These weren't the only dogs running loose in the campground. Bottom line is they apparently don't think enough of their customers to make sure the rules are followed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Let me start out with one of the best things in this campground.. The bathrooms!! Best I have ever seen in my life, so much room,very clean. I am not saying it is the only thing in the campground that was good cause everything was. The pool was clean and breathtaking with the hot tub and water feature in the corner.The owner was the nicest I have met, he made me feel right at home, stopped to chat and answered any questions I had about having a group camp out there.We had a great BBQ potluck dinner which was great, nice to meet our other campers in the park. We will be seeing them again this next summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
We went to Misty River for Memorial Day weekend and had a great time. The couple that owns the park cooked hot dogs, had games for the kids like egg toss, sack races and a bounce house. My kids had egg in the hair and lost the sack race but we had a good time. The kids loved the pool and I loved the hot tub. We tube the river and never could catch any fish. We saw them, just could not get them to bite. The sites are level and wide with lots of pull through and all of them are full hook ups with cable TV and Wi-Fi. We have a 36’ 5th wheel and it was easy to get in and out of the park. There bathrooms are very clean with private rooms in them. You don’t have to share them with anyone else and they have lots of them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com