217857 User submitted reviews online!!
Western Star RV Ranch was rated 8 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (620) 391-0628
CGID7117

Western Star RV Ranch

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   9   5   8   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
We called last minute for availability and drove by to see what it looked like.. We had driven by another park and was disappointed at their park. They had a jacuzzi which we did not use. Office was neat and clean and the office staff was polite and helpful with local tourist sites. Pulled in, hooked up, enjoyed the evening, and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Great park for an overnight. We pulled in here for an evening on a cross country trip after reading reviews from other folks. It's a nice park, huge sites, rec room with pool table and hot tub. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Nice park for an overnight stay. Large, level, and spacious sites. Friendly staff. WiFi slow though adequate. Didn't visit Dorothy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This is about 5 miles from the center of Liberal. The campground is very stark. All pea-stone gravel, including the roads and sites. Pick your own site, the owner comes along in the afternoon and collects the $25.00. There is absolutely no shade or anything that looks green. We had W/S/50amp and WI-FI, but no cable. We got here early to go see "Dorothy's House" and the Land of OZ located in Liberal. We had made a reservation but many campers just arrived and picked a site. I wonder what would have happened if we got here late in the day? In any case, it was very clean. They are constructing a new office building and will probably have someone working full or part time in the near future. Convenient location and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This place exceeded our expectations. Easy in and out. Large gravel, level sites, no need to unhook if you don't want to. WiFi was excellent. ATT and Verizon phones both had signal. There is a nice hot tub in the same building as the laundry. The only bad thing was the occasional train noise. It woke me up once. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This is 1 of 2 RV parks in this area. It is unusual in that you pick your spot and wait for the owner to come by to register and pay after 5 p.m. The owner is very friendly. There is no onsite manager. It is definitely a 'no frills' park as stated in previous review. The wi-fi was the best I have had in an RV park for a long time. There are no shade trees, grass or picnic tables at the sites. It is all gravel. It is located 5 miles from town and no convenience store or even vending machines if you wanted a snack or soda. There are only 2 bathrooms with showers which are not designated men or women's. The restrooms were both out of toilet paper and paper towels and remained that way all day due to the fact that the owner only shows up after 5 p.m. We would stay here again if passing through but would be better prepared. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
We stayed at this RV park for two nights, and as previous reviewers have said, it's a nice park for an overnight stay. There are no frills or amenities, but the electric, water and sewer worked just fine. They do have cable at some sites, but the lady told us she is not repairing the cable because so many people have satellite. We happened to get a site that had cable and it worked just fine. The trains didn't bother us at all. You do pick your own site and a man came over around 5:30 pm to collect. We would stay overnight in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Rate is for a 50 amp full hook up pull thru site. Gravel roads and pads. Some distance out of town and the owner comes around in the evening to collect your money. Train tracks nearby so some noise, but not excessive. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
This is a nice, very clean park. There are 38 sites, 30 extra-large pull through sites for $25/night ($20 a night if you're staying a week or more). There are 8 back-in sites that cost less, but with metered electric. There are no frills here, just a nice comfortable place to spend a couple nights. The showers are big and the water is hot. Nice laundry facilities ($1.50/load)and a hot tub. AT&T phones worked great as did the park WiFi (it was down one day and as soon as we reported the problem it wax fixed). There is no on-site manager/owner. Instead, you chose your own site and about 5:00 PM the owner/manager comes and collects. One negative was we were not allowed to set up our dog exercise pen outside the RV. This is the first park we have been to that wouldn't allow this. As it was it was so windy and hot, we couldn't be outside anyway, but it's worth mentioning. Their "book exchange" was really just about a dozen books, most looked at least 10 years old. There was no real "club house" per se so no TV or exercise equipment. It is the best place in Liberal to spend a night and get off the highway. The trains run about every hour, day and night, and the horn is loud, but it didn't bother us. We would stay here again if in the area. The price we paid reflects a one-week stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
