206486 User submitted reviews online!!
Giant City Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (618) 457-4836
CGID7101

Giant City Campground

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
We enjoyed our midweek stay at Giant City State Park. The grounds were clean and well kept, and the restrooms and showers were also nice. As it was April, and somewhat rainy, there were only about 4 other rigs there, so we didn't need a reservation and we could choose our own site. There was no host there, but a very friendly ranger stopped by between 5 and 6 to collect our money. There is no screening between sites, but they are all shady. If you want more privacy, get one on the edge of the campground that backs to the woods. In addition to the 85 RV sites there were maybe 12 walk in tent sites. There was one restroom building for the campground, but 2 other "vault toilets". There are water spigots in several locations. The park has very good hiking, and the campground is the trail head for the 12 mile long Red Cedar Trail. This trail also connects with a 12 mile long horse trail that can be hiked. In general, there are lots of trails out there, and a short one leads from site 20 to a fishing pond. Also, just down the campground road is a launching ramp to the Little Grassy Lake, part of the Crab Orchard National Wildlife Refuge. We will definitely come back and bring our kayaks. No review would be complete without mentioning the CCC built lodge in the park that serves a dynamite family style fried chicken dinner. (The lodge is not close to the campground,-- about 2 miles.) $20 was for an RV site, tent sites were cheaper, and there may be a discount for Illinois residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
I have been camping here for the past 4 years mostly at the tent sites. Giant city is only 20 miles from where I live and my kids love hiking here. The grounds are very nice and clean, the people are friendly, and the showers were clean also. They do have water if you get a spot near a pump and have a Y joint. This was my first time here with a RV and I have to say for $20 a night you don't get much. The last time I was here back in Oct 2009 it was $15 a night. I love the area but I think for now on, we are just going to have to do the day trips here as $20 a night for only power is a lot of money. I can spend $15 more and get full hook ups at other places. I give it a 7 because of the price, but a 10+ for how pretty this area is and how much history is in one park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
I had always camped at Giant City in a tent and this was my first trip there in a camper. The sites were not that level and the boiler for hot water in the showers went out. I have always had a positive experience with Giant City and it is in a gorgeous part of the country. I will go back and give it another shot and hopefully the bathroom facility is fixed and will be open. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
We enjoyed camping here. The camp host was very friendly and helpful. The sites are gravel but level. We liked the fact that you get to pick your own site. The sites are all shaded, and it is very quite and peaceful. The shower house was very clean and heated. Giant City Park is very beautiful with a lot of interesting rock formations and trails to hike on. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
Stayed here in early December. The front area has pull through sites and is level. Only a few sites have 50 amp service. Lots of trees. There are trails to take you to the giant city stones and to a prehistoric wall. Lots of places to go wine tasting in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$11
Site was clean and level. Very scenic. A car is needed to visit the rock formations and restaurant. Wonderful dinner at the restaurant. It is a "Don't miss", cheap, too! Very remote and quiet. Family friendly. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
We love camping here. It feels like one of the safests campgrounds around. Camping spots available right by the park so we can see the kids but yet relax by the fire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com