218131 User submitted reviews online!!
Joe Wheeler State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (256) 247-5466
CGID71

Joe Wheeler State Park

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   7   7   7   9   9   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
Campground is a distance off the beaten path -- very quiet. Area is heavily wooded and fall foliage was gorgeous, but we were unable to connect via our roof TV satellite. WiFi was marginal. We did not look at the restrooms, and had a good Verizon signal. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Nice park on the lower end of lake wheeler; we stayed the middle week of October and enjoyed the park and the fishing. The park staff and hosts were friendly, however this is the second time in a row that the RR' s were not very clean, they were in good shape but not to the usual standard of cleaning everyday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Stayed here over the 4th of July holiday and the choice of sites were very limited when we arrived. We settled for site B-37 which was large, but not what we would have picked if there were other better choices. There were hills behind our site where kids would ride and jump the hills on their bikes and wind up right in the middle of our campsite. This was kind of annoying while we were trying to relax and cook outside. We won't choose this site again, but we will definitely return during a more quiet time of year. The campground is nice and well maintained. There are volunteers throughout the campground and they are well seen. Most sites are large enough not to feel crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We had a beautiful spacious and private site. Heavily wooded. Most sites are back-in. Not much space for pull-though with a long motorhome. Very friendly and helpful team. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Nice state park. Most of the sites would be no problem with our 40' motorhome but not all. WiFi was OK but not perfect but that didn't bother us. A loop would probably be better if you want 50amp but we stayed in C loop with 30 amp because we wanted a water front spot. Bathrooms in the C loop a old so in the mornings we opted to head over to the day use area where they seemed a bit better. Gets busy on the weekends but like most state parks GREAT on the weekdays!! We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
We stayed three nights. The bathhouse in loop A was not very clean and no one cleaned while we were there. Some of the pads (asphalt) are starting to buckle causing several of the sites to be unlevel. We have seen this park in better shape. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
The bathhouse (loop A) was very clean, the overall condition of the campground was very good. The only problem was short length of sites. We carry a boat and it requires a longer site (We do not like crowding the roads). The pull through sites are adequate, however there were only two back in sites that were forty feet. We enjoy Wheeler, it is cold this week (last week of October). The ranger and hosts are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
We stayed on Loop C, where there are several sites with a view of the lake. Most of the sites on this loop are roomier than the ones on Loops A & B. The bath house is dated but clean. Our site had plenty of trees and a beautiful view of the water. Wi-Fi was not always reliable but worked most of the time. The park has a lodge with a restaurant & marina about a mile from the campground. There is also a golf course & day use beach area very close by. If you are up early in the morning, you may see deer making their way down to the water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
This was our first trip to Joe Wheeler. It's a nice place with paved, but narrow, roads and campsites. There was just enough room on the site pavement to park our camper with none left for chairs, etc. A rainy day would have been a muddy mess for us. Some campers had to park their boats along the sides of the access roads and that made it crowded getting through at times. The camp helpers for our area patrolled the park like security guards to the point that we became annoyed with their frequent inspections. In the morning as we were packing to leave they stopped by urging us to hurry up because there were others wanting our spot! We'll probably go back again in spite of the drawbacks though. Sure hope the "camp helpers" we had are gone by then! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$21
Nice and quiet. Plenty of room. Staff was very friendly. Free Wifi at the lodge. Nice golf course but temps were in the mid to high 90's this week. I would recommend this park to family & friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
Overall, I would say this is a good park to visit. However, there wasn't a lot of room between sites for children to run around and play. There is plenty of shade and it is a very quiet park. All staff was extremely nice and very helpful. Bathhouses and restrooms were relatively clean but could use some maintenance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Very nice state park. There are a lot of trees and quite a few deer around. The only problem was it was hard to level the motorhome. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
I really enjoyed my stay at Joe Wheeler State Park. The camp sites were well placed and far enough apart to have some privacy. The bath houses were spotless. The campground had lots of shade. Plenty of paved roads for people to ride bicycles on. I will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
The staff here is wonderful - so helpful and nice. But the sites are small - we have a 30ft travel trailer and there were not many sites we could get in. Other than that, it was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
Joe Wheeler was a beautiful park. We saw deer and turkey all through the park. The campsites are spacious and well separated. There are only a few (5 or 6) in camp loop C that have a view of the water. The weekend we were there it poured rain, and we still enjoyed it. The lodge restaurant was fair; the service was great. The people were very friendly. The bathhouses were the cleanest I have ever seen. Excellent park. Alabama does have a 11% tax on that $21 fee. Seniors get a discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Good location convenient to Florence, Decatur and Huntsville. Campground was clean and restrooms/showers were above average. Lots of kids riding bicycles and such. Good golf course also a part of state park. Lodge had fast Wi-Fi. Biggest negative was one of the campground hosts. Their site looked like a 3rd rate trailer park with all kinds of stuff piled around. Everyone else is required to keep their pets on a leash, but host let their big dog out every morning to run around the campground alone, take care of business, causing a lot of barking and problems for those of us trying to walk our dogs properly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
We had a wonderful time at this campground. The roads were paved and campsites were paved and fairly level. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The camp hosts made frequent rounds and were also very friendly. We had lunch at the restaurant at the Lodge. The food was good and very reasonably priced. Some fellow campers had the seafood buffet on Saturday evening and felt it was overpriced with a limited selection. The showers and bathrooms were clean. The scenery was beautiful and we saw quite a few deer in the campground. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
