221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Hither Hills was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (613) 822-0509
CGID7158

Camp Hither Hills

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   6   7   8   5   8   5   5   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
The male owner of this site is very rude to women and hung up on me when I called to reserve a spot. Having arrived after a long journey, he shouted at me but seemed to calm down after a few moments. The site itself is very near a major road into Ottawa and is very noisy. When we were there the washrooms were not clean at all, possibly due to the number of young teens also camping at the site as they seemed to hang round the washrooms. Due to the rudeness of the owner and disgusting state of the washrooms and the cost of the showers ( that isn't mentioned on their website) I doubt we will be back We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Rate shown is for 30 amp back-in with Good Sam discount. Friendly manager who checked to make sure we got hooked up correctly at our site. The site was on grass with electric and water connections in the back near the fence and sewer was about midway. Only problem with hookups was the water tap leaked, but there being two I used the other one. Our section of the campground was the closest to the highway so there is some noise, but not that much to be annoying. No cable TV, but about 14 channels off the antenna. Wi-Fi was useless as no problem connecting, but internet access was almost impossible most of the time due to lack of bandwidth. Laundry and "Coach House" are not very clean. One washer leaked and the dryers did not dry the clothes. Campground is in a rural area so not much in walking distance. Nearest shopping centre is 2.5 miles north. I think I would try another campground if ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Owner updating entire camp from mostly tents to mostly RVs. Pull throughs reconfigured for 50 amp and big rigs and can use some leveling. Overall, nice people and quite campground. Convenient to city. Power, WiFi and water all good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Stayed while Genset being repaired at Cummins. Friendly staff. Approximately 7.5 miles to Centre City. Long pull-throughs (80') with good 50 amps. Sites not level, but that is why jacks are good to have. Paved entrance & interior road with gravel sites. Grass on both sides. Formerly family farm. We would stay here again. Not fancy, but comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Hither Hills? (No hills visible). Disappointing, as is common near a big city - convenient to Ottawa in this case. Asked for quiet, shady spot when making reservations and at check-in. They were available but not to us. They put us near the highway with little shade. Staff was a bit snippy: when seen cleaning windhields with Windex, the manager said no vehicle washing as they are on a well, even after it was pointed out that vehicle washing was not in progress. Our site has nice grass. We noted to the manager that picnic table was missing from our spot and manager told my wife she was welcome to move one from another spot! She noted they are too heavy so they did move one for us. We needed to use a Wi-Fi booster antenna even though we are close to two campground antennae; throughput quite poor morning, mid-day, evening. Unable to connect on some days. The redeeming quality: close to Ottawa. Low rating given due to staff attitude, road noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
Big wide open spaces, good internet, friendly people. A bit basic, but we would certainly come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
This RV park was a disappointment to me. The sites are close together and are basically unleveled grass. Some are difficult to negotiate given the trees. Wi-Fi was awful. The owner was friendly and gave me choices of sites but there weren't any good ones of the five she offered. We moved on after one night and would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We camped here the first week in September, the campground and sites are small but clean. We did not use the restroom. They did not have any brochures on golf in the office, besides going into Ottawa for the day, there is nothing to do in the area.This campground is good for a 1 night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
As we planned our visit to Ottawa so late in the season, we thought it best to call ahead to confirm that the park would be open, and to make a reservation. Unfortunately when we arrived, they had forgotten about us, and closed up for the season. They directed us to another campground 2 miles down the road which they believed was still open. Driving the loop to get out, we found the place was a bit run down, so perhaps it was for the best that we were sent elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Park is laid out weird. Pull-throughs at end of campground are not defined well, leading to confusion and overlapping. I ended up having to back in to my pull-through. Sites are extremely narrow. We had an almost constant sewer smell at our site. Owner was very friendly and helpful when we checked in. Washrooms and showers are in dire need of a renovation. Definitely not a destination campground, but serves its purpose if you are seeing the sights in Ottawa. Really easy to get downtown from the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We stayed at Camp Hither Hills on July 30, 2010 for one week. We were escorted to several sites and allowed to choose the one that best suited us. Office was very helpful at giving directions, tips and sites to visit. WiFi was good, our kids enjoyed the pool and beach volleyball court. Washrooms are old but very clean, I saw them pressure washing the showers several times. They are in the process of converting their 30 amp PullThrus to large 50 amp PullThrus. Half have been done already. We stayed in a travel trailer in the PullThrus. Grass was cut several times while I was there. A very enjoyable stay, location was ideal, close to everything. Good Sam Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Staff at the desk is very friendly. We were put into a pull through site which was a long and narrow grassy area. We were barely able to put out our slide and awning. When another unit pulled in it felt like it was right on top of us. The weather had been rainy and we had a little trouble with being in a 9 inch rut. Leveling was a little tough. When parking, our tow vehicle created another huge rut, so when we left we had to hook up at an angle and pull out in 4wheel drive just to get out of the site and onto the road. The bathrooms are in desperate need of updating, and the electric and sewer are probably on their last legs. The only thing the place had going for it was that it was close to the attractions in Ottawa. It would be a place for an overnight stay, but that's about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Very open with very little shade or privacy anywhere. In fact, they were cutting more of the trees down as we were there. Pull-throughs are long and narrow and very close together. Some people may like this, we didn't like it at all. We found the hosts to be bordering on rude to our questions. We will not camp here ever again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Camp is very close to downtown Ottawa, a 20 minute drive to the Byward Market. Sites are close together but very long. No activities for children but there is a pool. A good place for a short stay close to Ottawa. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This is a back field that has been turned into a campground. You feel like you are in someones back yard. The sites are very long and skinny if two big units are together it gets tight. This is a place to stop over on your travels. Its a cheap place to spend a quick night and move on. I would not stay longer than that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This is a great campground if you're going to be visiting Ottawa. It is south of the city and a very easy drive to anywhere downtown. You can even go back and forth on the Colonel By Parkway, a beautiful drive along the Rideau Canal. They only have four 50 amp sites but they are the newest and nicest in the park with solid gravel base and nice newly sodded lawn in between. The other sites are scattered around in grassy fields as indicated on their web site. While their website indicates wireless access, that may have only been from their office area since I was unable to "see" the net in our rig. Again, the big draw for us were the nice 50 amp sites and the ready access to Ottawa. They are also a Good Sam park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com