223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Sky Mountain Resort RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 79 user reviews. Phone: (575) 756-1100
CGID7051

Sky Mountain Resort RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   9   10   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$37
Very nice campground alongside the Rio Chama. Three types of sites in the campground - the pull in waterfront sites directly along the river, back in sites in the woods behind the waterfront sites, and the bulk of the sites in a mostly open gravel area (pull thrus and back ins). Wide gravel access roads with level gravel sites. The initial entrance road is concrete and might be a touch too narrow if two rigs were trying to pass (you can’t see what might be about to turn in to the campground from the base of the entrance road). We were in a waterfront site with picnic table, fire ring, full hookups, and the sound of the Rio Chama outside our front door. Hookups were at the extreme back of the site which might make satellite access problematic (back of the site is in the trees and our dish is mounted in the back). There is enough room to pull forward (at least in our 37’ coach) to clear the trees for the satellite, but it would require long utility runs. Power ok (but not hot enough to really stress it with A/C running), water pressure ok, sewer ok. The wifi had good signal strength, but generally poor to fair bandwidth ranging from 10Kbs to 160Kbs, but the installation was relatively new and probably just needs to have some kinks worked out. Verizon cell was 4 bars with usually decent bandwidth. Very friendly and responsive people running the place - firewood and mail delivered to your doorstep. We will most definitely use this campground as our base whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$31
This is a spectacular park - quiet - clean - beautiful setting. The owners are really a blessing to all - they know how to run a park and treat their guests. They take care of this place and it shows. The sites are spacious and very level. The owners make it a point to make sure you are satisfied and go out of their way to take care of everything. This is our second time here - and will definitely be back - so much to see and do in and around the area. We see a number of return guests - that says it all! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
Great park. Owners are great and very helpful. Bbeautiful view. When you park other campers come out to watch the show then take turns making sure you get every thing set up just right. If you don't have something that they think you need they will loan it to you. Every one is friendly and works to make sure you enjoy your self. Camped there before and will camp there again. WiFi worked fine. This is a small park so make your reservations early. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
Rate reflects 30 day stay. We love this park! Owners are very helpful and friendly, even supplied boards to level our rig in a slightly unlevel site! Everything worked perfectly and we had good satellite dish access. Many of the campers return each year and make all welcome. Fun potlucks and get-togethers build community here. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Terrific park with the nicest people running the park you will ever deal with. Our third trip to the park and the owners called us by our first name. Stayed a week on a river site and saw a huge chocolate phase black bear wading the river. Sites are nice and level with huge shade trees. The park is really clean and you could eat off the floor of the washroom. The park may be small but none better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
A jewel of a camp ground. Small, very spacious sites, family owned, 8 sites facing the river, middle section very shaded, new area very level. Spotless well maintained property about 4 miles south of the historic town of Chama on Hwy 64. Easy in and they escort you to your site. Many recommendations for this park from our friends. Area is all gravel with trees and grass.....rate is with Good Sam discount. We would definitely stay here again. Wi-Fi and Verizon strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
This is a nice park. The people were friendly, escorted us to the site and assisted in backing in. The trees in the shaded portion were great mature cottonwoods. The site spacing was a bit tight. The biggest complaint is the width of the built up gravel site (#10). It was so narrow that with even blocking the left side to level the trailer, there was still a considerable slope on the right side that was not conducive to sitting under the awning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
What's not to love? Staff is very friendly, park is beautiful and well maintained. The map on their web site accurately depicts the size of your site, and most are spacious. Park is spotlessly clean, as are restrooms and laundry. Wi-Fi works well. This park is very quiet, no highway noise. River was running at a nice clip while we were here. There is river access for all campers, not just the waterfront sites. We drove through the other parks in Chama, and while they were nice, this one is the cream of the crop. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
