206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (559) 683-7855
CGID7290

Yosemite South / Coarsegold KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   5   9   8   8   6   7   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$55
We camped in the newly expanded area, and our site was much too far from the restrooms which were down a steep hill. Worse, although there were light fixtures in the new area, none of the lighting was turned on, so our knees/ankle were hurt climbing up & sliding down that steep hill to the bathroom. The wi-fi did not work at all, even after re-booting our laptop 3 times. The next morning, the host was very argumentative, saying "Well, I don't turn on the lights when the season is over." and "Something must have been wrong with your computer, not my wi-fi". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
The park had narrow hilly roads to get to our site. We had only water and electric. When we asked if full hookups were available, the answer was no, even though the park was empty. The only restrooms and showers were within walking distance but all uphill. Our friends who are camping with us had a picnic table unsuitable for eating. We do not recommend this campground for big rigs only tents! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$53
Superb park that is on beautiful property that looks like an estate. Easy access for big rigs and spacious sites. The campground has superb amenities for groups and even deluxe patio sites for RVers. GPS had a difficult time finding location but easy to find between the historic town center and casino. Very close to south Yosemite entrance. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
We camped here to visit Yosemite. It was about 25 miles from the visitor's center. We had a shaded site on a hill. It was gravel and level. Dogs can go anywhere if on leach and you pick up. The owners were friendly. TV and Wi-fi were okay. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Big place with small bushes but mainly a dusty appearance. Clerks rather clueless. We used this as base for Yosemite and wouldn't recommend that as it is a100 minute drive to Yosemite Valley (where most of the good stuff is). Overall fine, but we spent little time here as we were mainly driving back and forth. Had to pay for wi-fi which is available but not free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
Thirty minutes from the south gate of Yosemite, but it's a nice drive. Maneuvering is tight here, as are the sites. Utilities are OK, except cable is unwatchable and satellite is inoperable due to trees and high surrounding terrain, although that is what makes it a pretty park. The people are friendly but complain a lot. Next time we'd try to stay closer to the park, or in it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Sites were close together. Took some wiggling around to get our 40' coach in and out. Don't let them fool you about the WiFi you only get 1 hour of poor/slow WiFi after that it is $6. The park was clean and quiet We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
I got lucky and got switched to a site above the main campground (0-10 ). We had plenty of room, and the site was level unlike the slots that most short term campers get down below. We liked the site so much we extended our stay. If we had been down below, probably not. This park has some tight turns and is on several levels on the side of a hill. The in and out from the highway is a sharp S curve. Anything over 30' is going to be challenged. We would stay here again IF we could get the same site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Folks in office very friendly. The site we had was not too bad. You just have to watch folks parking in the road. Had to level on one side. Internet one hour daily free then have to purchase. Older than some KOAs we have stayed in. But close to Yosemite with hook ups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
I found the staff at this park to be very friendly and helpful. The park itself needs some work but overall its satisfactory. Its a good hour plus drive to the "valley floor" in Yosemite. There's also a good grocery and restaurants about 9 miles towards the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$47
Rustic feel overcomes shortcomings. We enjoyed the premium site with a private deck, including chairs, table, and gas grill. There are only two such sites available. Campground is clean but infrastructure (street lights, roads, hook-ups) need some attention. Good access to Yosemite which was our primary destination. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$53
We stayed here for a weekend trip to Yosemite since all of the Yosemite parks were full. The staff was very nice, friendly and accommodating. The park itself was very clean. Restrooms, sites, pool, clubhouse, etc. We felt it was a bit overpriced and all the grass was pretty much dry and dead. I'm sure it's much nicer in the springtime when it's cooler and everything's more green. They also do not have BBQ or fire pits and do not allow camp fires, so keep that in mind. If you are going to visit Yosemite, I would recommend Summerdale which is quite a big closer to the entrance of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$46
We came here at the perfect time (early May). The campground was mostly empty, which made things very quiet and peaceful. The loudest noise were the occasional coyotes off in the very distant and night. The area was green and grassy, the park very clean, and the staff very helpful and kind. This was a great one day, one night stop coming home from Yosemite. It's about a one hour drive to the park entrance, and another 45-60 minutes to Yosemite Village from this campground. We'd definitely stay here again if wanted to go to Yosemite but couldn't get a camp site for our 26' TT. We also recommend eating at the Grizzly Bear Restaurant, about 5 minutes from camp, in the town of Coursegold. They have a diverse menu and GREAT food!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
I can't say enough good things about this campground. The office staff was wonderful and helpful on getting to Yosemite. Everyone here treated us like gold. Lots of room with activities and nice bathroom facilitates. Hope to return in the spring. Will recommend to all we meet. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