This park is a nice clean stop for an over night stay. It has a unique registration system, you choose your own site, set-up and then during office hours (5PM to 9PM), they come around and register and collect. It worked for us just fine. One negative is the burrs in the grassy area that is the dog walk. The long pull throughs are graveled and a tad unlevel. We were there on a cloudy, cool day so lack of trees was not a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Very well maintained campground. Just pick your own site and a lady comes around and collects the money. The dirt road to the campground is very dusty. Wish we had unhooked our towed before we got to the campground. The whole of the campground is rock but is not dusty, level pads with long pull throughs and very big rig friendly. It was quiet and the few distant trains did not bother us at all. Plenty of space around the RV and the sites are nicely angled. There are no shade trees or grass. Bathrooms and laundry are clean. Wi-Fi and cell are excellent. The town of Liberal has all the stores you need, including a Walmart. This is a great place for a one night stopover, and we would stay here again. The owners have worked hard to make this a wonderful campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Just chose a site and the $25 was collected between 5 and 7 PM. Pretty easy check in. Wide open spaces with no trees. Just trains roaring all night long. Entire park is rock. Very clean. Location is right off Hwy 54, five miles east of Liberal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Park is a few miles outside of the town limits of Liberal. Nicely maintained park with long level pull through sites. Wi-Fi is free and works great. Park is all rock so not much dust. I would have given the park a higher rating except for the farm smell, manure, especially in the evenings and the trains that come by and must use their horn because of a crossing nearby. Great rate for all the amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This campground is probably one of the best-kept secrets in camping. First, you can choose you own site upon arrival, with all sites having full 50 amp hookups, Second, it's extremely clean, Third, the price is VERY reasonable, and lastly, the owners (we met the woman) are extremely friendly and helpful. While we were only there for one night passing through, we will certainly make Liberal a destination on our next RV trip. In addition to campground owner, should have the title of “Ambassador-at-large” for her energetic, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable endorsement of Liberal, KS as a destination, and not just a stop for the night. Kudos, to the owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
A great stop over campground,conveniently located with large clean sites. Bathrooms and laundry very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Good overnight stop. As others have said, no on-site store, no trees, big dog run area, very clean, huge sites, lots of space. But no grass and did I say no trees? It's in a Kansas cornfield. But it's easy-in, easy-out. One set rate per night. All FHU, 30/50. If it had more amenities, would have rated it higher compared to other parks. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
We liked that this park was level and clean. You can pick where you want to park and come in late if you need to. It also had a pool table. The folks are nice. Our dislikes were that it seemed like it was in the middle of nowhere. There was no on-site store. No trees. There was also a train track, but the train didn't bother us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Very nice open park. No on site manager during most of the day, but a nice lady comes around to collect the money later. Pick your own site, nice colorful gravel but sidewalks are nice to walk on, game room available. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Good site for an overnight. Easy in and out, including Big rigs. Good signage and the host is friendly and will collect payment after you get settled. Sites are clean, level, and gravel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This is a great little park. Very friendly and every site was $25. Liked the way you chose your own spot when you pulled in. The train is across the street and runs regularly but this was not bothersome to us. We would give it a 10 if there had been cable TV, since we could only get about 3 channels, but we had satellite. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We stopped traveling through Kansas and this park is easy to find. It is as others have reviewed, all rock and gravel, but long enough for our 60 foot RV and trailer. WiFi worked very well. Don't expect to watch your favorite TV show, as reception is only on your batwing: bring the dish along here. Great otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
I would call this an overnight stop rather than a destination. That being said the sites were large and level if rather bare due to lack of trees etc. They are covered with larger rounded stone gravel. The park is 5 years old and the hookups were in excellent shape. The free wi-fi was nice, as were the amenities in the "clubhouse" laundry, hot tub etc. Everything was clean. As others have said you basically drive in, choose a site, the owner-mgr comes by later to collect the fee in "cash or check." She was very friendly and helpful. I have already told her that we will be stopping on our way South next year. Yes the train noise was there as was a "rural" cattle odor from time to time but we did not find either bothersome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
The layout is very generous for maneuvering big rigs, which is important to us. It is all gravel and the spaces are over sized with full hookups. Wi-Fi was very good. We enjoyed the indoor hot tub, although the temperature was not as warm as we like. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it very much and would highly recommend it for anyone. The hostess/owner was very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