What a gem! This is a nice clean, well maintained park. The owners are very friendly. The laundry and restrooms are spotless. Get a spot overlooking the river. It’s a great place to relax, read a book or just daydream. All they need is cable TV to make it perfect. We are definitely coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Great rv park; friendly, helpful owners, very clean; quiet; level, easy in/out access; great sites right on lovely river; nice fenced in dog run area; highly recommend when staying in Chama. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Best in the area. Friendly hosts. Sites range from riverside to trees to an open area, all gravel but very level. Clean restrooms and reasonable laundry. Definitely stay here again when in the area. Have not stayed at others in the area but from drive by / drive thru this is definitely the best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Last time through Chama we stayed at another park, and this one is the best in the Chama area. Clean, well maintained, and the couple that run it are great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
We can't add much more to the kudos this lovely campground has already received. We just stayed one night but will be back next season. We had a beautiful spot on the river, surrounded by radiant fall colors. If you can, you must come the first part of October. The Chama River Valley is spectacular! The park is as nice as everyone says it is, the owners are great, the WI-FI worked. It's quiet and peaceful and beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Awesome place to stay! Owners very welcoming. Very clean well maintained park. Level sites with easily accessible hookups. Beautiful tree lined gravel roads. We felt like family the moment we arrived. We will return again & again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This is an extremely clean and well run RV park. The owners are very good, make sure you are welcomed, and have a great experience. I have stayed here the last 4 years and the service has remained constant. You can not go wrong in staying here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Lovely campground. Owners were delightful and helpful. If we hadn't had plans to move on, we would have stayed longer. Very clean bathrooms and laundry. Park is well maintained. We will definitely be back for a longer visit next year - and early enough to enjoy some good trout fishing! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Very clean campground. Staff is friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
This was our 1st time at this park, but it won't be the last. We changed our plans and came back thru Chama just to stay in this park. Clean, extra quiet, friendly, owner operated, spacious, great river sites. I would have paid more. We have reserved a site for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Wow, nice park. Plenty of trees, immaculate bathrooms and laundry, grassy common area with picnic tables, horseshoe pit, and close to town. The best thing about the park is their lots on the Rio Chama River. We stayed in spot 2 on the river in a motorhome, and the view was great. Each spot has a picnic table, and the sites were level and gravel. Very quiet park which is managed by the owners. They were nice people who take very good care of the place. We could only stay two nights,but would love to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
This is a great park with awesome owners. They are very pet friendly, and the amenities are great. Clean showers, fairly priced laundry that worked well. The sites are level with new gravel throughout the park. We stayed in the pull through and back in area as opposed to the "tree canopy" because we felt it had a little more room. There was a large field between the office and park where we were allowed to throw a ball to our well behaved dog, and they had a small dog run as well. I can't say enough about how nice and accommodating the owners were, and the town of Chama is really lovely. We will definitely be back when we are in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
We were the first customers of the 2013 season. We have camped here many times, and this is our favorite campground ever. The owners go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They recently made some improvements including new gravel throughout the entire park. We had a spot right on the river. We enjoy bird watching, and this is a great place for that. This stay, we saw some Bullock's Orioles, Lewis Woodpeckers, ducks, geese, doves and lots of hummingbirds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
This is, quite simply, the best campground we have stayed in during our 32-state, 4-month RV vacation. Highlights were: the very friendly mom-and-pop owners; the excellent selection of 2nd-hand books for sale; wonderfully clean and tidy toilet/shower block built on a heated slab; and a beautiful setting among the autumn trees by a small creek. Any attempts to describe minor shortcomings would seem petty and trivial in comparison. Price reflects Good Sam discount, and the levy for our extra 4 hangers-on (aka kids). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
The rate reflects a week's stay at a site not on the river. This is a really nice RV park. The couple that runs it are very helpful, friendly, respectful, and happy. They keep the place very clean and orderly. Very quiet location off the road. Nothing but fields and trees on three sides of the park. We weren't crowded, but it was off season. I would definitely stay here again. The town of Chama does not have a lot to offer other than the Cumbres-Toltec Railroad, but the surroundings are very scenic and close enough to other towns and areas of interest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