This is a very good campground. I would give it a 10 all the way if the sites were concrete slab. They provide you with one free hour of WiFi daily, but we purchased it for a week ($16.00) which is not a bad price. Good strong signal in the Park. Staff was very friendly. Could not have been better. The laundry washers and dryers were in good condition, and worked great. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Our site #H-5 had to be level just slightly on one side, but not bad. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. It is very convenient to Yosemite. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Asphalt roads on a mountainside with speed bumps every 50 yards. Sites are mostly dirt with no markings. Checked in and was on my own to find my site. The only way to locate it was to drive around until I found a electrical hookup with my number. Was told to pull up to it any way I wanted but I did not want to back up to my neighbor's front door, who I was told was not supposed to be there. Drove back up the mountain to office and was upgraded to a deluxe site at no additional charge. Found deluxe site on my own again, pulled in and hooked up. Oops, 50 amp service did not work. Called office, maintenance arrived,checked service,still no 50 amp. Was offered 3rd site but declined. Left the next day disappointed to say the least. On the positive side I called the next day and was refunded all money paid. The staff tried but cannot make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
I would have given this park a higher rating except that the new managers were very rude and didn't make us feel wanted. They never asked if there was any problems or needs. The good thing about this park is Yosemite so close. There is lots of trees for the sites. There is activities by the manager, but never took part. We will probably return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$47
Definitely below average for a KOA. Lots of dust, sites were not very level, and the shade trees were nice but were not in good places--we had to back out of our pull through site because a tree was in the way of us being able to go forward. Restrooms were very buggy; had to look at bugs in the sink while brushing teeth. We had something stolen from our campsite, and while this is not KOA's fault, it kind of made us leery every night while sleeping that someone was outside taking our things. On the positive side, the staff was very helpful and friendly and responded quickly to issues. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
This park offers a reasonable distance to the National Park south entrance. (23 miles). The entry drive is very steep and curvy. Sites are small, very dusty with very little vegetation. Cable TV is not good. Very fuzzy pictures at my site. Didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked nice. Store had basic necessities. Park didn't offer any discounts other than KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
I had seen some so-so reviews on Tripadvisor and I was very pleasantly surprised! The park was well maintained, we had a wonderful pull-through site with shade trees. The park is very peaceful and quiet, the office staff was friendly and the restrooms and showers were immaculate. We stayed four nights to explore Yosemite. Coarsegold is only about a 25-minute scenic drive from the South Entrance to the park and the village as well as the neighboring community of Oakhurst offer nice markets and restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$57
This place was a great stop outside of Yosemite NP. I wish we had had more time to spend at the campground, however, we were in Yosemite valley until late the night we stayed and we were back on the road again early the next morning. Bathrooms and showers were clean, the staff were friendly, and the campground seemed like a neat place to hang out with plenty for the kids to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
Staff was not overly friendly. Park still needs alot of work. Club house and hot tub were closed. Pool is not heated. Showers are not great. Has good open spaces though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This is not a park we will be returning to. Very friendly staff but the sites were horrible. Nothing level, dirt roads and very tight hilly turns trying to get in them. Saw many coaches give up and go to office to get money back. Just not worth the damage to a coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Had to find a full-hookup campground near Yosemite south entrance on short notice, and found availability here and no where else. Was disappointed overall, especially since a KOA. Gravel or dirt sites, dusty, crowded layout with tight roads. Staff were friendly. Kids enjoyed the pool, but otherwise they need to continue to make improvements. There were signs of upgrades in progress such as piles of dirt and brush and a Bobcat by the showers. OK for an overnight but would not recommend for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
We stayed here for one week while visiting Yosemite National Park. The sites are between trees not always easy in and out. Pool was not heated or working all the time. Clubhouse was closed some of the time. Hottub was not working the whole week we were there. Since it was the only place big rig friendly close to Yosmite that is the only reason we stayed here. This park needs lots of work done. Lots of the sites were not usable neither were one of the bathroom areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
We had a very small campsite with little shade. After staying at mostly forest service & state campgrounds this was a dis-appointment to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$1
Great location, easy roads to Yosemite. Motorhomes really a challenge to drive into Yosemite. Trees need trimming back badly. Site gravel unlevel, really friendly hosts. Nice pool cold though. Dinner was good deal on Sat. Casino close and really nice. Goood food there also. Stayed w/rdo membership. I think that is why less desirable site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$50
Did not care for this campground. Thought it was very overpriced, especially for the partial hook up space I requested, which was in a totally isolated, all dirt area, quite far from the bathrooms. The walk to the bathrooms required climbing down wooded and slippery slopes (no trails) unless you wanted to take an even longer route to walk via the road. From what I could see the full hook up spaces were right on top of each other. I was very surprised it was a KOA, but I understand that is a new affiliation, that it previously had been a private club. On the way back from Yosemite I stayed in a very nice hotel in the next town, Oakhurst, for just a little extra a night! One positive note was that when I arrived, the evening staff were friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$65
This park was formerly called "Yosemite South Ranch" and was a Reynolds Resort. Looks like it has been taken over by KOA and needs some work. The swimming pool was great, the sites have full hookups including cable (11 channels), and WiFi ($$). This may be a great park someday but at $65 is way overpriced. Campground is mostly dirt, dry brush and several shade trees. Some of the amenities are being worked on and not available for use. Will not return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com