We selected this campground from RV Parks Review as it was in area we wanted to overnight. We called ahead a couple of hours before arrival, received directions, and were told to pull in, park in a preferred site, and host would come around later. She did soon after arrival and was very friendly and helpful. We had a long pull-thru so did not need to disconnect. Convenient in/out from US 54. Excellent Wi-Fi. Four TV broadcast channels were supposed to be available, but we had problem with our antenna so we received only one local station. The 5-acre park is all large gravel but is level. Hook-ups are in excellent condition. Each site has a small light on post, no obtrusive park lighting. Some road noise from semis and nearby railroad crossing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
A very well laid out park, easy in easy out for short stays. Just what we need when travelling. You pick your own spot and they collect before 9 PM. Good service connections, and for a change, decent WiFi. Some railroad noise in the back ground but that is music to my ears. Gorgeous sunsets and sunrise. Friendly owner that has a minute to chat, but have cash or checks as they don't take credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Easy access. Pull in and park in a site. They come around and collect the fee. Very friendly and helpful. We used antenna for TV and she even told use which way to point antenna for best reception. Water pressure was low. I will stay here again. Good stop for overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Park is about 5 miles east of Liberal on hwy 54 and on a very bumpy gravel road. Drive slowly or you will shake everything apart. The park is new and has no shade trees, but hey, you are in the farm land of Kansas. The restrooms were huge, and the showers were very clean. Electricity was good, with no spikes. Water pressure was good. The pull through sites were very large with easy access both to the site and leaving the campground. There was a stench from a feed lot somewhere nearby and trains rolled by 3 times during the night. The lady that collected the fee was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This was an overnight stay. The owner was friendly and helpful. We called and she said "just pick a spot and she would be by to collect the fee". Easy in and out, level, plenty of room for the slides. Located right off 54, a good clean RV park, we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Great place for an overnight stay. Right next to a bunch of cows in a field, so it smells a bit at times when the wind blows, but that's OK, its Kansas! No shade, and hold on to your wig if the wind is blowing! The owners come around and collect the fee's in the evening, and are SUPER nice people. Very informative, and really nice. Didn't have to unhook the toad, as I was leaving first thing in the morning. Was gravel covered, with full utilities, WiFi worked. Will stay here again (most likely on my way back home). Very pleasant experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We tow a jeep behind our fifth wheel, and all the pull-thoughs are long enough to accommodate our entire rig. Full hook-ups at every site and the check-in is easy. Just choose a site and owner comes around in the evening to check-in and collect fee. We would not have known there were trains nearby except we saw them. Also, the road into the park off Highway 54, is gravel but short and in good condition. It's a very, very quiet park. A prior reviewer complained about noise and the road! We have stayed here before and plan on staying again on our snowbird journeys. Wi-Fi is included in the price, no log-in is required, and had excellent connection/speed. So, log-in when you arrive if you like, without waiting for a code. No cable TV, but was only an overnight stop for us. Immaculately maintained park and a very nice owner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
No grass, shade, or tables, but your $25 gets you a friendly greeting, good power and water, and a safe place to spend the night. Yes, the trains are noisy, but this is a park that doesn't claim to be a resort. Good Verizon Aircard and cell service. Easy in/out on a short gravel road. We'd stay here again if necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
There are the campgrounds you spend time in and those you use while traveling. This is the second type, an overnight stop. Given that it is a fine place to stay, albeit a bit pricey for an overnight spot. We didn't find the road too bad, just took it slow in our 40' class A. Our site (near the propane) was quite level. Yes, the trains are very noisy, but earplugs solved that issue. Directions are a bit confusing, and our GPS didn't recognize the address. The coordinates are N37 deg, 05.000'; W100 deg, 50.021'. We'd probably stay here again if passing thru at the end of the day. Staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This campsite is just one to miss. The road driving in is a washboard that will shake every thing in your RV lose. The gravel sites are 'over-graveled' and no level. Though the folks are nice, and the restroom/shower (1) is clean, no TV, extra for Wi-Fi, the smell of fresh cattle dung wafting in the air is enough to drive you away. And then there are the trains! No one tells you that at 10 p.m. the trains rolls right next to the campground, every hour, on the hour, blowing their whistles for at least 5 minutes each time. Not one minute of sleep. Got up finally and pulled out before the sun rose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Very nice, plain campground in a former pasture with farming all around. No frills, although the central building has all you really need -- tables, some games, chairs, restrooms, showers, some books. Owner-manager was nice and very helpful. Very windy when we were there. The building is also a weather shelter. Lots of fast food in town a few miles away, but we couldn't find a decent sit-down restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Nice place. Helpful staff. Construction done well. No trees. Can be very windy. RR noise is kind of bothersome. Farm smell is strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Well maintained campground with level gravel sites. Plenty of room for big rigs to pull in. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Open farmland, so no trees. We were able to rinse off our rig. The county has recently renumbered the roads, so the campground is now on Road 7, not Road 3. Recommend calling ahead for directions due to this confusion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is a no-frills, clean park with pull-throughs that would accommodate most RVs with hitched tow vehicle. Sites are full hook ups with good water pressure and stable electricity. Distance between sites is adequate for big-rigs with opposing slides. Ground is all gravel; the sites are level and the campground is easy in/out. There are no trees so it is roof-top internet satellite dish friendly. The campground has free Wi-Fi for those who need it. Manager was friendly and helpful. We are full-time RVers who stopped here for an overnight stay and will definitely stop here again as we cross the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Very friendly owners, not on site all the time. It's "pick a site, we'll be around in the evening to collect". This is basically a gravel lot carved out of someone's farmland, but it's a great spot for an overnight stay. The sites are huge and fairly level, with minimal amenities, but the power and water pressure are good and the free wi-fi when we were here worked very well. This is our second stay here and we'd stay again -- it's right off of Highway 54, so convenient if traveling through Kansas that way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
The staff is very friendly. There are nice wide roads and pull throughs. Most sites are pull throughs; no need to unhook, nice and long, level sites. Wi-Fi worked well. Verizon was weak, but did work most of the time. There was no shade and it was windy. There were many steer right next to the park; neat to see, but could be a little smelly. This is a super overnight spot. If passing through the area we would stay here again. No discounts of any kind. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
This is a no frills park for the overnight guest. The park is surrounded by cows and wheat fields with the smell of cow dung. Also not far down the road is National Beef where cattle are processed: when the wind is from that direction, the odor can be overwhelming. The park is also about a hundred yards from a major east-west railroad track, in which about every 30 minutes a train comes through all night and all day. Needless to say they blow their whistle when coming through, hard to sleep. The wind can be really bad as there are no trees or other structures to block it. The dirt road leading into the park can be really bad at most times, however it is a county road which means park owners are not responsible for maintaining it. They have a single building which contains restrooms, showers, hot tub, washers and dryers and a pool table. They say the building also doubles as a shelter, however if there was a tornado coming through I'd feel safer in hanging onto a telephone pole, as it is a metal building on a concrete slab. Can't say enough for the owners who were very friendly and accommodating. You arrive at the park, find a site and owners will be around later to collect. Propane is available on site, however if your willing to drive about 5 miles into town, you'll save money at the local propane supplier. Will stay again if passing through, will just have a pair of earplugs handy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Very nice, very clean, very friendly and only 6-7 miles to the 5th largest air museum in the USA. Will stay here again when in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
I found this park to be a very nice spot for an overnight stay. The restrooms were huge and very clean. Had a great time watching my daughter play pool. They have an indoor hot tub however it has to be unlocked by the staff. We did not use it as it was too hot outside. The road to the lined with lampposts and lots of sunflowers. They are located about 5-10 minutes from town. We would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
The park was perfect for an overnight stay. We appreciated not having to unhook the tow vehicle. A code is needed to access the restrooms and Wifi. You have to pay the fee before you get the codes on the receipt, so if you arrive before 5 pm, these services are not available until later. Also, we were unable to access the internet the next morning. While we were there the wind was so blustery we had to take great care with doors and awning over slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Wi-fi was available, we tried it but it didn't work. It could be quite dusty during the summer or warmer and drier months. It's a new Rv Park and they are very friendly, you just drive in and pick a spot. They come around evening dinner time and collect the fees. The building for showers and restrooms were spotless! There is a hot tub and pool table also in the building. Beware if you have a dog or kids, the grass areas are full of sand-burrs. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Stayed one night, nice rv park. Restrooms and showers clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
This is a brand new RV Park. It is still mainly undeveloped but has the potential for being a nice park. The staff/owners are wonderfully friendly and like to visit: or not, whatever you like. We came upon it while traveling home and needing a place to stop. It was exactly what we were looking for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com