223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Ellensburg KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (509) 925-9319
CGID7152

Ellensburg KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   9   9   10   9   8   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
This is a very nice KOA. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our site was gravel, but very level with shade. There is plenty of room between sites. The Yakima River runs through the park. There is a pool and playground for kids. We definitely would camp here again. We camped in a 39' RV for 3 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
This is a run of the mill KOA with a big price tag. Our site was long enough for our rig and truck, gravel, but not terribly level. Services, 50 amp, cable, water, and sewer all worked fine. The restrooms were clean in the early afternoon, but my dad took a shower in the morning to a bathroom crawling with bugs. The ladies room was no better at 8 AM. It is a good place for a quick overnight, but we probably would not return. There is not enough value for your dollar. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
This is the first KOA I have been in. Very well run; check-in was friendly, fast, and efficient. Sites varied in size and not all had sewer hookups. We had a medium size, level, no sewer site one row from the river, could say we had “partial river view.” Well stocked small store. Clean laundry, restrooms and showers. Wi-Fi a little slow but adequate, lots of TV cable channels. All in all a very pleasant stay. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
A very clean, friendly and well maintained KOA. Plenty of very nice gravel pads with grass sites with and without shade. Some with FHU's and most with 30 amp or 50 amp and water. The gravel roadways lead to some dust on windy days. There is road noise from the nearby freeway entrance but nothing to keep you from getting a good night's sleep. One of the few KOAs I would stay longer than a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We only stayed overnight but would like to stay longer. Beautiful old trees near the river. No problem getting in, but we stayed on a Tuesday. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
Very nice KOA! They have 2 rows of pull-throughs with full hookups that stay pretty busy. Then they have 3 rows nicely spaced closer to the river with water and electric only. Some back right up to the river. Sites are level gravel on gravel roads so there is a little dust, especially on windy days. Roads are wide enough to make easy in/out for big rigs. Camp Wi-Fi worked well, which was good since both Verizon and AT&T had weak signals. A few sites were good for satellite. Many sites were nicely shaded. We didn't see any tree limbs in the way except for two weeping willow trees which were easily avoided. Amenities included free cable TV, a heated pool and hot tub, and rental bikes for the kids plus multiple playgrounds. Park is pretty close to I-90 so there is some road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$34
A couple night's stay at end of their season. Services worked well with good Wi-Fi and cable. Only negative we encountered was the tree limbs that need a serious trimming. At our site we could not have extended our awning if we had wanted due to limbs. Traffic noise not all that serious. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
This park has a lovely site right beside the river. It is a very relaxing and beautiful place even though it is between the river and the freeway. VERY nice staff! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Price quoted is before tax. Lovely, slightly rustic campground. W/E sites are along the river - very nice. Good Wi-Fi and cable. Pet friendly. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Lots of noise from interstate I-90 but if you want somewhere convenient while traveling that is the way it is. It didn't take away from the place that much. We used it as a base while we went to various nearby areas. We had a great site for our RV facing the river. No sewer hookup because of proximity of the river, but it was worth the trade. Everyone working here was really nice despite the fact that it was Labor Day weekend and the County Fair and rodeo was in town. The park was full. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This park would rate a 10 if it had an enclosed dog park. Other than that, the pool is super clean, the two play areas for the kids were fun, the rental pedal bikes were great for my boys, and the river was great, though we couldn't get in it, just fish and watch. The Wi-Fi was very strong, even at the river's edge. Plenty of space to walk your pets, trails and open areas. We were stopping for the night on the way to visit family, and decided to stay 2! The work kampers are amazing, friendly, and so helpful. Pull thru sites are medium width, but the back in sites are much more spacious. We had no problem sharing the power box. The campers next to us were a reasonable distance. Full trees, plenty of shade, very relaxing time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We haven't been here in over 10 years. We stayed here for one weekday night in late July. We had a level, FHU, pull-through site with 50 channel cable TV and good at site Wi-Fi. Many sites have large trees so be sure to ask for a satellite friendly site if you want reception. I think the roads were paved and the sites gravel. Like many KOAs, there is a great variety of site types. There are tent sites, back-ins, pull-throughs, FHU and W&E, etc. The main reason for so many non-sewer sites is that they can't have sewers in the riverside (Yakima River) sites. There are several playgrounds plus a volleyball net, several horseshoe pits, and both a regular and a kiddie pool. There is a second bathhouse in addition to the facilities in the main building which also contains the laundry. These bath facilities are OK. There are some places to eat just across the interstate at this exit. However, it is not a safe walk due to traffic. At $40/night, the rate is just a bit high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Very friendly staff. Basic grounds with good power and water pressure. Due to being down in a valley, cell phone service was intermittent or unavailable. (Not an issue for the park - just good to know if you are staying there). We would likely stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is a decent place. All the facilities are in good shape and clean. The park is fairly roomy with lots of trees, although the cottonwoods are shedding in May when we visited. The weekend we were there they had the second night free, so it was a real deal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Very typical KOA. Nice overnight stop. Gravel but level sites. Right on the Yakima River if you fish. The only down side was a lot of sites are made to pull in both ways so you can end up sharing your picnic table area with your neighbor. Great if you are traveling with friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We