223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Gunnison National Forest - Lakeview Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (970) 874-6600
CGID7203

Gunnison National Forest - Lakeview Campground

Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   8   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$13
This is a basic campground in that there are only gravel pads and no dump station, but the view is incredible. You are on the side of a mountain and can see a broad valley with Taylor Reservoir down the hill, and snow-capped mountains in the distance. Truly a postcard view. I got cell service by roaming. It is 16 miles from Almont, but that is the only nearby village. Water is available, but come in with empty tanks as the nearest dump station is 3.5 miles away down a dirt road. Also, bring plenty of food as there is only a small expensive store nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
We had reservations for three nights but left after only one. We were in the electric loop which is out in the open, with NO shade, trees, or privacy. CG road was about 15 feet from trailer and road was busy and noisy. That night, the next site down had a party with lots of noise, music, shrieking kids, and hollering until about 11:00 pm. The next morning we told hosts that we would like to switch sites and move to a non-electric which would be in the trees (shade). They said we could, but would have to pay ANOTHER fee, even though we had paid 3 nights at our electric site. We figured if we had to pay again, we would just go someplace else as that CG didn't deserve our business! We won't go back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$13
This is a gorgeous forest campground but reservations are definitely recommended. It's very popular, especially the one loop of 50A electric sites. This loop has the views! The other three loops are in the pines although a few have limited lake views. The $13 reflects the Golden Age rate with electric. Many sites are very large and our 40' motorhome and Jeep fit great! We would definitely visit again. There are no showers, no dump, no RV water fill but there are water spigots. There is a dump about 5 miles toward Tincup but it's a very dusty road. The campground has paved sites and the Taylor Canyon Road to get there is paved. There is a strong Verizon phone signal but we got only Global Access for internet which was slow but adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
We stayed in site # 66 in the loop that has electricity. Our view of the lake and Taylor Park was breathtaking. We've noticed that since the last time we were here (2 years ago) the tent pads have become very weedy. (They used to be weed-free). We were close enough to a community water-spigot that we could fill our tanks from our site, but others need to know to fill the tanks before setting up. There are no sewer hookups, but the dump station is 5 miles away on a nice gravel road. The restroom is a cement block building with a vault toilet, and is very clean and odor-free. We saw the camp hosts cleaning it daily. We will definitely return as this is our favorite campground in Colorado. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
If you understand what this is, then it is one of the best of this kind of camping. USFS campground with one electric loop. 50 Amp power was solid. Sites were well spaced and the view was spectacular. We camp here every chance we get. Fuel prices did not keep this area from being almost full all week. Reservations are encouraged. We did and the reservation was handled well. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
I have camped here every summer for 14 years. I don't know too many places where you can relax and enjoy the mountains like this. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
This is a National Forest campground overlooking Taylor Reservoir. New loop has electric. No water, no sewer, but great campground and views. Toilets are very clean. NFS reservation system is suggested as the campground was full the entire time we were there. Great place to get away! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com