206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Diaz Lake Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (760) 873-5577
CGID7076

Diaz Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   5   3   4   6   9   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We opted for Diaz Lake because of the federal shutdown in mid Oct 2013. Lone Pine NFS was out first choice. Mid week was fine, free style camping. Just find a spot and go for it. Weekend got busy and it got a little crowded but still OK. Could not imagine what it would have been like in summer. Probably not pleasant. Water spigots around the lake but nothing else. Sites were not level but we just picked a spot that worked out for us. No camphost or anybody else to complain to after hours but we were lucky and our neighbors were OK. Convenient to town and quiet. Lake is very small but some clown in a motorboat had to race back and forth Sunday morning for a couple hours. Chased the kayakers away. We would not have a problem staying here again but there are much better campgrounds in the area that would probably be our first choice. We camped in a trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
The lake is located approximately 6 miles south of the town of Lone Pine on highway 395. Quiet flat spots with no hook-ups. Dry camping only. Very quiet and all sites overlook the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
The price for this county park is too high. There are no services, the bathrooms are padlocked, although porta-potties are available. Roads are rough and dusty. Sure, it's on a small lake, so a rate of $15 would be more reasonable. Alright for one night if you have your rig loaded with water, propane and good batteries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
NOTE: Campground is now privately owned and site price has doubled. Explanation (from the man who took our payment) for the increased price is "to clean it up". We did not see any proof of that except for piles of cleaned-up brush. The campground has 3 sections off the paved road. Sites on the left are shaded and facing the mountains. Sites on the right are shaded and lakeside. These sites, of varying lengths and widths, pull throughs and back ins, are separated by logs, have picnic tables and fire rings. Farther on are more lakeside dispersed sites, not obvious as to placement except by occasional picnic tables. Signs ask that parking be perpendicular to lake but some RVs were parked parallel. All sites are on dirt or grass and most are level. Numerous water faucets are available for tank filling but not hookup. A very roomy group site is available. We did not use or look into the restrooms. Diaz Lake seems to be very popular for water sports and fishing; the area is scenic. Because of the price increase, unless major improvements are made by the new owners, we will most likely choose the other county park or BLM camping options in the area next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
Not much to brag about here. This is a run down county operated park that could be much, much nicer. We stopped here hoping to make this a base camp while we explore Death Valley. We'll head out in the morning to look for something nicer. There is no power available to any site and "NOTHING" is level. Most pit toilet bathrooms are locked, but those that are open are pretty nasty. (like most pit toilets) No water available either. I would not recommend this park for big rigs due to the overhanging tree branches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
Sites are not well defined or numbered. Fishing was poor from the shoreline. Boat ramp is closed due to Inyo County budget cuts. Campground is to be run by private concession in the future with electric and water being added at sites with a price increase of course. Rates will be going up to $14.00 even without any improvements. Don't know what rate will be with improvements. OK for overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
Lovely campground with views of the Sierra Nevada and the lake. Very quiet and few visitors when we were there. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
Big campground on the lake with some trees. Easy access for any size rig. No hookups or dump station, although there are water faucets scattered around. Some noise from Highway 395, but quiet at night. Great mountain views. We were there the day after Easter, and it was almost empty. Good Verizon signal for voice and data. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
A real gem of a park. Large sites, well-shaded, almost all with views of mountains and the lake. Can hear some US 395 noise, but it’s not bad. There were some flush toilets (some pit), convenient trash and recycling , picnic tables galore—some right on the edge of the water. Very pretty spot and a good deal. No hookups, no showers, but clean flush (and some pit) toilets, dump station, and fresh water were available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$10
This is a county-operated campground on the southern end of Lone Pine, adjacent to Hwy 395. It is popular with boaters and other watercraft people. No hookups or showers, but has flush toilets and water faucets. A good night stop if in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com