had a sight backing on the Yakima River. All sights are gravel and seem fairly level. The river sites are water and electricity only with a fire pit and table. If it was a busy weekend, you would be close to your neighbor. Shade trees all around. Main complaint is location. I-90 is right there so you hear road noise all the time. Access roads are dirt, so dust is a problem. If you have kids, they have the typical KOA kid stuff with pool, play area, etc. Bathrooms were spotless. Not only typical of this park, but most we have been to lately, why are there so few garbage cans and located far apart in the parks? Long walk to dump your trash. We would stay again for a night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This is a very nice campground. Well maintained, pleasant staff. I was parked on the river which was wonderful. Level site, good grass, lots of shade trees; however, there are no sewer for the spots right on the river. The dump is free for those folks and they do have a honey wagon for those so inclined. I did not use the Wi-Fi. I have my own Verizon. I did use cable and there were lots channels - as many as my satellite package. Would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$41
We enjoyed our stay here. Our site was level, electric and wifi worked fine. The restrooms are clean and the park wasn't really crowded. We enjoyed the town of Ellensburg. We usually avoid KOA because of the cost and all the children. There were lots of families and children about on Saturday; Sunday was much quieter. A very well-run park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$41
We left a "bad" experience at another campground in this town and came to this one. The difference was like night and day. The attendants are wonderful here. They treat us like we're family, practically. The noise at night comes from the highway next to us, but not loud enough to bother us in our motor home. Great, fast moving river here for rafter's, etc., and so nice with the trees. We are enjoying all the families with children and pets that are here camping and the normal noises expected during the day at a friendly campground. Thank you KOA! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This park is right next to I-90 so there is a lot of traffic noise when you are outside. Not noticeable from inside the MH. The river runs alongside the park and really makes the park. Really just a grassy field with RV Hookups. Restrooms and laundry are very clean and well cared for. Nice general store with a surprising amount and variety of items. Good place to stay if you are in transit and need a place to overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
A very nice RV park. Has great tree cover and the Yakima river running next to the sites. Clean, safe and comfortable. We stayed here last summer. It was nice then. They have made improvements to make it even better for us. Kudos. We will make our stay longer this time. I will recommend to all: 5 stars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
This was a welcome overnight stop for us and the pull through easily accommodated our combined length of 45'so we stayed hooked up with only minor leveling required. Staff was quite pleasant an knowledgeable, restrooms and pools clean and previously occupied sites checked after check out. Many activities for kids so would probably be a bit chaotic on weekends. Agree with most of previous comments. We would stay here again for a night or 3 if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Nice enough for an overnight stop. First impression when pulling in is that this park needs to be updated but that comes from the fact that there are many mature shade trees that could use some trimming to provide a more open feel. Pull through sites were a bit short to stay hooked up to my 30 ft fifth wheel. Very close to interstate on ramp but highway noise was not a problem inside the RV. Very comprehensive cable TV selection. Pool and kiddie pool were large and very clean. Will plan to stay here again on future visits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Okay for an overnight stop and typical for some of the other KOA's we've stayed at. Dirt roads, gravel sites. We had to move from the assigned site due to a tree on either side blocking our slide-outs. Once moved we were fine. Staff friendly at check-in but couldn't give us directions to the park on the telephone, not knowing which way to turn off the freeway. On the river, but is posted as no access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Nice campground. Our site was right on the river and had shade trees. Highway noise while sitting outside, but quiet in our trailer. 58 cable TV stations and wireless internet, small pool. Day trips to Table Mountain, Uptanum Ridge, and the Yakima Canyon Road. Highly recommend Perkins for breakfast. Not much fine dining in Ellensburg. We'll go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
My review is from the perspective of a dad with several kids. We often go to KOA's and found this OK, but not great. The pool was nice, but small. There is a kiddie pool as well, which was nice. The river is right at the back of the campground, but the website makes it seem like you can go rafting right there, which you cannot. They had a ping pong table and air hockey. The playground was not great, but OK. The Wi-Fi signal was strong but a little inconsistent. Showers were clean. It is right at the intersection of two highways so there is constant road noise. We stayed three nights and the campground was relatively empty. They still put huge class A RVs next to us twice even though there were several other sites with 50amp with plenty of space around them. We found downtown Ellensburg a little depressing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is a very nice campground right on the Yakima River. There are quite a few river front sites so just ask if you like to relax and watch the river flow by. The bathrooms, showers and laundry were clean. Washers cost $1.75 and dryers $1.25. There is a nice pool and also a shallow kiddie pool. There is also a play ground, a volley ball net, a game room and a TV room. There were lots of families with kids here. There is good cable TV at the RV sites, our power and Wi-Fi was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are a limited number of full hookup sites. There was moderate traffic noise. We enjoyed our short time here and would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We were welcomed by a very friendly staff and check-in was quick and easy. The site was as told: level, etc. The grounds were well maintained. They were still repairing some damage caused by earlier high water which came through some of the cg. We will maybe be going back later in the summer to raft the Yakima river as they have a launch area and shuttle service for rafters. By the way, some of the work-kampers were a hoot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We enjoyed our stay and would return. Wonderful view of the river right out of our windshield. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
