224149 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Bay Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (506) 466-4999
CGID7155

Oak Bay Campground

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   9   2   7   1   7   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Very sparse, but very handy. Quiet, clean. Just stopped in to sleep. Everything worked, including strong Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
We had tried calling this campground ahead for reservations, there was a voice mail answering machine stating: "No reservations were needed for the upcoming weekend." We left a message stating our needs and never received a return call. When we arrived at the campground the office was open but there was no one at the office. After waiting around a bit we noticed a phone # on the front door with instructions to call this # if no one is in office. We called the number, it went to a message machine. Left a message stating we were at the front office/gate. Waited some 10 minutes or so, then decided to drive around to look for a site. While doing so a man in a ATV came up and was a bit rude asking what we were doing and why we didn't call the # on the door. When we said we did, he took his phone out of his pocket, waived it around and said, "You didn't call me." We showed him the dialed # on our cell phone. The guy affirmed that it was the correct # but something must be wrong with our phone! A Bit Rude if you ask me. If it hadn't been late we would have left. Was just an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Several years ago we stopped in to take a look at this park, and we weren't impressed: very shabby and tired. Fast forward to last weekend. We had gotten away from home in Nova Scotia much later than planned, and at 11:00 pm we pulled into this campground more as an act of desperation. After all, it would be for only one night. There was no one at the gate house, so we entered and drove around looking for a site hoping to find a two-way hook-up. Virtually out of the dark emerged two people (owners as it turned out), and I honestly expected we would be asked to leave because they were closed. To the contrary, we were warmly greeted, and our two dogs as well! He guided us to a two-way site, offered his help with our hookup, and we settled down to a very restful night. The sites are well treed and suitably distanced from others. Our site was dead-level, which makes for a much easier setup. The following morning I checked out the amenities, and I was impressed. They have invested a lot of time, effort, and money in this site, and it is more than comfortable. We have realized, over the years, that Sunday morning is often the acid test for a campground, because the bathrooms, by this point in the weekend, are dirty and in dire need of maintenance. Not so here. The bathrooms were spotless, everything worked, and the fixtures are new. Overall, the grounds are well maintained and clear of any litter. For a campground that was (I am guessing) about two-thirds full that night, I can only say that I am impressed with this level of care. Obviously, this campground is in new hands and they intend to make a serious business of it. And a big plus: these owners are motorcycle people (he owns the local Yamaha dealership), so those on bikes will be eagerly welcomed as well. We're definitely staying here again. It's a perfect mid-way stop for our trips back and forth from Massachusetts, and I'll be stopping in with my Yamaha V-Star as well. So: clean, well-maintained, friendly, accommodating, you simply can't go wrong here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We stayed at the Oak Bay on a Saturday in June and it was a wonderful experience. There were beautiful sites to choose from, lots of trees for shade and well kept site with lots of grass area. The water view was beautiful, you could smell the ocean in the air. Very very friendly staff and seasonal campers to make you feel right at home. Great location approximately 10-15 minutes to St Stephen and the US border to Maine, for any shopping you may need to do. It is also approximately 15 minutes from the beautiful town of St Andrews. Will be going back in a couple of weeks to enjoy the campground and people again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
We had stayed in this campground one other time in recent years, Sept 2009, but it was a on a long weekend, so thought we would chance it again. Bad Choice! If loud drunken parties, with absolutely no quiet time in practice is not for you, do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. After the second night and no answer at the door or phone of the owner/operator trailer which was obviously occupied, we gave up and left early the next morning. We had asked the party of approximately 15-20(seasonal and friends of theirs) to please quiet down a bit at 1:30am so we could get some sleep, with no luck. They were very loud and constantly passing through our site on their way to other sites. The next morning we did complain to the owner, but other than a token sorry, he did not seem interested in repeat weekenders. The respect of other campers is not taken into consideration whatsoever in this campground. The seasonal party goers were friends of the owners so if you are not interested in hearing loud, drunk, barfing party goers, do not stay here. We have camped for many, many years and this is only the 2nd time things have been this bad. If you want a quiet, cleaner campground without this type of nonsense, try New River Beach a few miles up the road. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This campground opened for the season on July 29th under new operators. Upgrades have been done to the washrooms and other improvements are ongoing. Operators are local family who live nearby. With the new highway bypassing the area, road noise will be a non-issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
This campground will not open in 2009 because it cannot meet sewage standards of the province. The governmental owner will not sell the campground to the lessees for the offered price, and refuses to allocate funding to meet sewage standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Very convenient and comfortable spot for travellers from the Maritimes to New England and beyond. We always stay at Oak Bay while returning home to western Maine from PEI each summer. Plan to arrive at Oak Bay late afternoon or early evening, enjoy a comfortable evening, and leave by 7:00 am for a quick and easy crossing of the border (a 10 minute drive.) Not only will you miss the huge line and long delay that seems inevitable these days while crossing from mid-morning and later; once you are in Maine, you can promptly set your watch back to 6:15 am, since it's now eastern time! Oak Bay campground is comfortable with large drive-through sites (water and electric) near a basic play ground and (hopefully to continue) a great snack bar with grill. They are pet friendly, and we have always enjoyed the company - often travellers like us, but a fair number of humorous and friendly seasonal residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
We found this campground owner very unhelpful when we called ahead to cancel our sites after we had an unfortunate change of plans and we were unable to make our planned reservation. We had also heard that the sites at this campground were very wet and boards and rubber boots were required to get out of your trailer. When questioned about this the owner denied it. We did not get to stay here but after how we were treated we never will. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
An OK place for a night. Many of the sites are shaded. There was a lot of rain and much of the campground was a swamp but that's not their fault. There was a lot of road noise. The Wi-Fi only works in a very small area, and it's not the area that has water hookups. The rest rooms were not that clean. There's swimming available on a beach on the bay and a snack bar. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Quiet campground. Handy to US border. Along highway with allot of overnighters just passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Stayed here one night. Easy in, easy out with a HDT and 35 ft trailer. Good water pressure. "Free" Wi-Fi but it was hit and miss at the trailer. There is some road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com