The people who run this place are very friendly and helpful. Some sites are level, some are not close. Showers and laundry are clean and have a combination lock on them, however you need a flashlight to read the numbers at night. Some spaces seem to be double wide and some are barely wide enough for your slideouts! My awning extended to 18 inches from my neighbor and I saw some closer than that! Best places are by the river but it's a looong walk to restroom and laundry. I'm not sure whether I would return or not. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
The place is clean, clean, clean. Not that that means they landscape it to death. If you're a birder (if you're an Australian a "twitcher") it's a good high-country place to bird. Gotta river, have warblers, flycatchers, Leweis's Woodpeckers, and at this time of year, tons-o-hummers. Aside from a skunk strolling by an hour or so ago, no worries. Would some back. Nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Absolutely wonderful park! The owners are so courteous and helpful - from the reservation process thru to check-in and set up. Park is so clean and spacious. Will definitely be here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This park is just OK. They have at least 3 sections. The river sites are the best. Next are the sites in the tree canopy. Then there are gravel sites out in the open arranged in parking lot style. I wouldn't stay here unless I could get a river site. We are in the tree canopy area but it is a back in so our view out the front window is of a bunch of trailers parked in a gravel parking lot. Not real scenic for $32. That is with Good Sam rate. We are pretty close to our neighbors. The Wi-Fi is good. The park is well maintained. Can't get much in the way of TV channels, but it is that way in all the parks in Chama. We probably won't come back to this park on our next trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Very friendly hosts. The best spots are along the waterfront and in the shaded area. Restrooms, showers and laundry very clean. Waterfront sites are meant for motorhomes to drive in forward, the hookups are at the road end of the site. In a travel trailer making connections may be difficult. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Nice, very clean campground near the Rio Chama River. Roads and RV sites are well graveled. There are a number of nice shady sites near the river. There are also a number of big rig pull throughs and back ins along the property line that have little to no shade. If you are coming from the direction of Chama, you really have to be looking for the entrance sign as you can't see it until you are almost past the campground. The owners are very honest people who are very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again if in the area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Good Sam Rate. Very friendly staff. Nicely kept. Doggie park. Pull through sites. River sites are pull in/back out. Gravel roads and sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Has to be one of best maintained RV parks in Northern NM. All things RV park related are top notch. Staff is extremely customer oriented. Spaces are large. We had to leave early due to family illness and park staff worked with us to accommodate our needs. We will make a point to stay here in the future anytime we are in the Northern NM area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Very nice park. Long level sites. Friendly staff. Good place to stay while riding the RxR. Good Wi-Fi and fairly good TV on the antenna. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Beautiful! Quiet! Nice! What can I say?! We pulled in on a whim a little after 9 PM and the staff/owners saw us through their window and came right out. Opened up the office and let us stay; 'no charge for the kids'. Wonderful. EXTREMELY EASY sites to park in, even at night. Would definitely stay again. Would definitely recommend. They honor Good Sam Club. The camp area is bordered by tall cottonwoods that provide shade to many sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is a beautiful park located on the Chama River. The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The campground, restrooms, showers and laundry room were immaculate. The Wi-Fi signal was strong throughout the park. The view of the mountains and river were great. This is the best managed RV park we have ever stayed in. We will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This was our second time to stay here. The owners are friendly and helpful. Great park and we will stay here again if in Chama. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Very nice and friendly park. Sites were level and big rig friendly. Owners are extremely nice and helpful. Laundry was immaculate. Sites on river are for motorhomes, hookups on wrong side for trailers. But the rest of the park is wonderful. Even in the middle of the park, the sites are staggered so you are not just looking right into the neighbor's rig. Wi-Fi is good, good cell phone reception and Verizon air card worked great as did satellite, and could get several local channels on antenna. Close and convenient to town. Easy access. Entrance ramp is fine, new concrete. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This a very nice park and is big rig friendly. Camped right on the river in a very large gravel site. Sat. Dish worked well and Wi-Fi was fine. Owners very nice and helpful. They only offer good Sam discount, so price was a bit high. Weekly rate a little less. Great park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This is a great park. The area is beautiful, the sites are clean and well taken care of, and the owners are very helpful and friendly. You can tell that they are putting everything they have into making this a 10 park all the way. We were told about this park by a camper that was staying in a park we were working at in Colorado so we decided to try it. I am glad we did. The WiFi is the best I have ever used in a park, easy access and fast. This couple were perfect camp hosts and owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This was a great park with long, level sites. The entrance is concrete and the roads and sites are gravel. The riverfront sites are the nicest, but everyone has access to the river. The owners are friendly and are constantly working to keep things clean and attractive. Restrooms and laundry are very clean. We would stay here again if in the Chama area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This park was really special to us. We had stopped there for 2 nights before going on to CO and then decided to come back for a week. The owners are very nice people and helpul. We will go back there again or at least we hope to. EAS We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This campground was very clean and the river front sites were excellent. It was peaceful, the owner's were friendly, and the dog walk area was enjoyed by our little terrier. Chama area offers nice shops and it's main attraction is the steam railroad that goes to Colorado. The internet connection was great. The restrooms/showers were very clean. It has a laundry room. We camped in our big rig and would camp here again if we return to Chama. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
I will begin by saying that the rough entry mentioned in previous reviews has been fixed. The owner has poured a nice concrete drive entering the park. Having said that my observations and comments echo the sentiments of previous ones. This park is an excellent place for both overnight stops and longer term stays. We loved it here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a rustic, pleasant, well kept RV park. We had a camptsite right along the river. You pull in head first, so the river is right out your windshield. Sites were nice size. WiFi worked great. The owners work hard to please. Clean, quiet park with everything you would want in a mountain setting. No playground or cable TV, but I don't think any campgrounds in Chama have cable TV. Previous reviewer mentioned a problem with the entry to the park. The owners jumped on that problem and there is now a concrete driveway when you enter this RV park, so no more problems there. We will definitely go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We loved this resort so much that we extended our stay for three more days. It is beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing. Sites are fairly level with good hookups, especially for motorhomes. If you're staying on the river in a 5th Wheel, be sure to take power, water and sewer extensions if you want to back in. Those sites were built for motorcoaches to pull in and back out. Another plus is a very nice laundry facility and great camp hosts. We've already reserved for month next summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
A very nice park. There are some sites on the river, others in the woods. They do have large pull through's or back in's in open area. The entry road was damaged while we were here, but as soon as possible repairs were going to be done. The owners were friendly and helpful. We will return when in the area. Great stop over, especially for the Chama train. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We camped here for four nights with a group with seven other rigs. We had made reservations in March for specific sites and when we arrived the campground owners had everything correct, checked us in quickly and led us to our sites. We had a riverfront site under the trees. It was very beautiful and quiet. The restrooms, showers and laundry were very clean with plenty of hot water. Most of the sites are well shaded giving you a feeling of camping out in the woods. There are several open sites however for those who need open sky for their satellite dishes. There are also plenty of sites that will accommodate a 45-footer. The current owners have only had the place for three seasons now but have made many improvements and have many more planned, including repaving the entrance road with reinforced concrete. This is one of the nicest parks we have stayed in. The location is beautiful and quiet and the owners will really go out of their way to make you feel right at home. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the Chama area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Big Rig friendly. Entry road needs repair. Satellite friendly. This park is a work in progress, Not a Resort at this time, No Pool, and No Club house. But owners did have large tent for get together of large groups. Best RV park in Chama area. Owners/staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
We pulled our 41' Monaco into a corner of the park along the river and wow did we have a nice view of the river. It was quiet and roomy with friendly neighbors. Lots of trees too. Trails along the river were easy to navigate and the managers of the park were the friendliest we'd met in many of our travels. It is a bit far from town, so we didn't walk into town, although the manager offered us a ride into town. We spotted many deer crossing the river every morning and every evening. The laundry room was very clean, the wireless worked very well. Our stay was in late fall when leaves were falling. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This is one of the cleanest, most comfortable, friendly, quiet campgrounds we have ever stayed in. Restrooms and showers rival 4-star hotels in cleanliness. Likewise with the laundry facilities. The hosts are super friendly and helpful. The views are absolutely breathtaking. The whole town of Chama is glad you are here. The campground itself is well off the highway which contributes to the peaceful atmosphere. We highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