We really enjoyed this campground. Absolutely beautiful. They have just finished adding some new cottages, that are beautiful. One drawback is you have to hunt for a space that has both a sewer hook up and grill too. A lot of the sites don't have grills, so if your'e heading out check carefully. Bathrooms are very well maintained. Plenty of wildlife to view while you are there. Would recommend this to anyone. Plenty of attractions in the area to see too. One of our favorite places! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This is a very beautiful park that puts you in the middle of nature. When we checked in, the Ranger was extremely courteous and made sure we knew to let them know if we had any problem whatsoever. We noticed them making regular patrols throughout the evening although the park was very quiet and peaceful. The site we occupied was asphalt and level. The utility hookups were well placed near the center of the site and easily accessed. The shower house was clean as was the restrooms. The sites are shaded by tall trees and very well kept. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
There are a limited number of waterfront sites. Our site, B22, had a view of the river through the trees. It is quiet during the week, and started getting busy for the weekend on Thursday. We ate in the lodge restaurant, which has a nice marina view, and was inexpensive. WiFI is available in the lodge lobby. The park needs some maintenance but is well managed. Probably it's a funding problem. There are lots of songbirds. We also saw deer and a snake. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
We had a great time at the park. We saw lots of deer. The park was very quiet, but still had a nice number of people in it. The park ranger was exceptionally nice. The little store was just the right size. We did not eat breakfast at the marina, but we plan to next time we go. We will definitely visit this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
Joe Wheeler has many sites along the lake but the woods obstruct the view of the water in most areas. Most sites are very shady & pads are level and roomy. We were visited by a raccoon each night as we sat around the campfire. The campground is very attractive and well-kept. Park rangers make frequent rounds. On the minus side, the rest rooms need some repairs. Most of the latches were broken on the stalls and there was water on the floor in the toilet areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Great park. If you want to be on the water, there are only a few sites in the C loop that have waterfront sites. All other sites are in the woods, though they are all pretty private and well shaded. Sites C8, C9, and C10 are right on/near the water, if you can get one. Staff was very courteous. The park is pretty much all full hook-ups, though there are just a few clearly marked sites with no sewer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$19
This is a wonderful state park on the TN River with a few sites overlooking the river. The campground was full over the weekend, but cleared out a good bit during the week. The camp host were wonderful and stopped by and talked to everyone at each site daily. There is day area with a beach, the golf course, and the restaurant and Marina at the Lodge. Our campers did enjoy a day playing golf. We went and looked at an antique boat show at the Marina. There are tons of deer to see while traveling through the park and on the golf course. Unfortunately, our dogs managed to find a skunk and get sprayed, and that was a challenge, but this is a wonderful campground and we hope to go again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This park is very pretty. Lots of pine trees. We were able to set up our satellite system and get a picture. They also have a club house for meetings and potlucks. We are going back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
This is probably one of the nicest, scenic state parks we have ever stayed in. It definitely rivals our great Texas state parks. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, even after closing when we arrived late at night. The roads were black top and the sites had level black top RV pads as well. The full hook-up utilities were in good shape and well positioned on the site. Local TV reception from Huntsville was very good. There were plenty of trees so the sites were completely shaded. The sites were very large and roomy. There was plenty of privacy between sites. The rest rooms were decent, but were the typical state park flavor. This was not an issue for us because we were using the full hook-ups. There was a great swimming hole over at the day area. Only problem here was you had to drive to get to it because it was too far to walk with lawn chairs, towels, ice chest, etc. Price was $19 per night. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. Nice, clean, and lots of places to hike and roam. The sites are shady and very roomy. Right on the river. My kids love this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
The campground has three loops in a wooded setting. The access roads are paved as well as the sites. Leveling is required at the site. For a large campground, it was quiet. Plenty of shade, birds, and deer. The fee is $18 plus tax which brings the nightly total to $19.80. We would like to return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$18
We enjoy visiting this park. It is very quiet and peaceful. Also, the fishing is good. The sites are nice sized and shady. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
Joe Wheeler is a beautiful state park in which all but two or three of the RV sites have full hookups. The campground is big-rig friendly, having multiple sites that can handle rigs in the 30-40' range. However, the park is older and the electrical boxes and are getting worn out. On our first trip there in 2003, the park maintenance personnel had to replace the 30-Amp receptacle shortly after we arrived. Just check it to be sure that your plug fits snuggly. Otherwise, the park seems to be in slightly better-than-average condition in regards to mechanicals. The best loop is the last one, as it has water front sites and easy access to fishing. The marina has pontoon boats for rent, which are a great way to see the lake. The NASA Space Center is also a short day trip away in Huntsville. I highly recommend this park, but be forewarned that it can get a little noisy on the weekends when some partiers and small children arrive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Sites are mostly wooded. Many of the large pull-through sites require that you have blocks to raise the front of your rv. The park is about 3 miles from groceries and propane. The park has swimming, tennis, golf, a marina, and a lodge although not on the campground proper. Campground divided into three loops, all which could be navigated easily with our 35' fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$17
The campground was quiet, we had a nice spot, the swimming beach area was nice. The bathhouse at the swimming area was clean but needs work done to it. The bathhouse in the loop we stayed in needed a little work. The pavilion on that loop needed a little work. Some of the sites the dirt was washing away from the pads causing a little dropdown. We did enjoy our stay though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Great campground for relaxing or close enough to town to go shopping. Good fishing, tennis, basketball courts, golf, and hiking trails. Has a lodge and marina w/restaurant. Restrooms are clean and plentiful. Good level sites most with concrete pads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com