Very nice campground, well maintained, clean and quiet. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Although we stayed only one night, we had to ask for a late checkout due to mechanical problems with our pickup - no problem, no extra charge! University Motors just across I-90 from KOA super helpful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Nice friendly people. River flows too quickly to swim but it is pleasant, try to get a river site. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Park has new owners since February. The grounds show much improvement. Friendly staff and they are working hard to better the park. WiFi worked well as did cable TV. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
I am starting to see that KOA campgrounds are overpriced for what they offer. This park is OK, gravel sites, no room to park if you come with a large rig. Wi-Fi is bad, comes in and out constantly, low or very low signal unless you park yourself in the office. I can not believe they charge so much, $270 a week with taxes, and I have stayed at extremely better places with concrete pads, parking, great Wi-Fi and all at a much lower cost. As I look at other KOA's, I am starting to see a pattern and I guess the best thing is to just avoid KOA altogether. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
This is another over-priced, under-maintained KOA. The setting on the Yakima River and the close proximity to I-90 is good. However, the roads are narrow, the branches need to be trimmed and the sites are squeezed together. There is very old signage on each site as well as ancient electric and water pedestals show the age. Extra grounds where pets could be walked (but it wasn't labeled) were really scroungy. I couldn't place a reservation earlier in the day by phone because no one answered (on Labor Day) and once arriving, the office employee was disinterested in making anyone feel welcome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
Most park sites share a utility island with another rig facing the opposite direction. The park was OK but appears to be somewhat neglected. Wi-Fi however, was excellent. We opted for cable TV instead of a sewer hook-up, which was a mistake because is was barely visible through the snow. Half of water, electric and cable sites need to back up a short distance to the dump station which is on the entrance/exit main road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
This is a very clean park, but not the best KOA I've stayed at. The staff are all teenagers, but seem to run it alright. The sites are very close together and some have the power boxes on the wrong side. Sites are not all level. It's right beside the on/off ramp to the interstate, so it's extremely noisy. Some sites are right below, so a semi could even drive off the off ramp right onto someone's campsite - that's how close it is. The only saving grace is that the pool was very nice - clean, quiet and shady in the afternoon - and there is a fun games room for the kids. I would probably not stay here again - especially because of the high price tag. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
This is our second visit to this campground. This time we found it had declined since our first visit. We found the campsite to be dirty and even though we did not arrive until mid afternoon, it was obvious that the site had not been cleaned. We also found our 30 amp service to be weak and unreliable. On the plus side, the office staff was courteous and the pool was nice. However, we found the fire rings full of trash to be off-putting and will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Will not go back to this park, place unkepted,very run down. Too many people living there. We felt we were on display. Someone tryed to break into our tow vechicle in the evening.We did not feel safe. This the last KOA we will go too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
This is an older campground, with back-to-back hookups. We've stayed here twice now, both times water/electric only. They have a small but clean store, level sites, and a nice play area for the kids. A word of caution; the Yakima River is deceptively powerful and quite dangerous, so be careful when the water is high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Very nice and clean park. Very close to the Interstate, but because of location, the tree cover and the Yakima River; the park is very quiet. The sites are large and well designed. Very nice set-up, and a lovely park with lots of places to walk and lots of frontage on the Yakima River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Why is this a KOA?? Terrible Park. Wi-Fi is non - existent. Cable is a joke. Owners UNFRIENDLY, ABUSIVE!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Worst experience in our 30 day trip. Staff seemed friendly and park cleanup was continuous. However, owner needs some serious anger management classes. Came by one evening because the local police had just driven through the park. Started screaming at everyone is sight and accusing them of calling the police. Stated it was his @#$@ park and they had no place in it. Makes one wonder what he is trying to hide. As previous reviewer noted, the next day he started screaming about our dogs who were securely secured within the bounder of the lot and were not barking until he started cursing and screaming. Later he was stomping down the path hollowing about someone stealing his truck. While the park is convenient, I would not return as I am not sure that this is a safe environment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
This KOA is nice. It is located along the river. Sites are back in by the river with no sewer hookup available. In fact the sewer hookups are limited. It is close to restaurants and gas stations. Its a couple of miles from Ellensburg. There is catch and release fishing in the river. There is a playground area for children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Would not stay here again. Voltage very low, no sites with full hook ups and cable - you have to choose between sewer or cable. Wi-fi is a joke. There are two wi-fi units, one in office and one in private home (owners) so if you are more than 300-400 feet away, forget getting any signal. Owner yelled and cursed at our neighbor for having their dog tied to tree on their lot while they were outside. The work campers were nice and friendly. We were told that the owner was making improvements - we didn't see any. KOA should pull their franchise from this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
STAY AWAY FROM HERE! No cable, no TV reception, have WIFI to ONLY 2 sites. 1st time in over 30 years we locked up everything and never ventured out. Were going to stay a few days, left the next morning. Staff is unbelievable, snotty, big time attitude, absolutely could care less about you or your needs. This is the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. It is also the LAST KOA I will ever stay in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com