The owners are fantastic hosts. They go beyond the expected to help you. I was having trouble with my laptop computer and they stopped what they was doing and helped me to get it connected to their Wi-Fi. They will also help you get parked and set-up in your site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Quiet park and a nice spot. The owners were so helpful and friendly. Have great pride of ownership. Has clean restrooms and laundry. The local grocery is great, clean and well stocked. The RV park is only open for the summer season. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This is a lovely, quiet park with very friendly people running it. They gave us our choice of spaces and were extremely helpful. There are both shaded and sunny spots and some by the river. Very clean and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This is a one of the best campgrounds we have stayed at in the last five years of our travels across the country in a RV. The owners are very nice and will work with you to make your stay the best experience you could ever expect. This is the second time that we stayed at this campground and on this trip we drove 200 miles off of our original route to stay here. We were having trouble with our computer, getting logged on to Wi-Fi but staff took the time to get our laptop reconfigured and it worked great. We stayed at a river site and the sound off the flowing water in the river was very peaceful and relaxing. The roads and lots in this campground are spacious and staff gave us an escort to our site. If you are looking for a campground with natural beauty, peace and quiet and congenial people, this is the place for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This is a great campground. The owners are extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the area. There are sites to fit every size of RV. This is one of the few RV parks you can actually view each RV site using the virtual tour they have on their web page. I can't see how anyone can say they were mislead regarding their site. RV sites are level and wide. Each one has a picnic table and fire ring. There are sites with shade and without shade. The park is very big rig friendly. The Wi-Fi is the strongest we have used this year. We stayed here for a month and enjoyed every minute of it. Oh, regarding the "potholes" be advised that last year a new asphalt entrance was installed but due to the extreme changes temperatures it apparently did not last. After closing this year the owners are laying down a new concrete road leading into the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Highly recommend this RV Resort. Long, wide pull-thrus. Not necessary to unhook toad if just passing through. Big rig friendly, easy to maneuver. Pot holes previous reviewer mentioned cause no problem to get around. Owners were most friendly and helpful, even offered to help set up. Very convenient to train depot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Owners of Sky Mountain, made us feel very welcome, as did others that stay there seasonally. We felt like part of a big family. This is a nice quiet park that we'll return to in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
The most wonderful place, with amazingly friendly, helpful owners! Congenial group of campers, both short term and long term RV'ers. Great for families. Beautiful site with lots of mature trees shading most of the campsites. Lots of birds and the river is beautiful! Great place for dogs with a huge play area to run and fetch. Quiet and peaceful with great amenities. Book early for a river site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Recognize that ratings here are totally subjective, but after nearly losing my toad in the entrance pot-hole, we found this place to be one big graveled parking lot with hook-ups. RVs are stacked elbow-to-elbow, vehicle traffic through the place raises dust-this is in my opinion, definitely not a resort, nor does it live up to the ratings listed here. We were assigned a site when the reservations were made, but that site was occupied when we arrived. The brochure states the resort is "Located on over 10 wonderful acres at the southern edge of the spectacular Rocky Mountains, our pristine surroundings and beautiful campsites are unsurpassed." Maybe I am at the wrong park? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
The owners were the nicest of hosts. They were friendly and helpful with advice we wouldn't normally have known about local attractions. The park was well-maintained and clean. They were in evidence a lot to see that it stayed that way or to see if anybody needed anything. The atmosphere was so pleasant with the nights quiet and dim. Many of the campers were regulars, so there was a welcoming/familiarity here also. When we thanked the owners upon leaving, we told them we would stay again should we be back their way again, and we most certainly will! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
