223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Sakakawea State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (701) 487-3315
CGID7078

Lake Sakakawea State Park

Camp Information
Sites
192
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   8   9   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
This is a very nice state park. I have been coming here for many years, and they keep the park very clean. It can get a bit noisy on busy weekends, but due to budget cuts, they are short staffed and will try to tend to the problem. The roads are all paved inside the park and the sites are gravel. The water is from the rural water system so it is very good water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Another of North Dakota's great state parks. I was not sure how to answer the "waterfront" question. I stayed in the Van Hook Loop and I had a site where I could walk down a trail right down to the water as well as a "view" of the lake. I'm going to leave the answer at "no" but I'm going to say that at my site (#5 in Van Hook Loop) I have "better than a view" but not quite "waterfront." Although there isn't a lot of privacy between sites, there is good spacing between sites. You can eat on your picnic table without being in the next site's "back yard." Plenty of acreage at each site. If you don't have a satellite, you get great digital reception of networks and PBS TV channels over the air. Verizon Air Card had blazing speed at 3G. Verizon cell phone had good reception. Restrooms were very clean. And, as another reviewer posted, rangers/staff always running around doing something. In North Dakota, if you have the annual pass, you only pay $20. I had to pay $25. Had a very relaxing stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Very nice state park. Our first state park visit in North Dakota and we are impressed. Park is really large with large RV spaces as well. Showers and restrooms some of the cleanest we have saw. Staff always out mowing and cleaning up. Rates are great. $17 for non electric and $20 for electric. Lots of things for the kids to do here also. They just built a new 5 stall dump station (free if staying at park). Park Rangers always driving around and friendly to talk to. Felt very safe. Lots of trees for shade and many spaces are on the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Very nice park. We had the place almost to ourselves (overnighting, midweek), so we chose a spot overlooking the lake/dam and had a nice surprise--huge orange full moon rose right over the lake for us. Good trails, but wish there had been one over to the marina/store. We would definitely stay here again, and stay longer so as to enjoy the beach (it was a bit chilly to use when we were there). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We choose site overlooking dam and lake. Simply awesome in every respect. Great shower/restroom facilities. Would stay again. Marina and tons of activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Great park with many sites with view of the lake. Sites are large and grassy, little shade and they are open. Swimming beach could do with a little work, but we enjoyed the time in the water never the less. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises over the water, and a boaters paradise. Great park, and we will be back for a little longer next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$14
This is a beautiful park. There are may sites with a view of Lake Sakakawea, but none are "on" the lake. The sites are large and well separated, and grassy. The pads are pretty level, but did require some small adjustment. There is very little shade, but that is the nature of the great planes and not something that one can fault the park for. we would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
We loved it but be prepared for wind off of the lake . View is fantastic with great sunrises and sunsets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com