218901 User submitted reviews online!!
Convict Lake Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (800) 992-2260
CGID7088

Convict Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
We've been coming here for years. It's a beautiful lake right up against the Eastern Sierra where they offer boat rentals, or you can walk all the way around the lake. The sites were mostly barren in the upper loops, but in the lower loops there is more foliage. The sites are level for tenting or RVing. The bathrooms were clean and recently remodeled to be more modern. You can grab a shower at the Convict Lake Resort for a fee. The Resort has a well stocked store w/ meats, milk, wine, and necessities. You can buy a fishing license here, too. I saw some larger 5th wheels here, but the sites are too small for larger Class A's, etc. The resort has an award winning restaurant which is very close to the campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Very clean campground with the stream right next to the campsites, and within walking distance to the lake. Extremely nice campground hosts. The only negative is that there isn't very much shade in the campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Nice campground but could use more trash cans. Fishing is very good in creek which runs behind some of the sites. Stayed in #57 this time at the end of the loop which puts you as far back into the campground as you can get. The hosts were very friendly and actually delivered firewood to your sites. Left earlier then planned due to the rain and snow coming a bit early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Have camped here many times over the years. It is an awesome place just for the scenery alone. Fishing in Convict Creek behind our campsites #58 & #59 was outstanding, limited out each day. Didn't fish the lake this time but heard the fishing was very good. Great for place families, the kids will love it. Only a few minutes away to Mammoth Lakes for all of your shopping needs. Central to all sights to be seen. My only complaint is that there needs to be more dumpsters located around the campground and not just at the restrooms. We're self contained so we don't use the restrooms and camp as far away from them as possible. Make your reservations early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
This is a nice park IF you make your reservations early and, get a shaded wooded spot. We like the closeness to town and, you can walk everywhere from here. Great bike/walking trails. Close to restaurants. The cement side is a parking lot. OK for a night or so. The wooded sites in the shade are nice, although a few can be very tricky to get into with a bigger rig, Again MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS EARLY! The one annoying thing was the surly attitudes of the young people working at the front desk. They made it very obvious that they where more interested in talking with friends hanging around than dealing with check ins. Overall the park was good but personnel could use training in customer service. Laundry is good, didn't use showers but, they seemed OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
This site was no frills, no hookup but wonderful. Set in beautiful scenery in the Eastern Sierra. Toilets were cleaned regularly and managers were friendly and helpful. Restaurant (pricey but very good) and store (well stocked with basics) is 5 mins walk from most sites. Firewood $5 a bundle and beautiful clear skies at night. Mammoth Lakes 8 miles away for large stores and activities. Convict Lake renowned for good fishing. Excellent site if you don't mind no hookup (dump station on site though). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
Very disappointed, while each site had a bear box, we never saw a bear, and we watched!! LOL. Convict lake is dry and many of the sites are far from level, but when you do get a good one, its very, very good. We did go into the little store and I would suggest that you stop in Bishop before you arrive and do your shopping there. Everything was overpriced, but they had a captive audience. Convict Lake itself was beautiful and our site was next to the creek so we got to enjoy the bubbling sounds. The only way to really enjoy this campground is to go with reservations and if possible go in late spring or early fall when the camp grounds are less crowded. We did and we were not disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com