The wifi here is blazing fast, and there is a good signal throughout the park. River sites have hookups at the front of the site, which is convenient for motorhomes, but fifth wheels will need a long sewer hose. The owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Sites in the tree grove are unusually spacious and inviting. This may be one of the best parks in the country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Nice little park, owners extremely friendly. Facilities and park well maintained. Only reason not rated 10, sites were a little close and the sites on the river aren't set up for 5th wheels. Utilities are located in the front so motorhomes can pull in forward. I would definitely stay here again. Beware, call owner for directions, it is real easy to miss and you don't want to miss this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
We were greeted by managers who were extremely helpful and friendly. The park sites accommodate "big rigs". We experienced no difficulties parking our fifth wheel which has 5 slides. The view of the mountains is extraordinary and the rates for a week extremely reasonable. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
The sites here are well spaced and staggered so that you aren't looking directly at the RV next to you. We stayed near the tree canopy but on the edge so satellite reception was easy. The owners live on site and are the managers. They have to be the nicest owners we've encountered. We watched one of the owners helping people park in the midst of a rain storm. We plan to come back here next summer and stay longer. The park is well maintained and a very peaceful and relaxing place to be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
This is a great park right on a nice stretch of the river in Chama. This park is much nicer than any other in the area. The park owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. The riverfront premium sites are level, spacious, and give a great view of the river. They have 50 amp connections, water, and sewer. The riverfront sites are set up for motorhomes where you may pull head in to use those big front windows for a view of the river. The laundry and bathroom facilities are exceptionally clean. There are fire rings at each site for a camp fire and split wood is available at the front for $5 for a good size bundle. This place is kid friendly and so nice that we decided to stay an extra night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This has to be the best RV park we have ever stayed in. The “resort” is the cleanest I have ever seen. The grounds are immaculate and the bathrooms and laundry are new and spotless. So many things add to the experience, such as the wood carvings of the eagles and bears that are carved on tree stumps throughout the park. They have three RV areas; an open area, “tree canopy” (shaded area), and “riverside.” Very quiet. We stayed on the riverside and could barely make out a truck every now and then on the highway. Could hear emergency vehicles on the highway but not many went by. Riverside sites are fantastic. River is beautiful, and sounds so good. Don’t know what the flow is like normally, but was very nice while we were here. Large level sites with easy access, and good gravel roads. Couldn’t ask for better host. They were very knowledgeable of all the attractions in the area and even print up a synopsis of special events in the area. WiFi worked flawlessly. Even though is doesn’t have a pool or cable, it still rates a 10 in my book. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Nice little campground in a beautiful valley. The owners show you to your spot and help you hook up if you need it. We had a spacious pull-through, but we wish there were more trees. Wifi was real good. The campground was easy to get in and out of, but there are some potholes at the entrance that need to be taken care of. All in all a good camping experience. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We stayed 2 nights in this park. Owners are very friendly. We stayed on the river. Next time we will probably stay back in the trees as there is more shade. A dog run is in the future plans for the park. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
With a pool and cable, I would rate this park a 10. The owners and operators are very nice and lead us to our site with an offer to help set up. The park is very well kept and has spacious sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
This is a nice park for a long stay. We stayed 4 months at the monthly rate of 500 to 600, depending on the site. Facilities are excellent. Washer and dryer and shower and restroom building is always clean and heated. Wi-Fi works most of the time and is fixed promptly when needed. The owners and operators couldn't be nicer and more cooperative. We did business and took care of medical business at the office with their help. We enjoyed nights and the fire-ring at the river. We took trips into the mountains in the Jeep several times a week and the country is beautiful. The train ride is also exciting. We will stay here again when in the southwestern states. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
We are camped here from May 1st till the middle of September of 2009. Very pleased with the camp as a whole and the couple who own it and staff in particular. It's clean, has all the necessary facilities and caring people to help any time we need them. Monthly rates are very reasonable. Cool weather in the summer is a must for full timers and this is perfect. Beautiful country to check out and a few places providing entertainment. Rates are reasonable for full timers. Will stay here next year if possible. Thanks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We stayed at this excellent RV park last month in our Class A motorhome. From the moment we drove into this park it was clear this was exceptionally clean and attractive. The area surrounding the village of Chama is so picturesque and these owners have done nothing to disturb this natural beauty, in fact have enhanced it by maintaining the park to a pristine condition. We never use park restroom facilities so we cannot comment on those, but the laundry room is cleaner than ours at home. A bonus of this laundry room is the covered porch outside where you can sit in the provided chairs while your clothes are tumbling and drink in the view. This is the first RV park and area we have stayed in that we immediately planned on returning to in the near future. We have made reservations for a month here in August and have begun plans to make this happen. My husband is on dialysis with a portable hemodialysis machine, which we take in the motorhome. This requires shipments of dialysis solutions and these very gracious owners have agreed to handle and store the shipments for us when we return. They could not be more accommodating, truly making the RV'rs feel more like their guests than customers. Any special needs are cheerfully dealt with and they are a truly friendly and cheerful couple. We chose a riverfront site, with the Rio Chama right outside our front windshield for our May stay. It was lovely hearing the sound of the water right outside our rig, very peaceful. For our return trip we chose a site in the open area of pull-through spaces. Even though these are open, there is a canopy of trees between these and the river which will provide late afternoon shade and the river is a short walk from there. You have a choice of riverfront, tree canopy and open spaces in this park. All look to be excellent, level sites. We would highly recommend this park to anyone visiting the picturesque Chama area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We visited this campground in late May. This is one of the most well cared for campground we have ever visited. The grounds are pristine...the restrooms and laundry facilities were very clean. Also, the free Wi-Fi worked flawlessly. We Stayed in one of the river front sites in a 5R. These sites are more or less designed for Motor homes as sewer, water, and electric are on curb side. Presented no problem for us though..we had enough water hose and extension cord to facilitate. The staff is very friendly and helpful..They even furnish "leveling boards" to level your rig if needed,but we found the sites very level..where have you ever seen a campground go to this extent? They were also available to help guide you into your site. In closing, if you decide to visit Sky Mountain Resort...you WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED... The park is located South of the town..about a mile. If you aren't careful you'll drive past the entrance on the right..the signage could be bigger and more prominent... BTW, visit their Webb site it's a good one..Virtual views of the park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Stayed there 4 nights in a river view site. The hosts are wonderful and very helpful. This is really a great RV park, run by some very good caring folks, we will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
Excellent! We stayed one month and were so happy here. All facilities, including laundry, showers and restrooms were new and very well kept. The most enjoyable thing about the stay was the couple who own Sky Mountain Park. They were helpful in parking our RV, we used their WiFi for free, they printed out a form we needed from email, furnished change for the laundry and gave us all information we asked for about the area. We are fulltimers and will spend one or two months here in the summer every year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Advantage - live on site owners eager to please. Location is excellent. Shower room is "almost like home". Far enough off highway to be quiet. Lots and lots of stars (in the sky). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
Sky Mountain Resort RV Park was delightful, clean, quiet, scenic, spacious and user friendly. The owners went out of their way to make guests feel at home. We hope to return in the future and plan to stay for a much longer period of time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Beautiful setting on the Chama River in the cottonwood trees. Sites were not very level but there was quite a bit of room between them. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Nice, quiet park. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
First the people are great, very friendly, very helpful with all your needs. The campgrounds and the bath house are very clean and updated. The setting is near the Chama river and sits under cottonwood trees. It is quiet and very beautiful. We needed help with parking our trailer and they were very willing to help. We also needed a pump for the trailer and they helped us with the location of trailer parts. They take reservations, so we plan on going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
This park is under new management in 2007. They had just opened for the season and I was the only one in the park for two days. The bathroom and laundry facilities were brand new. WiFi and cable TV were not available while I was there. It is located in a beautiful setting along the river with adjacent pasture lands and views of the mountains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com